The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Squib Caretaker
Review(s): 107

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-23
Reviewid: 142164Chapter: 8
I am still playing catch-up for what is posted at the Quill. However, if you have more of your work posted elsewhere; I would really like to read it.

Reviewer: FireflyDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91693Chapter: 4
I just wanted to help you a bit in responce to Mrs. Norris and Crookshanks. I don't know about Mrs. Norris, but that tomcat is defenatly part kneazle- Ms. Rowling says so herself.

Reviewer: Steve Calabrese / The BreezeDate: 2003-06-02
Reviewid: 35018Chapter: 5
I love your squib stories - they've convinced me that i need to put a brief mention of Filch in one of my stories as well.

Anyhow, I saw you speculated in the notes of this story that Crookshanks may be part Kneezel - you will be interested to know that JKR confirmed that Crookshanks is indeed part-Kneezel in an interview - see the Harry Potter Lexicon.

I look forward to more Squib Stories - here's an easy one, make one called Index of the Squib, and list the order the Squib stories should be read in. :) I know they say sequel to this, sequel to this, but it does get confusing to figure out wehat goes first.

Thanks,
Steve

Reviewer: Carolyn WardDate: 2003-04-12
Reviewid: 27640Chapter: 8
Ozma,
Just had to let you know how much I have enjoyed all the Filch stories. I'm not that familiar with the Potter universe (Jestana is my daughter, she and my other children are the Potter fans), however, I do enjoy reading the fan fics. By the way, we had a cat who ate tinsel. We ended up using garland on our tree instead. It was less of a hassle than pulling tinsel out the other end.

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-03-23
Reviewid: 24982Chapter: 1
Okay, I just thought I'd mention... I'm looking through all the stuff you've written, and "to Sae a Squib" sounds funny, so I'm reading the summary...and it the sequel to "The Way of the Squib." So I'm reading that, and it's the sequel to "Squib Wizard," which is the sequel to "Squib Doors," which is the sequel to "The Squib and the Dath Eaters," and...well, it was funny.

Reviewer: kazzaDate: 2003-02-10
Reviewid: 19760Chapter: 8
A delightful story. Thank you for posting it. I especially liked Filch's communication with the special rooms and his need to clean them to show he cared.

So 'Snape smiled, wryly. "An old Egyptian blessing comes to mind. ‘May the gods stand between you and harm in all the dark places where you must walk’." ', been watching Babylon 5 or did you just like the quote? ;)

Reviewer: PBS JonesDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19679Chapter: 1
Another delight from Ozma! Now that I've caught up with you, I don't know how I'll stand having to wait for the next story!

Three months ago, if someone had said,"Filch and McGonagal" to me, I'd have cringed. Now it makes perfect sense. What a shame that they've been together all this time, and never realised what could be! Oh, I do hope Argus hasn't been hiding his adoration for Minerva all these years because he didn't think he was good enough for her -- but I'll bet he has!

Things I specifically adored:

The list of "effects"

"SOMEONES's getting a filing cabinet for Christmas."

"...the Door...brushed against me affectionately, the way that Mrs. Norris will sometimes do.." and:
"Red-and-gold, apparently too forlorn to hold itself up straight, was now drooping sadly over the paddock fence." Awww...

But the best: "Suddenly, the smoky halo around Snape's head seemed neither humorous nor undignified. Instead he looked diabolical." whoo hoo! (and you MUST check out the illustration of said scene by Durayan)

Things you've dropped in that are going to drive me crazy: The foot prints in Rowena's library, Harry being able to go through red-and-gold, what else did Snape find in that basket? and RATS!
The wait begins...

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19657Chapter: 8
Phew! (Getting this in between NICU visits.) Another gem, Ozma. I'm looking forward to Squib Apprentice.

Someone already mentioned Myrtle on Changing Rooms, so I'll pass on that. How did Filch know that Tom Riddle was also Voldie? I thought that was a dirty little secret. (But Filch probably knows more than his share of secrets now, especially by hanging around Moody.)

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2003-02-09
Reviewid: 19624Chapter: 8
THANK YOU for giving life to the secret chambers of the other Founders!!!!!!! I would love it if Harry discovered Godric's chamber - it would be good for him to 'meet' a member of his family, however distant. Who was in Rowena's Library? Her heir, perhaps? Or just a student with an interest in reading and secret passages in the school? Once again, a beautiful ending - maybe my favorite so far! I hope there will be a sequel! Thanks for writing!

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19420Chapter: 8
Oh, I LIKE Rowena and Godric's chambers. And it's odd... even knowing Salazar had his Secret Chamber, and your creation of a room for Helga, I never even thought the other two might have their own hideaways.
Although, I have to admit that after seeing the other three, there must have really been something wrong in Salazar's head to make his Chamber so dour!

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19396Chapter: 8
At last we see the other sanctury's! Can't wait to find out who knows the other way in to Rowena's library. I'm going to miss Snape hope he comes back soon

Reviewer: BrocurraDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19363Chapter: 8
Dear Ozma - this story is excellently observed and well written. I have enjoyed reading all of your work so far. Thank you for writing it. I just wonder, having read the ancient words which Snape and Filch discuss, "May the gods stand between you and harm in all the dark places..." where and how, in your view, God, not "the gods" fits into the Potterverse as you have conceived it. Don't worry, I'm not a fundamentalist (Islamic or Christian), but I do wonder. Any resposne would be welcome....thanks.

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19244Chapter: 8
Nice peaceful end to the school term? I don't believe it! It'll never last :-). I think i'm with myrtle on this one - there's nothing wrong with purple in a bathroom - it works well with candles! Anyway - I hope you get over your block with your current story soon, your stories brighten my day!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19240Chapter: 8
Snape nudged Azoth off his lap and stood up to make his bed.
-Snape making a bed? There must be a spell for that.

At first I mistook the pale dust for a deep, very plain carpet.
-Nice description.

Small footprints had disturbed the dust in here
-Yeah!
(Terry Boot couldn't stop grinning like a madman. He would be Head Boy! Who knew the castle had a hidden library? Who knew that it was stuffed with Wizarding Cliff Notes?)

I really liked how you had Filch seeing all the things that needed oiling and sweeping while he is making some of the most important historical discoveries of the century.

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19233Chapter: 8
Wonderful end to a wonderful story. The Ferula Curse! LOL! An apt name. *BG* I'm glad Severus feels their even now. I'd hate to think what he would come up with to get back at Filch. *shudder* You obviously know cats very well. You characterize Azoth and Mrs. Norris very well. Of course Myrtle's choices would make the bathroom gloomier than ever. It wouldn't be any fun another way. I loved Rowena's library. That place sounds so heavenly. *sigh* Godric's Keep sounds perfect for him and his 'lions'. I love the last scene, too.

You're quite welcome for the review. I don't think I've mentioned this before, but your stories have made me think of Filch in a whole new light. I can't wait to read your next to story. (btw, I'm still working on Nancy's story.)

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19218Chapter: 8
'Professor Severus Snape had smoke coming out of his ears. Both literally and figuratively.' Hee-hee! I wanna see a picture of this!! Too funny to think about!

Ooo, Severus 'leaning' on Argus as a form of test! Yikes, Sev can be more than intimidating when he wants to be. I'm so glad Argus stood up to the test too! And nasty defensive curse that raps your knuckles!! How very like a schoolteacher!

Loved the new Founder's Rooms!! So very neat and so evocative of the personalities of the Founders! I want to explore Rowena's Library! And it sound like someone else is... could there be an Heir of Ravenclaw about? Liked the way time stands still inside the Rooms. Godric's Keep is lovely too... the images of the butterflies being in sole posession after all the activity of the ages is touching and gives it that nostalgic feeling. (Gobardon would probably like Godric's Keep, although Rowena's Library would keep him out of trouble longer.)

"And whose idea was this incredibly masochistic endeavor? Yours or Myrtle's?" ROTFLMAO!! Ah Severus has a way of summing things up so nicely! I love it when he's snarky like this.

And I really liked how Severus and Argus are feeling their way toward a friendship that goes both ways! You handle this so very well. Azoth makes a good go-between, too, which doesn't hurt. And I could just see him getting disgusted as the two men make the bed and disturb his nice nest. I hope Severus has something restful planned for his holidays, but given the blessing he and Argus exchanged, I kind of worry about him! At least he wasn't using the Chinese blessing/curse, 'may you live in interesting times'!! :-D

Bless Argus, he's going to clean all those rooms! Glad he took a nap to start with! And... Myrtle might be persuaded to settle for purple trim with white walls? Then it might not be so stygian in her lavatory... and it might repel Salazar's ghost, too! :-)

Wonderful end to a wonderful story!! Please keep going and I'll keep reading! I'll see what I can do about the 'drench' cartoon, heh-heh.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19217Chapter: 8
Oooh, a mystery! Whose footprints were in Rowena's library? Hmmm...small like a 2nd years...Cho is described as small. It could be Calandra's little brother...I think he's in Ravenclaw. I have this little theory in the real books that Hermione is the heir of Ravenclaw and Ron is the heir of Hufflepuff, to go along with Harry and Gryffindor. Who knows...Can't wait for your next story, though!

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19212Chapter: 8
Yes, I know I already reviewed, but I have a question:

The idea of Dumbledore going down to the lake and sticking his feet in the water-- does he do that to relax?

If he does, can I borrow that idea? I'm writing a fic (co-writing, actually) about Albus (that I will submit here-- hey, maybe one of my fics will get Sorted this time, lol), and he's pretty stressed out most of the time, so I was looking for something relaxing for him to do, and the lake idea is perfect. The proper credit, of course, will be given.

Pretty please?

~Dr. Monaco~ (And pretty-kitty-Whiskers.)

Reviewer: Mary AnneDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19208Chapter: 8
My first review here--I couldn't resist any longer because I'm enjoying these stories so much.
"Suddenly, the smoky halo around Snape’s head seemed neither humorous nor undignified. Instead he looked diabolical. I was frozen, like a bird or a mouse trapped by the gaze of a hunting snake, unable to look away or even move." ACK! Brrrrrrr! *shriek*! I hope someone with great artistic talent (not to mention chutzpah) will undertake to draw that moment.
Ozma, I can hardly wait for "Squib Apprentice" and thank you for posting so frequently. Long may this series continue!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19205Chapter: 8
I love the other Founders' Secret Rooms! Filch described them very well -- but then keeping an eye on things is his job, so I'm not surprised :) I'd love to find out more about the small footprints in Rowena's Library.

Speaking of feet, Dumbledore at the lake was so cute! It seems just like him to do something simple and childlike like that. And "Let’s Tease Myrtle, Raise Her Hopes With False Promises and Then Snatch It All Away!" sounds like a great name for a game show.

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19199Chapter: 8
Yay! We got to see all the other secret places!

You know, when I first read CoS, I thought it was weird that Salad Bar--er, Salazar Slytherin was the only Founder with a Chamber of Sucret-...erm, Secrets.

Hmm... Will Harry (as Gryffindor's heir) ever see Godric's Keep?

Things I found odd/mysterious/that are probably future plot lines:

The Yard. Specifically, the "battle magic" in the Yard. Maybe evidence of the final argumant/fight between Sally Slyth and Gryffindor?

The footprints. Interesting... maybe Rowena's heir is at Hogwarts and has figured out how to get into the Secret Library? Wait-- there was something about time standing still in the Founder's chambers. Those footprints could have been there for years... decades... even centuries, correct? And the missing books... quite mysterious.

The letters in the basket. Just why were Sally Slyth and Helga Hufflepuff working together, apparently after he split?

A question: Filch did tell Dumbledore about the Secret Chambers, right? That part was a bit unclear.

So Snape will be coming back in 2-3 weeks. When will the others return?

Looking forward to the next fic! *casts a Banishing Charm on writer's block*

~Dr. Monaco~ (And Whiskers, who is cranky at the moment because she had to go to the vet for shots today.)

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-02-06
Reviewid: 19196Chapter: 8
Ozma--
I really liked this, and all of your other stories as well. It's a great glimpse into such an unappreciated character. I especially like the romance between Filch and Minerva. It's one of those "who would have thought?" pairings, and yet it actually makes a lot of sense.

I hope you write more!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-02-03
Reviewid: 18841Chapter: 7
Inconsiderate of him... makes me feel redundant."
-good line

I rather liked your description of his workshop and how every caretaker had something labeled in their handwriting. Everything at Hogwarts is old but your descriptions gave it a nice human touch.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-02-03
Reviewid: 18786Chapter: 7
Is the paint really going to work on Myrtle? Maybe Sirius is right...she just needs some attention paid to her.
<<<We looked at each other for a moment and then she was in my arms. I kissed the top of her head, she kissed the tip of my nose. Our lips met and time stood still for a long, tender moment.

Minerva’s kisses are headier than Ogden’s Old Firewhiskey and even sweeter than a refreshing drink of water on a hot summer’s day. I could drink her kisses like wine.>>>
So sweet!
What a cliffhanger to end on, you stinker! Was the pillow connected to Salazar?

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-03
Reviewid: 18756Chapter: 7
Well, Sirius' REAL reaction to the idea of Cheering Myrtle was certainly surprising :) He's definitely grown up, otherwise he would have jumped at the chance! I loved the bits about Sirius being where he shouldn't and Filch looking through catalogues with Myrtle. (Now I'm thinking Moaning Myrtle can have her own home-design show aside from "Love Talk"...featuring her style consultant, Argus Filch! LOL)

The Filch-McGonagall goodbyes were sweet :) I'm really enjoying this "softer" aspect of Minerva's personality, and the detail about the freckles on her nose was wonderful.

Now I am very curious about that basket! Update soon please!

Reviewer: RoisDate: 2003-02-02
Reviewid: 18725Chapter: 7
I love your stories so much! The goodbye between Flich and Sirious was wonderful, just right showing the respect Flich is starting to have for the old Gyffindor brat. And the line, "Makes me feel redundant" made me laugh out loud. I can't wait for the next part. I want to see Flich and Myrtle picking out paint samples!

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2003-02-02
Reviewid: 18708Chapter: 7
Great chapter yet again, very little happening for once, so it has quite a quiet transitional feel to it. Except for the biting cat basket of course! Was the curse placed there by severus? or is it left over from when Helga had the basket? It doesn't seem like something Helga would do though. Going back a couple of chapters can I say how much I would love to see the final form Filch comes up with re travel through the doors - is there any chance we'll see that in future?

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-02-02
Reviewid: 18703Chapter: 7
*happy dance* Another kiss! Another kiss! He needs more of those! I liked all the things he thought of to say to her, but didn't dare. So Filchy. Mrs. Norris doesn't seem to object, does she? 'Look At You! Aren't You Clever!' ick! I hate when people treat 'handicapped' people that way. Filch has just learned to cope without magic, the way any Muggle has been brought up. Harrumph. I loved the parting scene. Filch still hasn't learned to get over his embarressment. Snape just didn't want to appear undignified in front of Sirius. The git. As if a sore red nose is dignified. *snort* Snape sure loves protective spells, doesn't he? The first scene is great, too. I especially like Sirius' reaction.

Oh, yes, I love Alchemine's stories. Yeah, I understand. Thanks for all the information. Filch and Moffitt, Magical Forensics. I like the sound of that.

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-02-02
Reviewid: 18695Chapter: 7
Sirius refusing to play a prank on someone?? Wow, he IS maturing! Hee-hee, must be middle age or something. :-) I'm glad Argus is giving some thought of doing something for Myrtle (I wonder, doesn't the wizarding world have people who specialize in soul-rescue to help ghosts who would rather move on?)

'And tell that greasy git to look after himself a bit better than he's been doing. He&#8217;s his own worst enemy. Inconsiderate of him... makes me feel redundant' - Loved this from Sirius!! Yes, between the group of them they may actually succeed in keeping Severus alive for another year!

Loved the scene with Minerva - very tender and fine and very like Minerva! And I loved Mrs. Norris' little comment with her ears... just like a kitty!

And speaking of curiousity killing the cat, Argus should know better sticking his hand into dark places!! Mrs. Norris will give him such a hard time, not to mention Severus.

I'm glad he at least prevailed upon Severus to take the cold cure... stubborn Slytherin! Heh, he had to threaten him with fetching Dumbledore to make him drink the stuff! I had this vision of Dumbledore helping to "drench" Severus (which is the old way of pouring medicine down an uncooperative horse's throat). I feel a Thelwell-style cartoon coming on. :-D

Great chapter and I hope whatever is grabbing Argus isn't hungry!
M99, Rum, Saki, and Greymalkin (all of whom are tearing up the living room.)

Reviewer: KellibusDate: 2003-02-01
Reviewid: 18611Chapter: 7
OZMA!!!!!!!!!! How can you do that!!!!!! ARGH!
Ok, done whining. Beautifully written, as always. The scenes between Minerva and Filch were so cute! I like how Filch still calls Minerva Professor.
And typical of people who have been around cats way too long, he's developed a nice, healthy sense of curiosity. Hmm.
Ciao,
Kellibus

Reviewer: Mikau A. KaiouseiDate: 2003-02-01
Reviewid: 18604Chapter: 7
This is such a cool series. I had a question...what was it...Grrr! Well, how about this: How would a Squib react to an Invisibility Cloak? And are you planning on showing Godric's Room-y Thing?
Cheers!

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-02-01
Reviewid: 18568Chapter: 7
"Merlin's TEETH!"

LOL!!! I am SO going to have to remember that one!

So Myrtle gets to have fresh paint for her bathroom walls. Good for her. I can see her picking yellow, or blue.

It's funny how Snape won't ever admit defeat, even if he is suffering needlessly.

Now what has Filch gotten himself into? One of the first rules that I can remember... er, remembering was, "Don't stick your hands into a dark place where you can't see them!" Really, there could be something with sharp teeth that lives there. In this case, a protective spell. Way to go, Filch. Excellent job of keeping out of trouble.

I hope it's not dangerous Dark magic, but something tells me that this has something to do with how Snape found the Recipe for a Very Cold Disaster.

Oh, cool! That new fic, "Squib Apprentice" sound really fun. Can't wait to see it!

Until next chapter,

~Dr. Monaco~ ((And Whiskers, who seems to have just eaten... a string? Oh, dear, lol.)

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-02-01
Reviewid: 18560Chapter: 7
Another cliffhanger! Grrrr.

I can't wait to see Myrtle and Filch decorating. Perhaps it's a wizarding version of trading spaces...Snape and Myrtle could trade, with Filch as the host.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-31
Reviewid: 18491Chapter: 6
"Students snog," I said, indignantly. "We kissed."
-Cats (and cat people) have their dignity after all.

"Olive Hornby was quite jealous of her
-Yeah! I love when extremely minor characters get re-mentioned.

Aren’t you proof enough of that?
-Ouch. Talk about a left-handed compliment.

Gilly, Primrose
-Good elf names.

Thank you for making this chapter a long one. Everyone in character and a very enjoyable read.

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18419Chapter: 6
Goodness, I'm always surprised at the new twists you come up with. And I've been absolutely dying with laughter at Snape & Black's rivalry. They don't give up, do they?
And then there's Argus & Minerva. Hmmm... I may have to do up some fanart for you, that's just too interesting an image to pass up.

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18410Chapter: 6
Lol very good chapter again.
"Come on. Join the party, Snape," Moody said, gruffly. The old Auror had taken out his hip flask.

haha a boys night out :P

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18405Chapter: 6
Filch in a good mood! Wow! *giggle* I like the conversation between him and Myrtle. It gives you more insight into her character. Are you going to use Alchemine's story as background for Minerva? I've read them and I want to make sure. Filch can ride bareback! Woot! Poor Snape! Harry's lack of reaction to the Door must really rub salt in the wound. *EG* I'm sorry, but Snape has never been one of my favorite characters and you write him so well. I've caught on to the fact that Squibs are 'magically handicapped', I'm just trying to figure out what skills Squibs can acquire. Given time, do you think Filch would be able to detect an Animagus without being familiar with their human form?

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18393Chapter: 6
"Myrtle?" I whispered. "Are you saying that He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named took a particular interest in Minerva?"

this sent shudders up and down my spine! Is it an idea that you're going to develop in future stories? That Minerva may be at particular risk, or on the other hand, have a particular hold over Voldemort?

"What a complete prat you are," she scolded. "I made a lot less noise when I died!"

I love your Myrtle. I know its been said by many other reviewers, but your ability to bring life to the 'minor' characters on the potterverse is unrivalled. You really got into Myrtle here - no wonder she's bitter, having never been allowed to grow up and experience life!

"Stop that, Fluffy!" I said, very firmly. "It’s all right. Hagrid’s here and so am I."

Argus is getting so much more confident now he's working with his own magical powers! He's really growing in stature. He never would have dared do or say that when you started your stories. Yet you've developed him so gradually and believably that I'm just sad that we'll probably never get to see him like this in canon. You've changed the way I read him though, he's so much more than a grumpy old man now!

Reviewer: RabDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18392Chapter: 6
not so much as a review as a question , if you dont mind.....
at the top i see that this is chapter 6 of 8 , how do you manage to stick to that , havent you ever wanted to extend them? you must plan the out very carfully.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18390Chapter: 6
I would be worried, too, if I knew that a crazy Dark Lord had a thing for my current love interest when they attended school together. But Minerva could kick Voldy's a$$, imo. You tie in great elements I never would have thought of...like Myrtle using her hand as an ice-pack type of thing for Argus' foot. Clever, you are! You are sweet about the filks, thanks! Can't wait for the next update!

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18389Chapter: 6
Poor Severus. *hands handkerchief*

Without having read your stories, I would find the prospect of describing a conversation between Filch and Myrtle as "rather sweet" rather... unlikely. As it is, however, that was rather sweet. ;)

On a somewhat similar note, I really liked Sirius and Moody trying <i>not</i> to upset Snape too much. After their earlier appearances, Moody's trying to cheer him up is actually more surprising, but quite nice of him. :)

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18385Chapter: 6
... And this is me feeling all smug because I saw something coming that was not hinted at before.

I'm talking about Tom Riddle having a bit of a crush on Minerva. Never read anything about that before, but I have seen it as a possibility since they would have been at school at the same time.

Unforgivably Cheerful Curses? LOL!

Wow-- Myrtle is a mine of information, isn't she? It's a wonder poeple don't ask her about stuff more often.

I'm curious about how Snape found the Cold Potion recipe, and how Azoth and Filch helped him find it.

LOL, I can just see Mrs. Norris chasing That D@mn Rat all about the Castle!

Until next update,

~Dr. Monaco~ (And Whiskers, of course.)

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18380Chapter: 6
Oh boy, the cleanup begins! What a task to maintain an old Castle like Hogwarts. I'd be daunted, at least Argus seems to look forward to the work with enthusiasm.

"Today the house-elves were cleaning out the dormitories." - Har! Probably more like shoveling out the dormitories?? LOL I had this mental image of house elves with pitchforks and wheelbarrows turning-to up in Gryffindor tower.

Hee-hee! I loved the thought of Moaning Myrtle as love-coach - or at least a source of good information. Too bad she and Argus don't always hit it off. (And too bad somebody can't help the poor thing.) Ew, nasty thought about Tommy Riddle having his eye on Minerva! Yuck! I'd be alarmed too if I were Argus.

"This is NOT a cold" Yeah, yeah, Severus, I see your lips moving - too bad they're blue! Pass the man another box of tissue. Why wouldn't he take the Pepperup potion? Would that be conceding defeat? Silly Severus!

Ooh, I think I know how Argus and Azoth helped with the Alchemist's Door potion!! :-)

Loved how Argus had to work around the 'shall I stay with you?' bit. Argus is quite clever and insightful, I really like how he is willing to help Severus.

Oh yuck, being licked by Fluffy. Bleahhh. :-0

Poor Severus. If he finds out Harry is good at one more thing he's going to bust an artery. I also love Argus' faith that there is a Rule to explain this (and there is, but do they ever figure it out?) I can just see Harry puzzling over a Door form. Heh. I really enjoyed the fact that Sirius wouldn't bait Severus when he was feeling ill. Not sporting, eh?

Heh, still clawing the drapes, is Lucius? I do hope Narcissa gets bold and tries the catnip perfume to while away the time. *chuckles*

And training Mrs. Norris to detect animagi? Very clever!! Loved that Mrs. Norris was recommended by Crookshanks. A familiar-referral network? And... don't tell me Sirius hunts and eats rats on the off chance he might find Pettigrew someday? Icky, icky!

'Door envy?' LOL!! I really DO hope Severus thinks this all through before he perfects his little creation. Azoth may have to think of something worse than just sitting on his wizard's face to express displeasure.

Stuffing Fluffy through the Door gave me a chuckle - especially since Argus got to ride him! Whee!

Great new chapter, thanks!!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18372Chapter: 6
"...it would take a Cheering Charm as strong as an Unforgivable Curse to make a dent in Moaning Myrtle’s gloom." LOL! I loved Filch's take on Sirius' reaction to possibly casting an Unforgivably Cheering Charm on her.

Very nice depiction of Myrtle, btw. ("Welcome to Love Talk with Moaning Myrtle!") I'm sure she really is a lot like you wrote her -- having no friends, she was able to sit back and observe all kinds of things that others may have missed. It totally slipped my mind that while alive, she was a contemporary of Voldie and Minerva, and I liked how you set her in place.

Lastly, poor Snape! I can feel his pain. But unlike him, I wouldn't say no to some Pepperup right now.

Great job as usual! Hope to see more about Mrs. Norris scenting Animagi and glamors :)

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18339Chapter: 6
Sirius's "Unforgivably Cheerful Curses"!!! Seems like something the Weasley twins should market! I love it!

I love the image of Tom Riddle watching Minerva - chilling and interesting. It makes sense that Filch was there then, doesn't it. I wonder what his feelings were, a lone Squib in a castle full of strange wizard children, when Myrtle was killed. Surely he must have had some thoughts on the topic.

I LOVE Snape getting upset when the Door doesn't affect Harry! So classic!

And I like that Sirius and Snape are growing up. I have some very strong feelings about JKR's Snape and his grudge against the Marauders (childish, childish, childish!) and so I like to see these two put the past behind them and start to respect one another. It's about time!

You write Myrtle SO well! ("Harry’s more than HE ever bargained for," the ghost-girl continued with satisfaction, even as she blushed silver at the thought of Potter. Then Myrtle’s usual glum tone turned wistful. "Harry doesn’t know how handsome he is," she confided. "He hasn’t even noticed Ginny yet, and she’s alive!") You make my life better daily! Keep it up!

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2003-01-28
Reviewid: 18168Chapter: 5
"I closed my eyes, focusing. Moody has taught me how to put names to many types of protective wards. " like this bit for two reasons: How very like a muggle-born wizard learning to identify and use his his talents! Argus may be appalled to realize how well he can identify with those first-years. I also like this, becuase it illustrates Argus and Minerva operating as a team, bringing to bear formidible talents on both sides to address the problem at hand. A *team*. Let Argus realize this, and he might think more of his romantic chances with Minerva.

The Bloody Baron still gives me chills when he does his '"Shield him, Madam! Our experiment goes awry!" 'I've no idea why--but I do love that part!

Also liked seeing Minerva show her Gryffindor colors in her effort to shield everyone. She normally has such an air of control about her, one doesn't imagine her getting roughed up very often. Bravo, Minerva! Go, lions, GO!

Also, rather nice to see her brook no nonsense from Severus. Colleagues and friends they may be, but I suspect that when the situation calls for it, Minerva has just the right tone of voice to remind Severus that he was once an 11 year-old student of hers.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-28
Reviewid: 18106Chapter: 5
I liked the detail about Minerva's glasses frosting over. (And I bet Filch liked the one about her leaning on him for a bit...tee-hee!) The glasses thing has happened to me so many times! And, like everyone else, I enjoyed her imaginative description of the amount of charms on Snape's office :)

I agree with that ff.net reviewer -- a man who cleans has got to be a good catch. Especially if he's as caring as your Filch is! More soon please!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-27
Reviewid: 18039Chapter: 5
Am I correct in assuming that Severus has enough protective wards on his door to repel several Aurors, an assortment of hit-wizards and perhaps a Mountain Troll or two?"
-made me smile.

Pepperup potion ready to use up in the hospital wing. Just in case,"
-Oh, please, someone draw this.

Entirely too short, but very enjoyable.

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2003-01-27
Reviewid: 17998Chapter: 4
AHHHHH!!! AHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!! AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!!!!! Filch and Minerva! What a great couple and what a great scene! I really love these stories, they keep getting better and better. I am, personally, sickly obsessed with the Marauders, particularly Sirius, and I love the way you write him. You (as many have said before) have such incredable skill for taking peripheral characters and making them into real people who exist totally separate of Harry. I'm looking forward to seeing the other Founders' sanctuaries, and I think that your little background info. on Riddle finding the Door as a student is very good. I hope Harry uses the Door by himself, too. Keep 'em coming - these stories just get better and better!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-01-27
Reviewid: 17994Chapter: 5
You can't leave Severus alone for a minute, can you? I think he's trying to be *worse* than Sirius when it comes to getting into scrapes. :-D

Loved this line: "Keep back?! Not likely. I could still shield her with my body, if necessary." How very Gryffindor! And I liked Minerva's reply as well! LOL

The bit with feeling out the wards on Snape's door and getting around them was really great. Minerva and Argus together make a most formidable team.

Poor Azoth... you know he's going to have to think up some sort of catly revenge for Severus - my own cats show disapproval by hacking up hairballs where they *know* you will step in them in the morning. :-0 Or maybe he could just sit on Severus' face (another effective wake-up call!).

'The immediate vicinity looked like the aftermath of one of Fred and George Weasley&#8217;s infamous parties.' - Hee-hee! Loved the mental image this gave me!!

I loved the description of the aftermath and of Minerva joining the ranks of the 'Runs With Scissors' crowd! LOL! Their grilling of Severus was well-done, too, altho I bet Minerva just wanted to shake some sense into him. *sighs*

And *what* does Severus want with a teleporting mirror?? Good grief... why would he want to create yet another breach in the Castle's defenses? I do hope it just isn't pique over not being able to go through Salazar's Door?

I hope nobody gets a cold from this little escapade. Do familiars collect points? Azoth should probably get an award for 'youngest familiar to save his wizard'!

Great chapter, thanks! Onward to write!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-01-26
Reviewid: 17941Chapter: 1
Hmmmm, something occurred to me. Let's say a rat, cat, or dog walked past a Squib who was aware of his/her gifts. Let's further say that this animal isn't really an animal, if you know what I mean. Would Filch be able to detect an animagus?

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-01-26
Reviewid: 17933Chapter: 5
You're quite welcome, on both counts. I liked this chapter, especially how Filch was all worried when he saw Minerva cut and bloodied. And Minerva let her hair down! Sort of. *giggle* I've been wondering what Squibs can do/learn in the way of magic. Obviously, you've told us their talents in the field of Transfiguration. I'm sure there are lots of potions that don't require magic to work. Obviously, Muggle Studies doesn't require magic, and probably much of Divination and maybe Arithmancy. As for Charms, they can detect them. *scratches head* There's quite a bit Squibs can learn, I wish Filch had had a chance. Maybe he wouldn't feel so useless at times.

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-01-26
Reviewid: 17914Chapter: 5
The descriptions in this chapter were amazing, we were really there with them. I am amazed at how detailed your descriotions of the cold were, you called upon all our senses, awesome. (BTW a washcloth is usually called a flannel in British English)

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-01-26
Reviewid: 17896Chapter: 5
<<<Keep back?! Not likely. I could still shield her with my body, if necessary. Of course there was no reason to endanger poor Azoth into the bargain. Turning away, I went to set the little cat down beside red-and-gold (which now had a coating of frost forming on it) and came back to stand stubbornly at Minerva’s side.

Minerva gave me a look of exasperation. "All right, then. But I don’t want to hear another word from you about how rash and reckless we Gryffindors are.">>>

LOL! She's not going to let that kiss soften her up completely now, is she? They are so cute!

Now I'm curious about this portal Snape was creating...will he try again? With the Bloody Baron involved, I thought for sure some really dark magic was happening, with the Baron's insistance. BB just rubs me the wrong way.

With the tonsilectomy, they recommend staying away from dairy for at least a week nowadays, because it increases mucus, which inhibits the scabs from forming and healing. After the scabs came off (very not fun), then I could drink milk/eat ice cream. But I'm still on a diet consisting mostly of Slurpees and and small amounts of pureed-by-chewing food, washed down with lots of milk. It's been a great way to boost my weight loss goals for the new year!

Great job as always! Oh, and thanks for always reviewing my silly little filks. I know they are nothing compared to an actual story by all these wonderful authors like yourself, but they are fun for me!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-01-26
Reviewid: 17895Chapter: 5
Good job in not taking the cheap opportunity with Argus tackling Minerva. (Not even a peck on the cheek!) And a nice touch with Snape using cold to help out on his experiments.

Best line, however goes to Filch's comparison of the Baron to Dumbledore - not one you see every day.

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-01-26
Reviewid: 17880Chapter: 5
It WAS a potion! He didn't ask Dumbledore for permission to try something dangerous like that, did he? Bad Severus! Bad! That's a no-no.

I suppose he tried to brew the potion to find out if anyone else (like a Dark wizard) could do the same thing.

A question: The last fic, "Squib Puppet," is listed as being last updated today, but there are no new chapters or anything. Why is that?

Until next update,

~Dr. Monaco~ (Whiskers, too...)

Reviewer: Amy PowellDate: 2003-01-24
Reviewid: 17612Chapter: 4
Your stories are wonderful. They have demonstrated good character growth through time. The knowledge that is being revealed about the doors is interesting and with the news of Fluffy's sucessful venture through one of them, I am left with a question... How would the doors respond to other magical creatures. Could Filch only accompany the "wilds" through, or is there the potential for others. (for example... centaurs, or even werewolves?) *I loved your story with Filch and Lupin*
Your writings have provided me with several hours of needed rest and entertainment. I thank you.

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-01-24
Reviewid: 17603Chapter: 4
This was so funny! "STOP THAT! BAD DOG! BAD DOG!" Uh, yeaaahhhh. "Naughty Fluffy, quit chewing on the Potions Master!" LOL Sigh, Severus would make the situation worse by annoying the beastie. Why not just levitate himself out of range? (But then, he tends not to think of passive defenses first thing, does he?)

You know, Sirius, Severus, and Argus are all going to need big bottles of Bactine! All the time. :-D

Dumbledore's statement: "I expected that this summer would hold many dangers for all of us," Dumbledore said, very dryly. "But I didn&#8217;t expect our troubles to begin before sunset, on the same day that the children left." Cracked me up! He *knows* all the 'children' have NOT left and that's just the problem! I also love his threat to send Severus a howler next time! Hee-hee!!

Azoth as character-witness and go-between! What a cool kitten! And lots more sense than his master, sigh.

Oooh, a kiss for Argus! Yaaaayyy!! Go Minerva! I really like the way you are building their relationship and I love the way Argus keeps thinking he's not brave, but for her sake he'll do his best. He doesn't know yet that that is all that's required.

And what has Severus gotten into this time?? You can't leave him alone for a minute, can you? :-D

Rum, my Crookshanks lookalike, was sitting on the table as I typed this, howing at the ceiling for no good reason that I could see.

Great story!! Now I feel like writing! :-)

Reviewer: SunsethillDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17520Chapter: 4
I hate to just leave a "this is wonderful" review time after time, but as I've said before, I'll read anything you write! As usual, this story shows your creativity and ability to see aspects of Canon in a slightly different, but not uncanonical, way.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17481Chapter: 4
We weren’t sure if I was seeing her to her room or if she was seeing me to mine. It did not matter since neither of us was in a hurry to get anywhere.
-Very cute

Rowena’s Sanctuary
-Another library?

Excellent job with Hagrid's accent.

I like the image of Filch hanging onto the huge head shouting "Bad Dog!"

Filch/Minerva is going to take a little getting used to.

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17478Chapter: 4
Ever since I knew you published ahead on ff.net I've been holding myself back from going there and gorging on all your fiction to date. I gave in yesterday and read the whole of this story, and the followup written with Jelsemium (which was fantastic, although the changes of POV made it a very different story), and then felt really bad because I thought I wouldn't enjoy it as much as I have been when you posted new chapters to the quill. It turns out I didn't spoil my appetite at all!

This is just as good on the second read through!

"Needless to say, Fluffy’s right and center heads were not very happy with Professor Snape."

"Any injury that does not completely incapacitate the Potions Master will only make him angry."

This meeting ended surprisingly well given the two, extremely angry, participants involved! Taking Fluffy through the door has left me wondering about intent though. Fluffy is a wild animal, untainted by the dark and the door lets him through. I'm guessing Remus could go through R&G with maybe Moody level effects? Although he's a 'dark' creature, he has good intentions - and is a gryffindor. Are you planning on ever having Remus go through a door?

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17476Chapter: 4
I can't believe I mentioned the tonsilectomy in a previous review...how pathetic am I?

What a sweet kiss! Okay, I'm now a member of the Argus/Minerva ship. Ahoy there, mates!

Excellent writing as always, Ozma. I hope Snape is okay...good cliffhanger!

Oh, btw, did I happen to mention that I had a...tonsilectomy?

Pathetic Lilac

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17475Chapter: 3
Too bad the treats Argus fed Fluffy weren't breath mints, huh? How neat of Hagrid to work with Fluffy to stay awake. Ingenius, really!

Onto chapter 4!
I am behind because of a tonsilectomy, which I love telling people about because I get loads of sympathy for it. :)

Reviewer: magwanaDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17459Chapter: 4
I love the kiss! It was so perfect.

Great job with fluffy and snape, too.

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17418Chapter: 4
Well, well, well: Snape versus the Cerberus, Round Two.

And the Cerberus wins again. Oh, well. At least the guy didn't get his leg chewed on again.

I'm kind of *gasp* worried about him, though. He's not acting like himself, and now there's a "terrible coldness".

Terrible coldness... Dementor? No, they wouldn't be able to get in, and I'm sure Snape knows how to cast a Patronus. A spell? Maybe. A potion gone wrong? I doubt it.

Heh. Maybe he left the fridge door open.

I'm also kind of worried about Minerva. She's leaving the Castle too, right? Yes, I remember reading that. But where is she going? And what will she be doing there? I bet it's going to be dangerous.

So the tapestries can resize themselves to accomodate, er-- larger passengers. That's good.

With all that said, I have a bad feeling that Oldy Voldy is going to be making an appearance in this story. *shudder*

I stll think Harry should just push him through a Door. ; )

LOL, Minerva sure is direct, isn't she?

Until next update,

~Dr. Monaco~ (And Whiskers, who is curled up on my feet at the moment.)

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17411Chapter: 4
"He preferred to be honest with his monsters."

SNORT! Good thing I wasn't drinking anything, or honest, it would've come out of my nose. I shudder to think what poor Severus is up to. I also like the '(my love)' in parentheses... he's so unsure, it's kinda sweet.

Reviewer: AcireDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17407Chapter: 4
Oh, this is my favorite chapter. I like this one. DD's saying he would send Snape a Howler, the forms for trips through the Doors, and Snape's "you have wasted perfectly good sarcasm on someone too thickheaded to understand it" and "anything that doesn't incapacitate the Potions Master only makes him angry" were so funny. And the end! I'm really liking Filch/McGonagall. It's strange to see her through his eyes, but it gives us a different perspective on her.

What's wrong with my favorite Postions Master? I'm glad he has a kitty, though. Everyone could use a kitty. :D

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17392Chapter: 4
Hooray, a fixed chapter and a new one! The encounters with Fluffy were...er...exciting :) The bit about Snuffles growing eyes in the middle of his back alarmed me at first, but the image of Azoth riding on him was cute. That cat is a dear. I'm very curious now about what has him so concerned about Snape.

You wrote the Filch/McGonagall kissing scene very well. I could imagine it easily -- now all that's left is for me to get reconciled to the idea! :D

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17391Chapter: 4
YAY! Filch and Minerva finally kissed! *does happy dance* Yeah, anyway, great chapter. I especially liked Filch's comment about what doesn't incapacitate Snape only serves to make him angrier. Let's see, I also liked: the whole Door forms thing, the reason Fluffy could go through the door, comparing Sirius' moping to that of red-and-gold, and, of course, the kiss. Knowing Snape, what would preoccupy him so much that he would ignore a memo marked URGENT? I sent you an e-mail a few days ago. Did you get it?

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-20
Reviewid: 17092Chapter: 3
I did the only sensible thing that I could do under the circumstances. I held out the cup for a refill.
-Hah, hah. Oh, that was a good laugh

"That’ll be a shock fer anyone who thinks they know an easy way ter get past him," Hagrid said, with satisfaction.
-Good thinking.

A very enjoyable chaper.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-01-20
Reviewid: 17090Chapter: 3
Ok...I didn't review the prequel to this, but I'll say it here that I loved it. And I'm loving this one, too. It's got a wonderful Argus, and some truly great bits of writing. I look forward to reading more of it.
-Kate Lynn

Reviewer: AcireDate: 2003-01-20
Reviewid: 17017Chapter: 3
Snape's going to take his kitty home, right? Or is he going to stay there? And we all remember Snape's last encounter with Fluffy. Good to see Filch getting along with him, though I'm not surprised for some reason.

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-01-20
Reviewid: 16987Chapter: 3
Oh man, doing Hagrid's forms? Argus is desperate to stave off boredom, yes? I love his resolution to get Hagrid a filing cabinet! Hee-hee!

Aww, poor red and gold moping over Harry's absence! I love how you have it drooping over the fence in sadness like a swooning lady. Poor thing!

Good grief, nothing like duelling magical monsters! I'm glad Bucky didn't desert his humans in the face of Fluffy's threat. And I'm glad Hagrid came along to sort things out. You know, Argus should get Padfoot a nice harness like guide dogs use! That would work well for going through the Door.

LOL, I really liked Dumbledore's 'cup of cheer' for Argus! Hee-hee! Some days do call for strong medicine!

Liked the fact that Hagrid too may someday hear the Castle, that would be neat!! And I was wowed by Dumbledore just barely touching the Castle - I think he has that sort of delicate touch with magic when needed.

I do hope the poor prisoners are found soon and rescued. Ugh, anyone being a prisoner of Voldemort is in dire straits indeed.

So everyone is decamping except Argus? Gee, doesn't he get any vacation? I should hope he would, someday!

Oh, lucky Argus, to have Fluffy to 'look after him' for over 8 weeks!! AAARRRRGGGG! I'm with Argus - the mess and shovelling will be pretty nasty, unless he can con the Castle house elves into helping? Ugh.

Snicker! Loved this quote: 'Glancing around as I dodged some flying drool, I noticed (to my alarm) that the Animagus appeared to have sprouted a pair of eyes in the middle of his back. ' Azoth has lots of chutzpah! And he's quite aware of how to camoflage himself too, smart kitty! Dog drool, ick!!

What sort of flavors are Cerberus doggie-treats? Raw Buffalo? Dragon-toasted Knight? Brontosaurus Bone? :-D

And here comes Severus, whom I'm sure Fluffy remembers fondly, under the mental heading 'Take a Bite Out of Crime!' Eeek! Where's Azoth? If Mrs. Norris can get on Fluffy's good side, perhaps the kitten can intercede for him? :-D

Great chapter!! Gotta wait for next one to see how everyone fares!

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-01-20
Reviewid: 16982Chapter: 3
Now for a real review:

Yay! Fluffy's back! But how will the house-elves react?

Poor Snape. I almost feel sorry for him. I have a feeling Fluffy is about to try to use his leg for a chew toy again.

Oldy Voldy can't go through Green and Silver anymore because he is a Dark wizard now, correct?

Hmm. I bet he doesn't now that. If he ever figures out about the Tapestries, he might think that he can go through Sally Slyth's Door without being repelled.

Would it just not let him through, like if a normal wizard tried to go through, as if he merely tried to walk through a wall? Or would he go in, but then come out the other side as if he went through a blender?

LOL, maybe that's how Harry will eventually end up defeating the Dork Lord. Just push him through a Door.

Where will Sirius be going for the summer? If this was already mentioned, I'm sorry, but I'm kind of out of it today. ; )

Until next chapter,

~Dr. Monaco~ (And Whiskers, who likes to walk across the keyboard when I'm trying to read. Cats...)

Reviewer: ChambraigneDate: 2003-01-19
Reviewid: 16910Chapter: 1
"Much as I dislike admitting this, the oaf does have the makings of a really fine Care of Magical Creatures teacher. And some day Hagrid will finally realize that most people are honestly terrified of creatures like Fluffy. Then I shall be forced to start treating him with the same deference and respect that I reserve for the other professors at this school."

Heh.

I like the distinction made between the wild, lawless "Forest magic" and the more human "Castle magic", and how both have a strong pull on Hagrid.

I also like the description of what happens with the Castle and its inhabitants after the students leave for the summer--that's one of those things I've always wondered about.

Oh, man--Snape is *not* going to be happy if Sirius saves his life, is he? He'd probably rather have Fluffy eat him. ;)

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-01-19
Reviewid: 16893Chapter: 3
Yay! We get the rest of the chapter!

The huge dog had energetically played tug-o-war with bits of food, causing a lot of laughter at the Gryffindor table

-I can just see that. Although Sirius needs to eat his food, not play with it.

No more rats!

-Ick! Although Sirius might get some pleasure out of it, imagining they're someone, or something, else.

I was too busy blushing.

-*snicker* Got a good one in there! ;-)

The wretched Poltergeist always misses the students so much during the summer that he goes off and sulks by himself for most of July and makes up for it by tormenting me mercilessly all the way through August.

-Yep, sounds like Peeves.

The two boys’ situations couldn’t be more different, but Severus’s and Sirius’s emotions were startlingly similar. (Not that I’d ever be brave or foolish enough to say such a thing aloud where either young wizard could hear me.)

-Yeah, both of them would deny it to their dying breath.

Red-and-gold, apparently too forlorn to hold itself up straight, was now drooping sadly over the paddock fence.

-Aw, it's missing Harry! No more Heir to ferry around.

My first thought was for Minerva.

-Not 'just friends', eh? I'm still waiting for the kiss. ;-)

"That’ll be a shock fer anyone who thinks they know an easy way ter get past him," Hagrid said, with satisfaction.

-Good idea! I really like that!

The poor Potions Master could be offered no such reassurances.

-Dun, dun, dun! Cliffhanger time. *whimper*

Okie dokie, I really liked this chapter. Especially the interactions between the characters. Filch's rant about Fluffy was great! Yeah, the characters can surprise you. I got that when I started working on my current fic. I was just going to have one of my characters be good friends with Sirius, but both of them insisted on getting married. :-D Anyway, can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-01-19
Reviewid: 16887Chapter: 3
(saving his review until the whole piece showed up...)

Fluffy rules! And poor Argus, being a cat person and all... oh well. Your Snape:Draco :: Sirius:Harry analogy is eerie and has the added value of being true - good insight.

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2003-01-19
Reviewid: 16886Chapter: 3
Another great chapter! Along with my usual gushing, I just wanted to say that your doors are one of the best original devices I've read in fanon. They fit so perfectly into the world of hogwarts that I'll miss them in canon.

I loved the interactions with FLuffy - Filch really is brave, there's more than a touch of the gryffindor about him, regardless of what he may think. I also loved Helga's weaving room, and the fact she created all the tapestry's. Would Filch be allowed into that room if he wastn't a Hufflepuff at heart? In fact it's great that Flch hasn't been sorted, as it allows his character to develope without the usual constraints of house being imposed.

As usual you've left me with lots of questions, and desperate for the next installment - congratulations on your entrancing story telling!

Reviewer: MaggansonDate: 2003-01-19
Reviewid: 16874Chapter: 1
Before you do anything drastic with Minerva and Argus, Think about this: Who was Mrs Norris before she got trapped in her cat form? Love your books, by the way.

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2003-01-19
Reviewid: 16849Chapter: 2
YES!! Harry is DEFINITELY the Heir of Gryffindor, and I'm so glad that you recognize it, too! I love that Godric's Door is happy to meet him! Your development of plot and character is always gracefully and complete. You write all my favorite characters so well! Thank you for continuing your Fantastic Filch Fics (sounds like a Weasley twin invention), and thank you for allowing me to use the general Door idea in a different story!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-01-19
Reviewid: 16825Chapter: 3
He he...the twins and Snuffles both had countdown calendars...makes sense, though they were pretty quiet in their last year.

To fix a chapter that's already been uploaded, here's what Zsenya told me: "...you certainly can send in corrections of stories after they're uploaded (just use the Madam Pince form and indicate that this is a replacement and not a new item in the Beta-Notes section of the form)."

Then I can read the rest of this chapter! I am recovering from a tonsilectomy (it's supposed to be harder on you as you get older, and I'm 31, so it really SUX to be me right now) so I'm a bit behind in my reading, and my reviews aren't very fancy, but I'm still here...just so you didn't think I forgot you -- how could I, I'm in love with these Squib stories!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-01-19
Reviewid: 16819Chapter: 2
Heir of Gryffindor! Aha! That's why he was okay. With Harry's wry smile and reply of "Don't worry, I'll manage", did that mean he didn't think anything was going to happen to him (because he knew he was the Heir of G), or that he didn't care if anything happened to him or not?

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-01-18
Reviewid: 16803Chapter: 3
Just a few more of your classic lines. that make me grin.

Hagrid had been wandering about for the past few days, grinning and singing tunelessly in French.

I had shown him my pocket-calendar for the year with each day numbered and crossed off. The date of the twins&#8217; last Leaving Feast had been circled in gold ink.

Snuffles dangled his tongue in dog-laughter

Your work is priceless - encore

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-18
Reviewid: 16786Chapter: 3
Looks like the chapter didn't get fully posted. "I was conc" at the ends looks a bit odd.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-01-18
Reviewid: 16756Chapter: 1
Yay! Callandra made it through okay! That makes sense that Hufflepuff made them...but did she also charm them, or did they do their own individual charms?

Reviewer: adaDate: 2003-01-18
Reviewid: 16744Chapter: 3
OH my... fred and george calander - funniest thing EVER and of course Hermione's reading list...

i really do believe (as i've said before) you write excellent primary characters (trio/ginny/sirius etc) AS secondary characters... like more in character than so many authors writing them in primary... i disagree that you wouldn't write h/g well (taken from an author's note last story) because it would be so subtle- it would only be what Filch sees... and i just love the way your Filch sees things :)

love especially how Filch sees Harry... with such ... not pity... but i don't know what the right word is- respect? ak..my mrs. norris demaqnds attention- shes on the keyboard... must finsih review before she erases it

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-01-18
Reviewid: 16695Chapter: 3
*whimper* I hope the complete version gets uploaded soon. It was just getting good. Oh, well, might as well review what you have up.

"*Someone’s* getting a filing cabinet for Christmas"

-LOL! I loved that one! And the obvious disorganization is very in-character for Hagrid.

The small cats were thriving, starting to look a bit more like proper cats now and less like silly little balls of fluff.

-*giggle* Yes, I vaguely remember how our cats looked when they were little. Mine in particular has grown a lot and he's not even two years old yet!

"Have you ever done a seven-year countdown for anyone besides Fred and George?" he’d wanted to know.

"Oh, yes indeed," I’d said dryly, as Snuffles dangled his tongue in dog-laughter.

-Heehee! I loved that! Especially Sirius' reaction. I bet Filch was VERY relieved about the Marauders leaving.

Hermione had given me a short reading list

-Just like her to do that, too!

And I'll review the rest of it when it gets posted.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-01-18
Reviewid: 16691Chapter: 3
Eeek, chapter three got cut off! I've resubmitted it, so hopefully this will be fixed soon. (I guess that's why I kept getting 'disk error' messages when I was trying to load the new chapter. The computer that I was using is on its last legs.) Sorry about that...

-Ozma

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16683Chapter: 3
Argh! It's cut off!! Or did you just keep that fragment in at the end by mistake?

Anyhoo, I really enjoyed InLove!Hagrid and Filch's reaction to his disorganization. (Anyone interested in "The Odd Couple" starring Filch and Hagrid? LOL) The in-character goodbyes were KEWL, too, and so was Filch's calendar observing the progress of the Weasley twins. Thank you also for awarding the House Cup to Hufflepuff! I would have loved to have been there to see it.

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16671Chapter: 3
Uh-oh... I would love to give a real review, but it seems that this latest chapter has been cut off at the middle.

Just letting you know. : )

I'm going to be gone for a couple of days, so if I don't review it's because I haven't gotten to it yet.

Until next update,

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16649Chapter: 1
I've caught up at last don't know if thats good or bad!

A new article to be printed in the Wizard Enquirer

[I]The Five Effects of Door Travel [/I] by Professor A. Moody.

Not sure that I'm ready for Filch/McGonagall gushy stuff although I did like the behind the scenes tension that we saw in your previos editions. A bit like Daphne and Miles in Fraiser maybe?

Will keep my eyes peeled for more updates.

Yours in fandom - Jessanndi

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16629Chapter: 2
Wonder if the Squibs born accidentally into the Muggle world might be those considered to have some extra talents...those with a sense of the things unusual that the rest of us miss.

At any rate, I do like the way you've developed the idea of "Squib" as something deeper than the common wizard perception would give it. Seems quite consistent with popular wizarding thought, (as so often is measured by Ron Weasley's reactions) that Squibs are largely considered to simply be non-magic (and yet are so much more than that).

I like the idea that there are differnces in the talents of the Squibs, much as there are clearly differences in the talents of wizards.

I'd love to see the scene where Snape gets ahold of Moody's notes and learns exactly what the Snape effect is! I suspect he'd not take it in the most objectively scientific manner.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16589Chapter: 2
5. Anyone bearing a Dark Mark would be wise to put their affairs in
order first. ("The Snape Effect.")
-Made me laugh!

Well, red-and-gold is obviously glad to have Godric's heir using it. I enjoyed reading its playful reaction.

When, if ever, is Filch going to learn of the invisibility cloak and the Marauders map? I would especially like your take when he learned of the map.

At the end of the dock a figure was sitting, long silver hair and beard pale in the starlight. His slippers were on the dock beside him and his robes were pulled to his knees so he could paddle his feet in the water.
-Nice touch, very in character.


My only complaint about this chapter was that it was much too short.

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16583Chapter: 2
Oh wow! i've only been gone for two or three weeks and you've written so much! I love where you're taking this - are you going to reveal other heirs? Or will it just be red-and-gold who gets to meet his master's descendent? I can't help visualising r&g as being more doglike than catlike - and somehow that suits gryffs. All boundy and excited! Will Filch lose his door to Harry now? I have this image of r&g following Harry around, wanting to transport the descendent of Gryffindor wherever he wants! Or if Harry was in danger would r&g know and try to help him? You're image of Dumbledore at the lake was excellent too - there must be times when he thinks he can't go through a war again, and his refectiveness was very nicely portrayed. Great work as usual!

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16581Chapter: 2
Cool another good chapter. Maybey Moody might guess that harry is the Heir of Gryffindor once Filch tells of what happend :)(I hope harry doesnt walk into the Slytherin door).

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16568Chapter: 2
Well, darn, I wrote a nice long review of your first chapter, posted it, and it disappeared! I was the second review for this story. *whines* Now I've got to try and remember what I said and email it to you.

Aww, Godric's Door is Happy-Happy! That's so cool! I liked the Door rubbing up against Argus like a happy kitty, too.

So the 'Black Effect' is a sick dog, but the 'Snape effect' is a fairly dead wizard? Yikes! Not fun, that!

Poor Harry, getting to see Voldemort offing his prisoners. Ugh. Poor kid! I loved the glimpse of Dumbledore taking some solace down by the lake, that sounds very like him. And Harry is desperate enough to accept help from Severus' potions? Oooh boy! (What would Severus think, by the way? 'Man this kid MUST be desperate! Or an imposter!')

Somebody has to give Argus a supply of little paper sick-sacks so he'll be prepared! "Filch's Tapestry Transport - We Get You There... More or Less In One Piece" Hee-hee! He could always demand travelers take insurance with Lloyds of London, they'll insure just about anything!

Good story and my review of part one as soon as I get my brain renewed. :-D

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16518Chapter: 2
LOL I loved Moody's analysis of the different "effects." Poor Harry, though! *sniffle* I'm glad he got through the Door all right, but it hurts to read about him having visions like that :(

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16506Chapter: 2
You're quite welcome! I like reviewing the chapters as they come. Yep, blue and bronze is in the books. Somewhere in 'em, at least. I LOVED red and gold's reaction to Harry. Very chipper and upbeat, wasn't it? ;-) I'll be impatient until that kiss comes. Just warning you. Minerva is one of my favorite characters and, though I never really considered pairing her with Filch, you've done a good job of writing it. Poor Harry! Reading about him being so distressed and everything makes me want to give him a big hug. Muggle-born Squibs. Hmm...and here come the plot bunnies. *resigned sigh*

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16502Chapter: 2
Wow... you updated fast! Cool!

Oh, that's cute: Red and Gold was happy and excited to meet Harry, like seeing a long lost friend.

"Anyone bearing a Dark Mark would be wise to put their affairs in order first. ("The Snape Effect.")"

LOL! Poor Snape. I almost feel sorry for him.

I wonder what aould happen if Dumbledore went through a Door...

I can't write any more fics than I already am. Sorry! I didn't have a plot anyway. Besides, I couldn't do half as good a job as you. I mean it!

It's refreshing to read something about a minor character rather than the Trio.

I have a question: What kind of cat is Mrs. Norris?

Until next update (hopefully as soon sa this one came),

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: julieDate: 2003-01-17
Reviewid: 16498Chapter: 2
Oh, I hoped you'd write that. I figured Harry wouldn't have any trouble to red 'n gold.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --