The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Trunk
Review(s): 38

Reviewer: slytherinatheartDate: 2007-01-24
Reviewid: 146976Chapter: 1
Made me cry. I love sad stories, especially while listening to sad songs.

I love it.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-20
Reviewid: 141119Chapter: 1
Quite Excellent – Again.

Reviewer: PythonBlossomDate: 2005-10-31
Reviewid: 135524Chapter: 1
This one made me cry. Hard.
A very lovely touching story.

Reviewer: rinaDate: 2005-05-11
Reviewid: 121884Chapter: 1
beautiful.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101556Chapter: 1
Lovely! The symmetry between Ron and Ray is great! And Lissa with wild hair and a Muggle. The Cannons, the loyalty. I love this stoty!

My favorite part is when Ron echoes Ray about the Cannons!
>>"They’ll do it this season," I said, unable to stop myself. "They will," I told Harry, who was grinning a little. <<
Great stuff!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95555Chapter: 1
I love it. I can't say anything else, it is wonderful.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90555Chapter: 1
That is so sad. The description of Mr Weasley finding the house and Maggie made me want to cry.. I loved how you wove gentle humour in with the tragedy- the image of Arthur eagerly questioning Lissie about muggles, compared with the horror of the ruined house, and the dead child…. Heart- wrenching.

Reviewer: hairy_henDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76863Chapter: 1
Wow, very tragic and depressing. I love it. (The story, not the tragedy.) It gives an interesting perspective on Mr. Weasley's stance on Muggles and against the Dark Arts. Excellent.

Reviewer: Me, Moi, et JeDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73068Chapter: 1
That was beautiful. *Sniff* Well, the ending was a little sad but it makes for a great one-shot.

Reviewer: big daveDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72828Chapter: 1
sad and moving though it is (im a big fluff fan :)) i loved it only one gripe like most american fan fic authors your british acsent is terible eg we never use the word "closet" instead we use "wardrobe" or "cupboard" (ie cupboard under the stairs) and we never use the word "neat" as an excalmation (ie this car is really neat)

Reviewer: SpifeDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67037Chapter: 1
Wwo, that was so beutiful. I loved it. very well writen. Ray liked the Cannons, soo sweet

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-12-23
Reviewid: 64506Chapter: 1
I love this story! I came looking for it to read it again. I'm writing from Ron's POV, and I wanted to have this firmly in my head. You do such good details. Almost like they are throw aways. It gives a great depth to your work. Like this bit:
>>"Oh, yes. Every year, without fail, he said the same thing you do."

"They’ll do it this season," I said, unable to stop myself. "They will," I told Harry, who was grinning a little.

"Yes, that’s what he’d say." My dad sighed and ran his hand over his bald spot. "I’d laugh, but he was completely faithful. That was Ray."<<

This does so much in few words. It links Ron more tightly to his uncle. It deepens Ron's connection to Harry (and his Dad). Because the description of Ray fits Ron, Arthur's description of Ray is also a description of Ron. So we are even more sorry for Ray. And worried for Ron (and for/because of Hermione). It introduces humor as well as all that!

Just great!!

Reviewer: MeghanDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 47986Chapter: 1
Aww! This is so sad! I read it at the other place where you have it at angelfire, but then I decided to come here and put up a review. It's so sad. I cry now.

~Meghan

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46557Chapter: 1
Very nice story, I liked the first person and I liked the end. It was such a sad story but it ended on an up beat note and that was really cool.

Reviewer: IceDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42508Chapter: 1
<whimper> this is really great...totally explains arthur weasley further...and ron finally knowing why. continue this!

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42133Chapter: 1
Wow! I loved this story also! You're an excellent writer! It's really sad that Ron's dad had to remember his painful memories. I really liked the story about Ray and Lissa, though! (Well, not the part where they got killed. That part was so sad!) So now Ron knows what it feels like to have a family member killed because of Voldemort. This was such a poignant story and was absolutely brilliant!

Reviewer: WeasleyaholicDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28849Chapter: 1
Yeah, Harry, I agree, I think he'd love to have it. OH! This was wonderfully written, sad, but wonderfully written. It was splendid, and there should be justice! But alas, Moldie Voldie's horrible and has no regard for the rules, ah wait, Harry doesn't either, and i guess i can't say that Harry doesn't have to follow them if i want to require that Voldie does... drat, foiled again! :(
Okay, so siriusly, this was amazing, poor Arthur. :(

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28756Chapter: 1
How sad. A little two-year-old...

I wish Ron could hear something like this during the books, and then he probably wouldn't mind all those hand-me-downs.

Reviewer: TinkerbellDate: 2003-03-29
Reviewid: 25616Chapter: 1
That was really good!

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22393Chapter: 1
Oh.... this is one of the saddest things I've read. It's amazing how, as we grow up, family history begins to mean something, and it ties into and builds your own life experiences. Ron's discovery of this history is precious.
Thank you for writing this one.

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17310Chapter: 1
Awwww....

I've seen the theory repeatedly that Arthur's description of finding the Dark Mark over a home came from personal experience, but this is the first time I've seen anything like this version.... I never saw anyone write it as a brother, and you thought out the details so well -- and wove the whole thing perfectly into the Weasleys' proclivity for large families, their financial situation, and Ron's attitude toward hand-me-downs (and Harry's, for that matter) right down to how he had reacted when he first got the trunk, that fortunately saved the picture.

Reviewer: Slytherin SweetheartDate: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17293Chapter: 1
OOOOOOOOOh, i love it.. its beautiful.

Reviewer: NielsDate: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17289Chapter: 1
*sniff*. This is just perfect. What more can a person say? Do the world a *huge* favour and _never_ stop writing.

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17270Chapter: 1
This is just incredible. It also gives Ron a more personal connection to the fight (without losing an immediate family member).

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17267Chapter: 1
Very, VERY good and sad, also quite believable. You have a good voice for Ron and Arthur. This is a very plausible story, and lends itself nicely to the whole explanation Arthur gives about the Dark Mark in book four (seeing it over the house and knowing what you'd find inside). Marvelously well done.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17231Chapter: 1
::snifs::

Aww, Mosylu! That's so sad....

Oh, Margaret Rose, that's such a beautiful name. Two of my favourites.

>>"Rupert, Richard, Randolph . . . You know what my >>family’s like. It’s probably an 1857 original or >>something."
LOL! :D

Poor Arthur. ::wants to huggle him::

excellent work!

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17229Chapter: 1
"I’m wearing the entire recent history of the Weasleys." LOL -- that's one way of putting it!

I loved this story! I enjoyed Ron fuming over his trunk ("Daaaaaaad!") and ticking off his relatives and his uncle's being a pack rat. I loved how he thought about Hermione when his dad mentioned Muggles (it's kind of automatic, since they're friends, but it's cute) and how he felt when his dad told them that Ray and his family died. I'm sorry that they died, but I could really feel Ron's connection with his family. Coming from a large family myself, I can identify with that. Great work!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17221Chapter: 1
Ah, this is simply profound. Makes one think how precious a life is... anyone's life. Well done.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17218Chapter: 1
Beautiful story - and so sad! I've always known something must've happened to the Weasleys, but JKR's never told us. I'm glad you did.

I especially like the sense of friendship between Ron and Harry. The way the discussion over hand-me-downs was an old argument that wasn't worth finishing - that's so Ron-and-Harry. Great job!

Reviewer: JessDate: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17213Chapter: 1
That was wonderfully written. And a really unique idea. And even though I know they were not there, that it isn't real anyway, I am still sad for poor Ray and Lissa... and little Maggie.

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2003-01-21
Reviewid: 17199Chapter: 1
Liked the opening where Ron checks to see if his mom is around before swearing! Also liked that you used Ron's POV first person. Harry's reaction to having a connection with a family heirloom was subtle and executed with grace.

This story really moved me. The little details made me alterante between eyes misting (the overflowing pot on the stove) to my breath catching in my mouth (No more Mudbloods above the crib....still shivering). Ron's reactions throughout the story were also spot-on. I especially liked how he immediately bonded with his Uncle Ray over the Cannons and his helplessness at the lack of justice. Finding the pictures was a sweet way to end the story (dent not dimple! love it!). A great, great story! You write a good Ron!

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-01-21
Reviewid: 17193Chapter: 1
Oh! Terribly sad, but lovely writing... I loved the description of the picture, too - very poignant.

Reviewer: wm_lawDate: 2003-01-21
Reviewid: 17192Chapter: 1
Oh that was really, really good! Well written and very touching. It made me cry! Just lovely.

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2003-01-21
Reviewid: 17187Chapter: 1
This was really lovely. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-01-21
Reviewid: 17186Chapter: 1
Amazing story. It was sad but really really good. Keep writing!

Reviewer: briteyesDate: 2003-01-21
Reviewid: 17185Chapter: 1
*sniff*

This was lovely; thank you for sharing it. I like how you captured Ron's POV. It's a more-than-plausible storyline, too--I've always wondered why Arthur was so prickly about those "dark times."

And the Puffskein line was adorable!

(For what it's worth, I have an Uncle Ray, too. We haven't spoken too or heard from him in many years. So, I found the story particularly touching)

Reviewer: RikaDate: 2003-01-21
Reviewid: 17182Chapter: 1
Impressive, Imaginative, and Beautiful. I really enjoyed this.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-21
Reviewid: 17176Chapter: 1
Very sad and sweet.

The man in the picture looked a little like my dad, a little like Percy, but mostly like Bill. His big grin was the same as Charlie’s..
-Nicely brings home how vunerable the Weasleys are.

Harry snorted with laughter, part appreciative, part commiserating.
-just liked that.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --