The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Captain of Captains
Review(s): 10

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2004-10-23
Reviewid: 102194Chapter: 1
This would be great if it had another chapter. I liked it. Poor Oliver was so nervous. I would like to see how he ends up helping the Cannons....if that in fact is what he ends up doing, lol.

*Geena

Reviewer: PatsyDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22854Chapter: 1
Wonderful!!! Write more, write more!!!!!

Reviewer: kazzaDate: 2003-02-19
Reviewid: 21000Chapter: 1
Yay, Wood! The 'cool' attitude is so cute. :)
A fun, enjoyable story

Reviewer: Artemisia BristolDate: 2003-02-03
Reviewid: 18775Chapter: 1
The Captain of all Captains, eh? :) Here, here!

Fantastic humour on the last bit. Love the line about playing Quidditch to look cool and yelling in the wind.

Something that could be worked upon is the descriptions. There are some great chances for good similes or metaphors to be inserted in to make the writing more interesting: ie. "as a boy walked out of the room, disappointed." How did the boy show he was disappointed? Where his shoulders dropping? Was he crying? Yelling to the judges that they'd made a mistake?

The character of Oliver Wood, as we've been shown, is a very confident person (he does go a bit compulsive but rarely seconds guesses his decisions) and not a doubter. His inner dialogue during the piece doesn't exactly reflect that but it does give him a different side. Perhaps you could look over it to see if the story needs more of that brashness he shows in the cannon.

Other then that, just a teeny question, wouldn't the Chudley Cannons want to see if he could play or not? Giving him the job just because he trains Harry (although valid) seems a bit odd.

Other then that, can't wait for the next part.

A.Bristol

Reviewer: lucysnoweDate: 2003-01-28
Reviewid: 18188Chapter: 1
As sami said, Oliver does play as the reserve keeper for Puddlemere United according to GoF. However, even knowing that I still think that this was a good fic. I especially liked the part where he thought of Harry becoming a champion, and that he knew Harry was going to be captain. I never really thought of it that way, but i guess it makes sense that the previous captain would recommend a new one before leaving.

So overall, very interesting, could be developed a bit more, and keep writing!

Reviewer: EmmyDate: 2003-01-24
Reviewid: 17557Chapter: 1
I like your idea, but I personally htink it could use a little more developing. I mean, if Wood is trying out for a team that hasn't won in the past three centuries, why is he so nervous? Now, if he was trying to get onto a team that hadn't LOST in the past three centuries, I would understand that. And the way he's being looked over BEFORE he has even shown them what he can do is kind of odd, isn't it? It seems a little out of order to me. Sorry if I'm wrong, I don't really know that much about this kind of thing, but it doesn't seem quite right.

Reviewer: E E BlackebrryDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17470Chapter: 1
Both are very nice characters, worthy work... notable the way it describes a key moment in the life of Oliver, with the precise dose of sarcasm, not excessive to diminish the affection he deserves. The humor he had when he choosed the team to pursue his dream save him from himself, keeping his charm untouched for the time to come ĄCool boy!

Reviewer: otterDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17468Chapter: 1
sweet! what happens next...can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: samiDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17466Chapter: 1
oliver wood, plays for the puddlemrere united! GoF!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-01-22
Reviewid: 17370Chapter: 1
Finally! An excellent fic on a great character!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --