The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Andantino
Review(s): 26

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-06
Reviewid: 115688Chapter: 1
good story. A little off on snapes character though - a little too harsh.

Reviewer: AbigailDate: 2005-01-02
Reviewid: 109552Chapter: 1
I loved it. Your characterisation of the marauders was great, all of them were spot-on. Even Peter, you worked perfectly with him, and Peter is quite a difficult character to write (and I would know, *I* never have him right) but you made him seem so real.
Snape was great as well... you're terribly good. I had a great time reading this. Thanks for sharing!

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107135Chapter: 1
I love how you portray music in this fic, and how you characterize Sirius and Snape through it. Thanks for writing this fic.

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99603Chapter: 1
Bravo. I thought of Snape as a viola man myself, but you've almost got me convinced otherwise. An excellent idea.

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95992Chapter: 1
That was really good. It made me feel like Snape was more than some greasy git - he came across as a real human, with real feelings, no matter how much he tries to hide it. You wrote it beautifully, and Sirius' love for music is so clear and deep.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78542Chapter: 1
Very thoughtful. I'd have thought you're crazy if I hadn't read the other story before, where Sirius as a musician is introduced. Maybe you should add a warning.
But, being prepared, it was an excellent read.

Reviewer: Eighth WeasleyDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55495Chapter: 1
I read this and the first thing I thought was, "Cool." Then the next thought was, "Wait - if wizards are behind technologically (i.e., quills instead of pens, no computers, etc.), why do they have the latest musical instruments? Wouldn't everone know harpsichord instead?" Anyways, it was a good story - now I have a lovely little plot bunny involving my music professor (who's a harpsichordist) and Hogwarts Castle. Thanks!

Reviewer: RussaDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54696Chapter: 1
I rather like the idea of Snape as a misunderstood composer-type. Very creative! And you did a wonderful portrayal of the Marauders as well!

Reviewer: *Ginny Starre*Date: 2003-07-23
Reviewid: 43470Chapter: 1
*Snape! As a pianist! What a beautiful idea!!!!! I adore Snape. My darling Snapey! Sorry, I have issues w/ cool "villains" like Snape... ( :*

Reviewer: JayneDate: 2003-06-11
Reviewid: 36277Chapter: 1
"He had never heard a piano sing as if it were a cello, never heard anyone who could make him hear loneliness, and sorrow, and proud desolation, could work it into his very bones with every delicate touch of the keys, could open up a windswept vista of wide, treeless plains, cold and dusky."

Mincot:
Simply another beautiful image of our snarky, tortured Snape...and from Sirius's point of view no less. You've done an excellent job of keeping both in character and yet giving them more flesh as it were.
I love it.

And the Alan Rickman allusion is wonderful (cello).

Jayne
MM

Reviewer: PBS JonesDate: 2003-03-26
Reviewid: 25344Chapter: 1
I liked this story because the characters that we think of as the good guys come off looking rather nasty by the end.

I remember these kids from high school; good looking, sometimes smart, always popular. They got away with things like banging a basketball into Laurie's head, or tripping Debbie in the locker room(Who cares? She's fat, so it's funny when she falls!) Of course, their friends think they're just great, that they're only having fun, but it's quite a different story when you're the one sitting out recess because of something they did!

Of course, Snape is grumpy and unlikable. Maybe his hair is dirty because he's afraid to go in the shower... Who wouldn't be with the constant torturing from the Marauders?

Did Sirius really think Snape would change just because he gave him a lame compliment? Snape correctly guessed that Sirius was taking something that he loved and turning it against him. He had every reason to rebuke Sirius' offer; anyway, why would Snape want to change his comfortable routine just to be around these "playful" pranksters? He would be a fool to trust them.

The fact that Sirius went ahead with the prank after their conversation says it all (and is a good precursor to a deadly prank he'll pull on Snape later, eh?) Sirius never gave one thought as to why Snape had such mistrust -- probably because he already knew why, and didn't want to face the truth.

Very unusual and realistic take on the Marauders.

Reviewer: lucysnoweDate: 2003-03-23
Reviewid: 24972Chapter: 1
This was a beautiful fic. It is clear that you love music as much as these characters do.

Sirius and Snape were fantastic. I love how Sirius was forced into respecting Snape's musical skills against his will. I never thought of Snape as a musician, but I can see it now.

You did a great job with the rest of the Marauders too. THANK YOU for giving Peter a personality. It was so refreshing. =)

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22822Chapter: 1
Oh. My. (Sits down with a mouth rounded in an O of pleasure.) Thanks, Kat--definitely! I'd be honored if you wanted to illustrate this--your work is truly excellent. And thank you, SweetSirius and Cas and PinkPanther. As I said below, I'm really not a musician myself; I know just enough to be unmelodic and dangerous, but I still love music, so I'm glad the music and piano sections came off as realistic. SweetSirius (I do love your name!)--I had to write and re-write the dialogue between the two boys; they are SO much alike, and they're both intelligent enough to be able to do each other real damage in the heat of the moment. Cas, among my pet peeves are Stupid!Peter, NonExistent!Peter, and AlreadyShowingDistinctSignsOfRatlyTreason!Peter. He had to be a real person, enough to have interested three other extremely bright boys into becoming his friend--and trusting him to the last. And he had to have had something to contribute--he can't just have been a recipient, not with this group. Besides, someone had to draw a cartoon of Snape! (Look at Alkari's "A Most Unusual Student" for the full explanation of the Infamous Butterfly Incident--it was simply brilliant.) Yes, I'd love to see the cartoon .... :)

Reviewer: CatDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22639Chapter: 1
A lovely story...both Sirius and Snape are believable. It made me feel a good bit of sympathy for the beleagered future potions master. Great job! Would you mind if I did an illustration?

Reviewer: SweetSiriusDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22626Chapter: 1
Mincot,

What a beautiful piece! You have a wonderfully calm writing style, and a genuine love of music that gets woven into your words: it all just seems to come out so smoothly, quietly and completely. Not only have you included some rounded and enourmously likeable characters (I especially love the detail apparent in James, and in his friendship with Sirius), but you have given a beautiful rendition of Sirius. His own love of music gives him a more methodical, more focused and softer side than most writers allow, and wandering through his thoughts was pleasantly familiar. The opening chess game was delightful - the black chess pieces in victory were gorgeous. Both interactions between Sirius and Snape - especially their defences - were realistic and smoothly done. You have a very effective way of creating whole worlds and characters in a few lines or details. It's an intricate and intelligent piece, and I enjoyed it immensely. :)

~SweetSirius~

Reviewer: CasDate: 2003-01-29
Reviewid: 18300Chapter: 1
I love Peter's comic book Snape - somebody should draw it :). It's one of those details that makes Peter more real, a part of the group and not just 'the one we have to put in because we know he was there but they can't have liked him much' which you see all too often.

Sirius as a musician, I like. Snape as a musician now, that's new. It adds another dimension to the character, and I really like what you do with the confrontation between the two boys.

Cas

Reviewer: PinkpantherDate: 2003-01-27
Reviewid: 18015Chapter: 1
Wow this was really very well written! Being a music student for many years, I can really see all the details you've worked in. Well don!

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2003-01-26
Reviewid: 17952Chapter: 1
Oh, my! Thank you to everyone who has reviewed--VJA, Durayan, Insanity70, Alkari, The White Lily, Yolanda, Emma D., and Murasaki--this story was a bit of an experiment for me, and I'm glad that people think it came off well.

VJA: I have never been able to see slut!Sirius as being truly "in character," esp. with what we see in canon--he is too private for that, and too intelligent, and too honest. Now, Peter .... (grins). Both Alkari and I have written about musical!Sirius (See "A Most Unusual Student" and "A Ministry Christmas").

Durayan, Alkari, White Lily, and Insanity--I was very much trying to set up the Shrieking Shack scene in PoA, as both men's actions seem to me to be somewhat at odds with their other behavior throughout the book--they are both well over the top. And I have found that I react most vehemently to irritations that are most like the things I myself do, so ... I was also trying to show that there were limits to what the Marauders would do ... and, of course, as I cannot stand absent!Peter, whiny!Peter, or stupid!Peter, I wanted to show just how integrated into the group he was. Sometimes I wonder--Minerva in PoA, the the Three Broomsticks scene, says that Peter was "tagging after" James and Sirius, which suggests that he was not a full member of the group. On the other hand, the Map included Remus and Peter, so I suspect that that is another instance of outside perception ... But with Peter, too, I was trying to work on set-up, and I thought that he should be the person to see what was going on--people who sit on the fringes often do see things others miss.

Yolanda: you're right on about Rachmaninoff! He should have been on Sirius' list of musician wizards. I have sevretly suspected Rachmaninoff of having a house-elf hidden in the piano box .... I'm glad the piano sections came off as realistic, as well--I have to confess that I am not a pianist; nobody who values music would ever want to hear me play. (But I used to do finger exercises anyway, just as a meditation, though I can't play more than the simple Czerny pieces!)

Emma: thanks! I am afraid that I am drifting toward Marauder-era Snape, and this remains a scary thought; still, the plot bunnies are hopping madly ....

Murasaki (and everyone who commented on Snape): yes, I wanted to whap Sirius upside down the head, too. You're right--of the two of them, he was in the better position to have kept working on the interaction, and he let the opportunity slip. I think the thing, for me, is that *at that period of time*, neither boy would have acted differently. Sirius is shrewd and empathetic, but he's not willing to really push those thoughts; Severus is maintaining his facade, and was far too suspicious to ;look at what Sirius was saying.

I hope, though, that there *is* some hope in the story. Not for their relationship in canon, but (assuming that both of them survive the next three books!) as middle-aged or older men. They will never be friends, but I can see each of them looking back on this incident. OVerall, I was trying to give Snape a reason, much later, to realize that he can trust Sirius, and vice versa; Severus realizing that Sirius was indeed offering a truce, and also realizing that, no matter how angry Sirius was, never once did Sirius every say a word about the composition. He let the prank about playing the piano stand, but he never did share with the others the fact that Snape had written that piece. And, as for Sirius, I hope that he would remember what he heard in Severus' playing--the fundamental nature that should be the key to trusting Snape at last. And I hope he realizes that he quit too soon, and that he was as guilty as Snape of maintaining his ego, as Murasaki said, and maintaining his prejudices.

Thanks again to all! (Mincot goes off doing a happy, but rather sober, dance ... )

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-01-26
Reviewid: 17935Chapter: 1
Wow, really effective setting-up of a story! This was so sad on a number of levels. Snape has been abused too long to trust and Sirius is too caught up preserving his ego to keep trying. And music is one of the few media that can bridge differences. What a waste. Argh.

From my middle age I fully understand why neither youth can really finish reaching out, but my gut instinct is to knock Sirius over the head. :-D Given the way you have set up the relationship of James,Sirius, etc. with Severus, all my sympathies lie with Severus. He's been suffering abuse on a horrific scale and *I'd* have been a homicidal manic if I was in his place.

Excellent story, I just wish it had ended with more hope (but I do understand why it didn't, if you are trying to do backstory for canon.)

Great work!

Reviewer: Emma DalrympleDate: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17833Chapter: 1
> The black queen coursed triumphantly back and forth through the wreckage, and the black king swept his sword about in graceful, deadly arcs.

:D Leave it to Siriusí chessmen to behave just that way.

> "No, but it's probably good for you." He ignored James' outraged glare. "Well, you have to lose sometime.

*has deja vu remembering Snapeís reasons for being so harsh with Harry in R.J. Andersonís Darkness and Light trilogy* That line just seems heartbreaking to me :-/

Sirius playing finger exercises on a tabletop to help him solve problems is an incredibly lovely image. I can see that picture clearly in my head. I love this other side of Sirius that music brings out.

> Sirius could identify most of the students who practiced in the morning by their touch

Interesting idea. . . Iím not a musician so I wouldnít be able to do that, but Iíd imagine itís much the same thing as recognizing a writer by their punctuation and style, or a family member by their footfall.

> "Quick save, Black. Not quick enough by half, though, just like you. Not very bright, either

I know I said this in the Workshop, but this is *straight* out of PoA.. the same contempt, the same cutting malice. *sigh*

> He didn't like Snape any more than Snape liked him, but he was annoyed that the other boy had brushed off his tentative peace offer-at least as far as music was concerned.

Try to put yourself in Sevís place, dear. He does still bear a pink butterfly on his hand, after all; you think *thatís* going to put him in a forgiving mood?

> pulling the closest set of robes--he thought they felt like James'--one-handedly over his head

That simple action says a lot about the boysí friendship. Even though this is a good thing, I canít help but think of how angsty this is considering what happens later :( Damn Peter. . .

Siriusí description of Snapeís original piece is an excellent way of showing what the author thinks of Snape. Let those plot bunnies run free, MincotóI want to see more Hogwarts-era!Snape! :D

> "Not that you lot have ever had to work for anything. Just gets handed to you."

More canon!Snape. . . well, we know he thinks the apple doesnít fall far from the tree now, donít we?

You write HogwartsEra!Marauders brilliantly, Mincot. All of your characterizations are spot-on. Great job here.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17778Chapter: 1
I was delighted with this story, having suffered so many times through hours of Czerny exercises myself. I have to echo what I read in some other reviews. I do like your portrayal of Peter. It's good that he understands Snape's need for a secret life. In fact, I liked the theme that our stereotypes of each other, while based in some fact, do not absolutely define us.

I think your Snape is well-done. He's got that paranoia we see in POA. I liked your Sirius very much. I was particularly pleased at how he sized up Severus so well. He has the makings of an Auror--despite what we know of his future.

I loved the idea of some composers being wizards. I would add Rachmaninoff to the list since I can't believe people actually have the hands to play some of his music.

I'm wondering whether any of that penetrated through Snape's defense mechanisms. It made me think of the chess tournaments played against the Russians during the cold war. It made me sad to see Snape so rigid in his thinking at so early an age, but I did understand where it came from.

Wonderful study of emotion.

Reviewer: The White LilyDate: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17751Chapter: 1
This is a beautiful tale. I know this wasn't really the focus of the story, but I have to say that I was most impressed with the way Peter was not a moody snivelling wretch that everyone felt sorry for, he was a real person who had a real contribution to the marauders. In most stories, you don't understand why the Marauders didn't suspect Peter all along. But you've made him *real*.

That said, I also think that all of your characters were fantastic - especially Snape, who's too busy retreating behind his facade, to try to deal with what he thinks is someone making fun of him, to recognise a real compliment.

I have really enjoyed this story.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17730Chapter: 1
Excellent fic! I love 'our' musical Sirius, and I think the whole idea of sharing a talent and an interest with Snape gives their relationship added depth and complexity.

I'm particularly impressed with the way you show Sirius' attempt to hold out an olive branch, and the fact that he IS ready to recognise genuine talent and a shared interest in his 'enemy'. I also like the fact that Sirius is able to separate normal pranking-type insults from real personal issues, like family poverty, and that he appreciates there are certain no-go areas for insults.

Snape's rejection of Sirius' attempted truce, and Sirius' hurt/anger at this, give an interesting added dimension to The Prank later on.

Also think your Peter's awareness of the importance of music to Snape is an excellent touch. And I loved the mirror and the chess set!

Alkari

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17723Chapter: 1
Wow, wicked, wondeful! I could feel for Snape - that never happend to me before. And your Marauders are so real!

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2003-01-24
Reviewid: 17692Chapter: 1
This is a fantastically original look at both Snape and Sirius Black. I like the idea that the two share a passion and talent for something that sets them aside---and gives them cause for mutual respect, no matter what difficulties they might find in showing it.

The serious side to Sirius Black is delicious and rounds out this impulsive prankster in a rather unexpected way. For Snape, his talent is another surprise in this intelligent and driven, bitter character.

I adored the pink butterflies, too. Marvelous tale!

Reviewer: VJADate: 2003-01-24
Reviewid: 17673Chapter: 1
Wow, I love musical Sirius - it's so refreshing to see a characterization of him that's not entirely based on practical jokes or flirting with girls. I always thought there was more to him than that. I'd love to see more of this. :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --