The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 41

Reviewer: *Date: 2005-10-11
Reviewid: 134284Chapter: 1
*

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-03
Reviewid: 133646Chapter: 1
Very very cute. Thank you.

Reviewer: MonkeyDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102420Chapter: 1
Awww!

Reviewer: SorelinaDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97558Chapter: 1
My, this was really great! I like the writing, and Harry was pretty much in character, despite being kind of an AU, since he's a child and we've never seen him like that. Also I had heard of the bear's story, but here (I'm Spanish) is not a very famous book (mostly because here is not common to read stories to the children now), but you made me curious about it, and I'm going to look for it.

I think your story was perfect.

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87601Chapter: 1
Oh, this is so SWEET!!! I remember reading Corduroy to my kids when they were little...I'm sure little Harry would relate to the story exactly like this. I love that he tried to imagine hearing it in his Mom's voice instead of Petunia's. And the idea of him imagining the happy ending over and over again until he fell asleep really stays with you when the story ends. Delightful!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79374Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness, this is just too sweet!

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76887Chapter: 1
Oh, poor little-kid Harry! It's amazing he's mostly normal, don't you think? Well, in his first year at Hogwarts he did seem to have a skittish streak. He thought Wood was a cane that he'd be hit with, poor thing. Saaay... in Harry's imagination, is Lisa a little girl with red hair and freckles? *coughGinnycough*

Reviewer: Sunny DayleeDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72869Chapter: 1
Aww, that is so sweet! I wish your fic was a book so that I could read it at storytime! And I will definitely have to go in search of Corduroy!

Very sweet, very sad fic, and I loved the way you foreshadowed! Cute how you narrated Harry's eyesight trouble being a cause for worry about the Dursleys being angry. "His eyes didnít even work properly." Wonderful fic, nice style, can't wait to read more from you!

Reviewer: AbigailDate: 2004-01-17
Reviewid: 67407Chapter: 1
Awwwwwwwww! I love that book! I love this fic!

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 66010Chapter: 1
This is so cute! I adore toddler Harry sympathizing with poor Corduroy, it makes for a sweet little piece.

Reviewer: Red MonsterDate: 2003-11-26
Reviewid: 60818Chapter: 1
Oh my, but that is cute. You've managed to write about Harry with his innocence intact in the Dursleys' house, and make it believable. Of course he's not going to stay that way much longer...but for now, it works. Great detail with his nearsightedness; I suspect this takes place not too long before he gets his glasses, and it must be acknowledged that Harry didn't see very well.

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-10-13
Reviewid: 56395Chapter: 1
*strangled weepy noise* That is so -cute-... (and -sad-! Waaaa!)
Mush! Mush so sweet I can't review constructively! ^^

Reviewer: MIshDate: 2003-10-11
Reviewid: 56241Chapter: 1
awww thats SOOOOO cute!!

Reviewer: SiRemus'SheWolfDate: 2003-10-11
Reviewid: 56237Chapter: 1
Ohhhh...*So* sweet! Poor Chibi!Harry! :*(
Nice to know he eventually ends up in a place where he's wanted and that he feels he belongs.
(That perception, of course, is aided by the masterful characterizations in "After the End"...)

He could imagine the night watchman (who, for some reason, was an /extremely/ large man with bushy hair and beard)...

BaHahahahahahaha!!!! *ROTFLOL*

Et tu, Hagrid? ;)

Reviewer: Amanda KedavraDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55588Chapter: 1
Oh, how I HAAAAAAAAATE the Dursleys! How can they be so mean to such a cute little boy...Oooo Poor Harry!

Reviewer: sheila plickneyDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55561Chapter: 1
awww! CUTE!!!

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55518Chapter: 1
AWWWWWWWW That was so cute.

Brings me back to the days I used to read Corduroy.

Poor Harry......"even his eyes didn't work properly"
Now that was sad
My eyes don't work properly either, gosh darn it!

~~Katie Bell

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55508Chapter: 1
AWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!
Poor Harry!!!!! *Runs over and gives Harry a hug and then steals him from the Dursleys*

AWWWW That was so sad and sooo cute!! POor Harry!!! I love that story!!! I can't believe how cruel the Dursley's were!!! Awww made a 5 year old boy go into a cuboard all by himself!!! Awww I'm so sad your story has touched me!!!
AWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55507Chapter: 1
Oh... that is so sweet! Absolutely *adorable*. The watchman is priceless -- and I can just picture Harry listening to that story and loving it.
~Q

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55417Chapter: 1
that was too cute! i love the way you've paralleled harry and courdorory! you've got harry down very well. beautiful!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: FlamewingDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49186Chapter: 1
Oh, that was so cute... *squeals* Sweet little Harry. I could just see him at five...aww...Well-written too. And, because it was about a little kid, the lack of sentence variety fitted as well... you had a lot of subject-verbs. Sorry, I'm channeling one of my English teachers...

Reviewer: SasamiDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44519Chapter: 1
This story was so sweet and sad. It made me want to sweep little 5-year-old Harry into my arms and give him a big squeeze! I too love the Corduroy books and read them all the time when I was little.

Reviewer: KatrinaDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32358Chapter: 1
Aww. That is a really sweet story. I live in the U.S and I love Corduroy. I have all the books about him and I even have him the bear.

This story was so sweet and I like the way you made Harry's life story weave itself into Corduroy's story. Very creative. I was almost crying a few parts in the story. (Thats how you know your story is good; when you make your readers emotional!)

~Katrina

Reviewer: gooligooDate: 2003-05-07
Reviewid: 31078Chapter: 1
<sqeals>HOW CUTE! but sad too.

googligoo^0^[sqeals]

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-04-30
Reviewid: 30237Chapter: 1
Aw. Poor Harry. I can just see this little boy pressed against Dudley's wall listening to stories every night. Dudley doesn't care about them, but he does. *tear* And Corduroy is the very best book there is! *hugs Corduroy book*

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-04-29
Reviewid: 30088Chapter: 1
::sniffs::

Awww....

I love how the night watchman resembles somebody... ;)

Courduroy is such a cute story! Have you ever seen the sequel, the one where he gets tossed in the laundromat?

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: TeresaDate: 2003-04-29
Reviewid: 29994Chapter: 1
excellent excellent! So cute, but with a taste of bittersweetness of little five-year-old Harry, with eyes that won't even work properly and who can't imagine what it would be like to come home to people who actually want him. poor kid..
Your attention to detail is fabulous! It's impossible NOT to see wounded little Harry, cowering in a dark hallway, trying take part in something he is denied... *wipes eyes*
Re author's note: Corduroy is indeed popular in the States. In fact, I read it regulary to the two-year-old I babysit, taking part not only in the literary socialization of a toddler, but in the selfish indulgences of a teenager wanting to connect with an early childhood staple.
: ) what a great little story..

Reviewer: Phillipa SommervilleDate: 2003-04-08
Reviewid: 26878Chapter: 1
This story is very cute. But it also made me very sad for ppor abandoned, friendless Harry. It's wonderful that he'll grow up and find friends!

Reviewer: lucysnoweDate: 2003-03-23
Reviewid: 24975Chapter: 1
Oh what a sweet story! I used to love that book when I was little. Little Harry is adorable. It's so sad to think of him locked up in that cupboard at such an early age. At least we know that the watchman does come to take him away finally. =)

Reviewer: LafDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19299Chapter: 1
AWWW! How cute is that! I LUV it!!!!!!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-02-05
Reviewid: 19057Chapter: 1
Oh, Shelle! This is darling! And very well done as well! Sniff, sniff...thank goodness a certain bushy-haired "body guard" came 6 years later!

Reviewer: GabbyDate: 2003-02-05
Reviewid: 19000Chapter: 1
Corduroy was one of my FAVORITE books when I was little, and this story about little Harry is soo sweet!! Oh, don't you just want to hug cute little Harry? Awwww!! A beautiful story!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2003-02-03
Reviewid: 18861Chapter: 1
Aw! That's was soooo sad. *sniff* and cute! *sniif* and sooooooo adorable!! *sob* i wanna teddy bear now!!!

Reviewer: RoisDate: 2003-02-03
Reviewid: 18826Chapter: 1
This is adorable! I love this story, and I'm glad Harry did too. I like the part about the night watchman...though maybe a smallish man with a faithful cat would have been closer to the truth. I can imagine Flich carrying Harry "back where he belonged" by the scruff of the neck!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2003-02-03
Reviewid: 18804Chapter: 1
*tear* poor little Harry!! This was so adorable, well done!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-02-03
Reviewid: 18785Chapter: 1
Ah, poor little mite. He could have been on out laps instead of sneaking out of his cupboard to listen to a story. JKR knows how to milk emotions by her intro of the child being put in a cupboard under the stairs. Child abuse. Hah.

Reviewer: loonieDate: 2003-02-03
Reviewid: 18774Chapter: 1
that was sweet AND good! keep at it!

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2003-02-03
Reviewid: 18761Chapter: 1
I loved this story! Corduroy was always one of my favorite stories when I was younger, and it really is nice remembering through this story. This fic is so well put together, and I love how Hagrid is the night watchman.

Reviewer: LazaraspasteDate: 2003-02-03
Reviewid: 18754Chapter: 1
Oooh!Poor Harry. Wouldn't it be great if later Harry gets a copy of "Corduroy"? Maybe even as a present? But what an excellent story. I thoroughly enjoyed it. :)

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-02-02
Reviewid: 18750Chapter: 1
I *loved* "Corduroy" as a child! This was so sweet - you're right, it's the kind of story that a young Harry would really love.

Thanks. :D

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-02-02
Reviewid: 18747Chapter: 1
Cool story!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --