The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Squib Apprentice
Review(s): 67

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-26
Reviewid: 142249Chapter: 5
I have, sadly, finished the last of these most excellent stories that you have posted here. If you have more elsewhere, I would love to know. Your art is a good read.

Reviewer: MorwenDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59788Chapter: 5
I just finished reading all your stories. They are utterly delightful. I really like the way you've developed the characters and their relationships with each other. I look forward to seeing how Myrtle's bathroom turns out... and what the children--not to mention Sirius and Severus!--think of the result!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59686Chapter: 5
hey, I really loved reading this story, I was just picking random authors to read, and I am so glad I found these stories!!! They are excellent, I read through them all, even though I have a lot of work to do. It distracts me from my essays, which is a good thing ;) You are now on my favourites list. Thank you!!!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57260Chapter: 5
I absolutely love this story. You have an amazing touch for expressing the characters and weaving the plot together. I adore your characterization of Filtch. Every part of the story - the tone, setting, pace, etc. is just perfect. A truly enjoyable read, just amazing.

-Kate Lynn

Reviewer: julieDate: 2003-06-19
Reviewid: 37612Chapter: 5
I just re-read this chapter. I know that book 5 is coming out this weekend, but I am looking forward to your chapter just as much. I work with students too, and I appreciate Filch's point of view. Keep up the great work.

Reviewer: SoniaDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35311Chapter: 1
Oh, this is delightful! I love finding out marvellously reliased new Harry Potter universes! I love to speculate and read more about young Filch.

Reviewer: FyrDrakkenDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35083Chapter: 5
Loved this chapter. Mrs. Gerrity's Kneazleness seemed to suggest that she might be an ancestress of Mrs. Norris. I got rather misty-eyed when Filch was requesting the unicorn's assistance. And I was amused at Filch's mental translation of Dumbledore's report on Mr. Pringle's rationale for letting Filch keep Mrs. Gerrity.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-05-30
Reviewid: 34405Chapter: 5
Awww! This chapter had me sniffling! I can see how Filch could relate to Mrs. Gerrity (and how she came by her name, too) and the affection he has for her was so heartwarming. I love how he chased the unicorn down and did his best to sweet-talk her, even though his crustiness still poked through in the end!

Hagrid's "I can't take yeh anywhere" line was the best! :D This from a guy who keeps company with all sorts of potentially dangerous creatures!

And finally -- hmm, is Mrs. Gerrity Mrs. Norris' mother? They look alike and it's springtime... ;)

Reviewer: SunsethillDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33855Chapter: 5
This most definitely did click! Very good job, and I had never thought about Mrs. Norris being a kneazle before. I wouldn't be surprised at all if you are right. Filch's voice in this chapter was just right.

Reviewer: CindieDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33706Chapter: 5
Yay, another chapter! I was going through Filch withdrawal, Ozma. So glad to find this. I laughed, I cried, both at the same time. Wonderful, as always.

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33589Chapter: 5
LOL! I thought this story was over. What a nice surprise!

OK.... Mrs. Gerrity is cool. Is she Mrs. Norris' ancestor?

Kneazles ROX! :-)

Dude... he risked a lot to help that cat. Poor kitty.

Now, who would go around "testing" their Dark magic spells on stray animals? It's probably Tom Riddle. The jerk.

And Filch gets to keep Mrs. Gerrity. Yay!

Great (though unexpected) chapter!

Looking forward to the next fic,

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33548Chapter: 5
I'm always glad to see your name on the update list especially after such a long absence.

He grinned. "Well, it’s spring. Don’t worry. You’ll understand soon enough."
-Good ending. Nice to see Mrs. Norris's ever-so-great grandmother in a fic.

"No, jus’ Aragog," Hagrid said, sounding as exasperated as his spider-friend
-You have done a good job with young Hagrid. Any chance of your writing a fic from his view point?

Reviewer: rabbitDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33536Chapter: 5
Oh, I was so excited to see your name in the update list! This was a great chapter -- practically its own little story -- and a wonderful introduction to Filch's fondness for cats. I'll have to dig out my copy of Fantastic Beasts to read up on Kneazle's though...

I particularly liked the interaction with Aragog and with the unicorn. Filch's impatience and bluntness seem to be inherent, even when he is trying to be nice. No wonder Hagrid's out of sorts with him by the time that Harry gets to Hogwarts! Of course, anyone would be scared in the Forest, particularly if they could feel the magic around them.

Why was Dumbledore so somber? He didn't seem to be mad at Filch. Was he just thinking about the deaths of the strays?

I got a chuckle out of the house elves cossetting the cat in place of the boy, and "Mrs." instead of "Miss." All in all, a very pleasant read which was just in time to make my day!

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33490Chapter: 5
I've got a Molly-crush on your Argus Filch...can I bring him home with me and give him some soup? I loved this chapter, and I loved Hagrid in it as well.

I once befrended a stray cat with an eye missing, as well. He hung around the school yard and I was the only one he let pet him. It's a truly wonderful feeling, though I wish I could have brought him home...

Reviewer: kazzaDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33481Chapter: 5
For someone who is so self-deprecating, Filch is a very brave person. I don't think I'd have the courage to defy Aragog, let alone Ogg and co.

I like your stories A Lot; they're such enjoyable character studies and so full of ideas.

Reviewer: pogoniaDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33466Chapter: 2
Thoroughly enjoying this as I have all your other stories. You really bring to life all the cameo characters that JKR has tossed in for a moment here and there - like Pringle, Ogg, and the young Hagrid seen only in CoS. More later after I get to the next couple of chapters.

A word about Ella's Everkleen - Rabbit and Jinx may have imported it into the Potterverse (where it fits beautifully) but IIRC it appeared first in the Disney animated movie _Cinderella_.

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33463Chapter: 5
Ooh, I needed a couple of kleenex for this story! I can't stand it when stray cats are abused, and Argus' taking on the daunting task of unicorn-hunting for Mrs. Gerrity was SO moving. And his speech to the unicorn was perfect - I think she understood it just fine! Sigh, Pringle is still not my favorite wizard, I wish someone would do something about the physical abuse he hands out, but then again it is 1930 or so... Did they finally ever outlaw caning schoolkids in England? Hope so!

Spring and a girl-cat... Like I've said, I can see Mrs. Gerrity producing her replacement and so on, and so on, down to Mrs. Norris. Hee-hee! (Which means Azoth is part kneazle on both parent's sides!)

Grey purrs happily over this story! Lovely work!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33458Chapter: 5
Yeaaaah! You're back! You don't think that Mrs. Norris is
a Kneazle too, do you?

Reviewer: LCDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33456Chapter: 5
Y'know, have I mentioned that I (and Jinxy) love the people-cat interactions here? (Jinxy is my current cat. Jet black, with golden eyes, and she's staying, come hell, high water, or parents.)
I love the way you're treating Filch as a young man. It really helps to add depth to your later stories of him in the books. Of course, his interaction here with Aragog is priceless. Aragog was probably thrilled by the fact that Harry acted unafraid, even if he did say his children could eat the poor boys and Fang. Now excuse me, I think my brother's borrowed one of my CDs. Why in heavens he'd borrow the Cranberries, I don't know, but I must go rescue it.
PS- I'm everywhere, aren't I?

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33453Chapter: 5
Excellent chapter, this one really came together well. Particularly the scene with the unicorn. Very vivid, very easy to "see" as I read it.

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33440Chapter: 5
Yay! Something new! :-D You're quite welcome for the review. This chapter was good. Typical Filch, too, to befriend the most anti-social stray around. And a Kneazle to boot. You're quite good at writing the younger versions of the characters and keeping them in-character. Bravo!

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33431Chapter: 5
Brilliant chapter. The back-story to Filch's Mrs. Norris is incredibly well done. I really liked it a lot.

Reviewer: JOdelDate: 2003-02-26
Reviewid: 22033Chapter: 4
As to the dates. Riddle opened the Chamber in his 5th year,
which covered the school term of '42-'43. It sounds like
this is the following year. In which Riddle would be 6th year,
Hagrid would have been 4th and if Minerva is older than Tom,
(likely, but not by much) she would be 7th. Myrtle would
still be off trying to haunt Olive Hornsby at this point. It
took a while before the Ministry confined her to Hogwarts. I
am under the impression that I read a passing statement
that Myrtle was a 2nd or 3rd year when she died.

(As to cats; I'll have to admit to giggling myself sensless
when I hit Rabbit-and-Jinx's passing swipe in Ramifications
where Filtch is complaining about Teenage!Snape looking at
his "dear Mrs Beasley" as if she were an *ingredient*!)

Ozma, I like the way the chapters have been rearranged from the
earlier versions over on ff.net.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21877Chapter: 4
Really like the relationship between Pringle and Filtch. Pringle is a tough old bird, but he knows what he has to do to toughen up Filtch.

Very good at conveying mood and atmosphere: "Their magic whispered and teased at me" "pity glimpsed in a angel's gray eyes" And I just love your details and touches about the quirky touches in the castle (fueding suits of armor. secret passage to Astronomy tower (to stop late late snogging perhaps? ;) and a tempermental vase!!) Very inventive.

"Hagrid is as good-hearted as he is foolish. He had never teased me for being what I am. His matter-of-fact acceptance meant more to me than I ever could have told him." Aw, I just love your Hagrid more and more! And Hagrid singing pub songs and getting the words wrong, which irritate Filtch--too funny!

The scene with the corpses and Belle was very scary, the pacing had my heart pounding and I was reading so fast that if it had been on paper I would have been whipping through the pages. I definately got the shivers from that scene, especially Filtch's reaction to what if Hagrid had been the one over the hill first.

Aww, you did such an excellent job with Dumbledore! I love how he had a messy desk and how he was just so gentle with Filtch and gave him such a feeling of esteem. The last line; "speaking to me as if I was someone who mattered" had me in tears. It's so sad to think of what a hard life Filtch leads and yet he always tries to keep his dignity and do what's right. He may be a bit self-righeous and a bit of a prig, but to know underneath that he doesn't feel equal to the weakest witch or wizard is just so heartbreaking.

Just a lovely, lovely series of stories.

I really like the stories from when Filtch was an apprentice; do you think you'd write some Filtch stories where he has to deal with the young MWPP?

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21787Chapter: 4
always dust around that vase, boy, itís not exactly Cursed, but it IS very temperamental,")
-Hah!

But Mr. Ogg and I both feel that Hagrid needs to find companionship and acceptance somewhere other than in the Forest."
-Good idea, but sheesh, isn't there another option instead of a pub? Well, maybe not full an expelled half-giant, but still...Wizard scouts?

I felt almost happy. Imagine a wizard with all his power, speaking to me as if I was someone who mattered
-What poor self-esteem - very in character. I had a vision of Filch on the Stuart Smalley's show (Saturday Night Live) doing some daily affimations.

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21767Chapter: 4
Ohh boy, a brush with Grindlewald, Tom Riddle's hero! Eeek! They are very lucky it was brave Belle who took the fatal shot and not Hagrid. Poor boys, what a way to hit the reality that the world can be a dangerous place!

I do love the fact that Pringle and Ogg are trying to include their apprentices on their journeys to the Three Broomsticks, but sending them home early by themselves didn't strike me as a 'safe' solution, and now that Grindlewald has made an appearance it seems even less so.

The meeting between Dumbledore and Argus was so nicely done! And I love that Argus came away feeling reassured that he had done the right thing. Yay Albus!! :-) You do him very well indeed. Love the cluttered desk - that's one thing we have in common! :-D

I assume at some point a kitty will find Argus - the first of several. Hey, maybe it will be the first in a long line of momcats who later turn the job over to daughtercats? Just a thought.

Thanks for the great stories!!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21753Chapter: 4
Before I go into the mushy stuff, let me first just say that I enjoyed reading about the different quirks of/in the castle. I'm pretty sure that Filch got to know them all because he had to clean them!

I also enjoyed his learning about cleaning things properly. I'm sure that's not something a Hogwarts student would learn, but it's very practical. I bet Filch could make a lot of money if he taught museum curators, restorers and antique dealers about proper maintenance -- but he'd have to leave his precious Hogwarts first!

And finally -- I loved the bonds you showed between and among Pringle, Ogg and their apprentices. You showed how Pringle-and-Ogg and Filch-and-Hagrid get along, and how each superior cares for his apprentice. I liked that they go out together and relate to each other outside of work. (And had a very disturbing thought that Hagrid could have been an alcoholic at a very young age if Ogg and Dumbledore hadn't taken him in hand!) *sniffle* Poor Belle and poor Hagrid and poor dead people! I got so caught up in the story that I didn't realize this was "the end," so to speak. I hope you will add to this because I want to know more about how the presence of Dark wizards affects Filch and Hagrid's young lives.

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21694Chapter: 4
Those sneaky tapestries! LOL.

Okay, let's see.... I hope you add more chapters to this, because there is a bit of a loose end-- do we find out who those three dead people were?

The part about finding them was scary, BTW. Poor Belle.

Well, until the next chapter/fic,

~Dr. Monaco~ (And Whiskers, who is all wet because of the snow.)

Reviewer: pogoniaDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21640Chapter: 4
(all 4 chapters) Another wonderful story! It's fascinating to see Filch as a youngster before he has learned to conceal his self-doubts with nastiness. In light of his loneliness, it's easy to understand his later fanatic devotion to Mrs. Norris. He's coming to realize that he deserves companionship too.
Poor doubting, dense Filch! How long it takes him to realize that he is being accepted and befriended - first by the house-elves, then (gradually) Pringle, Minerva, Helga's Tapestry, Hagrid, Ogg and Dumbledore. I hope things go more smoothly with his cat.
Your Hagrid is so lovable! Slowly becoming aware of his limitations, but without Filch's self-pity. He reminds me of Ciircee's young Hagrid in "And the Hat Said 'Gryffindor'" though yours is more impulsive, less introspective.
I also like the way you write Dumbledore, warm and respectful. It's a refreshing change from the many fics that picture him "twinkling" endlessly at his own perspicacity. Apparently Filch is to become one of D's protegťs along with Hagrid and later, Snape.
Speaking of Snape, have you ever considered writing the Filch and Snape backstory? In CoS we see Snape allowing Filch to bandage his lacerated leg. That degree of trust - from Snape, of all people - points strongly to some prior relationship.
Do write more about Filch's youth!

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21602Chapter: 4
Oh these stories set at the start of Filch and Hagrids time as the keepers of castle and grounds (or would attendants be a better word? - you can't 'keep' that castle, obviously) are so heartrending! Filch's doubt in himself is almost overwhelming, yet the kernels are there for your future stories - he won't let Hagrid go off on his own, his courage is far greater than he gives himself credit for, and his squib abilities are there for all to see (including himself) if only they would think to look.

I'm tempted to beg you to continue this story, but then I can't wait for you to publish Filch's adventures in London here at SQ, so anything you do'll make me happy!

Sabre

Reviewer: kazzaDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21580Chapter: 4
I really, really, really like the way you have foreshadowed your later stories in this one. And I like your interpretation of middle-aged Dumbledore a lot.

Having said all that, I think the best element in this story is the way you've built up the relationship between the 2 apprentices and their mentors.

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21567Chapter: 4
Yay! Another chapter! A very wonderful chapter, I might add. ;-) Thanks for reviewing my fic, too. Anyway, I liked how you wrote Filch's and Hagrid's different reactions to the possibility of danger. Very much Hufflepuff and Gryffindor. If you need help writing Filch being owned by a cat, I can help. Just e-mail me. You're welcome for the review.

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21565Chapter: 4
Unfortunately, I can't offer a very detailed review, as I've read this FAR too late at night for critical thinking. But I wanted to say that I've really enjoyed these chapters, and seeing Argus (and Hagrid!) as a young man. It's a different angle, and a fun one.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21564Chapter: 4
Yay, *not* The End!

Filch saved Hagrid's life! Does he owe him a life debt now? Does Hagrid cash in on that? Thanks for your background on Pringle. You have a great interpretation of characters! Look forward to the next chapter when it's ready!

Reviewer: cristalfairyDate: 2003-02-22
Reviewid: 21451Chapter: 1
Brilliant as usual!
Iím glad that Filch learn to like Hagrid he is a favorite of mine, as well as Snape and he has always tried to help everyone. Filch may be a sour, but with the help of the people around him, specially Minerva he will learn trust and be a little bit less uptight. I hope Harry gets to practice with Moody with the doors and more so if you make Harry go into Grifyndorís sanctuary. As I said before you make my day very pleasant and for that I thank you. Maybe you could think about including Remus more often just like you have done with Sirius. Keep them coming. Cheers!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-02-20
Reviewid: 21220Chapter: 3
Argus Filch must be hidden!"...a small hand gave my concealed head a gentle pat.
-Very sweet

Excellent job with Hargid! His speech patterns looked perfect to me.

Nice cameo by Tom. He seemed nicely in nasty character.

Reviewer: kazzaDate: 2003-02-19
Reviewid: 20998Chapter: 3
This is a wonderful story. You've done an excellent job of linking in snippets of the known history with your own special view of the characters. I especially liked the 'sleepy Filch is hidden' scene, that was so cute, and the hint of Tom Riddle using Salazar's door.

~~~~~Kazza: Thank you for reviewing! It isnít pleasant to be a Squib in the wizarding world, but Filchís own personality is partially to blame for his overenthusiastic dedication. Heís as harsh to himself as he is to others. ~~~~~
All the best anti-heroes are harsh on themselves.

~~~~~B5!!! (Ozma squeals happily!!!) Oh, YES! Bester is such a Slytherin!!! I can see Talia and Lyta as serpents too. Psicorp seems very Slytherin. ~~~~~
I'm sure that Lucius Malfoy works somewhere in Psycorp or the 'Ministry of Peace' :)

~~~~~Hmmm. I think Sinclair is a Ravenclaw and Doctor Franklin is too. Sheridan, Ivanova, Garibaldi and Marcus are all Gryffindors. I think Zack is a definite Hufflepuff. ~~~~~~
Yes, and Lyta is a Witch!

~~~~~What about the non-humans? If aliens can be Sorted, then Vir is a Hufflepuff, Londo is a Slytherin, Kosh is a Slytherin. Gíkar would be a Gryffindor. ~~~~~~
I think Kosh 1 is a ravenclaw/slytherin and Kosh 2 is a good-dark slytherin. G'kar reminds me of Dumbledore.

~~~~The Minbari have obligingly Sorted themselves. Religious = mostly Slytherins/Ravenclaws, Workers =mostly Hufflepuffs, Warriors = mostly Gryffindors/Slytherins. What do you think?~~~~
Definately.

I love some of the B5/HP parallels, especially Vir/Neville, Lyta/Snape, and G'kar/Dumbledore. Can you imagine what would happen if a B5 character got a letter from Hogwarts?

I can imagine that the Wizard and Witches are having a wonderful time pretending to be the Old Ones. :-)

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-02-19
Reviewid: 20982Chapter: 3
Yay, Minerva to the rescue! That evil Tom, so mean. But what do we expect? I didn't expect Pringle NOT to beat Filch. That was a pleasant surprise! Great Chapter!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20899Chapter: 3
"I had wanted to strike out at the laughing faces but, to my shame, all I could do was dance and dance and dance." Oh, that's so sad! Especially the repeating of the word "dance"...it adds a sense of tragedy to the whole episode.

And how he described Minerva as having "the face of an angel" was so sweet. Poor Filtch!

Aww, I love your Hagrid. Only he could arrange a marriage between two spiders the way little girls arrange marriages between their stuffed animals. "Yer jusí like him, Ďcept yer prettier!"--funny and sweet! And the idea of poor Hagrid not having a family but being generous enough to provide a family for Aragog, awww I really like your Hagrid.

Love the way you describe the surges of magic Dippit and Dumbledore give off, very vivid.

"How terribly sad. The world is full of orphans, you know." The young wizardís voice was very cold. Oooh, shiver. Very Tom Riddle.

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20833Chapter: 3
Ack! I was halfway through reading the new chapter when my supervisor came into the office and wanted a meeting there and then about my work in progress - don't you hate it when RL intrudes?!

Anyway, having reread the chapter:

Yippee! More of the Hagrid and Filch double act! I'm sure they're slapstick would be good enough for the stage!

Oh poor Filch...it can be awful to be laughed at, and if you're in the slightest bit self-concious then...oh I feel so sad for him, and for the second chapter in a row I'm sad that he's got so many years to go before he realises that he's something special (if he ever sees things in quite that way) not a nothing (which seems to be how he feels about himself). On the plus side, we did get to see the first glimpse of Minerva. She seems stately and calm, which I like. Lots of fanfic authors seem to make the young Minerva the same as Hermione now, but I like your Minerva.

Then back to the comedy routine of Filch and Hagrid! But this time with the addition of Mosag. F and H just can't understand each other can they? I thikn I come down on Filch's side with this one though - I mean Hagrids already been expelled over Aragog, yet he wades straight back in! He doesn't learn does he?

And to finish off a great chapter we get a glimpse of the seriously spooky young Mr Riddle, a very ambitious young man. Again I like your interpretation of his character. Every single action thought through carefully.

Great chapter - loved it all! (in case you couldn't tell!)

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20776Chapter: 3
Without reading anything else, I must acknowledge the truly masterful play on words you used for the chapter title!! Nothing like a tribute to Tolkien in a HP story! :-D

Rescued by the girl!! How very romantic! Unfortunately Argus is way too young to appreciate it! (Alas!) Would he be appalled if Eregion told him about elvish courtship rituals? "Certainly you declare your love while slaying orcs!" LOL

I loved Argus' perceptions of the old Headmaster and Dumbledore's magic, just wonderful! He doesn't know how very powerful he is, and how uniquely gifted in his own way. (But in the future...)

Argh, being the butt of wizard humor with no way to defend himself! I just cringed in sympathy. At least Pringle had some level of understanding for Argus' difficulties. Of course, he hasn't the sense to find Argus a magic-reflecting mirror to give the poor kid some protection. *mutters darkly at Pringle*

As for understanding... Hagrid is a slow learner, ja? :-) Siiigh, keeping an acromantula in the Castle, what was he thinking??

You know, poor Argus would do well to learn to control the instinct to scream. :-) Rescued by Tom Riddle, argh!! And Tom was so very in-character, brr!! And I find the irony delicious that it is Tom's calculating mind that deprives him of the new about Salazar's Door, because now Argus can never tell him. Serves him right!

At least Hagrid is more stoic about feeling Pringle's displeasure, but it still makes me angry on the young man's behalf. Beating kids makes severe bad karma. I'm so relieved Hagrid is still to stay on the job and that things worked out all right.

Excellent writing, ma'am as usual! Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20736Chapter: 3
Aaaaawwww! I'm sorry Filch had to have his first encounter with Minerva while the other students were laughing at him -- it was sweet of her to put an end to the spectacle. I can understand from that first meeting alone why he admires her so much. I look forward to their first actual conversation!

The elves were adorable, too, and I like how you reinforce the era in which this fic is set by putting in the predecessors of the JKR's staff.

I was a bit surprised at Tom Riddle's appearance. I know he was at Hogwarts at around this time, but I didn't know that your story was set immediately after Hagrid's expulsion so that Tom was still around! Sorry about that! :)

Reviewer: AcireDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20723Chapter: 3
You've gotten me so hooked on this story! It doesn't even have Snape in it and I'm still reading it! Nice Tom Riddle here. And the beginning of the tapestries. I forgot about Mrs. Norris! Hope she shows up soon. I never actually considered how old Hagrid and Filch were compared to one another.

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20708Chapter: 3
Well, I wanted Filch to barf on Tom, too. The jerk. He's a sixth year, right? Or maybe a seventh year? What about Minerva-- what year is she in?

Was that Helga's room he stumbled into?

So Filch has just had his first encounter with the Tapestries. Too bad he won't figure out what they really are for a long time.

I like how you described the difference between Dippet's and Dumbledore's magic.

You know, there are a lot of plot holes concerning werewolves in the books. I too hope that JKR will explain more about them. Guess we'll find out on June 21st, right?

Looking forward to the next chapter,

~Dr. Monaco~ (And Whiskers, of course.)

PS: Thanks lots for reviewing Ginny!

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20667Chapter: 3
Wonderful chapter! Yay for Minnie! Poor Filch. To be humiliated in front of such a beautiful young lady. Very Filchy reaction to that, too: hide. You can tell that Hagrid's concerned for Filch, despite the fact that the two of them baffle each other. I liked the fact that you conveyed Green-and-Silver's reaction to Tom's use. I felt sorry for it.

You're quite welcome for the review. If I like a story, I re-read it, so consider it a compliment of the highest degree.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20277Chapter: 2
Awww, I love your Hagrid. And the snow fight between them was really sweet! I'm so sorry their budding friendship ended with the "git" and "oaf." Bob the werewolf--LOL!!! I never thought about how he and Argus would have been apprentices at the same time.

It's also very interesting to see the interactions between the house elves and the staff. I had never considered that before. You handle Filch's sense of awkwardness and inadiquacy at his lack of magic very delicately and with a lot of heart.

Two questions: Will Filtch get a pet soon? A sort of Mrs. Norris 1.0? Since Filtch is a Squib, does he age like a normal human or like a wizzard?

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20264Chapter: 1
This was really excellent! Poor Argus Filtch! I'm really developing a soft spot for that grouchy crank! The Everclean bubbles were hilarious and I liked Pringle and Filch's interactions in his office after Peeves is discovered to be the culprit. Now I understand why Peeves and Filtch dislike each other; they go waaaayyy back! Lookign forward to more chapters!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20243Chapter: 2
BOB?
-Good name choice. A harmless name for a dangerous animal. Very Hagrid
I like how you used Riddle's comment about Hargid and werewolves.

Nice job with the interaction between Filch and Hagrid.

Reviewer: KazzaDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20227Chapter: 2
another enthralling chapter! I find it interesting that Filch punishes himself with his overenthusiastic dedication almost as much as Pringle punishes him; if not more. It shows just how horrible it must be to exist as a Squib in the Wizarding world.
Why are people so horrible to those who are only slightly different?

Poor Hagrid, he does try desperately to love all his fellow outcasts.

I'm glad to find a fellow B5 and HP fan. I'm sure that Bester is an heir of Slytherin :-)

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20221Chapter: 2
"Yeh missed me!" Hagrid shouted, gleefully, as one of my snowballs sailed over his head. "How could yeh miss? Arenít I a big enough target...ooof!"

How much do I love your young Hagrid? And I feel so sorry for him...how does anyone who was kicked out of home for a crime he knew he didn't commit at ony 15 maintain any sort of optimism? But he does - and I love him for it!

"Youíre howling MAD!!" I wailed.

ho ho ho! Filch is a comedian, and he doesn't know it!
I liked the interaction between Filch and Hagrid - they're so similar, a fact that I think Hagrid is a little more aware of than Filch :)

Do we get to se a first meeting between Minerva and Filch soon? Oh and are you going to expand on the Minerva/Tom situation that you alluded to in Caretaker?

Reviewer: tarzanDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20215Chapter: 1
These are some of the best stories I have read in the fanfiction world. Indeed you have a talent that extends past spinoffs of other people's work. I look forward to reading a real book by you someday (if you do not already have something published, of which I would't be the least bit surprised).

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20210Chapter: 2
Yay! Hagrid backstory! What a fun kid. Even though he and Filch are getting off to a rocky start, I have a feeling they'll be knocking-down mugs of mulled mead together fairly soon...maybe...

I like the theory of Filch's untapped powers being an "energy source" that you mentioned in the a/n. Makes a whole lot of sense with what happens in Harry's day.

Reviewer: JaneDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20178Chapter: 2
I'm really enjoying this story...please write more soon!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-02-13
Reviewid: 20115Chapter: 2
Ah, poor Argus, making a friend and perhaps losing him all in one day? He's a bit of a hard case, our Argus! (But I'm hoping Hagrid won't be miffed at him for *too* long, Argus definitely needs all the help he can get.)

The snowball fight made me think that Argus may have a bit of fun now and then when no one is looking. I hope so.

Interesting that Pringle's magic comes and goes, I too, assume that wizards come in varying power-levels. I rather like Ogg, he has good sense, methinks. :-)

Having Dumbledore as Hagrid's guardian is very appropriate. And I do agree that the werewolves shouldn't go on school grounds for their safety, more than anything. Some nervous kid is likely to blast 'em in a fit of panic. :-D

It was nice hearing Argus and Hagrid both sounding like young teenagers and not like oldsters, very fun!

As for my next chapter... it's almost finished. Bactine and band-aids optional. :-)

Great work, please do keep going!

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-02-13
Reviewid: 20099Chapter: 2
Yay! We get to see a lot of Hagrid! I liked the snowball fight. Just like Hagrid to start it. I love the way you've characterized Hagrid and Filch in their younger days. It's still obvious who they are, but there's enough of a difference to show that their personalities have changed as they grew older. I forgot to comment on Everkleen in the last chapter, but my first thought when I read the description of it was Disney's animated Cinderella. *giggle*

You're quite welcome for the review. I love reading your stories. I've been re-reading them while I was waiting for the new chapter.

Reviewer: catakitDate: 2003-02-13
Reviewid: 20089Chapter: 2
Oh, I'm waiting on tenderhooks for Mrs. Norris's entrance. Will she be a kitten, and will he call her something else first, like Miss Norris? Hagrid mentions not liking cats, is she the origin of that sentiment?

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-13
Reviewid: 20076Chapter: 2
*KIX self for not noticing that Young Minerva is mentioned in the summary* Sorry about that :)

This was a great chapter. I liked reading that Filch could already sense magic at this time. (It's just kind of sad that he waited sixty-odd years before he discovered how special that talent was!) And Young Hagrid was a sweetheart :) I really felt for him when he cried after Dumbledore's reprimand. It's clear how deeply loyal Hagrid is to that man!

The four-legged werewolf is a nice possibility. I can see their lycanthropy as something like rabies is for ordinary dogs.

And tell Filch not to worry. I don't imagine him as boyband-pretty, but his younger looks probably had some charm to them :)

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-02-13
Reviewid: 20071Chapter: 2
Shoveling snow-- that's never fun.

Got off on the wrong foot with Hagrid, didn't he? Oh, well. If he can get Snape to forgive him, then he and Hagrid will make up in no time, I bet. (Or at least by the end of this fic.)

Uh-oh. He was an apprentice when the Chamber of Secrets was opened for the first time, wasn't he? Does that mean that there will be attacks in this fic? *is nervous* Hang on-- Hagrid has already been expelled. That stuff's all over.

*Goes into Lupintic mode.* The part where Tom Riddle said Hagrid raised werewolf cubs was a lie. Tom was just slandering Hagrid. (JKR said this in an interview.) But I guess there could still be 24/7 werewolves in the Forest... I mean, there are supposed to be werewolves in there, and I doubt there are wild people roaming around when the moon is not full. Which poses an interesting question: Which came first: the human-werewolf or the wolf-werewolf?

Heh. Bob the Werewolf. LOL.

Until next chapter,

~Dr. Monaco~ (And Whiskers, who made muddy footprints on the carpet today.)

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19921Chapter: 1
Mr. Pringle
-a very scary man, but fair in his own way. You can see how he was Filch's model. Excellent job with him.

I like how you had Peeves tormenting Filch - a very good explanation on why the feelings Filch has for Peeves are so strong. Peeves was nastily in character.

I liked Browly very much - hard working, caring, and brave.

If the Founders created secret rooms, couldn't other powerful wizards such as Dumbledore do so as well?

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19887Chapter: 1
Woo-hoo Browly's back! I love that little elf :-) And sure enough Filch's protective steak has kicked in in the first chapter - throwing the bucket of vomit-tainted water over Peeves, or should I say Pringle? I hope some of it hit peeves, he deserves it. (Can poltergeists bathe? Do house elves? Are there even more bathrooms we don't know about in Hogwarts, for non-human bathers?) Anyway. Pringle. Harsh, but fair? Is that the tack you're taking with him? I've always seen him as irrationally nasty, so I'll be interested to see how you develop him. Loved your young Filch - my hearts breaking over how long its going to be before he starts to feel some self worth...Can't wait to read the rest of this. Just one question, has Grindlewald been defeated yet?

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19874Chapter: 1
<<<(each bubble containing a tiny charwoman, singing a song about a nightingale)>>>

"Sing sweet nightingale, sing sweet nightingale..."
I can see Cinderella in my mind right now, scrubbing away on that floor, with the bubble-Cinderellas singing harmony with her. Ah, I just love that song!

BTW, what is a charwoman? A cleaning woman, perhaps?

Oh, poor Filch! No wonder he turned out so bitter (but he is being redeemed currently:-). I want to throttle Pringle's throat, or use that cat tail thingy on him. That moment when Filch screamed "I'm a Squib" and heads were sticking out doors, my heart broke. Haven't we all had moments like that? The poor boy. I knew Peeves was involved somehow! That stinker! Peeves is an interesting character. I'm a little concerned about what he'll do in book 5!

I can relate to Filch in that I was constantly saying I was sorry to everyone. I had friends tell me to STOP saying I'm sorry, then I'd say, "I'm sorry..." ARRGH! I never thought I'd live to see the day when I could relate to Filch! You...you...author you!

This will be great to get some back story on my favorite Squib!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19872Chapter: 1
Hoo-boy, this is going to be a harder series to read... and I don't mean that as an aspersion on your writing. It's just that I find it terribly hard to read stories where young people are abused. I know we don't know what sort of background Pringle comes from, but it must not have been good for him to consider beating people to be the optimal way of teaching. Argh. Very effective writing, I ached for Argus the entire story. I've been there for the verbal abuse part, although not beatings on any level. I am glad Argus has found a friend in Browly, and maybe some level of relief in the Baron as well. Sad, sad, the part where he confesses his fears about ending up dead in the street.

What year is this in the Muggle world? There was always work for handy folk who could repair and fix things. This would have to be what, the 20's or 30's?

I do wonder too about the current Headmaster of Hogwarts, that he would permit Pringle to really commit such harm to students and apprentice alike, or doesn't he keep track of such things? I can't see Dumbledore not noticing.

Excellent work, and hope the next chapter is a tad uh... cheerier? (Like I should talk, given my next chapter, but oh well. :-D )

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19855Chapter: 1
You've no idea how impatient I was for this to get posted! I check several times a day to see if it's been updated. I was so happy when I saw that it had been. *sheepish grin* Anyway, this is a wonderful view of Filch's first days at Hogwarts. Not quite the smooth sailing most people would think of, I'd wager. I can't help feeling a little sorry for Mr. Pringle. *shudder* I'd hate to have that kind of water thrown over me. An excellent beginning and I can't wait to see what you come up with next.

You're quite welcome for the review. Before I read your stories, about the only thing I liked about Filch was the fact that he owns a cat. I didn't really write him before because he didn't figure into my stories. Now I know I can write him. Thank you for these wonderful stories.

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19848Chapter: 1
Great job, Ozma! You made me want to give poor Filch a hug!

Pringle uses corporal punishment? Would Dumbledore allow this? I suppose it might have existed, since in canon Filch talks of the good old days when he was allowed to chain kids up, but I always thought he was exaggerating to scare the students. It seems off, is all.

I liked your insight into the feelings of Filch's parents about the uncertain future of their son. And I love the way you show Filch as willing to do anything to please and comfort his parents--it's so surprising, and yet so logical.

Keep writing!

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19827Chapter: 1
What a great beginning! I really love your stories and I'm looking forward to the rest of this one!

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19825Chapter: 1
Hey, look at that! The much-talked about new-fic! *cheers*

Well, I must say that I didn't like this chapter much. Not that there's anything wrong with it (it IS very good, BTW), it's just that I was in the middle of dinner when I came to the barf-on-the-floor part. Not very pleasant, lol.

But other than that, I thought it was pretty cool. I especially liked Browly. Wow-- she must be really old! Wasn't she in one of the previous fics?

Can't wait unil the next chapter! I hope we get to meet some more characters in chapter 2.

~Dr. Monaco~ (Accompanied by Whiskers.)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19820Chapter: 1
Ooh, young Filch! I wonder what he looks like...*blinks her Inner Eye* I see a gangly boy with brown skin and lank black hair...sort of like Snape but dressed in rough work clothes...hmm, he's cute -- and that leads me to wonder: will young Minerva appear in this story, too? ;)

I felt so sorry for Filch and Browly -- I'd sic the Bloody Baron on Peeves if I could! (That poltergeist's name really fits him!) And your curmudgeonly Pringle was nice, too. I was mad because he was blaming Filch for stuff Peeves obviously did, but at the latter part of this chapter I could see that he was more bark than bite. "Intimidation...Itís the best way I know of, to keep the brats in their proper place." It's easy to see that he had quite a bit of influence over Filch's caretaking style.

I really enjoyed the Everkleen, too! The bit about the tiny charwomen singing about nightingales brought back some great childhood memories :) More soon, please!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --