The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 29

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2005-11-20
Reviewid: 136094Chapter: 1
Nice story....I like it :-)

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131740Chapter: 1
Well done

Reviewer: katie BiliusDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129243Chapter: 1
WIKED!!!!!BRILLIANT!!!!!!!

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103757Chapter: 1
This is a great story, really warm and humorous.

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82872Chapter: 1
Excellent! Went down nicely, that one. Keep up the writing.

Reviewer: JeremyDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79225Chapter: 1
A good story! I've always been intrigued by Ollivander, and I did wonder how Sirius managed to get another wand. Well done.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-27
Reviewid: 75962Chapter: 1
But... why would that be funny? The rats got to Sirius himself, did they not? I thought that it's funny he's got a dogwood wand, but... Anyhow, enough going on the assumption he's got a loose screw when he hardly does. 'Cos I was giggling to some degree the whole time! Except the bit about the rats getting to the wand. But I liked the wand getting to the rats!

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71426Chapter: 1
Brilliant! That last joke was a little...cynical. Poor guys. It was wonderful seeing Sirius alive.
It's a really unusual premise for a fanfic, but it was excellently done- you got their personalities across perfectly, and Sirius is a great liar. Thanks for the fic!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60721Chapter: 1
The Grin...dogwood...rats.
Very good story. I like it a lot.

Reviewer: Lady NarcissaDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53510Chapter: 1
Heh.

As a writer of almost exclusively Sirius fanfics, I am just in love with what you did here. Thank you... for The Grin, for the proper use of Polyjuice Potion, and for the concept.

From an editorial perspective, this is one of the better-written pieces I've come across and stylistically, it's very nicely done. It stands by itself, and I imagine that any Sirius fan would get a huge kick out of it.

And an extra ten points for outstanding use of Mr Ollivander.

Reviewer: SelDearDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53476Chapter: 1
Hah! I loved this! Beautiful, with a slight undertone of humour. Lovely work!

Reviewer: Loriel ErisDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53433Chapter: 1
Great! Though somehow, I don't think Olivander was as oblivious to what was happening as he made out to be... ;)

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-27
Reviewid: 48956Chapter: 1
you WONDER how siri got a wand agian.
i mean, this makes perfect sense.
he well could have ordered it tho, one exactly like his old one.....
but i like this better.
its FUNNER!!

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-23
Reviewid: 43544Chapter: 1
This is a cool story! Very interesting theory! In fact, I never even thought about how Sirius got another wand! So anyway, I liked this story a lot!

Reviewer: LavenderDate: 2003-06-07
Reviewid: 35706Chapter: 1
Great, truly great. I don't think you should call it an outtake, because it can stand alone. If it was an outtake, it would be in the same style as your story and in Harry's POV. I think it is more a companion or supplementary piece. Those names make it sound like what it is; a good story that happens to go along with a chapter in your other fic.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-03-17
Reviewid: 24322Chapter: 1
[The Grin meant that Sirius had a plan—a plan that was either stupid, reckless, dangerous, frankly insane, or some combination of the above.] LOL! From the opening line, you've got me hooked into reading this story! I love it when I'm dropped into the middle of a scene; it puts me on my toes and makes me sit up and pay attention. Love the idea of Sirius having all these different types of smiles.

[It’s fool-proof, Moony! Fool-proof!” “Which is a good thing, as you’re a fool,”] HA! You do an excellent of job of settling the two of them into a comfortable relationship within a few paragraphs. and [“Looked like a heap to me. How was your trip?”] heap...trip...*snert* I love it when people write Remus's dry sense of humor!

The memories of Sirius's mother were well placed and gave me an idea of what type of woman she was. I really liked how she let young Sirius take an extra ride in the Gringotts cart! That little bit of information is unique and original; it really gives her a distinct personality and fleshes out her character.

Very interesting about the parental influence on the wands. And I had never thought about how an adult wizard/witch would choose a wand and how their relationships with people would affect that. I don't think I've ever put much thought into *how* a wand chooses a wizard. I love it when an author can surprise me like that and explain an aspect of the wizarding world that I had never thought of before in such a natural, yet well-planned way so that I want to smack myself in the forehead and say, "well, isn't it obvious?!"

Wow, that was an excellent way of bringing the story full circle with having "rats" nibble on the wand. It's both touching and funny and ties the story together perfectly. [He’d seen what rats could do to his wand; perhaps some day he’d get the chance to see what his wand could do to rats.] Oooh, that's a *killer* line!!! Just perfect phrasing!

Reviewer: i like to kill mean people when noone's looking:)Date: 2003-03-07
Reviewid: 23156Chapter: 1
Ahem!!! very interesting!!!!!!!!!!!! KEEP GOING, I looooooove Sirius and Harry fics (not Slash, mind you) Anyways, I read your fic (am reading it still actually) the 411th 5th year fic and I like it so keep up the effort and update soon =)
Cheers!

Reviewer: Professor DaviesDate: 2003-02-27
Reviewid: 22111Chapter: 1
Loved it just as i do with all of them especially the rats part and this IS something J.K. would DEFINITELY do if she thought of it she would do word to word the same i say u should send it to her, she might consider it in the 6th book if she hasnt put something like that in the 5th book.

Reviewer: ArleneDate: 2003-02-16
Reviewid: 20570Chapter: 1
Perfect characterazation! I love it!! Sirius is one of my favorite characters...

Reviewer: Slytherin SweetheartDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20228Chapter: 1
Very nice. i really liked it...

Reviewer: wolfgirlDate: 2003-02-12
Reviewid: 19948Chapter: 1
Really great story!

Reviewer: TanDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19932Chapter: 1
Nice nice nice :)
Love how Lupin and Black get along... just like what they are, old friends.

Reviewer: VJADate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19891Chapter: 1
Oh, these stories are fantastic! Very JKR-eque!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19846Chapter: 1
This was very nice :) I can just imagine Sirius with "The Grin." And as for Remus' foresight -- something tells me a chess match between him and Ron would be very interesting indeed.

I like your theory that genetics and environment affect wands. The phoenix feather and rat bites were a good way of showing how Harry and Wormtail were major influences in Sirius' life. Great work!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19844Chapter: 1
Whew! That was way too close. What did you do? Grow up with Sirius Black?

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19841Chapter: 1
"Sirius Black had several different smiles. There was the regular smile, the charming smile, the tight smile … and there was The Grin. Remus Lupin hadn’t seen The Grin in years, and the sight of it now, stretched across his best friend’s face, made him distinctly nervous."

Great opening! And an interesting little fic - I've often wondered if Sirius does get a wand for Book 5. Excellent banter between Sirius and Remus, and very touching memories of the MWPP days.

"He’d seen what rats could do to his wand; perhaps some day he’d get the chance to see what his wand could do to rats." LOL - and I'm so glad the two of them can actually laugh about rats at the end. All too often Sirius is shown becoming quite murderous and intense whenever there is the merest mention of rats or Peter. It's good to see another version.

Alkari

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19828Chapter: 1
This is a great story... though I do not know the background of it, I still enjoyed it tremendously. :) Keep writing.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19824Chapter: 1
This opener really hooks you: "Sirius Black had several different smiles. There was the regular smile, the charming smile, the tight smile … and there was The Grin. Remus Lupin hadn’t seen The Grin in years, and the sight of it now, stretched across his best friend’s face, made him distinctly nervous." LOL! Genius.

You do a marvelous job with the easy dynamic between Sirius and Remus. Very charming. And the pacing of the commentary is brilliant, especially with little beats like these:

<<"It's fool-proof, Moony! Fool-proof!"

"Which is a good thing, as you're a fool," Remus replied. The old pattern. The schoolboy banter. How he'd missed it. >>

Lovely JKR-esque details! ("The tape measure was starting to gauge the length of Remus's eyelashes by the time Ollivander snapped his fingers again to stop it.")...

OMG!! You know, I had planned to go on and on, quoting all the bits I was enjoying , but I realised that I'd end up pasting nearly the rest right here!

What a terrific vignette! Clever, witty, well-paced. And you got all the characters' voices down superbly--especially Mr Ollivander. Simply brilliant!

Thanks for posting this. :)

Axelle

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19817Chapter: 1
Ahh, good old Mr. Ollivander ... Very nice job with this one!

“Lose your looks, you mean.” Sirius hurried over to the mirror and watched as his own face replaced Remus’s. “Oh, that’s much better,”

I'd pay a lot to see this one!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --