The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Understanding
Review(s): 57

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122282Chapter: 3
This was a cool story. I kind of want to know what Ron and Hermione were doing the whole time they were down stairs, lol. Anyway, good job!

~GW

Reviewer: IrisDate: 2004-11-28
Reviewid: 106189Chapter: 3
Oh awesome! i love it. very in character. Especially like the letters at th ebeginning of the chapter. You should write more stories!

Reviewer: AzkabellaDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91919Chapter: 3
Aww, yay! I loved it!

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2003-10-20
Reviewid: 57138Chapter: 3
I really like the idea of Ginny's scar. I can imagine that it's terrible for her to have a reminder like that of her first year, and I'm glad she shared it with Harry, who can really understand it.

Much love,
'Terna

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2003-10-20
Reviewid: 57137Chapter: 2
Awwww ... that was really touching. Poor Ginny. I'm glad you had Harry be reminded of Ginny's experience with Riddle even if he was being a prat about it in OotP. Then again, he was being a prat about everything in OotP.

One more chapter to go!

Much love,
'Terna

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2003-10-20
Reviewid: 57136Chapter: 1
I figured that since you're my beta reader, I should probably read your fic. I'm enjoying it so far :) It brings me back to those pre-OotP days when everyone was speculating over what would happen next ... now we're still speculating over what will happen next, but in a different way.

Oh, I'm getting nostalgic. I'll just read then next chapter now.

Much love,
'Terna

Reviewer: lineDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49828Chapter: 3
:)

Reviewer: jessicaDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48589Chapter: 3
WOw. Very good. Great writing

Reviewer: MaeDate: 2003-06-15
Reviewid: 36868Chapter: 3
very nice, i really enjoyed it. I thought it was supposed to be more of a R/H fic but the H/G thing works really well, i liked the way you wrote Ginny's character, some other writers are so off with her personality sometimes it makes just... (EGAD!!) sorry about that. One thing though, the chapter titles are dr phil like, not that i have a problem with dr phil it's just that they dont reflect enough on the chapters themselves. But that's minor, good work keep it up.

Reviewer: LeaDate: 2003-04-13
Reviewid: 27839Chapter: 3
What a lovely story! Angua recommended it on her LJ and Madhuri567 seconded the recommendation (most enthusiastically I might add) so I simply had to check it out.

This is one of the best portrayals I've seen of Harry in a long time and your Ginny is believable and enjoyable.

I laughed at loud at some of Ron's comments here and also giggled at the mention of cinnamon in hot chocolate. (For the record I agree with Hermione, I always put cinnamon in hot cocoa and it tastes yummy! I know Ron just loved it but was too stubborn to admit it. The lovable git! *Grins*)

A lovely story, thanks for writing. :)

Cheers~
Lea

Reviewer: MadhuriDate: 2003-04-12
Reviewid: 27641Chapter: 3
What a perfect, perfect ending. The H/G interaction was so brilliantly paced and sweet and funny and deep at the same time. I adored all the little touches- the description of the Exploding Snap game, Harry instinctively clapping his hands over Ginny's hair, Ginny's dreams about Fred and George, the ice cubes in her bed...

But mostly I loved how Ginny seemed like such a real character. Quiet and strong and funny and sweet. Very much the way I think she is in canon. Speaking of which, the one thought which kept running through my mind while reading this fic was "Wouldn't it be great if this happened in canon? Wouldn't it be *great*?"

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-04-12
Reviewid: 27584Chapter: 3
great story! i have been much of a Ginny fan but this changed my view of her completely. i understand her, sort of. great job!

Reviewer: CurlsOfGoldDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27517Chapter: 3
you really have sense of writing, you know?..your chapters are so good!!, we they end i just want more and more, i´m addited!!!...so update soon before i go crazy!!

Reviewer: Chocolate Frog CardDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27498Chapter: 3
This was a great conclusion to a great story. I liked how Ginny had a paper cut from Tom. Harry thought it was a joke at first and then he realized what it was from...and it wasn't corny or anything like some, "Ginny has a scar fics." It was perfect and realistic because of the diary. And it was great how they bonded over their nightmares. It was good that H/G didn't just fall in love or something like a lot of fics do. You just made Harry pay attention more. Ginny winning Exploding Snap was cool. You did a great job on the R/H bickering...it sounded exactly like the real thing! Your characterizations were wonderful, and that's what I look for most in the story. You did a wonderful job of having Harry open up a little to Ginny without making it seem like he was weeping his guts out or anything and the same with GInny opening up to Harry.

This was a great R/H, H/G story. That's how I see H/G starting in the books,just with the two of them spending a little more time together. Write something else...you're really talented. Thanks for the great fic!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27477Chapter: 3
Hooray! This was very nice :) I don't mind that R/H took over in the last chapter, honest I don't -- at least they understood each other better, and then in this chapter Harry and Ginny come to see each other more as people, too.

The Exploding Snap scene was funny -- LOL at "Captain Commando and the Conquerors" :D I've never had a scar from a paper cut, but it's nice that Ginny also has a *souvenir* of her encounter with Voldemort/Tom Riddle. It gives her more of a connection to Harry IMO.

Great job! I hope to see more of your work soon!

Reviewer: Andrea13Date: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27470Chapter: 3
*giggles and awws* That was very funny and very touching. Great. :) I really liked Harry and Ginny's exchange about scars and dreams. I don't always buy the H/G ship, but you pulled this connection off very nice.

Ron and Hermione, of course, were as fabulous as always. They're just so *adorable*.

My favorite line: "He supposed that she and Ginny had some way of entertaining themselves that didn’t involve flying brooms or balls. The only things that Harry could think of were cards and chess, but he got the impression that he might possibly be ignorant of some mysterious girl activities."

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27468Chapter: 2
Ooh, I'm so glad I rediscovered this fic :) There are so many great things about this chapter that I don't quite know where to begin!

Well, first and foremost, I am glad that Ron and Hermione have made up and understand each other a bit better. I mean, just because Ron likes Quidditch and chess more than studying doesn't mean that he's stupid, or that he'll flunk his OWLs -- he does his school work when he has to. I'm also glad that he was big enough to *speak first*.

I also loved the R/H banter, from the "if your nose were any higher, you'd be licking the ceiling" bit to the discussions on tea, hot chocolate and cookies -- because they were sniping at each other as FRIENDS and not in an argumentative situation.

I'm very curious now about Mr. Weasley's eyeglasses. If people can eavesdrop on each other through the dinner table, don't tell me Mr. Weasley's specs are actually some sort of magical security camera...? LOL!

Reviewer: AnguaDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27461Chapter: 3
This is really, really, really good! Love the little Harry/Ginny conversation. Very nice illumination of canon in the papercut bit.

I love that Harry is good at Exploding Snap. He would be!

You should write more. A sequel!

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27454Chapter: 3
Well, I still thought it was cute, Stella! You approached it differently than I have ever read in any other ffic, so there!

Reviewer: Ellen MacKenzieDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27429Chapter: 3
Awwwww. Loved the Harry/Ginny bonding! :D Ginny was so cute!

Great job :)

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27425Chapter: 3
So, when is the sequel. This is one of the best 3 chaptered fanfic I have read.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27411Chapter: 3
Stella, I love your Ginny. She's funny, warm-hearted and sweet all at once. She's smart, fiesty, observant and a caring friend. I like how you’ve shown us Ginny’s defensive and fiery streak too—both through her interaction with Harry (“Is there a problem with that?”) and what we see in her retelling of what happened with Tom.

And Harry! His sense of humour really shines through in this scene. Both of them are very genuine here, as are their exchanges, which I think is what makes us immediately warm up to the situation they're in. And you've done an amazing job in its rendering. There isn't a gesture or a movement in this chapter that isn't beautifully observed with the keenest of eyes.

I LOVE that whole Exploding Snap! game! You executed the game between Harry and Ginny superbly --the pacing of the language mimicked the movements and complemented their interaction splendidly!

<<Harry reached a hand out to help her, but she was already getting up and didn&#8217;t notice the outstretched hand until she was standing.>>

THAT THERE is one of the loveliest analogies I have seen so far for their relationship and that fragile on-again, off-again manner of two young people trying to feel each other out as they get to know one another.

And just when we're all melting over that, you throw in the revelation of her ghostly papercut scar!! Eeep! How frightening is *that*! And the *implications*! (*AHEM!* I think that qualifies as sequel fodder. ;) )

Oh, Stella! What a lovely ending!! I enjoyed all of these chapters, but I think this is definitely the best of the three. The subtlety of how their "understanding"s are achieved is simply remarkable! It's been such a treat to get this all in preview! Wonderful, wonderful work!

Axelle :)

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-02-22
Reviewid: 21463Chapter: 2
"Ron let out a frustrated sigh. &#8220;I just need to check on Hermione, all right?&#8221; "
Oh yes--exactly! And true to cannon. :D

"Harry had the sudden desire to back slowly out of the room. Come to think of it, he probably should have stayed in bed in the first place&#8230;"
Right on the dime again. Harry *would* want to avoid confrontation.

That's just a random sampling of quotes that illustrate your wonderfully true-to-canon characterizations. Pretty much anything could have been used though. A few favorite parts:

1. Hermione mentioning chocolate on Ron's nose. Love love love the tie-in to their first meeting.
2. Pretty much the entire R/H conversation was wonderful, but I especially liked the part about Ron's dream, and Hermione's response....::swoon::
3. The mention of Ginny's experiance with Tom Riddle was both beautiful and heartbreaking.

In short, wonderful job! :)

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-02-22
Reviewid: 21461Chapter: 1
Wonderful start! You *know* the trio very well indeed. Not once did I doubt that this was really Harry and co. that I was reading about. I'm especially impressed with your Harry. His emotions and reactions in this seemed very believable and poignant. And his talk with Hermione about the R/H bickering was both insightful and entertaining--yes, that's exactly right! Off to read the next installment now.

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2003-02-22
Reviewid: 21457Chapter: 2
That was SO wonderful, Stella ... when is the next chapter due up?? I can't WAIT!! and how long is it supposed to be?

Reviewer: Ellen MacKenzieDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21366Chapter: 2
I absolutely *loved* this chapter! You ROX! Just the whole conversation with Ron and Hermione was great. And then this:

"So? What’s wrong with that? I usually am able to help Harry with his problems, aren’t I?”

“Yeah, and annoy him half to death while you do it. Honestly, Hermione, no wonder he doesn’t tell us everything!”

*sniff* It's so true, lol! ;)

Can't wait for more!

Reviewer: Ellen MacKenzieDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21310Chapter: 1
I *loved* those letters! LOL

"Thanks, I poured it myself"

a;lskfja;sldkjf;sakfj!

I also enjoyed the very nice FRIENDLY, and PLATONIC H/H moment. ;D

"As he slipped out of the room and shut the door behind him, he didn’t have to wonder why he hadn’t said, “Anytime.” He sincerely hoped he would never have to do this again."

LOL!

Reviewer: MadhuriDate: 2003-02-20
Reviewid: 21218Chapter: 2
Oh, I love this, and I can't wait for more. The conversations are so delightful and refreshing and fun to read. Excellent fic. Thanks to Angua for reccing it. :)

Reviewer: AnguaDate: 2003-02-20
Reviewid: 21153Chapter: 2
Wow - this is great! Even better than the first chapter. Favorite parts:

- Harry stifled his laughter more quickly than Ginny did, but she managed to keep it to a strange sort of snorting sound that only made Harry want to laugh more. [Ahhh... win your love with your sexy snorting sounds!]

- "It wasn&#8217;t stupid. And it isn&#8217;t that I don&#8217;t like Quidditch&#8230;well, I don&#8217;t like playing it much, but I do like watching most of the time, especially if it&#8217;s Gryffindor playing, and Harry, of course, but I like watching it even if it&#8217;s people I don&#8217;t know, like at the Quidditch Cup, though I don&#8217;t think I appreciate it as much as you do because&#8230;"

Harry suddenly found that he was able to focus on his reading again. [You *know* why I love this!]

- "You mean, the 'I'm really worried about my best friend, and I wish he would confide in me' look? Is that the one you mean, Ron?"

"No. I mean, the 'I'm really worried about my best friend, and I wish he would spill his guts to me so that I could tell him exactly how to solve all of his problems' look." [hee hee]

- Harry leaned back his head thoughtfully, and decided that the Chamber had been worse than Ron&#8217;s dream. [My poor baby Harry!]


I can't wait for part number three!

Angua

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-02-19
Reviewid: 20981Chapter: 2
Oh, that wonderful, sexy banter! UST to the max, baby! No wonder you're so good at debate...you write R/H wonderfully and believable. I'm really enjoying the nice H/G build-up. I just caught a double meaning with the chapter title...R/H making up and Ginny "making up" stuff that looks like she's writing an essay. Cool!

Reviewer: ArleneDate: 2003-02-19
Reviewid: 20922Chapter: 2
Is it finished? I like it very much...keep writing.

Reviewer: abeDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20885Chapter: 1
i like this story a lot. it remindes me of how small life realy is. great job.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20872Chapter: 2
Stella, the resolution to Hermione's and Ron's tiff gets even better on the this re-reading! Your dialogue is good, particularly in how it shows Ron's reluctance to come clean, and how Hermione's patience and persistence wear him down enough to open up. That's *very* genuinely observed, I think--especially remembering similar examples of this from high school and university.

The awkwardness of eavesdropping is well-captured--especially as exacerbated by eavesdropping on a conversation about oneself! THAT's quite a jolt. And you show that well here in Harry's reaction to their speculations about his fears and feelings.

The dreams were very telling! And I'm glad you've weaved those in. What I'm dying to know, is what's going on in Ginny's head?? The poor thing. She seems normal, but she must have been terribly traumatised by her ordeal in the Chamber, and, if the theories are to be believed, there's probably a part Ginny that will always be claimed by TMR. (Gives me goosebumps just thinking about it.)

Nice work!

Axelle :)

Reviewer: CurlsOfGoldDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20850Chapter: 2
i really like it!!! so cute and sweet, please continue it soon ok?

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20826Chapter: 2
Okay, okay...cutest thing ever...

now what's the real deal with Ron and Hermione? is there something secretive going on behind Harry's back? ;)
or have they just not "realized" yet?

I can't wait for the next chapter! Keep going!

Jenny

Reviewer: xxxMoonYxxxDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20801Chapter: 2
This is really good!

Reviewer: WarmSnuffletteDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20770Chapter: 2
I'm not sure if it was my browser or not...There are some really big fonts going on here.

The fic is otherwise quite good!

This passage struck me in a creepy sort of way -
"There was a heading and what looked like the beginning of a paragraph, but the rest was nothing but gibberish words and phrases with various names from wizarding history scattered about. He saw his own name in there too, along with Hermione&#8217;s and Ron&#8217;s and the rest of the Weasleys. Towards the very end of the writing, right before the inkblot, written in slightly larger letters than most of the rest was the name, TOM MARVOLO RIDDLE."

Wow. There is a lot of power in those two paragraphs. Creepy, but powerful. I am looking forward to knowing what you had in mind with this.

Ron and Hermione's arguments are right on target. It's not easy to capture their arguments and stay true to the characterizations. Especially when the fights drift into the "fun" fighting mode. Looking forward to more!

Reviewer: Chocolate Frog CardDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20756Chapter: 2
Okay Stella, I have to say in very big letters that this was FREAXIN' AWESOME! I loved everything about it. Ron's dream was so sweet and wonderful and...just...so...Ron. And then Harry and Ginny listening to Ron and Hermione's conversation. And Ron wanting to bake cookies. And poor Ginny at the end there. H/G spending quality time is so cute. And the R/H was just perfect. Keep the chapters coming fast! You write some of the best romance out there. It's not too fluffy and sappy...just right.

Reviewer: Hryptrfn89Date: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20713Chapter: 1
PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEASE UPDATE!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20679Chapter: 2
Ah, young love. Keep your chapters coming and please please pretty please complete this fanfic.

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20675Chapter: 2
Whoaaaaa this is really really good, Harry's talking! XD!

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20671Chapter: 1
poor harry - caught in the crossfire. I just loved Ron and Hermione's letters - they were brilliant!

Reviewer: StellaDate: 2003-02-16
Reviewid: 20522Chapter: 1
Well, I just sent in the next chapter and realized, belatedly, that I'd forgotten to put in all my little A/N's. The disclaimer's at the beginning of the story, so I suppose that's all right, but everyone needs to give a big thank you to Axelle (A.L. de Sauveterre) for making it readable.

Ara - I hope Ginny didn't *really* come off as "feisty," I didn't mean for her to. As for the UST, Harry hasn't got a clue -- well, he's got a clue, he just doesn't "get" it. But he will... ;)

Lilac - Platonic!H/H? What story are *you* reading? Did you miss The *HUG*? I mean, how obvious do I have to be that this is just the beginning of an H/H romance? Didn't you see how Harry knew *exactly* what Hermione wanted to drink? It was almost like he could read her mind. In fact, I think he can. They're soulmates...[/sarcasm] [innocent face]What makes you think I spend any time at the DT?[/innocent face]

Jenny - Am I glad I kept this in Harry's perspective for the next chapter! It was, briefly, going to be from Ron's perspective, but I couldn't get it going...

Thanks everybody for reviewing!

(Thanks especially for saying they seem "in character," Axelle knows how nervous I was about that.)

- Stella

Reviewer: Chocolate Frog CardDate: 2003-02-13
Reviewid: 20170Chapter: 1
This is great so far! I liked the R/H effort to not annoy Harry, but it seems like they can only delay the inevitable. The talk between Harry and Hermione was perfect. He was able to console her a bit and yet it was awkward. I think your characterizations were perfect and this is a great start. Keep the chapters coming...FAST!

Reviewer: trina-kDate: 2003-02-13
Reviewid: 20123Chapter: 1
this is funny. update.

Reviewer: Nico686Date: 2003-02-12
Reviewid: 20022Chapter: 1
AH! This was SO good! I really really want more! I mean it's so perfectly in character and it just leaves you hanging on and wanting more by the second!. I can't wait for the next chapter! Hurry, cuz' I might just pass out waiting for it! :) Really brilliant,

Reviewer: AnguaDate: 2003-02-12
Reviewid: 19993Chapter: 1
Oh, I do like this so much! Everybody's anxieties all wonderfully presented. I especially loooooove the imaginary letters between Ron and Hermione. Will there be more? Or is this a short story?

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19945Chapter: 1
Great Story! I loved the sequence with the apple. It really had me giggling. Except, I kept thinking Ron might accidentally cut himself. Thank goodness he didn't!

The friendship and bonding between Harry and Hermione in this story made me smile. It's very sweet.

Reviewer: loonieDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19917Chapter: 1
that was soooo good! truly different than all those Krum fights! please continue--SOON!!!!!!

Reviewer: CurlsOfGoldDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19904Chapter: 1
pretty good start, in my opinion, so continue it pleaseeeeeeee

thanks ^^

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19879Chapter: 1
Wow! This is an excellent beginning! and YAY! it's in Harry's perspective...the true JKR way! (not saying that Ron's POV ain't adorable...just more authentic when it's Harry's)
I loved the whole blame-it-on-Voldemort thing...not really sure why...but loved it...
and favorite scene: Ron vs. apples...hilarious!

Keep going! Can't wait for next installment!

Jenny

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19875Chapter: 1
Stella, this is fabulous! I love the PLATONIC H/H going on...very sweet, like a brother. Hell, like the books, for that matter!

All the characters were very in-character, I thought. Excellent job on that!

When Ron was attacking the apples, I was spewing water out my nose because I was laughing so hard! My poor keyboard...

Oh, and the bit about the "bickering" vs. "bantering"...spot on! Can we use this fan-fic to prove the difference over at DT? J/K :-)

I'm really looking forward to the next conversation. I'm assuming Ron is next, and if there are going to be three conversations, I'm betting money on numero tres being Ginny...I hope!

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19870Chapter: 1
Stella! It's so great to finally see this here. :)

I enjoy reading your characterisations of the Trio and Ginny. And your narrative buzzes with warmth and wit. I was especially amused by Ron's letter to Hermione --the perfect combination of *mismatched* "eager" and "cool", so typical in boys of that age. (Did I say "of that age"? Who am I kidding, they're all like that!)

And you really get us empathising with poor Harry, having to play the peacemaker and how uncomfortable that can be--especially for him!

Great work! I look forward to seeing the next chapter up soon. *HINT!*

Axelle :)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19866Chapter: 1
Wow :) This was great! I liked Feisty!Ginny getting Harry to reach out to Hermione. I also liked how you portrayed Hermione. As a bit of a grade grind myself back in the day, I could really relate to her drive to surpass herself. And I like how Harry practically said that R/H let off their UST through "bickering" (or "bantering," if Hermione is to be believed).

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19864Chapter: 1
This was really great! I can't wait to read the next chapter.

Reviewer: Emma TrinkDate: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19858Chapter: 1
This is a really great fanfic. The dialogue between Ron and Hermione is so genuine and so true to character, its wonderful. Update soon! Continue writing!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-02-11
Reviewid: 19830Chapter: 1
Awesome story! I really like what Ron said about how Hermione should put her book down and have fun. I agree. She could also ace it without studying too. I am glad you kept everyone in character and more.... though I am not sure how possible that is :) I hope you add more chapters soon.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --