The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 44

Reviewer: corvidaeDate: 2006-01-04
Reviewid: 138014Chapter: 1
awww. luci woosi, i like the idea of lucius being so very taken with his own son.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-01-04
Reviewid: 138007Chapter: 1
wooooo, love Malfoy fics. cruel, you really captured them!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137234Chapter: 1
I Really Enjoyed. Thanks.

Reviewer: TogDate: 2005-09-24
Reviewid: 133141Chapter: 1
I love it! Love it, love it, love it. It's a perfect depiction of Lucius Malfoy, Father. Not overly affectionate nor partiularly loving but...there. Excellent work.

Reviewer: kayleighDate: 2005-09-14
Reviewid: 132520Chapter: 1
i`ts brilliant

Reviewer: Luvin-Baby-Draco!Date: 2005-06-05
Reviewid: 123340Chapter: 1
XD!!!!

Widdle Draco is ADORABLE.

I love Lucious Malfoy in this. You're really good at at keeping people in character. *Goes off to see if you have any othr fics.*

Ah, but first...

*Presents with a large tray of cookie-muffins.*

A cross between the two, making them delicious! And they are all for you! *Nicks one and scampers off.*

Reviewer: M.D. JacksonDate: 2004-12-19
Reviewid: 108089Chapter: 1
That was a TRUELY excellent story. I enjoyed it a lot! It help that I love Malfoy though...:). I like the way that you made Lucious. Very well done. Wouldn't change a thing.

~M.D. Jackson

Reviewer: Winter DragonDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105999Chapter: 1
Draco is perfectly charcterized as a 5 year old: petulant, bratty, challenging. I'm glad he didn't deliberately get Ludmilla in trouble. The only thing that didn't ring true was Lucius's letter; it's too direct for someone of as sneaky and subtle as he is in canon. I'd be shocked if JKR's Lucius would ever be that petty, particularly *in writing* or any other format where evidence could be retained.

Reviewer: MangoDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83044Chapter: 1
Brilliant! I loved your characterizations of the Malfoys. Lucius was every inch the haughty, evil father-aristrocrat. But very human. I can't believe you made Lucius HUMAN. Bravo. And Draco was just delightful as his bratty younger self.

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73444Chapter: 1
Lucius Malfoy makes me furious! That was a horrible letter he sent. The passage in which he fired Ludmilla is very well-written-I love the style.

Overall, fabulous story.

Reviewer: pirateloverDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73379Chapter: 1
This was really great! Lucius is exactly his character in the HP books, and so is Draco, the little spolied devil. You should write more of these first signs of magic stories!

Reviewer: LinneriaDate: 2004-01-17
Reviewid: 67473Chapter: 1
Haha.. That was fun.. Why am I not surprised that Draco was a tiny terror? ^_^

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52020Chapter: 1
This was excellent!

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51925Chapter: 1
wow, i feel bad for draco, poor kid. they all seem almost...well...human, until that letter which kinda threw it off. but yeah its a great story, i like the whole "First Signs of Magic" series, its interesting!
keep it up!
-Lee

Reviewer: SheenaDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51890Chapter: 1
I really like this story, I was wonderin if u were gonna write more to it?

Reviewer: wilderness guruDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51501Chapter: 1
This was cute.

Reviewer: IcarusDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50724Chapter: 1
Katie, there's a huge difference between Canon Lucius and Fanon Lucius. This is Canon Lucius here. Read the books again, forget Draco Veritas and any abusive!Lucius story you've read. Lucius, though rather sarcastic and demanding of his son, loves him. (And spoils him.) Read the second book in particular.

The reason Fanon Lucius is so abusive is that many of these fanfics are attempting to redeem and make Draco a sympathetic character. JKR's Lucius is more three-dimensional than these portrayals.

I have more respect for critics, by the way, who leave their email address.

Icarus

Reviewer: katieDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50550Chapter: 1
OMG!!!!!!!!!! THAT IS DEFINITLY NOT! I MEAN NOT! LUCIUS! FIRST OF ALL HE AND DRACO GET ALONG FINE AND SECOND OF ALL HE IS NOT NICE TO HIS SERVENT"S AT ALL!! YOU"V GOT IT BACKWARD"S I MEAN COME ON!

other wise great story

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50513Chapter: 1
Very nice.. though I can't even imagine Lucius cradling Draco ^_^;

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50268Chapter: 1
HAHAHAHA WONDERFUL ! i was wondering about lucie the old chap being such a jolly good chap.
Odd's fish.. i must say though i dont see lucius'tenderness towards his son the way u do.. nevertheless its good.
and different. very different. good.

Reviewer: HeatherDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50195Chapter: 1
I felt sorry for poor Draco. He doesn't seem well loved in his family but I was a bit confused as to why the nanny was fired.

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50024Chapter: 1
aww that was soooo cute!! I loved lil draco!! i can imagine how he felt when he thought he was going to be locked up forever. that was soo cute, and you did a great job!!

Reviewer: brianaDate: 2003-06-30
Reviewid: 39109Chapter: 1
very cute... i definately liked it very much...
i think it certainly does show a clear explaination of how draco came to be the way he is in the books... lol...
absolutly adorable...

Reviewer: babyduckeDate: 2003-06-26
Reviewid: 38604Chapter: 1
yup, that's lucius for ya... little draco was SOOO cute.. you captured the quirk of a child who doesn't want to do what their parents told them.. very adorable..hehe..little draco.. :)

Reviewer: ronluverDate: 2003-05-31
Reviewid: 34768Chapter: 1
poor ludmilla. sigh. anyway, except for her, that was a really sweet story. shows the good side of mr. malfoy, and draco was actually cute.

Reviewer: Aisling and RyreDate: 2003-04-08
Reviewid: 26991Chapter: 1
Loved It!!!!!
L'iDraco ssssssoooooo cute!
Big Malfroy eeeeevvilllllll!!!!!
Bah ha ha ha!
Can you do some more? PLEASE!!!!

Reviewer: ShefDate: 2003-04-08
Reviewid: 26986Chapter: 1
This is adorable! I love Draco-as-a-little-boy stories, he's so cute and vulnerable! Lucius is chilling, of course, but I do agree with him that Ludmilla should not be around children. Bratty kids need more love than nice ones.

Reviewer: Harry4meDate: 2003-02-28
Reviewid: 22220Chapter: 1
Yep, Draco is, was and still is a little brat. Much like his father, really. I can just imagine little spoilt draco with his nanny, and his cold father. Poor thing, really. Another great story. Planning to write more?

Reviewer: lucysnoweDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21439Chapter: 1
This was great! Draco was a perfect little brat, but I still felt sorry for him. I could really feel his panic when he thought he'd be locked up forever. Lucius was perfectly slimy. Poor Ludmilla! Your characters fit perfectly with canon, and your use of language is lovely!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21428Chapter: 1
I can imagine this happening! It sounds so much like the Malfoy household. Loved reading this!

Reviewer: Night RainDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21364Chapter: 1
That's great! Five-year-old Draco is perfect! The Malfoys would definiely have that lifestyle!

Reviewer: AvitalDate: 2003-02-19
Reviewid: 21045Chapter: 1
Great story! Lucius is sooo mean!

Reviewer: Mirax_TerrikDate: 2003-02-19
Reviewid: 20947Chapter: 1
Ouch. Why, all of the sudden, am I reminded of Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison? Meanspirited recomendations are *not* cool.

Anyway, I really enjoyed your fic. The characterization is great. I can't help but feel sorry for Draco. Having a father and enviroment like that would harm anyone's temperment.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20853Chapter: 1
Oh, Ludmilla! You poor dear!
::sniffs: Lucius Malfoy is too cruel. This was very artfully done -- I liked the image of little Draco falling into his father's arms in fright.

Wild Magic, eh? Ever read Tamora Pierce :) It would be interesting to see what would happen if you developed that further.

And I, for one, would be interested in reading it.
~TPR

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20762Chapter: 1
Wow... Lucius is very nicely written - fatherly moments mixed with expected meanness. Poor nanny (What's with the Russian name, anyway?)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20740Chapter: 1
How sweet! Even if Draco WAS a "little s**t" in this fic, he was very cute and endearing at the moment his magic manifested itself. I could just imagine him running around dressed like the Last Emperor :) I hope this is a series! Do more!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20722Chapter: 1
This was amazing. I think you gave mini-Draco really....human like emotions. Also, the ending was quite clever.

Reviewer: Swirly HeadDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20712Chapter: 1
Little Draco was an adorable brat, Lucius was Lucius, but nice touch of Father!Lucius, and I love that Ludmilla got such a wonderful letter of reccommendation. (sp?) Anyway, as a fan of Canon!Draco, I loved this, and I got all soppy when he was in distress, bless his spoilt little heart. What a delightful ficlet, is all I can say.

Well Done! It was charming.

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20710Chapter: 1
Well, I'm glad to see this story here, Icarus, and it was such a pleasure to beta.

Even on the second and third reads, I still find myself thinking that this glimpse into Lucius’s and Draco’s relationship is the most realistic portrayal I have ever seen in the fanfiction. By the time we see Lucius and Draco in canon, they may have drifted apart, but here I agree with your interpretation, that they certainly would have had a much more normal (or as close to normal as can be expected) father-young son relationship.

Your characterisations are spot on. Lucius's pride, arrogance and easily stirred irritation, and Draco's filial desire for his father’s attention and approval are credibly rendered.

And I mentioned in my other comments that you also have some terrific descriptions there, *especially* of Draco’s kicking at the dining table and the entire first magic sequence—a real feast for the senses!

Like everyone else, I'm looking forward to reading more of your work (and am feeling quite chuffed be able to see it all in preview ;) ).

Nice work!

Axelle

Reviewer: HalcyonDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20702Chapter: 1
Wonderful job. 5 year old Draco was a perfect combintion of willful spoiled brat and fragile little boy. Lucius was very in character also--proud and cold as in canon, but multidimensional as well. I can't wait to see more from you.

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20677Chapter: 1
Delightful! Lucius is so in-character!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20672Chapter: 1
Magnificent and chilling. Poor innocent trusting Ludmilla! I can't help wondering what became of the poor girl. Hopefully she eventually found another job, far from the Malfoy's sphere of influence (where-ever that may be...)

Your depiction of the relationship between Lucius and Draco is complex and superb. Draco's fear of being locked in forever took my breath away. Your description of him as small and fragile is utterly perfect. He's very much in character... an apalling brat, but one who tugs at the heart nonetheless.

And I really loved the way that you wrote Lucius... his combination of coldness and pride. Perfect!

I'm almost afraid to ask what he would have done to poor Ludmilla if she'd been there when Draco got out of his room, but some things are best left to the imagination.

Reviewer: juanaDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20670Chapter: 1
thats really cute. I like the way you described Draco... it really get the message through on what a spoiled brat he is... and then you also feel sorry for him, cus his dad cares shit about him. It was really good. Hope you write some more!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20669Chapter: 1
You really captured canon Lucius well. He's not your average low-life thug who beats his kid, but he's no Ward Cleaver. He at least pays attention to his kid, even if it's not always the warmest attention. You got five year-old behavior down too. The letter was very funny and seemed like the type of sarcastic thing he would do.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --