The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: RowDate: 2005-04-09
Reviewid: 119061Chapter: 1
i really like this piece except for one thing- you keep spelling Hogwarts as Hogworts-GAH!! but apart from that its excellent- molly needs some characterisation

Reviewer: BlankDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110495Chapter: 1
I like it! I like the glipse of Molly's world. You don't see that too often. Love it!

Reviewer: chandDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107199Chapter: 1
can't believe this doesn't have more reviews! wonderfully original, really, and great characterization. you have some talent here =)

Reviewer: JoDate: 2004-06-10
Reviewid: 86686Chapter: 1
I love the fact that its the teacup that yelps with pain! a lovely homely story.

Reviewer: a personDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79480Chapter: 1
This was a great story, and I really enjoyed it, but the use of "Hogworts" instead of "Hogwarts" really put me off. Please fix it, when you get a chance.

Thanks!

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-04-10
Reviewid: 78032Chapter: 1
I was recommended to read this story and it is very satisfactory. Perfectly in charactor, and lovely scenes. I especially liked the scenes with the family and the one between Arthur and Molly over the magazine. Great work!

Reviewer: ainsleyjaneDate: 2004-04-10
Reviewid: 77939Chapter: 1
i was going to say something about "jeeves and wooster", but you beat me to it :)

Reviewer: KariDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73028Chapter: 1
That was a very nice little story. I haven't read too many with Molly as the main character. Couldn't help but laugh at the porno mag bit.

Reviewer: MandyDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40500Chapter: 1
Wonderful. Really, truly wonderful. Your descriptions are vivid...I love how you put detail into everything, right down to the tea leaves in the cup. The ONLY editorial comment I have is that you have Zelda apparating through the fireplace. Was she apparating, or Flooing, or...well, was it your intention to have her apparate through the fireplace? GREAT job. One of the best Molly fics I've ever seen.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21349Chapter: 1
Yay! A good Molly characterization is always a welcome thing!

The beginning section reminded me a lot of my mornings at home, with 2,000 things that *could* be done, 1,000 things that *should* be done, and nary a clue where to start. :D I like the nice, leisurely feel you create here, and there are so many great moments of realism -- I particularly loved how Molly searched for the gloves in the "junk pile" and then, upon finding the gloves, neatly restacked the pile without putting anything away. Too true! There are just some things that don't have an identifiable place anywhere in the home, except the "pile".

The Monthly Tea was hilarious -- it had the feel of a British ensemble comedy. I think Aunt Precious is my favorite too -- she reminds me of the elderly relatives who keep forgetting that my name was changed 25 years ago. ;) I loved how Molly got defensive about Bill's "very handsome ponytail". It's all well and good for you to criticize your own, but no one else had better dare, right? LOL!

And the Arthur/Molly moment at the end...sigh. It's writing like this that makes me envision EdHarris!Arthur. ;) It was a treat to see this couple share such a sweet moment together:

<<Arthur stood, resting his cheek on the top of her head. She drew comfort from those long, strong arms around her. She felt his wedding ring on her shoulder bone through her robes and her blue sweater. Strength flowing out of her into him and back to her again. Round and round. They would come through this. They would.>>

And I think they SHOULD tell the twins that they were inspired by the magazine! They would either be horribly appalled, or be secretly proud that "Dad's still got it!".

I'd recommend a once-over for punctuation and spelling, but your detail, humour, and pacing are just marvelous. Great job!

Katinka :)

Reviewer: RonDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20905Chapter: 1
I LOVE IT. Its beautiful. wow.

Reviewer: JillDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20895Chapter: 1
Thank you for the kind reviews. I am grateful you took the time to read it and the time to drop me a note about it. I started it in September after yet another person made a crack about what-all I do with my day with the girls at school. A lot of my own mother is in Molly as written, esp. the references to who looks like whom in the family and the devotion to her family, immediate and extended.

As to additional fics, I don’t know. This one took me about 5 months to get it to where I wanted it to be. The little hook that stayed in my head during the innumerable edits was: Molly needs to get that overdue book back to the Magical Library soonest. (Though the thought of coming up with stray titles on the shelves is pretty daunting!)

Andrea13: You are absolutely right about setting the timing better in the first few paragraphs. It is one of the cardinal rules of speculative fiction that the time, place, and world need to be established immediately, and I broke it in that particular. Edit it to read: “…when Ginny went to Hogworts she would give the house a massive cleaning and throw out half of the things in the house. (Of course, Ginny was starting her fourth year now, and so far nothing had been done in that vein.)”

I didn’t give particular details about Percy’s place of abode because Ms. Rowling has not told us if he is still living at home after GoF. Hopefully, the story is written ambiguously enough to allow for several options.

Beaker: The tea at the bottom of Arthur’s cup thing was a way to get the reference to Camellia sinensis in that section of the story. (Though the unforseen Divination overtones are compelling, too.) The Oil of Bergamot, distinctive ingredient in Earl Gray tea of course, slyly serves that purpose for the last section.

Reviewer: Andrea13Date: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20864Chapter: 1
Overall I really enjoyed this fic. It was amusing and had a great attention to detail. As someone else mentioned, I'd love some Blast! to do my own cleaning. :) The Weasley Aunts were hysterical -- I'd love to see more of them!

I think you could use a little more judicious editing to make this lovely fic even better. I was very confused by the timing -- the way Molly was talking at the beginning about finally getting the house to herself made it seem like she'd only *just* gotten the last child sent off, which would make it during COS, but later events made it evident this took place during GOF. If it WAS during GOF, where was Percy? He was still living at home then. Just some minor confusion that could be cleared up easily enough by some polishing in word choice, etc.

Incidentally, the best part of the whole fic was the Vixen magazine. Personally, I subscribe to the "it was really Percy's and he was taking revenge on the twins" theory. It's so Percy! ;) I'd love to see the twins' reactions when they get those ashes in the mail. *cackles*

Reviewer: AngelDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20855Chapter: 1
Hope you're planning on writing more of this - it's brilliant.

Reviewer: zsenyaDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20846Chapter: 1
Jill - when I saw this story, I knew it was going to be a hit. Thank you for taking the time to write about a little-written about character and her day. You've filled in a lot of blanks that I've always wondered about - how does Molly clean - how much time does she have to spend on it - how much magic does she use? Who does she visit? Who are her friends? I have always wondered, and now I *know*. My favorite bit was when Arthur came home - I loved their interactions. And your attention to detail is amazing. - *“Accio!” The pretty little cover-witch was looking dizzy...* that is EXCELLENT description and well thought-out. Thank you!

Reviewer: hxsDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20828Chapter: 1
what a fun and original story. I like the way you mixed a lot of comedy with serious stuff underneath, it really helps give the same feel as the books! Looking forward to more of your fic...hopefully?

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20807Chapter: 1
I really, really enjoyed this. I particularly appreciate your attention to the little details that set a scene and mood--like a worn-out surface and scrub brush, or a little bit of tea swirling in the bottom of a cup (some symbolism there, as well--is Arthur unconsciously trying to see the future? It doesn't seem like he's doing Divination).

I also like your wry humor (love the BLAST!--I might clean a bit more often myself if I had something like that!--and the cover witch knitting, then posing until she saw who was looking at her, then knitting again! Delightful.)

Molly's internal dialogue is convincing and in character, both when she is by herself and when she is with others (her in-laws, Arthur, or imagining the reactions of her boys. And you "draw" her relatives very well, even if they are "drawn" from other sources (if you hadn't named them Violet and Richard, I would still have recognized the type, if not the exact reference!

The scene at the end where Molly and Arthur reunite at the end of the day captures well the affection and support that exists in a solid, long-term marriage, without belaboring the point. Very genuine.

Thanks for posting this, please post more, and congratulations on your N.E.W.T.!

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20788Chapter: 1
I thought I recognized Hyacinth and Richard. good story

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20750Chapter: 1
I thoroughly enjoyed this fic! Molly just doesn't get enough fan fiction. Mmph. She does, after all, shape all the other Weasleys.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20741Chapter: 1
This is really wonderful. Molly's a character that we don't get to see enough of. You've written her perfectly. Warm, capabable, humorous, generous. I especially enjoyed her reactions to the "Vixen" magazine, her ruminations on how much she enjoyed looking after the chickens, her concerns over all of her children, her visit with Zelda, the family tea, her conversation with Arthur at the end... well, it was all lovely! Thank you for writing this story.

Reviewer: LazaraspasteDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20709Chapter: 1
What a wonderful story. Molly Weasley is rather underused and it is great to see a story about what she does with her time when all the kids are away. I loved it. I hope you write more stories from Molly's POV.

Reviewer: wm_lawDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20701Chapter: 1
Cute litle fic! Though you may want to edit it up a bit... In a few places you have Hogworts rather than Hogwarts.

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20696Chapter: 1
What an interesting graps of the character of Molly -- and then Arthur too there at the end. Well done. Lots of wonderfull layered meanings - Like I'm pretty sure Molly thinks Arthur could/should replace fudge?

thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: catakitDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20691Chapter: 1
I welcome your story and any that come after it, as long as they hurry. I especially liked when Molly's mind starts rushing, and flits through her life and worries. Good job.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --