The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Thine Own Self
Review(s): 33

Reviewer: LucyDate: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120514Chapter: 5
I had tears in my eyes as I read that epilogue, so true that not all Slytherin people are the evil incarnate that they're portrayed as. A fanastic blending of old and new characters.

Reviewer: AdrienneDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116476Chapter: 5
This was very good. Unexpected plot and perspective, but very good.

Reviewer: GlendaDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113303Chapter: 5
I enjoyed this story so much. It reminded me that there is much more to the houses than you can know. I would love to see more stories where the houses intermingle. I also enjoy having some more understanding of the Slytherin house and why they are not all bad.

Reviewer: Ciela NightDate: 2004-11-10
Reviewid: 104176Chapter: 1
Excellent story! I loved the insight into the house of Slytherin and the fact that not all the students in that house are pure-bloods.

Reviewer: Alicia ShankDate: 2004-10-21
Reviewid: 102061Chapter: 5
You did a really, really good job with this. I'm rapidly becoming a fan of the rest of your work (seems anything any of the "horsechicks" write is full of laughs, great lines, and spot-on characterizations), but this story was special. The image of the Slytherin muggle-borns huddled together in the common room is going to stay with me for a long, long time, as will the intricate power-plays within the house and the overwhelming atmosphere of fear--explains a lot. Thank you...and keep on writing; all five of you could easily be professionals!

Reviewer: TapestryDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63714Chapter: 5
I just wanted to take a moment to share my heartfelt thanks with you for writing this story and posting it for others to read. It was very well written with an excellent mix of dialogue, action and internal tension. You've done a wonderful job and the desciptions are so sharp and well written that the story really comes to life. I hope you'll continue writing and post more stories soon.

Reviewer: KatDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46523Chapter: 5
I have to tell you that this story was one of the best I have read, it portrayed such pain in some and then it sort of gave into triumph as those that fought for good survived, even if David only surrvied in the memory of those who loved him. Bravo.

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22865Chapter: 5
Well-done. Like others, I particularly like Katherine. You tell us enough about her so we understand where she is coming from--and so we wonder where she was before. Why would she put up with such harsh treatment from her housemates? Why not return to the Muggle world, if life at Hogwarts is so difficult? Well, her prospects as a Muggle must be far less promising, and she clearly put up with quite a bit of "difficulty" (read c**p) in her prior life, otherwise where could she have learned such resolve and self-sufficiency? You don't tell us all this--but you do leave us to wonder, which I appreciate. Her Slytherin roommates are enough to make my blood curdle. I think I knew them back in school...

You also handle Severus with a sure and believable touch. I like him too much as a character to even attempt including him in my own work, at this point. I'd be afraid of getting him wrong.

I didn't quite get what happened to David, either. Obviously his family was attacked, probably by Voldemort because they were Muggles who produced a wizard. Or maybe just because they were Muggles. But it didn't seem to tie in with prior events. Did I miss something?

When you start your career as a published author, :)don't use *asterisks* for emphasis. It isn't standard punctuation. Oh, heck. They probably will be standard usage in a couple of years, never mind!

And finally, was the rowan wand a nod to Diane Duane's books?

Thanks for a great read!

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22808Chapter: 5
i dont GET it!!!!!
HOW DID RYDER DIE???
aniwae. other than that its a nice story...

Reviewer: julieDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22797Chapter: 5
this has been a great story, but it was sad that David died.

Reviewer: FirecrackerDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22768Chapter: 5
Congratulations for the N.E.W.T. You deserved it. The ending was great. And the coincidence is that I was listening to 'My Immortal' by Evanescence during it... It added *so* much to the mood. If you get the chance, listen to it someday. You'll know what I mean. The CD just came out today, I think. It's called Fallen. Once again, good job.

Reviewer: SunsethillDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22694Chapter: 5
Please tell me you have a follow-up to this. This was very touching and I would love to see you take on something else.

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22646Chapter: 5
Absolutely a great story. Very wrenching, you really drew me in (:

Reviewer: LazaraspasteDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22636Chapter: 5
I really, really liked this story and I hope that in the future we can hear more about Katherine and the other Slytherins.

Reviewer: Blue OceanDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22623Chapter: 5
What a great finish to a wonderful story! Thanks for writing it: each chapter pleased me greatly, each in its turn.

Reviewer: StargazerDate: 2003-03-02
Reviewid: 22472Chapter: 4
One word unbelievable. This story is so well characterized and the building suspense is great. Katherine is great. I love the idea of muggleborns in Slytherin. Poor things, you've captured how truely awful it would be for them. I think my favorite thing was Snape's actions. You've kept him perfectly in character. He isn't nice, but he feels guilty about it wasn't going to let poor Erin die. I was holding my breath through parts of chapters 3 and 4. Very well done, I can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: armadilloDate: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22405Chapter: 1
That was. . . wow. The characterizations were amazing. It is impressive how you took an unknown, original, character and describe so much. Your writing was excellent, I hope to read more from you soon!

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22389Chapter: 4
Very intense, in a good "Now you're doooomed!" way <g>

Reviewer: LazaraspasteDate: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22338Chapter: 4
Ya! I'm so glad Dumbledore came back and everyone's alright. I was awfully anxious for them all at the end of Part 3. Looking forward to Part 5. I'm really liking this story and I like Katherine alot. I love it when she told Malfoy to eat snakes. Good for her.

Reviewer: julieDate: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22311Chapter: 1
this is a very interesting story. very well written

Reviewer: h-townDate: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22295Chapter: 1
I think this is one of the most realisitic stories concerning what war and hatred can do to people who should be tied together by their common bonds. 13 year olds shoot each other at school, 16 year olds are tried as adults, and we are on the cusp of our own war. Thank you for showing what hatred is like for children.

Reviewer: FirecrackerDate: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22285Chapter: 4
Another great chapter. Keep it up.

Reviewer: Blue OceanDate: 2003-02-26
Reviewid: 22031Chapter: 3
I love your story! It is very exciting. Nothing in it stuck out, as far as brilliant words go, for the most part it was all very solid. I did not notice any real mistakes, except that I kept asking myself if children this age can be quite as murderous as you seem to be making them out to be. I know there are a few, but a whole house full of them? Well, perhaps you are right. I imagine it was not too much different back when racism was acceptable. Still, it seems very foreign.

The strongest point of this story is your ability to write the patient, wise character. Your writing of Katherine is great, and I think I've taken away a little lesson that I will apply to my next story.

The weakest point is the situation into which you've put the Slytherin Muggle-borns. It seems just a little bit unbelievable that McGonagall would not intervene. However, this is just an element of plot, and your style more than makes up for whatever slight weaknesses your plot contains. I'm looking foward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21887Chapter: 3
That was so dark, so sad, so tense. You absolutely sucked me in to the point where I was jumpy and flinching. I hope to find out more soon.

Reviewer: KryssyDate: 2003-02-22
Reviewid: 21513Chapter: 1
I like the start so far, however I hope that in the next chapter(s), you make the other characters clearer i.e. describe them more, etc. including Katherine. I'm eager to know her 'fear' and why she might be considered the black sheep. Good work so far. :-D

Reviewer: SonicDate: 2003-02-22
Reviewid: 21499Chapter: 2
I think Part 2 was very well done. The way you kept the suspense and despair in the chapter was quite impressive. You got me hooked. Continue writing...

Sonic

Reviewer: FirecrackerDate: 2003-02-22
Reviewid: 21445Chapter: 2
Well written. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: SunsethillDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21348Chapter: 2
Nice pacing on this. You kept up the suspense while keeping it interesting. Now I want to know where Dumbledore is.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21326Chapter: 1
Excellent fic so far - and a very interesting premise. You portray the feelings of rising evil so very well, and the sense of 'good' Slytherin alienation from even the other Houses, becuase they are too proud/frightened/unwilling to go for help. It is an interesting echo of Harry's attitude: they can't confide in anyone official, they have to handle things themselves.

I look forward to reading more.

Alkari

Reviewer: DreaDate: 2003-02-20
Reviewid: 21248Chapter: 1
wow that was really good. its the first story ive read set in james and lily's time that wasn't really about james and lily. i really like it. please please please write some more!

Reviewer: CathDate: 2003-02-20
Reviewid: 21226Chapter: 1
Perri, I adore you. Now go write more, darnit!

Reviewer: FirecrackerDate: 2003-02-19
Reviewid: 21104Chapter: 1
The summary really got me. I'm looking forward to see what happens next. You portray the personalities of Sirius, Lily, Snape, and Lucius so well. Remus as well, although he didn't get a speaking part. It was where he was the only one who managed to look innocent. Keep up the good work...it would be nice for you to have longer chapters, though I shouldn't be talking. I can't manage anything too long, for some reason.

Reviewer: LazaraspasteDate: 2003-02-19
Reviewid: 21019Chapter: 1
Great beginning. I can't wait to read more about Katherine and the rest of the Slytherins.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --