The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Neville's Triumph
Review(s): 23

Reviewer: HeriDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100508Chapter: 1
A very interesting piece, and one which is undoubtedly a crowd-pleaser. Neville needed to have his moment.

Even though it's a short piece with very little dialogue, all the characters are true to form. I especially enjoyed Draco's lines - his "voice" sounded spot-on.

Your plotting is also very well done - you know where you're headed, and you don't lose sight of your objective. You get us there with expertise - everything leads up to that final sentence.

I also liked to see how you followed Rowling's lead, by showing that somewhere deep down inside Snape, there is a decent man wanting to come out.

Reviewer: Ana CorganDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71405Chapter: 1
I looove the ending, but I'm sure I've let you know :)

Great fic! :D

/me loves you.

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65317Chapter: 1
I almost hate to say it, but Severus is such a sweetie...

Reviewer: Michael CareyDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52125Chapter: 1
Brilliant. A fantastic story that shows that sometimes the hardest moments in life can become the source of strength we need most. Thank you also for the twist at the end, proving once again that even though we hate Snape, he's still looking out for us.

Reviewer: Michael CareyDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52123Chapter: 1
Brilliant. A fantastic story that shows that sometimes the hardest moments in life can become the source of strength we need most. Thank you also for the twist at the end, proving once again that even though we hate Snape, he's still looking out for us.

Reviewer: Blue KelpieDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33348Chapter: 1
A Neville fic brilliant there really aren't enough of these.
“You are a true Gryffindor, Neville.” aww *sniff* very good characterisation though.

Kelpie

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-02-26
Reviewid: 21972Chapter: 1
Good characterization of Neville, good to see some Neville fics out there. I especially liked the reaction of all the Gryffindors and Harry telling Neville he was a true Gryffindor. Also, Neville's obliviousness to the cheering around him was a good way to demonstrate the seriousness and sadness of the situation for Neville. I don't think Snape would be *quite* that cruel, even if he seemed to be in the Potions scene in CoS, but I do like how Snape seemed to have learned not to underestimate Neville anymore.

Reviewer: MadCatDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21761Chapter: 1
Thanks for reviewing, everyone. :)

I'm really sorry about getting Trevor into trouble, but you guys have to understand that Snape's involved in the first war. He knows that the risk of losing a loved one is very high*, and he wants to drive home the fact to Neville. War is not pretty. That's why he did what he did.

Hope this answers all your questions about why the poor toad had to go. :)


*- Of course, we as readers don't know if he still is in contact with his family, if ever.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21532Chapter: 1
Trevor!! Seeing Neville stand up for himself and blast Snape was incredibly satisfying, but poor little Trevor!!! (sniffles sadly) I'm so glad that Neville told Snape that he was as bad as Voldemort. He is a true Gryffindor.

Reviewer: CindrellionDate: 2003-02-22
Reviewid: 21515Chapter: 1
Mon Dieu!! Snapes gone mad!! RUN HE HAS NON MORE DIGNATY TO NOT GIVE NEVILLE POINTS!!! WHAT WILL BECOME OF US???????????????

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-02-22
Reviewid: 21475Chapter: 1
that was wonderful..
ok u had me.. there are tears in m eyes.
why did you KILLL trevor ?? but the guts on lavender.. i enjoyed that .. simpering idiots;)
arghh but the last part.. thats the absolute best thing ie ever read.. oine excellent neville courage fic
it also has snape right down to pat.. seemingly ruthless but always with the bigger picture and something good for everyone
the guy is amazing.. and so are YOU wanna do another one ?? preetty pretty please ??

Reviewer: Madeline ElsterDate: 2003-02-22
Reviewid: 21456Chapter: 1
Good fic. It's nice to see Neville stand up for himself once and a while, though, poor baby, he didn't have to have his toad die.

Just a few nitpics: Try and stay away from using commas a lot. It's very difficult to read prose that's heavy with sentences like "Eventually, the Gryffindors left, and the only person remaining was Snape, sitting on the floor with his back against the wall."

Also there's an unfinished sentence in here: "Ron was already shaking with suppresed rage, baring" (23rd paragraph, last sentence).

Otherwise, keep writing! :)

God Bless,
Madeline

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21427Chapter: 1
Go Neville!! It's about time he stood up for himself against Snape and the Slytherins. Awesome story!

Reviewer: trinaDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21423Chapter: 1
bloody heck thats good! i love it. maybe you could add somemore to it. thatd be interesting! :-D

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21394Chapter: 1
What a horiffic thing to do to Neville!

Yet, what an excellent portrayal of Snape.

Well done

Catherine

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21392Chapter: 1
Wow, wow, and wow. My jaw dropped further and further as I read this -- I thought that even Snape would know that he was crossing the line in a MAJOR way. And when Neville first spoke, I got chills. And then tears in my eyes. But you didn't just stop there, you threw in that clever little twist at the end. So congratulations, you've just made me rethink my views on Snape's canon behavior and motivations. ;)

EXCELLENT work!

Katinka

Reviewer: SevenDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21363Chapter: 1
Better now! =D Well, I had to let you know, MadCat: beautiful fic. It was so sad when Trevor died... even IF exploding is not the most, erm, TOUCHING way. ;] I love how Neville gets angry and how at the end, Snape was awake. (still in shock) All in all, excellent, original story.

Oh, come on, you HAVE to be a writer! *whines and pouts* :)

Reviewer: SevenDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21362Chapter: 1
*shaking for some strange reason*

Wow... amazing...

I'm sorry. You have rendered me speechless. LITERALLY. I can't review properly now...

hgealgasj;'wakgwlagj

How can anybody write so ewnfelkm;sk well???

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21352Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful story - I love the way you build tension during the scene (and I agree with Ara; I, gross person that I am, enjoyed the toad guts all over Lavender and Parvati). Neville's reaction to Snape - killing innocents - is a perfect reaction, coming from him. The Trio, Neville and Snape are all beautifully characterized, and I like how you raised the stakes on how far Snape is willing to go, and made it work. Excellent!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21331Chapter: 1
*sniffle* Poor Trevor. I am very glad I got to see Neville stand up for himself (against Snape, no less), but at what price?! I'm sorry, I'm distressed that the toad had to die. I did enjoy the descriptions of his grisly remains winding up all over the classroom and the students, though. I'm weird that way!

Reviewer: assilem101Date: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21330Chapter: 1
That was great! I love Neville stories and your characterisation of him was good. It fits wells with the idea in 'Potterverse' that people are not always what they seem...

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21309Chapter: 1
I thought that your version of Neville's growing backbone where Snape is concerned was very realistic. I thought that it was interesting that it wasn't for his own sake that he exploded but on behalf of his frog. I also enjoyed each of the Gryffindor's reactions.

Very nice!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21299Chapter: 1
Bam! You took the theory that Snape is trying to toughen Neville up and kicked it up a notch. I guess in the end it's worth the loss of the toad and a little blood on Snape's forehead to make Neville into a new man. This was a very original story and the action was very good.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --