The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 46

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137235Chapter: 1
Very Cute

Reviewer: ReesesPiecesDate: 2005-03-28
Reviewid: 117909Chapter: 1
Excellent!

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-11-27
Reviewid: 106101Chapter: 1
very nice. smart, clever, and just enough humor. very realistic and detailed. i like. congratz! :)

Reviewer: Livia LianaDate: 2004-11-10
Reviewid: 104084Chapter: 1
Absolutely adorable little story. You're an engaging writer and the characterization was delightful.

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2004-11-05
Reviewid: 103524Chapter: 1
Heehee. So cute.

Reviewer: RikaDate: 2004-07-24
Reviewid: 93884Chapter: 1
I loved all of the descriptions; it was wonderfully magical and crazy in St. Mungos! I also found the part describing the equal opportunity stuff very amusing. Good Work!

Reviewer: LadySunropeDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91720Chapter: 1
This is the first of yours that I have read. It was recommended and I can see why. It's an interesting take and an amusing one too. It certainly has the Rowling feel to it. If there is one criticsm I would make it's that it didn't sound as English as it could have been. There are vocabulary discrepancies that jar especially to English ears like mine.'upscale' 'parking lot' 'honey' as an endearment are the ones at first glance. You may think I'm being picky, and sorry if that is so, but I do like the 'Englishness' of Rowling so I like it in my fics too. Thank you, though, for a look into Hermione's childhood. It was a worthwhile journey!

Reviewer: CelliDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91692Chapter: 1
Oh, this is great! I love the appearing signs and the "minority-friendly" wizard's hospital.

Reviewer: MangoDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83045Chapter: 1
What an adorable story. Absolutely PERFECT for Hermione's first signs of magic...it always has something to do with homework huh? And I love your characterizations of the Grangers--little wonder why Hermione turned out that way! Hee. Lovely, just lovely, these series are. Hey, why don't you do one on Ron?! Something about being stressed in the Burrow. Or Ron using magic as self-defense from his evil brothers...

Reviewer: katiaDate: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73739Chapter: 1
This is unbelievably cute.

Reviewer: big daveDate: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73632Chapter: 1
brilliant i loved it big thumbs up (although your british acsent could do with some work try watching some britsh shows on tv i'm told that you do get a few of them over there)

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73267Chapter: 1
Very nice little story. :)

Reviewer: Hermione AnnDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65018Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed your story, it was just amazing, do keep it up! I really hope you're going to write more, you've got an knack for fan fiction.

Reviewer: BeccaFranDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51884Chapter: 1
Very nicely done. I love the thought of Hermione's first magical acts being homework-related, and how she thinks it's completely normal to be able to do 3 sets of homework at once. :)

And I LOVE the "pen emergency room" sign~ just perfect.

Reviewer: AudraDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51796Chapter: 1
I read this fic ages ago, but only recently found it again. It always makes me laugh -- I can just picture Hermione's first manifestation of magic occuring in the middle of her homework. And the Pen Emergency Room is just priceless...
~Audra
(You've been blogged: http://audralachesis.blogspot.com/)

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51142Chapter: 1
well i'll be demmed if you are not good.

Reviewer: her-mo-ninny1Date: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51078Chapter: 1
hey! this is really good! urs is the first fanfic i've read on sugarquil. update soon!

Reviewer: RussaDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50658Chapter: 1
Absoballylutely wonderful.

Reviewer: GwynDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50189Chapter: 1
That was awsome. I never thought about what it would be like for muggles.

Reviewer: Phoenix BlackDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50177Chapter: 1
OOOHH! I LOVE it!!!!!!!!!!!!! How cute.

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50045Chapter: 1
awww thats soo cute!! i like it alot!!!i love lil hermione!! :)

Reviewer: RitaDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50029Chapter: 1
Hilarious. I love this little look into a special moment in my favourite character's life. :)

Reviewer: ChilandraDate: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47486Chapter: 1
Just wanted to mention that this is one of my favorites stories.

Reviewer: brianaDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39293Chapter: 1
Definately cute...

Reviewer: ronluverDate: 2003-05-31
Reviewid: 34766Chapter: 1
that was REALLY good! u are a talented writer, and i for one just want to hug hermione.

Reviewer: InaraeDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28432Chapter: 1
Oh, how delightful! A wonderfully sweet and realistic story. Thank you

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27197Chapter: 1
Delightful! I love your portrayal of the Grangers, and your spoof of hospital emergency rooms. Thanks for posting this. Now I'll read your others!

Reviewer: CaseyDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27111Chapter: 1
Hermione's first sign of magic is too cute! And very fitting. I always wondered how her parents had dealt with her special abilities, having absolutely no knowledge (as far as we know) of the magical world. I love how they were practically numb with shock!

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-04-08
Reviewid: 27018Chapter: 1
Wow. That was weeeeeird. *spins around fast and hard in whirly chair as cure fo extreme dizziness* Now that my head is clear, good job, and dammit, I wanna be a witch!

Reviewer: Harry4meDate: 2003-02-28
Reviewid: 22219Chapter: 1
hehehe - we always knew that Hermione was smart - but three pens doing homework at once... when she was really 8! Wow. Nice little story.

How about a Ron's first magic story? Maybe Dean? He's muggleborn, and we don't know much about him...

Anyway, a great story. Very cute.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21533Chapter: 1
Eight year old Hermione is completely adorable! The concept of a Pen Emergency room made me laugh out loud! As did the news that the staff of St. Mungos files their paperword in the circular file. It makes so much sense. Your portrayal of the earnest clever Grangers was perfect. (I loved it when Marilyn told Hermione that it wasn't polite to stare at the man with the tentacle.) Her calm-in-the-face-of-crisis is a thing to be envied.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-02-22
Reviewid: 21470Chapter: 1
That was fantastic! Your writing style was absolutely charming (pun not intended). The world of the Drs. Granger was so well drawn. I loved every minute of reading this, especially when they got to St. Mungo's. Superb!

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21435Chapter: 1
What a hoot! I love the guy in the witing room who's engulfed in flames...and vampires in charge of the blood bank..ha ha!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21429Chapter: 1
Please write another story about the first signs of Magic! They are so good! Love reading them.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21389Chapter: 1
Love the idea of Hermione taking ballet lessons! You've captured her chattiness quite nicely. The interactions between Marily and Edward Granger are very realistic and I think they would be the type of "yuppie" parents to do vocabulary flash cards. :)

"As a family, they made the decision to panic." LOL! Great dry humor! Pen Emergency Room- Love it!!! Love your orderly and how Mr. Granger saw that he was different. Equal Opportunity employing at St. Mungo's- brilliant!

["Mum!" Hermione said in a stage whisper, "that man has a tentacle for a hand!"
"Sh," said Dr Marilyn Granger, "it's not polite to stare, dear." Being calm in a crisis was something she had always been good at, and she saw no reason to stop now.] OMG!!! So funny! You have a great sense of comedic timing!

This was a fantastic fic! I looooove your St. Mungo's! All of the characters, even if they only had one line, were so vivid and distinct. Great blend of slapstick and dry humor and very, very charming. Great job writing from a Muggle POV. Are more 1st signs coming? Dean would be a good one!

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21380Chapter: 1
Oh, this is so adorable!! And now we know who did Hermione get her bossy manner from! Cool! Very realistic parenting ways!


*****"We're an Equal Opportunity Employer here at St. Mungo's, sir, regardless of race, sex, creed or breed. Besides, as I always say, who better than a vampire to look after the blood bank? Killer quality control they've got."
"Vampire?"
"Now, none of that racist stuff! That's not accepted around here. Mungo's is run by the government, it is… where the minorities – " (here several other employees joined in) " – are the majority!"
*************
This was hilarious!! But a bit of a wishful thinking, don't you think?

******"That's quite all right. We just throw them in the trash anyway." The nurse winked. "Saves time filing. But don't tell anyone I told you."

That convinced Dr Edward Granger that St. Mungo's was a real hospital, despite its strangeness
*************
Haaa--haaa!! Is't that the truth!

****"I have just one word for you," the doctor picked up the stick she had used earlier with the chairs. "Obliviate!"****
Way cool!!

I love your stuff!! Who's next? Fred & George, please??? Although with muggle-born children there are probably even more funny possibilities!

Insanity70

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21345Chapter: 1
I must admit I was a little puzzled at first, but I quickly became quite captivated by this creative little piece of fiction. Your description of St. Mungo's was gently hilarious. Throw the paperwork in the trash, indeed!

thanks for sharing!

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21343Chapter: 1
excellent! i loved it - its exactly how i would have imagined it!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21337Chapter: 1
I have only one word for you...."Excellent"

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21334Chapter: 1
That was charming! It really was a lovely piece of writing, it felt like a fairy tale really. Must go read your Malfoy one now!

Reviewer: SicilyDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21328Chapter: 1
Wow, I found this story just utterly adoreable. Hermione-age-eight-and-three-quarters was perfectly in character, the "fast way" was a brilliant idea for her first signs of magic, and her parents made great OCs. I loved how cheerful and talkative Hermione was, and how the doctor talked to her. I also especially liked you telling it from the parents' point of view, rather than Hermione's. It fit very well. Their reactions were also believable, though they might not have occured to me at first.

But my favorite part was just how happy Hermione was, writing with three pens at once. It was very in character, very charming, and very cute. :) I like.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21323Chapter: 1
I loved this! Great fun - you have a deft touch with imagery and subtle humour. And shame on you for imagining that a bureacracy of any kind would just throw forms away ...!

I sat here chuckling at the images of the Grangers' personalities, and the way you contrasted their attempts to maintain normalcy, with Hermione's complete acceptance of magic and her talents.

Things I particularly liked:-
* "They had started building their Hermione's vocabulary with cue cards and educational games shortly after she'd said her first word." - oh yes, very ernest and upwardly mobile parents, just the wort who'd produce a Hermione!

* The whole concept of a Pen Emergency Room (and the others), and the way they got there.

* The excellent quality control achieved by putting a vampipre in charge of the blood back.

* Wizard notions of equal employment opportunity (shame it's apparently not extended to werewolves ...)

* "It seemed St Mungo's practiced 'alternative medicine'

* Drinking fountains with hot chocolate

* The 'fairy story' for Hermione, and her parents' reactions to it - followed by the obvliviate spell.

I look forward to more of these!

Alkari

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21308Chapter: 1
FANTASTIC! Fabulous! I LOVE it! This was so perfectly Hermione, and so perfectly JKR style. I absolutely LOVE the sign with "Pen Emergency Room" on it, and love the forms, and... oh, just everything!
Excellent!

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21304Chapter: 1
"Mum! That man has a tentacle for a hand!" "Sh, it's not polite to stare, dear." Brilliant, brilliant!

I can just see Hermione having yuppie, play-Baby-Mozart-type parents who hope that overachieving is inherited. I loved Edward encouraging Hermione to rattle on while Marilyn is sort of inwardly sighing. Spot-on.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21303Chapter: 1
What an absolutely perfect way for Hermione to show her first signs of magic! You had a lot of great touches in this story. The Pen Emergency sign was so clever, as was the discussion about the government run hospital being an equal opportunity employer. I liked your music selection for the vampire orderly. They are probably behind the times in popular music.

I liked the dynamic of the relationship between Hermione and her parents. As the mother of an only child, I know how intense it can be. Their life really rang true.

Another good one. Can't wait to see Ron's.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21301Chapter: 1
I quite thoroughly enjoyed this one! Makes sense, too, that they would have cover up stories for muggles. Good thinking! :-)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --