The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Enduring
Review(s): 40

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-12
Reviewid: 145308Chapter: 8
The story alone is quite enjoyable. It is notably degraded owing to grammar errors usually not made by graduates of elementary school, fourth grade.

Reviewer: HattieDate: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105196Chapter: 4
I'm really enjoying this story so far. I like the way you mix "present day" with stories about Lily and James.

Reviewer: eca celliDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92781Chapter: 8
Melodie,

I agree I played up Ron's anger too much. The reason I emphasized it as much as I did is because it was essential to my plot--poor excuse, granted. This was my first attempt at fanfiction and I leave it at that. It has its faults. I can only hope I've improved as a writer in the time since I wrote this.

The connection between the dreams and reality is that, in a way, the dreams are reality. Voldemort, using his connection to Harry, sensed Harry's feelings for Ginny and used them as against him and, in turn, Ginny whom he also had a connection with from her first year. He played on their deepest fears, manipulating their minds and bodies until he was able to control them. Ginny he controlled by seizing her body, Harry he controlled by threatening Ginny. He used their love against them.

The connection between the flashbacks and Harry's time is loose. They are not meant to be chronological in any way but meant instead to reinforce a theme expressed in the previous scene after which they occur. I debated whether to include them but I ultimately decided to keep them because I love the sense of history they bring. They're meant to imply Harry is similiar to his father but he is not his father. His family has a long history of love, of memories. The flashbacks were meant to bring home that idea.

I hope I answered your questions fully and that you'll continue to read my work. Thank you, and all the other reviewers, for your time and kind words. I appreciate them immensely.

Reviewer: MelodieDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65197Chapter: 8
In the first chapter, I felt that you played up Ron's anger too much. It seemed unreal and overly dramatic. All the capitalized sentences didn't feel true to canon. Everything got better as I went along, though. This has been my second time reading this, but I still don't understand the whole transition from dreams/nightmare to reality. Also, I don't see the point of the random flashbacks. First James and Lily already had Harry, then you wrote about the birth of Harry.

Pretty good writing, but there were some problems.

Reviewer: DelylahDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54832Chapter: 1
By the way...PLEASE write more H/G stuff soon. It's not easy to find H/G fic of this quality (plot-driven, non-fluff). Not that I'm against fluff, but really, appease your fans! Write more soon!

Reviewer: DelylahDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54828Chapter: 8
Wow...what a wonderful story. I was entranced from the very beginning. The moment when Harry told Ginny he loved her in the chamber and saved her...that was gorgeous. And Sirius with Baby Harry in the last chapter...true tearjerker moment. I think you've portrayed everyone truthfully here, particularly Harry and Ginny. His awkwardness, her insecurity, Ron's impetuousness. Well done.

Reviewer: Liz BDate: 2003-09-26
Reviewid: 54420Chapter: 8
Absolutely fantastic. I have been visiting the site for over a year and I have never once reviewed a story (although I've read many that I positively adore), but when I read this one I had to commend you. I love the way you weave in quotations from the past books in the dreams and the bit at the ending with Ron and Harry and the chocolate frog cards, bringing us back to their meeting on the train, made me teary-eyed. The ending is beautiful. Very good job. I hope you write more. Again, great job. I can't say that enough!

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47249Chapter: 8
my god, that was beautiful.

All of it.

The dual story-telling... oh my god.

oh look, i'm rambling again, not that I ever stopped.

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47248Chapter: 4
Sometimes it's hard to tell when the Sight ends and
'foreshadowing' begins, isn't it...?

it hurts. it rivets. was it as hard to write as it is
to read?

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47247Chapter: 3
By the by, James' first wandless magic was just...
amazing...

No words at all. None whatsover. So I'm just rambling.
Yup.

I'm done now. (jeez louise, it's 3:30 AM, -why- am i
-up-?)

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47246Chapter: 3
*bursts into floods of tears* Oh lor', I'll be soppy
for ages now. This is beautiful, really... I mean,
it's so -possible- for Gin and Harry to have this
kind of problem, and the bit with Ron about 'why
doesn't he just yell' is way too true... only Harry
doesn't yell, not usually, he just shuts off because
he doesn't know how to do anything but hide, because
yelling back at the dursleys never did anything at
all...

oh, james, james, if you knew. if you knew. *sobs*


Right, that's my rambling done. n.n; Great work.

Reviewer: MelodieDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47242Chapter: 8
Overall it was a pretty good story.. I was interested enough to read through the whole thing. The only thing I would comment on is that the whole nightmare turned reality thing was really confusing. I didn't know what was going on... because at first it seemed like Ginny and Harry were only having nightmares.. and then suddenly it was real? I wasn't sure exactly what had happened.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46476Chapter: 8
This was good, but I was expecting more with Ron and Hermione. Like, a final word in the conclusion, insinuating that there was something that was going to happen....how about a sequel? Or, maybe, more like an Epilogue? A R/H short piece?

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45588Chapter: 8
It was Marvelous! I laughed, I cried, I loved it!

Reviewer: A Lovable StrayDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39380Chapter: 8
Awwwwww... that's really sweet! I really liked that! So cute... just Ron was a little OOC... and that's good!

Reviewer: StellaDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39276Chapter: 8
ENDINGS SUCK!
~sTELLa

Reviewer: ScotDate: 2003-06-30
Reviewid: 39087Chapter: 8
Wow!! If I had not read the third or fourth book yet, this whole story would be extremely plausible and intriguing. You have developed the major events from both books and turned it into your own Book 5.

The relationship between all the characters were shown extremely well. Especially with the Harry/James Potter and Sirius connection as well as the use of multiple generations.

All the events occur fluidly and expertly, without any abruptness!

Just one more thing.... I liked the way you cast Ron. Now we know his true character.. a true prick!

Reviewer: rudraaDate: 2003-06-30
Reviewid: 39062Chapter: 8
i don't get why u've received so few reviews. i thought u did a real neat twist on the hRRY/GINY DREAMS SCENARIO.
ANYWAYS KEEP WRITING

Reviewer: A Lovable StrayDate: 2003-06-29
Reviewid: 38958Chapter: 8
That was so good! I really liked that... it was so sweet!
Ron and Harry became friends again pretty quickly. I'd have sulked. But I'm a Sirius Fan, so I suppose... I'm not Ron or Harry. YOU ROCK!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-06-29
Reviewid: 38912Chapter: 8
Yes, you, me and everybody else. I am in denial about Sirius's death. A bit happy about more or less a 100% guess that by book 7 Harry and Ginny will paired up. She could die standing by him while he battles with Voldie. Who know? This is a lovely love story though and truth be told Canon is most probably grooming Ginny for darker Harry days.

Reviewer: AraedhelDate: 2003-06-17
Reviewid: 37384Chapter: 7
I HATE RON! THAT STUPID, GOOD FOR NOTHING, F***ING PRAT! I HATE HIM! POOR HARRY! I HATE RON! I HATE HIM! HE'S SO OOC! YOU CAN'T DO THAT! NO! POOR HARRY! STUPID, F***ING RON! IT WAS GINNY'S CHOICE! GINNY WAS ALIVE, ANYWAY! OMG, I HATE THAT BASTARD!
Do me a favour and get ROn nearly killed so that he'll feel sorry for what he's done. It was Ginny's choice to be with Harry! I HATE that f***ing bastard! UPDATE SOON!

Reviewer: bleraDate: 2003-06-14
Reviewid: 36598Chapter: 6
SO good! write more, please. i can't stand it when there's not a happy ending! still, it was very very good and very enjoyable to read. thanQ!
---bleraline

Reviewer: KatyDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32314Chapter: 5
That fiction is brilliant! 1 of the best I've read!!!! Thanks!

Reviewer: StellaDate: 2003-05-13
Reviewid: 31959Chapter: 5
WRITE MORE!!!!!! I LOVE this story!! Its soooo good, but you should seriouly write longer chapters! Its not fair! I feel completly bad for Harry and Ginny...can't they just be all happy and not a\have to hide their true feelings. Ron totally needs to get over that Harry and Ginny aare together!
Keep writting
-Stella

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-05-13
Reviewid: 31958Chapter: 5
THis is really depressing. Is there a chance that Harry and Ginny will have some help soon? Someone to knock their heads together and let them know in no uncertain terms that their endurance is giving Voldie more amunition.?

Reviewer: JenBachandDate: 2003-05-13
Reviewid: 31907Chapter: 5
I'm looking forward to the rest of the story. I love the alternating between Harry's time & the Marauders. Keep going.

Reviewer: AbbyDate: 2003-05-13
Reviewid: 31869Chapter: 4
its really well written, theres some really nice ideas in there. the only problem is that everything seems to be going wrong. It slightly sad, anyways nice job though!

Reviewer: Hermione @ HeartDate: 2003-05-12
Reviewid: 31741Chapter: 2
I adore this story, first of all. It's fabulous!

But I do have one mild correction. The birthdays are off. (Yes, I know others have said this but I agree.) Hermione: sept. 19, Ron: March 1...

Great story!

Reviewer: loonieDate: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29805Chapter: 4
Wow. I can not believe i haven't read this before--it is amazing!! everypart touches my heartstrings--so PLEASE do NOT stop!!!!

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29780Chapter: 4
ohmigosh...

once again, i am sitting at my 'puter SOBBING b/c of your story...

*wiping tears away*

how beautiful, the ending, how Lily wants to watch him grow up, then Arabella says "I'll watch him for you."

*sigh* fantastic *sigh*

well, write, write, write!
can't wait for more!

~~Jenny~~

Reviewer: Deidra DragonheartDate: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29524Chapter: 3
I'm truly impressed.
That has got to be one of the best fics I've read for a while. Keep up the great writing! Particularly liked the flashbacks.Simply brilliant. Now I remember why I like this site so much.

Cheers,
Deidra

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28079Chapter: 3
WOW! So much went on in this chapter...and I loved it all.

I love your stories of James/Lily and Harry overlapping...quite ingenious, quite enjoyable...

And getting a chance to see everyone's feelings is superb! aka. Ron caring about Ginny like that, great!

And the heated detention b/w Ron and Harry...fave scene in this addition. what a friendship!!!

Lastly, my gosh, you made me cry! James' dad died?!?! how sad!!!

well, write, write, write...can't wait for more!

~~Jenny~~

"But at least he had had him." <-unlike some :(

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-03-29
Reviewid: 25628Chapter: 2
This story has had me laughing so many times, but mixes it with just the right amount of fluff and somber-ness that it's perfect! Update soon!

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2003-03-26
Reviewid: 25331Chapter: 2
I agree with the other reviewers regarding the plot of the story. It's a nice romance, showing the struggles of Harry and Ginny starting a relationship, unsure of how secret they must be, and so on.
The scene of Harry dragging a dirty and dishevelled Ginny off to dinner with Sirius was hilarious. A wonderfull funny moment.
I personally would have handled the scene with Colin differently though. There is really no need to lie, all you have to do is politely tell him to mind his own business. Just something like "It's a private matter and I prefer not to discuss it."

However I have to call you on the carpet for getting the birthdays totally wrong. If you were intentionally flouting canon, then please say so in author notes.
Hermione's birthday is in late September. That is established in book 3. In Interviews with JKR, the date is stated as Sept 19.
Ron's birthday is not yet established in Canon, but JKR is again on record in author interviews stating it is March 1. Ginny's birthdate has not yet been established, but
with Ron's being March 1, about the earliest she could be born is Jan 1 (10 months later, assuming she was full-term) of the following year.

To be fair, JKR could conceivably change her mind about Ron's birthday, since it is not yet written down in one of the books. However it doesn't seem likely.

thanks for sharing

Reviewer: ArleneDate: 2003-03-26
Reviewid: 25293Chapter: 2
Very good! I like when Harry said: “Well, it’s dead sexy isn’t it?” I love when Harry did that!! It was soooo hillarious! Very good, and please update again soon!!!

Reviewer: wm_lawDate: 2003-03-26
Reviewid: 25267Chapter: 2
Excellent so far. Angsty and whistful.

Reviewer: ArleneDate: 2003-03-13
Reviewid: 23867Chapter: 1
Very excellent! I want more to read! Update soon please!

Reviewer: SamaraDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21529Chapter: 1
Keep on writing, great Prologue....

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21365Chapter: 1
Excellent prologue. So subtle. So bittersweet. So Gryffindor.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21300Chapter: 1
Very good! Can't wait for the next part!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --