The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Sacked!
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131741Chapter: 1
Well done

Reviewer: desperate2feelDate: 2005-04-28
Reviewid: 120876Chapter: 1
I only read your author's not at the end and so did not read “First Lessons, Last Straws." But it was not at all difficult to figure out what was going on here! Everyone was very much in character, the dialog and actinos were very believable and even though I do sympathize with Snape, I sympathize more with Harry and the other students and wish this would happen in canon.

Though in canon, I do think that Dumbledore is well aware of Snape's extraordinarily inappropriate behavior and simply chooses to ignore it during the classrom (JKR said something about it in an interview)
I also wouldn't be surprised if Snape does punish the slytherin students in his own way.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73706Chapter: 1
An excellent outtake, though I would rather call it a "missing moment", not an outtake.
Very accurate characterization of Dumbledore. For Snape we do not know, as we haven't seen him under pressure so far. But it sounds very realistic.

Reviewer: JCVDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53451Chapter: 1
i think that's a great way to get snape not fired but yet not teaching...writing a book! a good storyline, although i think dumbledore was a bit out of character.

Reviewer: Loriel ErisDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53434Chapter: 1
I *think* I actually feel a *little* sorry for Snape after reading this. You don't make him quite as bad as he appears to be in the books, and you have great reasons for how he acts (so the Slytherins will come to him with their problems).

I adored this line:

Quote
Whether the witty rejoinder Until you can grow up entered the Headmaster’s head, your humble author would not presume to say. She will merely note that Dumbledore is renowned for having powers that he is too noble to use.
End Quote.

It brought a smile to my face!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-05-08
Reviewid: 31282Chapter: 1
Excellent work showing the dynamic between Severus and Dumbledore-glad to see someone call Snape on his behavior. Dumbledore was exceptionally fair here and that sense of his power radiated off the screen. I also liked his fairness with giving Snape another assignment. Your Snape was also extremely in character-nasty, but not over the top and suitably humbled in the Headmaster's presence.

[Whether the witty rejoinder Until you can grow up entered the Headmaster’s head, your humble author would not presume to say. She will merely note that Dumbledore is renowned for having powers that he is too noble to use. If such a thought did make its way into Dumbledore’s unfathomable mind, that is where it stayed, for his reply was a customarily cryptic, “Until I determine that you are ready to return.”] That paragraph was great! Especially the part about Dumbledore being too noble to use his powers!

Reviewer: LisieDate: 2003-03-25
Reviewid: 25228Chapter: 1
Ooh, very interesting. Always wanted Snape to get booted out. Are you going to continue? Scratch that, WHEN are you going to continue? Can't wait then.

Reviewer: SonicDate: 2003-03-08
Reviewid: 23255Chapter: 1
Out of canon and everything, but...
I still like it. :) Kinda really interesting ya know? The plot's definitely controversial as you said but, well, how sweetly satisfying...

Reviewer: i like killing mean people when noone's looking:)Date: 2003-03-07
Reviewid: 23161Chapter: 1
well, I gotta say: HANDS DOWN mate!!! That's one of the best vignettes non-slash I read in a while, and that says something... Because I read the 411 ff earlier, it made perfect sense to me:)) and now I can say "oooooohhhhhhh!!! aaaaaaaaaaaahhhhh!!!" (big eyes)and tell you that maybe Dumbledore was a bit out aof character, but just a little bit, so don't get mad... pwease? okay, nice work and I'll hear from you...
By the way, nice nickname.
Cheers!!!

Reviewer: Night RainDate: 2003-02-28
Reviewid: 22254Chapter: 1
Do you read the Redwall books? Because some of what Dumbledore says sounds like Abbot Mortimer talking to Matthias. But if you've never read the books then you don't know what I'm talking about, so never mind.

Reviewer: Night RainDate: 2003-02-28
Reviewid: 22253Chapter: 1
YES!!! That was awesome! I have LIVED to see Snape get yelled at like a little kid someday! And Snape thinking about Harry as The Chosen One is really funny. I'm glad this isn't one of those ones when Harry makes some virtue-preaching kind of comment to Snape in class, and Snape goes running away to cry and suddenly sees the error of his ways. Although, I really can't see Harry going to Dumbledore and tattle-taling on Snape, and the entire Gryffindor class following him out the door seems a little far-fetched. Anyway, that was hysterical!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-02-27
Reviewid: 22119Chapter: 1
Ahahaha! The only thing Dumbledore didn't do was turn Snape over on his knee and give him a good spanking! (No NC-17 overtones there, kids; just plain old discipline!) I'm glad Snape was ground into the floor for being so nasty, but also because you didn't make him an out-and-out rotter. He definitely isn't in canon, but I'm happy that you explained that he was trying very subtly to keep his students from straying into the Dark.

It's also interesting to think of Snape as actually not liking teaching. Having him write a textbook is a great idea, too.

Reviewer: Professor DaviesDate: 2003-02-27
Reviewid: 22108Chapter: 1
Oh yah and snape was also very loyal to dumbledore and never thought of it like he was on haryy's side he was just as loyal as hagrid (even thouhg i dont like him)

Reviewer: Professor DaviesDate: 2003-02-27
Reviewid: 22106Chapter: 1
i liked it just as much as the actual story but theres one thing in book 4 where dumbledore sends snape to spy on He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named( i am so into the books i cant bear to say his name even off the comp no joke :P) he says Snape you know what i must ask u to do and he replies with something (i think im wrong i cant remember) like i was afraid of that.. though i still like u fan fic every story is good i like hearing others opinion i am not a passive listener i'll tell ya that. thanks for the story bye

Reviewer: TanDate: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21950Chapter: 1
Woah, that was brilliant!

Reviewer: loonieDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21791Chapter: 1
that was soooo well writen!! and of course very in character! i love it!!!

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21746Chapter: 1
i am back again.. read the reviews and i must say rudraa wat u say is very true.. i agree fully.. maybe you did make snape a little tOO bad and getting him FIRED coz of potter ?? i little much iniit ?? but anyway the plotline was interesting im reading this in SCHOOL!! bye

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21745Chapter: 1
this isa good story.. altho the way you portrayed dumbledore as a little callous.. i dont qute agree. but snapes explanation for always being on the slytherin's side.. that is very true.. i thought it was quite good thmbz UP!

Reviewer: Pheonix FlightDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21734Chapter: 1
Bravo! I've Been reading 48-year-fic and I can say that Snape has gotten Just what He deserved!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21719Chapter: 1
This is absolutely spot on. It is one of the best short fanfics ever written. You have put forward a very diplomatic, compassionate and fair case of discipinary encounters in the work place. Very rare occurrence in the real world of work, of course but then again we are dealing with and AU from ours. Very well done and many congratulations.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21718Chapter: 1
<<<Whether the witty rejoinder Until you can grow up entered the Headmaster’s head, your humble author would not presume to say. She will merely note that Dumbledore is renowned for having powers that he is too noble to use.>>>

<vbeg> Oh, but you're good!

How very satisfying to see Snape taken down a notch. I know in canon, there are things Snape will be undertaking that will probably help redeem him in some way, but I hope he and the Dursley's get a good talking to by Dumbledore. It is only fitting.

Reviewer: rudraaDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21709Chapter: 1
fughetaboutit!!!
Snape fired? He's my fave. character in the cannon. Sure Snape is jealous, petty, blah blah, but which of us real humans isn't. Not a bad story but you make a rather one-dimensional character out of possibly the most complex character in the HP series

Reviewer: Silver AriesDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21657Chapter: 1
'tears of joy running down my face" I always knew i like Dimbledore, good for him. Mwahahahaha
Snape got what he deserved!!!!! Wow!!!! as good as the bouncing ferret

Reviewer: LCDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21574Chapter: 1
I think I said 'Oh wow' already, so I can't repeat that, can I? Rockage! Dumbledore is excellent! Snape, as well! The drama and scope of this little vignette of your story is, of course, enough to visually paint an image strong enough that one can almost see it. Like the chapter it is taken from, of course.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --