The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Day I Died...
Review(s): 38

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-04-09
Reviewid: 77892Chapter: 4
Very well written, intersting approach to the ghosts deaths. Nick's death seemed such a waste, and quite painful. Abigail's and the Baron's were both heartbreaking. The friars death was strange, it was cool how you leave in the air whether or not it would be considered a suicide.
I like teh continuing theme of: Being a ghost did not change much about him, he was the same.
It's kind of sad that all those years would not change them, yet reflects the limbo they find themselves in.
Great fic, awesome characterizations of the ghosties.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65337Chapter: 4
Thanks AuthorbyNight. I like history too... as you can tell. Appreciate the review!

Reviewer: AuthorByNightDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65332Chapter: 4
Whoa-I liked your use of Historical Fiction. Of course, I'm a history nerd.....

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64771Chapter: 4
Sam- Thanks! And Peeves... well.... an option I suppose.

Reviewer: samDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64758Chapter: 4
I lovedit!!!!!! Do Peeves!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60069Chapter: 4
Paige- That was very very nice of you! I seem to write dark things like murder well... not sure how good that is. And your theory on Peeves make sense. I just found him hard to do.Appreciate the review!

Reviewer: Paige (The Muggle Hermione)Date: 2003-10-13
Reviewid: 56393Chapter: 4
Fawkes,
Chilling. You write murders so that they seem cunning, thought-out, meaningful, rather than just plain vengeful. Very nice. *applauds* very nice indeeed. My personal theory regarding the Hogwarts ghosts is that Peeves was quite possibly the one who murdered the Bloody Baron. The blame, however, got transferred to another person and Peeves is supposedly scot free, but he lives in fear that the Bloody Baron should ever tell. That's why he's so scared of him, and him only. ThanX for listening to my blabber! Great work!

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: CrapDate: 2003-10-03
Reviewid: 55366Chapter: 1
MEGAMEGAMEGAMEGAMEGAMEGAMEGAMEGA MEGA CRAP!!!!!!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54936Chapter: 1
Thanks Meghan, Myster Web and Prof. Davies! Glad you liked it!

Reviewer: MeghanDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54824Chapter: 1
You know the happiest day of my life . . . I swear the happiest day of my life . . . you know the happiest day of my life . . . Was the day that I died . . . the day that I died . . .

Good Charlotte ROX. This story was really cool. A little morbid, true, but very cool. I liked the flashback thing. It was kind of morbidly funny at the end - "Hey, how come I'm not dead yet? Hm." Heh, heh. This was cool.

Reviewer: Professor DaviesDate: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54309Chapter: 4
Great Show, Great Show!! I can't believe i've read the book so many times and not realised he was a friar i mean i knew his name and everything but i never thought about it, well great story good job Keep it up

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 54001Chapter: 1
I love your story!But I would suggest making the font bigger. I couldn't read this very well.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 53993Chapter: 1
Lea and Scheherazad- I'm glad you liked it. :)

Reviewer: ScheherazadeDate: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 53968Chapter: 1
Yeay minor character fic! I love how Sir Nick shows his bravery here, like a true Gryffindor. It's also appropriately greusome.

Reviewer: LeaDate: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 53908Chapter: 4
That certainly was an interesting spin on fanfiction. Nicely done.

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-09-21
Reviewid: 53729Chapter: 4
Cool! Well, sad, but cool. You know?

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53258Chapter: 1
Tamira Lune- chap 4 is coming up soon... by Sunday.

Glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Tamira LuneDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53235Chapter: 3
COOL!!! I like the one about the grey Lady the best. Keep writing or I'll have to have a talk with you...

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 53019Chapter: 2
"How did Nick end up at Hogwarts? Why didn't he just haunt an old building? Just wondering."- Actually, I am not sure... I guess I left it up to the imagination. Thanks for reviewing Allen
Autumn Dragon- Thanks for the review. Glad you liked it.
Read Chap. 3, the Grey Lady when you get the chance. Chap. 4, The Fat Friar is coming soon!

Reviewer: AutumnDragonDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 53009Chapter: 2
Wow *sniff* I think I just fell in love with the Bloody Baron. Gosh. Great Story.

Reviewer: Allen LawDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 53005Chapter: 1
How did Nick end up at Hogwarts? Why didn't he just haunt an old building? Just wondering.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52819Chapter: 3
Thanks for the reviews.
A. nonymous- That is my style of writing. It is repetitive, but the stories have a similar format so it does make sense. Oh and the name was just a coicindence...
catakit- I know what you mean about a soap opera... many love stories in that time period were rather soap operish.No need to be sorry, it was done on purpose. As she ends up poisioned... it seems funny.
Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: catakitDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52806Chapter: 3
yet again, I am flaming, or at least as close as I get to flaming

"Lady Abigail entered the room and saw Richard, her lover.

Richard turned to his servant, "Leave us!" The servant bowed and left the room.

"Abigail! I’m so glad you came. I missed you very much. Do your parents know you’re here?" Richard extended his hand towards her.

"No, Richard, of course they don’t. I wouldn’t tell them. Does your father know I am here?"

"No, darling, he doesn’t. If he found out… oh, how we’d get into trouble. But that doesn’t matter now." He leaned over and kissed her. Just then he heard a knock on the door. They sprang apart. "Yes?"

I'm sorry, but it reminds me of a bad soap opera.

Reviewer: A. nonymousDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52692Chapter: 3
Blanche is my name in French....thats wierd....well whatever. You could start out with a different beginning, I have noticed that the all start with "XXXXX walked down the hall" or something. You could start with XXXX was snoozing in a chair and woke up... OR maybe thats your style of writing......oh I'm getting myself cunfuzzled. ***** out of 5 stars

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52685Chapter: 3
Ooh, this was dramatic. Great job, Fawkes!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50772Chapter: 2
kw- thanks for that information. I am not up on my British royalty to that was useful information. Even if you are wrong, I appreciate your help. Also, check out Chap. 2 of this fic. Glad you liked the first chapter!

Reviewer: kwDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50739Chapter: 1
I could be wrong here, but I think that in English law, titles are passed only through the male offspring. And duchesses are only duchesses if they are married to dukes. Daughters of dukes are referred to as "Lady so-and-so". So a "unmarried, beautiful duchess" would have to be a widow, the wife of a dead duke. In which case, the title of Duke would pass to the next male heir, and she would be referred to as the "Dowager Duchess". If I am wrong, forgive my impertinence. I like the idea of inventing histories for the ghosts... can't wait to see what is Peeves' story.

Reviewer: pierreDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50574Chapter: 1
i think ur story was really cool

Reviewer: FantomeDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50511Chapter: 2
Ouch! Stabbed through the back! This definitely explains the Baron's solitude. Keep it up, as I'm especially interested in the Grey Lady. Ravenclaws, unite!

Reviewer: FishieDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50464Chapter: 1
Interesting choice for a main character. Pickle juice it is.

Reviewer: catakitDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50356Chapter: 2
Most decidedly odd. The priciple is original and entertaining but the writing seems weak. sorry about that.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50302Chapter: 1
Thanks for reviewing, everyone who did. If you've read the first chapter, do read the second one. Enjoy!

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50298Chapter: 2
The Bloody Baron, a people's revolutionary? Interesting idea! This was a really original chapter and I liked the way you based it in history.

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50296Chapter: 1
this is gr8t!

Reviewer: haylieDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43447Chapter: 1
thank you SO much I loved and i used to wonder how it all happened, must have been a dull blade, and a slow and painful death.. ^.^

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-04-05
Reviewid: 26413Chapter: 1
Well thank you SO much I'm now about to go to bed and you've just gotten "American Pie" going through my head...

...the day the music died.
Bye, bye Miss American Pie
Drove my Chevy to the levee but the levee was dry...

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21869Chapter: 1
Please read and review!!! I "hunger" for feedback. :) Thanks!

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21838Chapter: 1
Great job, Fawkes! This is a really imaginative look into Nearly Headless Nick's past, and you've characterized him very well--he's a Gryffindor, it's only natural that he would die bravely.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --