The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Dark Chrysalis
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: pirateloverDate: 2004-03-04
Reviewid: 73121Chapter: 3
I love fics with Snape's point of view- they're unique and interesting. This is realistic how Snape joined Voldemort- I never thought about things like that but it seems likely. I liked how James was sort of trying to make amends with Snape, but ofcourse Snape would never forgive and forget. Please another chapter? Thanks.

Reviewer: Joe E.Date: 2003-03-08
Reviewid: 23334Chapter: 1
Hey, "Bart"... not to worry. This first story is going to be 4 chapters. Chapter 3 is written and the general outline for chapter 4 is in my head.

Reviewer: BarteringslikeTrading...cept,it'sBarteringDate: 2003-03-08
Reviewid: 23329Chapter: 1
Wonderful inclusion of Peter, not a thing I see too often. Intriguing so far, and what an admirable hand at writing! Very rare I'm able to sit and read a fanfic word by word. I hope you plan to finish. It worries me when people post their stories in one chapter increments.

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-03-08
Reviewid: 23291Chapter: 2
Hmmm...provocative start. I wonder what happens next. Peter's already in! That's a nice touch.

Catherine

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-03-06
Reviewid: 22991Chapter: 1
Very nice! I'm not one for Marauder-era fics, but this one looks to be off to a great start :) I enjoyed Snape's exchange with the Fat Lady, and the idea of having the Marauders (well...James and Peter, at least, so far) actively reach out to Snape was interesting and original.

I can't wait to find out more about Snape's mystery!

Reviewer: AngelDate: 2003-03-03
Reviewid: 22551Chapter: 1
I found Ransom's tale hard-going, to read, but like the characterisation. I'm trying to work out what I found such hard work about it - it feels like a lot's being squashed into one chapter, rather than spreading information over two of three. There's a lot of merit in the story, especially the Peter/Severus dynamic.
Peter as a nice guy works well, I get sick of the usual fics where he's just a loser and a loner.

Reviewer: Joe E.Date: 2003-02-28
Reviewid: 22255Chapter: 1
I was wondering when someone would discover the Leaky Cauldron Faux Pas. I actually discovered that about a month ago and, to the best of my knowledge, made the appropriate change putting them in the Hogsmeade tavern, THREE BROOMSTICKS. I committed the "Leaky Error" again in chapter 2 and looking at it again this week, Snape does actually enter the THREE BROOMSTICKS in my latest revision. I must not have saved the change the first time in Chapter One. Good catch, Violet.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-02-28
Reviewid: 22249Chapter: 1
[You and Lupin seem to think itís like baking a cake or pouring a cup of tea.] Oooh, a very Snape-like remark. You do a good job showing Snape's curtness.

Interesting how Snape would react to Peter and put it all in perspective with the Whomping Willow incident. I like how you've made sure to include Peter and give him a bit of a role in a MWPP-era fic.

[even as he salted his porridge and sugared his eggs] Excellent job of showing, not telling, distraction!

Um, why would they be saving Severus a place at the LEaky Cauldron? Do you mean the Three Broomsticks?

Excellent ending, very interesting to see what Snape would see in that mirror...curious to know what [possibly] Wormtail's motivation was. Looking forward to an update!

Reviewer: LazaraspasteDate: 2003-02-28
Reviewid: 22189Chapter: 1
What a great first chapter. I really like the way you portray Peter Pettigrew. Alot of the time he gets the short end of the stick and doesn't come across as a fully developed character. I like how he's sympathetic to Snape. I like your portrayl of Snape and his relationship to James Potter. The whole Mirror of Erised scene is very interesting and I'm excited to find out where it leads.

Reviewer: kimbereidDate: 2003-02-27
Reviewid: 22166Chapter: 1
Very nice fantasy adventure. Just the right touch of humor. Excellent imagination! I recommend this writer to anyone who enjoys the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-02-27
Reviewid: 22134Chapter: 1
>“Dear Severus, I don’t need to consort with anyone to know what you’re up to. You’re painfully predictable – always have been.

I love how James finds Severus predictable. That must infuriate poor Sev.

>Peter Pettigrew was one of the few people in Snape’s life who ever seemed to see through that sour disposition. He knew that what Severus really meant to say was, “You’re quite welcome,” and didn’t seem to take offense to Snape’s somewhat curt reply.

I find this *so* fascinating! But it makes sense, in a way, that Peter would find Severus' armor chinks. In your story, he seems to be the observer and the one who is able to get to the core of people easily. I can't wait to see how this relationship develops, and what part they might play in their future DE careers.

James, also, is uniquely and well drawn. His general good nature, undermined a bit by his cluelessness over how his actions affect others, is a wonderful interpretation of his character. I like that you neither make him a saint nor an evil git to poor, misunderstood, Severus.

Sev's encounter with the Mirror of Erised is intriguing - I hope you follow up with that thread of the story. His rather unexpectedly nice treatment of the rat is rather endearing!

Great job - looking forward to more chapters.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --