The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 26

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-20
Reviewid: 141117Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2005-08-31
Reviewid: 131428Chapter: 1
Somehow you've managed to take a poem I have bad memories of (ah, 7th grade Language Arts, when the school day never ended) and turn it into a beautiful piece of literature. All because of your lovely, understated prose.

Oh, Sirius. ::hugs you::

Love your writing.

Reviewer: AMKDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115578Chapter: 1
Oh yes, and I agree with Dogstar_fan and lucysnowe... that was an uberly uber and touching line.

"We loved you... we loved you. You don't betray your pack."

Aw, I'm going to start crying now. *sniff* Beautiful job. *pats Sirius on the head*

(You know, I thought this was going to be about Lupin when I saw the summary... but who cares, really, great work.)

Reviewer: AMKDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115576Chapter: 1
Ooh... I've read that poem. My English sensei played the reading of it on tape for us... but anyway, good story... short and- well, not 'sweet' exactly... more like... um... hmm. Thoughtful? Emotionally thoughtful and concise. It didn't delve very deep into Siri's feelings, yet I got a sort of sense of exactly how he felt right then... and what he was going through... sorry if I sound a bit vague, I'm a crazed MWPP fanfiction addict who's up at half past midnight as a result. *yawn* I really enjoyed this though...

Reviewer: shaynaDate: 2005-02-02
Reviewid: 112726Chapter: 1
i miss sirius.....
*sob*

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90270Chapter: 1
Wow. I loved the part about hpw it was easier to be a dog because then only physical things could hurt him. His hatred for Pettigrew and his love for James came through so stronglyÖ A wonderful ficlet, terse and sharp with not a word wasted. Very Sirius.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-04-02
Reviewid: 76889Chapter: 1
There's something... unsettling... about reading something about what a character is thinking if the character is... is... dead. But anyway, I liked it. For some reason I found it funny in a dark way that the Dementors would nibble on his soul for a snack.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-12-23
Reviewid: 64503Chapter: 1
Lovely. Almost a free form poem. And the juxtaposition of your piece with Frost is great. The last stanza is poignant in your hands.

Reviewer: heyDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49960Chapter: 1
that was the stupidest thing i ever read

Reviewer: Dogstar_fanDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46404Chapter: 1
Wow, that is really well done, I've had to come back and read it over and over, I enjoy it so much. Your image of the pack, how Sirius feels such a deep loyalty for his friends, is exactly something I would have thought Sirius would feel. The line
"We loved you . . . we loved you. You donít betray your pack." really touched me. As well as the part about being there for Lupin. I really liked the connection to that great poem, too. Thanks for writing this!

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45498Chapter: 1
Great story! I think you caught Sirius' mindset really well. He must have been not whooly sane after escaping Azkaban.

"I will travel as a man for a little while. Just to remind myself that I can." I can believe that's necessary for him.

You tied-in to the poem really well, too. The last stanza has a whole new meaning now, after OotP, doesn't it? Great job!

Reviewer: Picture GirlDate: 2003-07-02
Reviewid: 39649Chapter: 1
Love this story....

Reviewer: ClarryDate: 2003-05-09
Reviewid: 31378Chapter: 1
This is great, really well written. It get's Remus' mind-set right.
I love that poem! It's my favourtie ever poem!

Reviewer: animefanDate: 2003-05-08
Reviewid: 31236Chapter: 1
Nice. Very nice. I've not seen that many good poem/story postings for quite a while.
Nicely nostalgic, with a deft touch for characterization and tone. Vrey beautiful imagery
and perspective. Very appropriate and reminscent.

Reviewer: JulianaDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28779Chapter: 1
Sooooooooooooo good! If you're a lit dork, then I'm a fanfic dork, cause I have actually been getting pieces of this STORY stuck in my head! (Particularly "too long in the darkness. too long. perhaps they did take something of my soul. a snack" *shivers!!!*)

This whole little fic is just perfect... it brings me inside Sirius's head, and it looks exactly how I would imagine it if I had a slightly better imagination.

Also, now *I* have that poem stuck in my head, which is what prompted me to come back and reread this story... now I've actually MEMORIZED that poem, cause if something's gonna be stuck in your head, you might as well know it properly!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28317Chapter: 1
Ooooh, very poetic! And Robert Frost is just the right touch. Simply beautiful!

Catherine

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-04-13
Reviewid: 27796Chapter: 1
This is AMAZING -- so much emotion in these terse lines. And the tie-in to Frost's poem (especially that last stanza) is *perfect*. You truly convey Sirius' struggle to remember the man he once was, to dare to confront his human side again:

<<Iíve been traveling as a dog because of my fur, and my four legs, and my strength, and my disguise. But I have been too long a dog, I think, and I am losing the man . . .

I cannot lose the man. The man is the only one who can protect whatís left of the pack.

I will travel as a man for a little while. Just to remind myself that I can.>>

Ah! So very good.

~Katinka

Reviewer: lucysnoweDate: 2003-03-30
Reviewid: 25636Chapter: 1
Wow. I love how you had Sirius struggling between his human and dog feelings and emotions. His feelings of betrayal were overwhelming. This line broke my heart:
"We loved you . . . we loved you. You donít betray your pack."

I do so love your writing.

Reviewer: TinkerbellDate: 2003-03-29
Reviewid: 25617Chapter: 1
That is really well written! Love it!

Reviewer: techmeyerDate: 2003-03-24
Reviewid: 25118Chapter: 1
:)

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24248Chapter: 1
I've had that poem stuck in my head before. I think it's better than a song. :-)

Reviewer: TikiDate: 2003-03-02
Reviewid: 22437Chapter: 1
Mo,
What a beautiful story. You really made me feel what it would be like to be in Sirus' head as Padfoot, and his guilt and passion for revenge were scaled perfectly. You always write with such an amazing style, I really do envy you. Great work, and can't wait to see more of your writing!
LYLAS-
Teeks

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22387Chapter: 1
Awesome take on a great peom!! Good job.

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22298Chapter: 1
Just lovely. My poor Sirius. I've always wondered how much Padfoot's mental processes differ from Sirius's, and this is a beautiful take on it.

The line about the Dementors perhaps taking part of his soul as a snack gave me chills. What he must have been through....

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22290Chapter: 1
Wow. This is absolutely poetic. I love Sirius' conflict here, the differences between the man and the beast--you blur the lines expertly. His inner conflict is priceless, and his sorrow for Remus could almost make me cry. Great job.

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-03-01
Reviewid: 22284Chapter: 1
You are a trouper. You have written so many short fanfics that are very good.... and what I admire most is the fact that whether or not you get reviews, you just keep writing. Very well done. YOu do have a muse with you and you are a star!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --