The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Interlude
Review(s): 21

Reviewer: The Enchanted TeakettleDate: 2006-03-03
Reviewid: 140494Chapter: 1
This is a great story! I loved the beginning; it gives Padfoot character and lets Sirius' voice shine through beautifully! The characterizations are wonderful! It's so creative! Good work!

Reviewer: katie BiliusDate: 2005-08-07
Reviewid: 129232Chapter: 1
WIKED!!!BRILLIANT!!!!!

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-03
Reviewid: 115341Chapter: 1
Interesting, odd tale

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91590Chapter: 1
For some reason this is perhaps the first fic I've read about Sirius after he escapes from Azkaban and before he meets Harry in the Shrieking Shack. I've read a few that take place while he was on the run after that, but before it's like somehow we think he was still guilty.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91503Chapter: 1
I liked that very much. Well written, brilliant description. I liked Sirius's wry tone, and the comfort of having Crookshanks near him. Only one criticism- in England we usually say holiday, not vacation. Other than that it was pretty much flawless. Keep writing!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83113Chapter: 1
May be that English is not my first language, but I have no idea how a cat could ever chirp.


Aside from that, very nice story. Good interaction between cat and dog.

Reviewer: AndrewDate: 2004-01-10
Reviewid: 66453Chapter: 1
Cute! Does Cat ever wake up for more exciting adventures?

Reviewer: Undercover AngelDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 37018Chapter: 1
Wonderful. Cas Niffled this on FictionAlley, and she didn't make a mistake. I've never read a fic on Sirius' relationship with Crookshanks, but the nature of this was perfect. And so well written.

Reviewer: Phillipa SommervilleDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27053Chapter: 1
A wonderful story. I loved it!

Reviewer: lucysnoweDate: 2003-04-05
Reviewid: 26519Chapter: 1
How wondeful! I love your explanation of how padfoot can communicate with other animals. Sirius's memories were very touching, especially the one of his family loving him. Well done!

Reviewer: CasDate: 2003-03-18
Reviewid: 24455Chapter: 1
What great opening sentences! I love the whole process of communication with Crookshanks, and the fact that you make a point of mentioning the differences between Sirius' senses as himself and as Padfoot. And then the last few paragraphs. What can I say? They're perfect. So quiet and calm and so sad -yet with hope. Had a good long sniffle at the end.

Cas

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2003-03-07
Reviewid: 23107Chapter: 1
This was lovely! It's a nice, heartwarming little peek into the relationship between Crookshanks and Sirius. Colored by your intimate knowledge of how to be friends with a cat.

You've become my favorite Sirius author, hands down. Wonderfully done.

Reviewer: JCatsDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22758Chapter: 1
Mincot, you are one of my favorite authors! Another great story. I loved the next to last paragraph. It was very moving. Great story.

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22752Chapter: 1
**How had he and James communicated? Both human, neither with a human voice or face, but just a shared knowledge, mind to mind. Blurrier communication with Moony, as with the cat; intelligence, but more layers of instinct. And Wormtail … **

Wow, this is a great insight into animal/animagus communication...

***Padfoot’s not in the best of shape for fighting anything off, and we won’t mention lapses in concentration. Which could get me --us? -- killed. ***

So where does the Padfoot end and Sirius start? Are they the same being of different beings? Blurred lines.... Wow, incredible, something to think about.
Thank you
Insanity

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22733Chapter: 1
Purrrfect!!

The emotions, the different perceptions of Sirius as dog / man, and even the different black/white vision of the dog - all are extremely well portrayed.

Written by an observant person who loves animals and knows her cats and dogs!

Alkari

Reviewer: CatDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22714Chapter: 1
This is so sweet and sad! It made me go hug my kitties. Wonderful, I love your writing:)

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22699Chapter: 1
I've seen this before! :)

And it's just beautiful. I like the conflict between the two, and then I truly like the memories Crookshanks triggers.

Very well done!

Catherine

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22676Chapter: 1
Ah, a loveable stray and a feline cat. About time more stories are written of Sirius. Here is hoping that he survives Book 5,6 and 7, his name cleared and he can be with HP.

Reviewer: CalantheDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22666Chapter: 1
I like this. The sense of Sirius being a human mind in a dog's body is very well done; I also like the way he seems to struggle to read at first. The sensory detail in your writing is very effective. Crookshanks' interaction with Sirius is believable, and he's nicely characterised, too--a true cat.

The memory sequence, and Sirius regaining a positive emotion after so long around the Dementors, was effective and made a very strong conclusion to the story.

And...Bertilak. <g> Yes, Sir Cadogan would come up with that one, wouldn't he!

Calanthe.

Reviewer: The White LilyDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22658Chapter: 1
As with your other pieces, simply beautiful. Sirius is wonderfully vague, and you've handled his perceptions as a dog very well. Very unique and very mood-inducing. Keep writing!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22625Chapter: 1
<<Lying along the broad branch, Sirius stroked the cat’s rough fur, and drifted, remembering early mornings, before sunrise; the rat and the stag resting in a hollow, and he and Moony lying next to them in a companionable, exhausted heap of fur and wordless friendship.>>

Now that's a lovely sentance. :) The whole premise of this interlude is so cool -- I don't know that anyone has ever explored the Sirius/Crookshanks relationship before! But Sirius surely needed that small scrap of sanity that the cat gave him by virtue of simply *understanding*. Sirius' past memories are lovely, as well.

Katinka

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --