The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 19

Reviewer: Sana JonDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113564Chapter: 1
WOW. All I can say is just.... WOW... that's incredible.... woah...
Really, you'd think if Neville was to have memories like THAT, he'd be fainting just like Harry did! That one line, "All he could say was 'Daddy'".... OMg, I almost actually cried! I hardly ever cry when reading fanfics!!!! :) ;)

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110089Chapter: 1
WOW.

This is amazing. A beautiful montage showing that HArry isn't the only one with problems, that so many characters have been touched by Voldemort.

And that Harry isn't the only one who remembers terrible things when teh Dementors approach.

Those scenes were absolutely chilling, all three of them.

The transitions could have been clearer; I was a bit cofnsued at what was happening, but overall the story is increaibly chilling and beautifully executed.

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: TDate: 2004-12-10
Reviewid: 107447Chapter: 1
OMG, that's so good. So heartwrenching - absolutely heartwrenching. It really makes you think, you're left in that feeling of awe.

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91194Chapter: 1
Oh wow...Very powerful and wonderfully written.

Reviewer: Asia ElizabethDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64152Chapter: 1
Julie, The first part is about Draco... it's entirely fabricated based on what I know of Draco and Lucius's relationship, and it's meant to be the first time Draco showed signs of magic as a child. The second is about Neville, as a baby, hearing his parents being tortured. The third is about Ginny and the Chamber of Secrets. The story is about three less major characters, and what they are experiencing in Prisoner of Azkaban the three times that dementors attack publically. I picked these three because they were mentioned as having noticably bad reactions to the dementors. I'm sorry that you didn't understand it the first time 'round. I'll try better next time. ^_^ Asia

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 50994Chapter: 1
It's good, but I don't understand. I know that the first part was about the Longbottoms, but what happened after that? What is it about Ron? I'm so confused. Apart from that, it was fine.

Reviewer: Jay JDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33765Chapter: 1
I've already written but I adore this story so much that I have to tell you again and again and again how spectacular it is! Please keep writing such class stuff so I can keep reading it. I'm enjoying reading everybody's stories. They're all so great. Just one question.
What other people COULD you write about?
Cos I tried to think and I just could not. What about the Dementors' points of view? Maybe you get a Dementor who doesn't want to do what they do? Like they don't want to suck souls, they don't want to cause all this pain to everybody? But maybe I'm going into the realms of fantastical fantasy. You can just ignore me if you like...

Reviewer: Jay JDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33760Chapter: 1
This seems really brilliant and you definitely have the makings of a great unstoppable author. I loved your descriptions, they were fabulously graphic, you keep writing stuff like this and I look forward to seeing your books for sale in the bookshops around town. And trust me, I'll buy them!
I wish every success to you, you go, girl!

Reviewer: Asia ElizabethDate: 2003-05-13
Reviewid: 31876Chapter: 1
To respond, though not especially speedily...

>Clarissa asked: who is the person who is having that vision?

Well, I am? This is about three separate characters... so each of them are seeing their own part, and if you're wondering which character see's which scene, there are hints in each of them for you to figure it out.

>pogonia wrote: I'm glad you gave us vignettes for three separate people - it takes that long to figure out not only the people having these visions, but the time and place.

Thank you for reading so carefully! I'm glad you could pick out a timeline, I was hoping that'd be visable.

>Weasleygirl wrote: Perhaps you should think of adding more little scenarios for other characters!

and actually, a lot of people have said thing similar to this. In reading Prisoner of Azkaban, the three characters in this story were mentioned specifically when student's reactions to the Dementor's came up. Really, these are a bit more random seeming than I'd meant for them to be... but at any rate, the three in this story are all named for their especially strong reactions when dementor's are around, which made me wonder why they *had* reacted that way.

>CrabbyOldHobbit asks: Are we supposed to feel sorry for Draco or something? 'Cos I really don't.

Well, you don't have to feel anything for Draco if you don't want to. I am a fan of his character and I was theorizing about what may have made him what he is, because JKR implies that he is not entirely 2-dementional at a few points.

>Harry4Me says: I am guessing that it was Draco, Neville and Ginny, yes? Very well written.

Good perception, yes, it is those three. Thank you, very much!

>Madhuri wrote:I find it a bit harder to accept Draco's worst memory, because I can't see Lucius losing control like that. I'd always pictured him to be cold, loveless and condescending, forever disappointed in his son, but expressing it through more subtler, quietly dangerous ways.

Yes, Lucius is very like that in the books. Draco's vignette has a weaker leg to stand on, but because Fred and George say that he reacted so fearfully, I was trying to figure out what might have been the cause of that... and the first thing I could come up with was that Harry did his earliest magic because he was afraid or nervous... why wouldn't the same hold true for Draco, so I wrote a scene where he would have to be scared into it. Thanks so much for the kind review!!

>Athena asks: step into the mind of a Professor, perhaps? Remus? Snape? Dumbledore?

there are a lot of characters that I am very interested in learning more about, all of those you reviewed about. The problem is that I really don't have theories for a lot of these characters, and they also haven't shown themselves to have reacted nearly as severely to dementors as the three that I wrote about. Who knows what book 5 will hold, though, eh?

>Dragonlet asked: ..um, why did you re-write this? It was fine before. Really.

Thank you. I re-wrote it because I wasn't happy with the quality of the writing and I had hoped to improve it. I wanted to spruce up Ginny and Neville's memories a bit. It's entirely a matter of nitpicking.

Huge thank you's for reading and reviewing, and I hope I gave you the answers you were looking for! Tiki and zigzag487, and all of the rest who took the time to review and tell me that my writing was powerful and scary and gave them goosebumps but was still good or didn't seem quite right in places or didn't make you feel bad for Draco, or took time to notices the nitpicky details and got it and didn't get it, thank you so much. Feedback ROX and REWLS and is a huge help.

-Asia

Reviewer: DragonletDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29890Chapter: 1
..um, why did you re-write this? It was fine before. Really.

Reviewer: AthenaDate: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29804Chapter: 1
Chilling! Exactly what I would imagine each of these characters to feel. You should do more...step into the mind of a Professor, perhaps? Remus? Snape? Dumbledore? Or, some of the less appreciated characters...Parvarti, Lavender. I'd love to read more!

Reviewer: MadhuriDate: 2003-03-18
Reviewid: 24442Chapter: 1
Oh man. This gave me the goosebumps just like it did the first time I read it. Ginny's especially... and Neville's. I find it a bit harder to accept Draco's worst memory, because I can't see Lucius losing control like that. I'd always pictured him to be cold, loveless and condescending, forever disappointed in his son, but expressing it through more subtler, quietly dangerous ways. :( This is so sad, but so well-written.

Reviewer: TikiDate: 2003-03-18
Reviewid: 24418Chapter: 1
This piece is very powerful and dark, and is extremely well put together. You really captured the horrors that Neville and Ginny went through, and the Draco part was also chilling. The title of this piece was also appropriate, as Chocolate is supposed to cure the symptoms caused by the most cheerless creatures in the HP world! This just goes to show that some things can never be healed. I also really liked the way you appealed to the physical senses by way of your vivid descriptions. (Even though it made me shudder at times!) VERY well done, Asia, and I really hope to see more things from you in the future! I'm a big fan already.
-Tiki

Reviewer: zigzag487Date: 2003-03-17
Reviewid: 24310Chapter: 1
I am a believer in all of the above, and this I felt was a very compelling, powerful piece. I guess there truthfully are some things that chocolate cannot cure.
Mucho kudos to you.
Love from Jessie.

Reviewer: Harry4meDate: 2003-03-17
Reviewid: 24285Chapter: 1
That is fantastic! Very sad, moving. I am guessing that it was Draco, Neville and Ginny, yes? Very well written.

Reviewer: CrabbyOldHobbitDate: 2003-03-17
Reviewid: 24283Chapter: 1
Are we supposed to feel sorry for Draco or something? 'Cos I really don't.

Reviewer: WeasleygirlDate: 2003-03-17
Reviewid: 24276Chapter: 1
I really liked this story the first time you put it out and it is just as powerful, if not more. Perhaps you should think of adding more little scenarios for other characters! Keep it up!

Reviewer: pogoniaDate: 2003-03-17
Reviewid: 24272Chapter: 1
Ooh, chilling. I'm glad you gave us vignettes for three separate people - it takes that long to figure out not only the people having these visions, but the time and place.

Reviewer: ClarissaDate: 2003-03-17
Reviewid: 24265Chapter: 1
who is the person who is having that vision?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --