The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: King of PainDate: 2007-04-24
Reviewid: 147841Chapter: 1
I am so glad that someone passed this one along as suggested reading, I bet you may even know who it was.
Loved how you captured Ginny and her strength of character.Considering that this story is going on 4 years old, you were certainly ahead of your time at foreshadowing the fiesty, lovable young woman we have come to know today.
Why no more writing(at least that I can tell)? Might I suggest a short collaborative work with your biggest fan?

Reviewer: Artemisia BristolDate: 2003-05-25
Reviewid: 33698Chapter: 1
Lovely, lyrically written vignette. I adore your Ginny! Vulnerable and yet mature in a way that even she doesn't recognize. Her inner dialogue is believeable and the descriptions of her emotions are poignant and written so well, that you begin to feel it to.

Your description of Harry from Ginny's eyes: ...Ginny noted how his unruly hair highlighted the paleness of his skin. He absentmindedly pushed his glasses up his nose, and again, she felt the subtle thrill at witnessing the habit. But then, when would anything Harry Potter did not give her a thrill?

Fantastic! Such a simple little description, but it really made the whole piece shine. Your lyrical style is very readable and gives a nice tone.

The only minute thing that you might want to look over, is the use of the verb 'squelch' that is repeated in two paragraphs that are very close together. Varying the verbs used helps to make the story more interesting and besides, 'Squelch' always makes me think of the sound that your rubber boots make when your trampling around in a swamp.

Excellent work! I cannot wait to read more of your work. Are you currently writing something?

Reviewer: ~rikkaDate: 2003-05-14
Reviewid: 31967Chapter: 1
thats really good, thats how i always thought about ginny feeling, but i dont like how people alwways think parvati and lavender are ignorant, it never says in the books that they are.

Reviewer: Sinistra MDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28960Chapter: 1
That was very nice - so touching and true to Ginny. I'm glad you chose to write about this side of the post Tournament trauma, too.

Reviewer: bookwrm1989@aol.comDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28135Chapter: 1
SO BEAUTIFUL!! SO GOOD!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-04-10
Reviewid: 27339Chapter: 1
Oh, poor Ginny...that night after the Third Task really must have been *agonizing*. The visual of Fred and George, tugging her away bodily from the stands, is an effective one.

I was a little surprised to see Lavander and Parvati be so catty, but I realize 1) teenage girls can definitely be like that to each other; Harry probably just hasn't noticed it before, and 2) they're probably still sore at Harry and Ron for the Yule Ball and "Uranus".

Such a sweet gesture Ginny made at the end, knowing that Harry wouldn't even notice it or appreciate it, given the circumstances, but wanting to help him all the same. The story ends on such a wistful note:

<<But all that wasn't important now. For now, Harry would give his tears voice alone, as he'd intended to do. And Ginny would give that to him. It was the least she could do when she couldn't share her own tears with him, and perhaps relieve the ache she felt inside.>>

Have hope, Ginny! Just wait!

~Katinka

Reviewer: ArleneDate: 2003-03-23
Reviewid: 24932Chapter: 1
Very good

Reviewer: SparkleDate: 2003-03-20
Reviewid: 24628Chapter: 1
wow i really love this. i think uve captured ginny so well, and i love the flashbacks to the triwizard tournament. good job! pls write a sequal or something!

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24611Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this. I could really feel Ginny's yearning, and her fear on his behalf, and yet she didn't get overly mushy, or wimpy and terrified, which I see so often in young Ginny POV stories.

I thought the ending was just right, her protecting him without his even knowing it. Very nice.

And all was well written too,BTW.

--alchemilla

Reviewer: stormdelverDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24600Chapter: 1
Very nice, I'm a big H/G fan and this was very touchingI imagine that Harry did just that and this will haunt him for along time. I think you have the pair sized up nicely and we all hope they get together sometime in the future. One thing I might mention is that in book two Ginny's eyes are green, but it seems they change with stories.

Reviewer: xxxMoonYxxxDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24590Chapter: 1
That is so good!

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24509Chapter: 1
Well done! I really think you've done a good job of getting inside of Ginny's thoughts and emotions.

Reviewer: SanctionDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24507Chapter: 1
The secret of compassion is found in its own name: 'com' for 'together' and 'passion' for deep emotion. To be compassionate to another is to identify with another person's needs, to feel as if whatever happened to that someone happened to you, and to act accordingly. I can say Ginny has shown deep compassion in this fic. This is a well-written POV story that builds up to a single purpose, thus giving it unity and power. The wonderful thing is that Ginny chooses to be the medium for healing rather than be the actual cure. How many fics demonstrate a lover who opts for silence instead of talk? Hers is a painful decision, but a correct one. It gives her character depth and her love meaning.
Well done, Mrs. Hobbes. Here's hoping that in the future, Ginny's compassion will be returned a hundredfold.

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24482Chapter: 1
Ah, unrequited love.... Oh, I cannot wait for 21st June. I really will scream if JFK will kill off Ginny.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-03-18
Reviewid: 24477Chapter: 1
Go Ginny! I love the way she stood up to Lavender and Paravati like that. It is very much In Character. So is everything else. Great fic!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --