The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Riddikulus
Review(s): 29

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-24
Reviewid: 140220Chapter: 1
A very funny snippet.

Reviewer: SeshiriaDate: 2005-10-26
Reviewid: 135159Chapter: 1
... so Neville and Snape may have the same boggart, do they? Your idea is interesting, and your style is nice! good job!

Reviewer: KateDate: 2005-10-18
Reviewid: 134729Chapter: 1
Fabulous as always, Jack. You're still awesome, and I love you!

Reviewer: AnaxandraDate: 2005-06-27
Reviewid: 125389Chapter: 1
Not so funny, but still superb fanfic. Any way, i guess i'm really late, this was written, or posted like 3 years ago. im sure many people have told you this already but you are the King and Queen of all the Fanfiction writers. lalalalalala.....

Reviewer: mother gooseDate: 2005-05-04
Reviewid: 121360Chapter: 1
A great mix of the book and your imagination, congrats on another perfect story.

Reviewer: LossenrhosDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106547Chapter: 1
Wow, now that's a new take on an old scene. I like, very much. Especially Snape not meaning the Neville insult as nastily as Harry took it. Both Snape's boggarts were very in character. Very insightful.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92797Chapter: 1
No, Jo is better in many areas, but you'd give her a run for her money if you got published! Very good, although it could have been a bit longer.

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86414Chapter: 1
This is quite good. I loved that Snape's boggart is himself.

Reviewer: MuggleGirlDate: 2004-05-15
Reviewid: 82715Chapter: 1
Well, I really am sorry, so I decided to read and review. And so... Wow, this was amazing! I loved how you tied your ideas into JKR's actual plot. The height of cool. And I love what you did with Adult!Snape's boggart. I've always thought something along those lines, but you put it into words a lot better than I would have. It's sweet how you have Snape caring about Neville and the Gryffindors, but not in an OOC kind of way. Well done!

Reviewer: ele utulienDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80567Chapter: 1
no WAY! is j.k.r better than you!!!!!!! you're stories are HILARIOUS!!!!!!!!!! e-mail me

Reviewer: WhiteWolfDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63831Chapter: 1
Wonderful. Absolutely stunning. I am completely at a loss for words right now, but maybe I'll get back to you after I've had time to process all of (your) fics I've just read. Perhaps I'll have something intelligent to say by then. Or not.

Reviewer: RehanDate: 2003-08-27
Reviewid: 48909Chapter: 1
Holy crap! I never thought about it that Snape would have left the classroom because he didn't want the students to see his worst fear. Amazing insight. I hope that sooner or later, we'll see both Snape's and Dumbledore's boggarts. Especially Snape's.

Reviewer: SnoozepossumDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46254Chapter: 1
Nice, nice, nice! Some friends and I were talking about looking forward to the boggart scene in the PoA movie, and mild betting about what boggarts would appear as for other characters. Snape got votes for a Voldemort, a werewolf/Lupin, and his father. I voted for it to be himself too - if Rowling ever says so and I win, I'll cut you in for a percentage!

Reviewer: EmilyAnnaDate: 2003-07-20
Reviewid: 43053Chapter: 1
Very well done. One thing; you should have mentioned the part about POA at the beginning, not the end. Otherwise, great fic.

Reviewer: VeldDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42254Chapter: 1
Well that was interesting, good job.

Reviewer: ElliottDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42246Chapter: 1
...

Very good. Contains the daily requirement of Snape.

Reviewer: JDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 38039Chapter: 1
Snape? scared of a werewolf?

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35368Chapter: 1
Wow!This is extremely interesting. Odd,too,but interesting. A new look at Snape.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-06-02
Reviewid: 35015Chapter: 1
This was a great one shot piece about Snape confronting his demons. It was very well written and you captured Snape's sarcastic tone very well. Pieces where Snape confronts his Death Eater past too often come off as overly angsty and melodramatic, but this struck the right balance between fear, shame, and horror. Very well done.

Reviewer: lucysnoweDate: 2003-04-05
Reviewid: 26538Chapter: 1
Wow this fic is great. I never considered that Snape would be afraid of a werewolf, but now I can see that it makes perfect sense. He was almost killed by one, and it really explains a lot of his hatred for Lupin. I've always liked the idea that boggarts change as someone matures and grows, so I was glad to see that Snape's fear had also changed. Poor, Snape, being afraid of himself. Interesting how his remark about Neville was from a half-concern for the students. I really enjoyed this. =)

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24870Chapter: 1
Great scene! A nice mix of angst and action. I'd thought before that Snape's Boggart would probably be a werewolf, but you go one better on the idea, that Snape's worst fear as an adult is his own dark side. I also noticed the nice touch at the end, that Snape stays behind to make sure Neville can beat off the Boggart, and worries about his safety. Snape might not like Neville, just as he doesn't like Harry, but that doesn't mean he doesn't care for their well-being. That probably made him even more angry when he learned what Neville's Boggart was, and how Lupin told him to defeat it.

Reviewer: LivDate: 2003-03-21
Reviewid: 24826Chapter: 1
Wow! This is some really good stuff you've got here! I really enjoyed reading that story. The Snape-angst was perfect- there are too many stories out there that allow Snape to wallow in his self pity, page after page. This.. is my new favourite snapefic :)

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2003-03-20
Reviewid: 24729Chapter: 1
Good job Jack! *boosts Jack's already huge ego* You write Snape well....perhaps because you're already rather evil yourself ;) XD *huggles*

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-03-20
Reviewid: 24693Chapter: 1
This is an awesome story.

Reviewer: The White LilyDate: 2003-03-20
Reviewid: 24664Chapter: 1
Those two are exactly what I would have though Snape's boggarts would be. The second one especially was very well written, very Snapish. God I hate boggarts! The very idea of something that turns into your worst fear is just horrifying! Keep writing, you've got talent. : )

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-03-20
Reviewid: 24655Chapter: 1
KEWL. It's great to see that Snape's greatest fear is what he once was. Not only do you show that he's a good guy now, you also show that he wasn't a spy for Dumbledore all throughout his Death Eater career -- that he was bad, too, once upon a time. Very well done!

Reviewer: AllisonDate: 2003-03-20
Reviewid: 24651Chapter: 1
Awesome. Awesome. Awesome. I *love* this type of one-shot! You've beaten my used-to-be favorite Snape angst one-shot ("The Foe-Glass"). I love how you capture Snape's personality in the kind of words you use: 'haunted,' 'sneering,' 'bloodthirsty.' You also did it without letting it get to that wallowing-in-angst level of too many metaphors and cheesy, suicidal trains of thought. (I should know, my Snape-writing gets that way a little too often...) The Snape vs. Snape confrontation was wonderful. It was like his own cutting sarcasm came back to slap him in the face: "You’re WEAK! You’re nothing! You’ve given up the power, the thrill, the strength of your true self!"

Why you haven't got a butt-load of reviews is beyond me. I guess people don't appreciate a well-rounded Snapefic when the see one :(.

Well, that's my novel of a review. In short: great job, keep it up, slap on the bum, and have a nice day!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-03-20
Reviewid: 24649Chapter: 1
You lived for the thrill of battle. You purified wizard blood for a new generation."
-Nicely Nazi.

I liked how you had Snape greatest fear be his own, but thoroughly brutal, self.

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-03-20
Reviewid: 24648Chapter: 1
Very interesting take on Snape's boggart, as well as his thoughts. I enjoyed it.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --