The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Clean Living
Review(s): 149

Reviewer: ginnyseekerweasleyDate: 2007-01-16
Reviewid: 146894Chapter: 3
I LOVED your story! You've probably heard this a lot before, but your story was ingenious and HILARIOUS! This story had me laughing out loud. Can you IMAGINE Sirius and James trying to live cleanly? I'll be looking for more stories from you!

Reviewer: Lady TehanuDate: 2006-05-05
Reviewid: 142552Chapter: 3
This fic is just unbelivebable funny!!! I haven´t laughed so hard for a long while. Thank you for writing this.

I especially liked how you characterized the marauders. I think it is important to involve Peter and you do it in a fine way. Sirius socks are nice, too, and I could really imagine how everybody thought they got brainwashed when they suddenly turned into angels.

The scene in McGonagall´s lesson is amazing. Just the way you describe it from her POV *sigh* My other favourite is when you describe James and Sirius so straightfaced in DD´s office. I tried myself to keep a staight face...and ended up giggling stupidly.

Thank you, thank you, thank you. Just keep on with such good work :-)

Reviewer: purebristlesDate: 2006-01-24
Reviewid: 138854Chapter: 3
I'm in the hospital now. I bust a gut laughing.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133826Chapter: 3
This was awesome. After three or four hours of studying, I had to take a break, so I chose fanfiction. And I lucked out with your fic! Perfect for a study break. Hilarious, excellent use of detail, great characterization (and I'm glad you noticed that Peter was part of the foursome, as much as authors try to ignore that), and a funny, amusing plot. Great work!

Reviewer: Machiavelli JrDate: 2005-09-27
Reviewid: 133365Chapter: 3
This is fantastic, and one of the few best pranks I've ever heard of. Please say the idea was real-world, I can think of a few ways to get something nearly as good done with common [well, existing anyway] resources. No real criticisms at all, Peter was especially good. We all know a McGonagall; mine taught English Lit. Where would we be without them? KUTGW.

Reviewer: Nikki, PoSDate: 2005-07-28
Reviewid: 128119Chapter: 3
Wow. That was hilarious, especially Remus and Peter's teasing at the end.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-06-10
Reviewid: 123569Chapter: 3
A Delightful Tale.

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122378Chapter: 3
*grins* I really like how you show the Marauders. The scheme is appropriately devious, James and Sirius are amusingly reckless/amoral, and Remus and Peter are awesome too.

Reviewer: rinaDate: 2005-05-14
Reviewid: 122048Chapter: 3
That was really fantastic! I am halfway through reading all of your stories and i must say, you do an Extrememly fantastic portrale of the marauders. Ive been wanting to read more about the marauders for a VERY long time, and now, my wish has been granted! Please continue to write more about the marauders.

*beautifully wicked and funny* - rina

Reviewer: RoDate: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121197Chapter: 3
I quite enjoyed this fic... thought you might like to know it.

Reviewer: buckbeakbabieDate: 2005-04-21
Reviewid: 120246Chapter: 3
Hilarious. I'm working my way through 'Student' at the minute, and it was nice to see this bit from another angle... Ingenious! I liked Remus realising what had happened and his and Peter's teasing at the end...

Reviewer: margoDate: 2005-04-19
Reviewid: 120053Chapter: 3
FANTASTIC!!! Crying with laughter!!! superb!!!
xXx

Reviewer: JessieDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116538Chapter: 3
I LOVE IT!!!
You are amazingly creative and never fail to keep the story entrtaining! Your ideas, creativity, ability and skill is excellent! I absolutely love your focus on MWPP! Please write more stories!

Reviewer: ChristianaDate: 2005-02-01
Reviewid: 112675Chapter: 3
EXCELLENT fic! All charactars perfectly in canon and yet just as funny as JKR. Also, good job with not revealing things until the end. I always have trouble with that.

Reviewer: RhiannonDate: 2005-01-31
Reviewid: 112571Chapter: 3
BRILLIANT! Absolutely brilliant!! I stayed up past 3 a.m. on a school night just to finish reading and find out how it all turned out! That is the best MWPP prank I have ever read, and I really loved how Remus figured out what James and Sirius were doing and helped them out even more! (Although.... those poor girls who sat on the toilets....!!) I like your characterization of Peter, too. Not making him an idiot like some people do, but also not making him too brilliant or sympathetic. Just a nice balance. And James and Sirius... I don't even know where to begin or what to say about them. Other than - I am utterly awed by them and in love with them!!! (*ahem* But don't tell my sweetie Remus I said that.) I would love it if you wrote another one of these fun prank fics. :)

Reviewer: dragongirlgDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103075Chapter: 3
Delightful! I love the way you built up the story - the perfect behaviour to the perfect prank. Great story!

Reviewer: Julie WilliamsDate: 2004-10-30
Reviewid: 102935Chapter: 3
That was hilarious! It's not often that I can find fanfics that amuse me so much. I was literally laughing out loud. I have officially put you down as my new hero.

Reviewer: Lambchop919Date: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98686Chapter: 3
Oh my! That was brilliant!!!! Again, you've got me absolutely rolling and giggling like a... like a Kookaburra!! *g* Minerva was a hoot! The "driven to firewhisky" was just priceless! And the pranks... did I mention brilliant?! By far one of the very best Marauder fics I've ever read!! I love the way you portray the cannon characters - totally spot on! I totally agree with how you wrote Peter - I really despise it when people write him as a bumbling fool. He was no Potter, Black or Lupin, but those three weren't stupid enough to befriend a complete moron, and he had to have been able to hold his own - especially as he became an animagi. I could never see that he was anything less than a true 'Marauder' while they were all at school, and really, it reflects poorly on the other three when people write him during this time period in such a prejudiced manner.

Oh yes - I love your invented characters as well - they're perfect! Alfi especially is a riot! And the students you've created fit in so seemlessly! Ok - Now I have to head back to chapter 23 of Student - I hope you'll be updating that one as well as adding more wonderful stories about my beloved marauders!

Reading this was a wonderful way to start my birthday today! (which I apparently share with Hermione it seems - how funny! - though I am quite a bit older than she! *g*) Thank you!! :)

Reviewer: JeremyDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94993Chapter: 3
Great story,really liked it.PS I am a Scout and we do NOT behave ourselves

Reviewer: leninaDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94838Chapter: 1
I love how you portrayed Remus as more of trouble-maker. I mean, yes, he was a prefect and all, but still, with someone, TWO somebodies, like James and lovely Sirius, how can you be a complete goody-goody, you know? And also, Peter seems to be more like "one of the guys" than "that little fat stupid kid who follows us around" which i think shows him in a more accurate light, giving how Sirius said in PoA that he and the others would have died for him. I can't imagine him saying that if Peter was just a tagalong that happened to fasten himself into their posse. Lovely story, so far, too! I love the idea of them actually BEHAVING! Genius!

Reviewer: TabithaDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94740Chapter: 3
I absolutely loved it. its was sooo funny. And i love how Dumbledore 'questioned' the boys. ingenious, really!

Reviewer: Ernest HemingwayDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91304Chapter: 3
I thought this story was very funny, especially the reactions of Professor McGonagall. Very good!

Reviewer: Tempest EnigmaDate: 2004-05-24
Reviewid: 84381Chapter: 3
You're BRILLIANT!!!! That's hilarious. Well done!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75896Chapter: 3
This is incredible. You've got a great sense of humour, and a superb imagination to come up with these things. And the way you describe them, they actually come alive.

Reviewer: silvertigressDate: 2004-02-08
Reviewid: 69957Chapter: 3
BLOODY BRILLIANT!!!

Reviewer: JennDate: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67741Chapter: 3
Ha ha! it was great! LOL!

Reviewer: TalixDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66957Chapter: 3
One of the best MWPP stories I have read! Definitely LOL material - and I can't wait for more chapters of Student! :-)

Thanks for sharing it with all of us. :-)

Reviewer: AshDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62660Chapter: 3
Go team! This story is totally wicked. Will you write a sequel? Please email me if you do. I'd love to read it. Must dash, I have to read all your other stories now! Ah, the trials of being on school holidays.

Reviewer: StephDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58796Chapter: 3
I enjoyed this 'fun fic'. It really captured the personalities of the Marauders. Loved it.

Reviewer: Audra LachesisDate: 2003-10-27
Reviewid: 58004Chapter: 3
I love this story -- it's so clever on so many different levels. Your Sirius, James, and Peter are every bit as believable as your Remus. Just lovely, and hilarious.
~Audra
(You've been blogged: http://audralachesis.blogspot.com/)

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57597Chapter: 3
I liked the whole fic very much, but especially 'Black Magic'. That is the name we give our Americas Cup Challenger sailing boat, as all New Zealand sporting teams etc have either the words 'black', 'white' or 'silver' in their names (All Blacks - rugby, Silver Ferns - netball, Tall Blacks - basketball, Black Sox - baseball, All Whites - soccer etc). So the name tickled my fancy. I'm sure you didn't need to know all that trivia... Hmmm, if New Zealand had a Quidditch Team, would they be called the Fast Blacks? The Black Brooms? White Lighning? Black Lightning? Hmmm...

Reviewer: SharlotteDate: 2003-08-21
Reviewid: 48170Chapter: 3
OMG! I loved your story...

Having read it... I have picked up the strangest habit.
Since I absolutely LOVE Sirius, I have actually (belive it!) stopped wearing matching socks as result of your fic. As soon as I finished reading the fic, I went and bought 20 pairs of strange and wacky socks, and mix-match them everyday... So, it's actually become a trend along with my friends... :)

Great story, and cool sock idea...!

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-08-21
Reviewid: 48158Chapter: 3
This is WONDERFUL!! I'm FINALLY catching up on fanfic - it's been about 4 months, so I got to read this whole story at one go.

You portray the Marauders VERY well. I can absolutely see them doing this, although in light of OotP they may have had a little more trouble being quiet around the Slytherins.

Thanks for giving us the professors' POV too.

For some reason, the idea of James as a "skinny beanpole" is great. (Sorry if I've got the quote wrong, I loved it when I read it, but now I'm not sure I remember it right.) And Remus' 12 ways of not answering questions seems just like him!

Are you going to be working this into "Student"? WHat exactly was Sirius up to with trying to look pale, anyway?

Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: Roy CDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47616Chapter: 3
OMG...This was just too funny. I now have you listed as an author that I will read when any updated posts come up as I love the way that you have portrayed all of the characters...I do LOVE the "Student" series it is incredible to read from an outsiders POV. But it would be nice if you could get the Maurauders tales or Poppy's story published as an independent work. While JKR would get the character rights the stories are all yours as I said I look forward to more of you writing in the future and I would be most appreciative if you would be will to beta a piece of fic that I am composing though it may not be ready for the sept deadline.

Reviewer: Morsel MuncherDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47378Chapter: 3
that was just a wonderful ending =D and a cleverly thought out plot, and plan i may add.

It was very enjoyable, loved it. Keep up your wonderful, inspiring work ^_^

Reviewer: AmiDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46805Chapter: 1
GREAT! Very funny with a great plot that kept you wondering what they could be up to...cool way to blow off time at work :)

Reviewer: Wendelin the WeirdDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46729Chapter: 1
Amazing!!!!!!! Simply AMAZING!!!!!

Reviewer: LourDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46637Chapter: 3
I loved, loved, LOVED this fic, it was absolutley brilliant!

Reviewer: ElucrehDate: 2003-08-04
Reviewid: 45360Chapter: 3
You're BRILLIANT!!!

Reviewer: MegDate: 2003-07-20
Reviewid: 42961Chapter: 3
This was an adorable and hilarious MWPP ficlet. I've never really been into the MWPP era, but I think I've changed my mind now. I think I'll go read some more of your stories. Toodles!

Reviewer: ElveDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41513Chapter: 3
Oh, that was brilliant... I was cracking up through most of it... it was truly brilliant. I loved how you portrayed the Marauders; especially showing just how good they were at acting *innocent*. And how they set up McGonagall and Lupin.. (and how Lupin figured it out and decided to be a little mischievious himself)... this was a really light, charming and hilarious story. Great job!

Reviewer: Romm-MaliDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40784Chapter: 3
Hehehe... There is a friend of mine who grew up at a Scout camp called Treasure Valley, there are some really amazing stories she tells, mostly about the counselors, but some about the scouts themselves. Nothing on this scale of course, but still, quite ahh... reprehensible? ^_^
Good job, I couldn't help but burst into giggles at parts of this story.

Reviewer: FenriDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40642Chapter: 3
I had a wonderful time reeading this fic! I laughed so hard at the end! You should write more fic's about them. Keep wrighting. I realy enjoyed all of your fic's!!!!!!

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-07-06
Reviewid: 40262Chapter: 3
LOL! that was so funny! i can't stop smiling, can't wait to read more of your fan fics!!

Reviewer: Mirax_TerrikDate: 2003-06-29
Reviewid: 38906Chapter: 3
Oh! ::whipes tears of laughter from eyes:: That was brilliant! Your portrayals of the boys just made me sooo feel much better after having read OoTP. I must say that I enjoyed everything about this fic. I hope you'll continue writing fics about MWPP even though cannon has changed a bit. You write too well not to!
Gorgeous, indeed!

Reviewer: mpdehnelDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 38126Chapter: 3
wow! this is absolutely brilliant! i am new to the sugaruill, but i have so far enjoyed every fan fic that i have read - yours especially! thank you for writing such an amazing collection of fan fics, and i hope that you keep them up... GET WRITING! lol

Reviewer: MoDate: 2003-06-11
Reviewid: 36281Chapter: 3
But, what is 'Student'?

Reviewer: MoDate: 2003-06-11
Reviewid: 36280Chapter: 3
Love your story!!!! I have rarely ever read such an amusing story!!! Keep on writing!!!

Reviewer: alicamelDate: 2003-06-10
Reviewid: 36219Chapter: 3
Fabulous fic! I rarely read 'humor' fics, because comedy is so hard to write and is usually done badly. This was wonderful though. I loved the prank the boys pulled, the way Remus worked it out. I especially love your portrayal of McGonagall.

Reviewer: kerrypotterDate: 2003-06-10
Reviewid: 36177Chapter: 1
i loved it!

Reviewer: Anita StantonDate: 2003-06-02
Reviewid: 35043Chapter: 3
LOL!!! Absolutely hilarious, I just about died. MWPP stories have always been my favorite, and when they're attempting to be good…!!! >^_^<

Reviewer: StephenDate: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34131Chapter: 3
Hysterical! I loved this story. You had me in suspense until the very end (Remus' discovery), and then I was overcome with glee. The story was excellent, the characters were golden, and I loved the little wordplays and interactions between the Marauders and the other characters. And Professor McGonnagle was priceless (particularly her night out), as always.

Reviewer: SavannahDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33353Chapter: 3
Ohhhh! I luved it so much!! It was thoroughly enjoyable and I sincerely look forward to reading your supposed sequel, Students. I was wondering, since I notice that you quite an extraordianry talent in the field of writing, if you can write a story of Sirius's attemt to escape from Azkaban and suceeds. Then write what happens afterward...And all that jazz.
You are so totally kewl. I love you!!!

Reviewer: CalimoraDate: 2003-05-07
Reviewid: 31131Chapter: 3
without a doubt my favorite MWPP school days story.

Reviewer: NicDate: 2003-04-23
Reviewid: 29192Chapter: 3
muaha! I sniggered in delight whilst reading this. I love the way you portrayed everyone (probably because it's much like the way I think of them myself).

Reviewer: TinkerbellDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28913Chapter: 3
Lol! Love it! Wonderful ending! To bad Remus had to be put in the middle though... Oh well! That's make it even more funny!

Reviewer: PristineDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28832Chapter: 3
Two words!!!

BLOODY BRILLIANT

I was smirking and laughing and holding my breath in order to find out what those two were upto.

Excellent fic with excellent writing, a wonderful plot and characters.

I loved the mischievious characters (who wouldn't) and Minerva was a gem...

Hope you write some more!!!

Reviewer: NatalieDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28182Chapter: 3
Great ending! You do a great job when writing about the Marauders. You do a good job with all of the characters, but you do the best with Dumbledoor. I just started laughing when he was offering them chocolate during a situation like that. But what about lemon drops? :) It was just like something Dumbledoor would do! I can't wait to read more of your stories.

Reviewer: AllemandeDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28157Chapter: 3
Finally managed reading the last chapter. I love it!! It was great to see how harmless Sirius' and James' prank turned out, as that is how I picture most of their, er, excesses: Creative, funny, completely unusual, but not dangerous (though I'm now left wondering whether sometimes they didn't behave more like normal irresponsible teenagers, incapable of imagining the consequences of their actions, and played slightly meaner tricks on e.g. Snape. Not even talking about the Willow incident here).
I also liked Remus' role in this - any other boy would have been mad not to be in on the joke, and even being USED for it! But not so Remus, who just goes into a laughing fit the moment he realises what they have set up, and even spends more time in his detention to magnify the results. (Cute bit about the toilet seats, and him wondering whether the girls would sprout plants... *somewhere*. LOL!)
The Silencing Charm was a very Albus-y idea (though I bet S&J would have developed an own sign language very quickly), and the bit at the end with the Christmas Songs was very funny.
You were wondering whether you'd succeeded at writing a humorous fic - well, Student already has so much underlying humour that I never doubted you. ;)
(BTW, I *do* hope you know I was joking about the Fifth Marauder. I'm looking forward to the boys' discovery of girls... oh, I'm giggling at the mere thought of it! These guys, usually so self-confident and certain of their talents and wit, are going to embarrass themselves SO much...)
"Alle"

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-04-14
Reviewid: 27948Chapter: 3
I really appreciate the playfulness you give these characters.

Catherine

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-04-14
Reviewid: 27866Chapter: 3
And so ends the tale of our Marauder's brief flirtation with respectable behavior...a delightful read, all the way through. :) The set-up for the prank is just perfect, and poor Minerva has no one to blame but herself!:

<<Remus Lupin sat there and thought about his friends. Thought very long and hard about the way their minds worked – about the fact that they’d managed it so he’d be the one with the detention – about Sirius’ expertise with Potions – and James’ Cloak and his love of chess, that game of strategy – and about quite a few other things besides. He remembered that they had suggested they come down with him – and that it had been Sirius who handed him the tin of cleaning paste.

And then the full, glorious beauty of the situation hit him, and he doubled over in a choking fit of laughter, hugging his knees and almost sobbing with delight.>>

I didn't quite catch the full meaning of this line on the first read-through, but it made me snort out loud the second time:

<<"Well, once I figured it out, I did the store-cupboard floor, then the walls and floor in the class-room and both lots of toilets. Oh, I splashed a bit around on the toilet seats too – did the girls’ ones – they – er – sit – you know.">>

Brilliant observation, Remus! LOLOLOLOL!

Dumbledore is so amusingly sly in the way that he makes the boys accept culpability, but without 'fessing up to too many of the particulars. He has a healthy respect for prankster genius.

The chapter ends on such a great note -- Peter's cartoon, the Christmas carols -- and the pillow fight is a nice way to loop back to the way the story began.

Excellent work!

Katinka

McGONAGALL had given him the cleaning implements and the cleaning paste! SHE had insisted he change them over – SHE had been the one to suspect James and Sirius. But they’d been ahead of her – they’d anticipated her perfectly – and they’d switched the stuff earlier. And HE was perfectly innocent!>>

I can so easily see this incident running through her head at The Three Broomsticks, years later!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-04-14
Reviewid: 27854Chapter: 3
Wonderful! I've said that I love this story before, and I'll certainly say it again. Your first attempt at a 'fun fic' has been very enjoyable, and I love the way you portray all four Marauders--especially Peter, whom I am discovering (in my own stories) to be a likable enough guy...at least when they were younger. I love the way you've given him an artistic flair. Too many people forget about him.

I also love your Dumbledore--so creative and funny! It was a perfect punishment, indeed, and compliments his personality so well. I also adore your Minerva, and of course, Poppy, even though she's not around as much in this one. Heck, I love your entire cast of characters; they are real, and three dimensional, rather than flat and Mary-Suish, like so many authors (although not here on the suguarQuill, of course!) come up with. Your characters make the story come alive.

Again, I love the story, and I eagerly await more of "Student" to come. Soon, I hope, but some writing is worth waiting for, and your's definately is. Great job!

Reviewer: Laurus NobilisDate: 2003-04-14
Reviewid: 27852Chapter: 3
That was One Awesome Idea! :D I especially loved how they set up poor Minerva, and the wy she reacted to them. It was great fun.
Dumbledore's punishment for tem was more than appropiate, and I loved the epilogue. :p

Reviewer: Laurus NobilisDate: 2003-04-13
Reviewid: 27840Chapter: 2
There's no doubt about it- James and Sirius are evil geniuses. I can't wait to see what they're up to! Pity that Remus and Peter are probably going to be dragged into their mess, poor boys.
I certainly wouldn't want to be in Minerva's place! ;) No wonder she's getting headaches...

Reviewer: Laurus NobilisDate: 2003-04-13
Reviewid: 27837Chapter: 1
What a great idea! :) Those boys are certainly clever, aren't they?
It's nice to see those funny, light-hearted conversations between them.
I loved your description of the staff meeting and how everyone is expecting the worse.

Reviewer: AngelDate: 2003-04-13
Reviewid: 27818Chapter: 3
This story had me in hoots of laughter - it's truly inspired.

Reviewer: WerrfDate: 2003-04-13
Reviewid: 27799Chapter: 3
Wow - a truly *original* Marauders prank! This was excellent, thank you.

Reviewer: CGDate: 2003-04-13
Reviewid: 27776Chapter: 3
Creative, witty, and just downright hilarious:) Thanks

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2003-04-12
Reviewid: 27700Chapter: 1
Oh, I am SO bad about leaving reviews when I've been reading stories in draft form all along .... (Mincot smiles evilly.) I very much like the way you've developed this fic, and what I particularly appreciate (besides the way in which you show PEter as part of the group!) is the way you allow Remus to get a little shirty. Had I been set up that way, I would have been furious! Too many fics show him as the ever patient near-saint. However, the whole point of his education at Hogwarts was to let him be as normal as he could--and that includes perfectly normal temper at being set up. Of course, his realization of WHY he had been set up was brilliant. Toilet seats, forsooth (They ... er...sit ... you know ... ) As was his concern that the catnip laced cleaning paste might wind up in .... embarrassing ... places.

Minerva is finely drawn, and I think I will contribute to her Firewhiskey fund. What I really want to see is the conversation she had with Albus later ... or the conversation with Filch, in which she asks him to ask the house-elves NOT to remove that patch of catnip growing in the window-seat of her bedroom.

And, of course, sympathetic Slytherins! Another excellent job--and a good way to give yourself "thinking space" for "Student." ALthough, like everyone else, I am looking forward to updates, I also know that sometimes it is best to let a longer fic sit for a little while to make sure that the overall pace, plot, and focus of the fic are in good shape.

Reviewer: DeeDate: 2003-04-12
Reviewid: 27681Chapter: 3
Well I just have to say the end was as hilarious as the beginning. I love little Sirius and James.

And you did manage Peter really well. Dealing with him must always be clouded by bitter irony. I really can't imagine having to do it. But you succeeded very well. He was just as I pictured him.

I liked young Portia too. She really amused me. And I like the friend for Snape - afterall even Darco Malfoy has friends. Snape felt very canon.

In fact everything felt very canon. And I loved Minerva going crazy over the fact she got tricked. It was too much! :)

It was nice to see a well done short little fic. Sweet, funny and to the point. I like that.

I hope you keep writing. And if you do, I'll keep reading.

Reviewer: Alkari to Insanity, Anne, Meggs and othersDate: 2003-04-12
Reviewid: 27662Chapter: 3
Thanks for all your reviews everyone - glad you enjoyed my version of the Marauders.

Insanity, Professor Lutz left after the boys' third year, and Professor Garner replaced him. I just haven't reached that point in 'Student' yet.

Anne, I quite agree - Dumbledore was definitely a prankster in his own youth. Which is why he understand the boys so well!

Meggs, Dumbeldore 'knows' they did it, and also that they were having fun being good. But he cannot prove it of course. HE knows they did it, and THEY know he knows. Which is why he referred to 'understanding' as an essential part of education, and why he carefully asked them if they would feel they had suffered a grave injustice if he punished them. They understand each other perfectly!!

And yes, I 'have' dusted off the draft of the next 'Student' chapter, though it needs a lot of work and won't be ready till well after Easter I'm afraid.

Alkari

Reviewer: yinDate: 2003-04-12
Reviewid: 27648Chapter: 3
wheee!!! ::bounces:: that wz such fun-ness! ::luffs the 4 boys:: that wz such crax, and i couldn't stop laughing. the fact that it's the middle of the nite and i'm supposed to be sleeping didn't help either. i also sorely needed to visit the lavatory after reading this superb comedy. =D mcgonagall is luvly. she's absolutely canon-strict, but u really can see a sort of 'ugh, no, i can't laugh at their antics' thing going on in her.

the 4, oh gods, the 4~! they're adorable. i mean, u read this stuff and you read PoA and well... you get so depressed that such happiness is cut short by the darkness. ::very PO'd at Voldemort:: ::chases the dark lord around w/ her rubber mallet::

i hope u work on 'student' soon, cz i need my dose of alkari's mwpp! =D esp sirius love!

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-04-12
Reviewid: 27597Chapter: 3
*applauds* Very funny! Such characterizations--humour--bad jokes--style! Thankyou!

Reviewer: JKLBDate: 2003-04-12
Reviewid: 27590Chapter: 3
This was a very enjoyable story. I can so sympathize with poor Minerva watching her devils behave like angels and wondering, "Oh my God, what are they plannning?" I like that Remus figured out the prank and made it bigger and better (by doing the toilet seats). And I quite agree with your portrayal of Peter. I dislike stories that do not make him part of the group.

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-04-12
Reviewid: 27579Chapter: 3
Oh you are so evil! I could not wait for the last chapter, so last night I have devoured it, and so today there I was at our profesional confernce, grinning like an idiot - people must have thought I was laughing at their presentations! LOL!! Quacking homework, and toilet seats (!!!!), and angels with spiky hair, and SILENT night, LOL!
I have one quiestion - what's happend to professor Lutz - did he quit or something??
OK, people have said this already - but I can't wait for more "Student" either!
Oh, and I am feeling inspired to write a little thing about young Dumbledore... if someone (preferably a native English speaker)wants to write it with me, PM me!

Reviewer: ZoeSmithDate: 2003-04-12
Reviewid: 27575Chapter: 3
That was so clever!Amazing prank.
The way they could tell what McGonagall would do and the fact that Remus figured it soon enough to add his touch,was perfect.
And the silencing charm from Dumbledore!Precious!!
Lovely story

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27561Chapter: 3
aww i love this story. for the longest time i had no idea what James and Sirius were doing, but it was BRiLLiANT! I love James, Sirius and Remus in this one. They're so funny. And good job portraying peter, Minerva and Albus. Great story :)

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27556Chapter: 3
This was really adorable! What a great little fic! The whole thing cracked me up, and the finally prank really was brilliant. How ingenius! Not to mention Dumbledore's punishment.... why do I have a feeling he was probably quite a trouble-maker in his day, too? :)

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27553Chapter: 3
I loved this chapter and particulary the epilougue. The entire story was amazing! I loved how Black and Potter made Lupin get the blame...and how they acted so nice. Excellent job!

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27537Chapter: 3
Bravissimo! Beautiful! Wonderful! Absolutely perfect Marauder mischief! This was just hilarious, and exactly what I needed today.
Can't wait to see more of Student!

Reviewer: meggsDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27525Chapter: 3
i must say i was GIGGLING in anticipation when sirius and james and remus were gettnig it all together. you have a WONDERFUL nac for writing MWPP. and thanx for not NOT including peter. however i do have a question about Albus. why did he punish them. as was said, it could have been ANY of the houses, even though they had reason to suspect James and Sirius. but no PROOF was presented. could you clear that up a bit?because you know that dumbledore is ALWAYS fair, i just dont think he would punish them without proof. although the punishment was quite amusing. i really like how you ended the story. well thank you for listening to my rants and raves. continue please with more stories! i can't wait!

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27493Chapter: 3
this has been great fun to read! very creative and i like the way the whole plot is revealed bit by bit. i love your portrayal of the marauders - all of them. can't wait to continue reading 'a most unusual student'. keep up the great work :)

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27490Chapter: 3
I loved that, is there a sequel?

Reviewer: KimberlyDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27485Chapter: 3
Kudos on an extremely amusing story!! I haven't stopped laughing yet... =)

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27473Chapter: 3
ROTFLMAO!!

THAT was brilliant! I want some of that stuff. And I'm sure Whiskers would enjoy the catnip...lol. And it worked out so well-- perfect alibi, school-wide prank...

And they fessed up to it to Dumbledore. And got a Silencing Charm. Well, it was still a victory. :-)

This has got to be one of the best MWPP pranks I've ever seen written in fanfic. Fantastic job.

Can't wait for the next installment of "...Student!"

Until then,

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27448Chapter: 3
Great prank--but the punishment was genius (:

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27424Chapter: 3
This is a most delightful story!!! I felt a bit sorry for Remus at first. But once he realized the brilliance of their plan, how could I stay mad at them when he'd forgiven them? And Remus was really quite the most brilliant of all; he added his own embellishments and got off as an innocent pawn. (Well, Minerva suspects of course, she KNOWS those kids.)

As always, your handling of Peter is superb. He does deserve his own talents, and art suits him. I LOVED the bit at the end with Remus and Peter's Christmas Carols. (Dumbledore's punishment for James and Sirius was PERFECT.)

The description of Dickens' joyous reaction to the catnip was adorable!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27418Chapter: 3
also hastily sponged the girls’ toilet seats
-Oh my. I love Remus's glee at not only discovering the trick but then being able to join in.

That prank was worth the wait. Very inspired!

Your Minerva is wonderful - strict as canon but from her point of view, very human. Excellent job. I like that what made her the most annoyed was how they had predicted her suspicions.

Also, your Peter is nicely done. Obviously a follower, he is very friendly and welcomes the chance to help his friends - he fits in well to your story and canon. Your writingof him makes his betrayal that much more horrible.

Reviewer: RilinaDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27410Chapter: 3
*chuckling*
What a great fic! I really like how you took the idea of "clean" living from their suspiciously good behavior to the big prank itself.

"But even she had been reduced to near-incoherence when more than a dozen girls, all deeply embarrassed, had sought her assistance after using the toilets near the Potions classroom."

Poor, poor girls.

The conversation with Dumbledore was very well-done. I really enjoyed how you made Sirius and James into good pranksters without making them cruel/unnecessarily malicious.

"But the feathers on the wings were wonderful, and he loved the gags on their mouths. And the way Peter had them carrying mops instead of harps."

:P

I'm looking forward to seeing more of "Student" whenver it's ready.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27265Chapter: 2
Ooooh, I'm itching to see what those two boys have come up with! I love the slyness of it all! Very realistic.

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2003-04-04
Reviewid: 26182Chapter: 1
I thought this story was great! Wonderful job writing Sirius and James..but especially McGonnagal! Thanks.

Reviewer: megDate: 2003-04-03
Reviewid: 26080Chapter: 2
yahoo! more more more pretty pretty please with sugar on top? hehehe

Reviewer: AmayaDate: 2003-04-02
Reviewid: 25993Chapter: 2
I can't tell you how much I enjoy reading this. Normally I don't read Maurauder fics, because I don't always agree at how the author handles them, but "Clean Living" is absolutely wonderful and your characterization brilliant!
I love Minerva here! And Alfi. And of course the boys interaction with her- LOL.
You really should write more fics in the boys POV. It's a pity that there's only one more chapter left.

Reviewer: NatalieDate: 2003-04-02
Reviewid: 25973Chapter: 2
I really like this story so far! I'm curious to know what they are up to....I'm wondering if it's the Marauder's Map, but I'm not very sure about that. It would be great if you wrote a story about that! I would help you!

Reviewer: DeeDate: 2003-03-31
Reviewid: 25856Chapter: 1
This story is a gem. Too funny! I love Sirius - devious little one isn't he? Too funny. And very realistic too. It really gets in the craw of a teacher when you defy their expectations and succeed. And I love the comment about Snape.

Stories about the Mauraders always wig me out. I find it so hard to picture Snape as a child - seems unfair that he was ever allowed a childhood - nastly little bugger that he is.

I love it; I love it; I love it...

(Though perhaps it is a bit unfair to expect James to have tidy hair. It is magically unkempt! - One of my favourite Potter traits represented in fanfiction)

Reviewer: DeeDate: 2003-03-31
Reviewid: 25855Chapter: 1
This story is a gem. Too funny! I love Sirius - devious little one isn't he? Too funny. And very realistic too. It really gets in the craw of a teacher when you defy their expectations and succeed. And I love the comment about Snape.

Stories about the Mauraders always wig me out. I find it so hard to picture Snape as a child - seems unfair that he was ever allowed a childhood - nastly little bugger that he is.

I love it; I love it; I love it...

(Though perhaps it is a bit unfair to expect James to have tidy hair. It is magically unkempt! - One of my favourite Potter traits represented in fanfiction)

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-03-31
Reviewid: 25853Chapter: 2
I forgot to say in my last review that I didn't know Sirius had a history of holey socks! ;)

Poor Minerva, all this consternation over our angelic duo is driving her to drink. Deep down, though, she has such a strong affection for the boys (even if it would take Veritaserum for her to admit it to them!).

I like the subtlety with which you show their (and everyone's, for that matter) growing awareness of the opposite sex. Hmm...Sirius' practice sessions with Fiona might soon be taking on an entirely different tone.

And what will this long-await prank be? I'm anxious to see. :)

Katinka

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-03-31
Reviewid: 25851Chapter: 1
Ah, I really love the way you write these boys. :) This scene was absolutely hilarious -- I can picture it so easily:

<<There was a thunderous knocking at the door.

"Come in if you’re gorgeous!" yelled Sirius, trying to stuff a sock into Peter’s mouth.

"And female!" James added, wrestling with Remus over a bedraggled pillow.

The door was flung open and Professor McGonagall strode into the room.>>

The different dynamics among the Marauder group are also balanced so well. Each boy has his distinct personality and "position" in relation to the others -- they're not just four of the same. Peter really stood out to me -- I think this line captures him well:

<<Peter, delighted at the prospect of incurring no detentions for the next three weeks merely through casual association with James and Sirius, was inspired to answer two difficult Potions questions correctly and was rewarded with five points for Gryffindor.>>

Off to read more!

Katinka :)

Reviewer: meggsDate: 2003-03-31
Reviewid: 25842Chapter: 1
hehehe i love this story so far!!! they just seem so in character. and thanx for not leaving peter out and making him horrible. i canno WAIT for the next chapter. this is the only story of yours that i have ever read but im gonna read the rest of them now!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-03-31
Reviewid: 25840Chapter: 2
amiable, bespectacled beanpole
-cute description

Good job on building suspense!

Letting Remus take the fall? Seems a bit unfriendly.

A fun chapter and I am very much looking forward to the next.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --