The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Midnight Ride
Review(s): 30

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2005-12-22
Reviewid: 137541Chapter: 1
Aww...that is cute and yet at the same time hilarious ! :-)

Reviewer: GreenMeansGoDate: 2005-07-31
Reviewid: 128325Chapter: 1
Wonderful piece. Sirius always makes my heart ache.

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2005-07-20
Reviewid: 127454Chapter: 1
This was PRECIOUS! Awwww...

Reviewer: Tabitha H.Date: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117294Chapter: 1
Aw, sweet story, I loved it... just one question though: what song are they singing to baby Harry?

Reviewer: KirstinDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110137Chapter: 1
So cute!

Reviewer: Midge WoodDate: 2004-07-04
Reviewid: 90528Chapter: 1
Aww! This was a very sweet fic, in a realistic sort of way. It's not sugary or sappy, it's just...real, a realistic story about group of tired adults/friends trying to figure out what to do with a noisy kid. Good work!

God Bless,
Midge

Reviewer: garouDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90257Chapter: 1
Aww! Cute! I'm too young to have a kid, but I'd imagine that this is *very* true to life =). Lily, James, and Sirius were all characterised wonderfully; you could really see the closeness and dynamics of their relationship and their individual personalities. I like how you added in all these extra details for such a short fic, like Mrs. Potter's Liquid Cure All and the time Sirius got Harry sick all over Peter. Hehe. I also liked how the fic was funny yet still ended on a sweet note, very cute. Where did that song come from? I liked it.

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77265Chapter: 1
This was a cute short story. I wish there was a pacifying spell!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75696Chapter: 1
I think the dream was a reference to Hagrid taking Harry away, but the story is still great.

Reviewer: Roasted SilkDate: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73618Chapter: 1
That was great! Short and sweet. I really enjoyed it.

Reviewer: lug bugDate: 2004-02-12
Reviewid: 70331Chapter: 1
Cool MAN!

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2004-01-30
Reviewid: 68988Chapter: 1
Awwww, that's sweet. I especially liked the "He got sick all over Peter" part...very funny! Lily seemed to be going out of her mind though!

Reviewer: AlrauneDate: 2003-12-04
Reviewid: 61815Chapter: 1
A well written little family story.
I loved your dialogue, it was exactly the way conversations between young parents and well-meaning friends (without children)are. Nice to see that baby Harry is just like every other child - driving his parents nuts.
Good work!

Reviewer: Paige, The Muggle HermioneDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61683Chapter: 1
briteyes,
Funny! Quite possibly your most hilarious batch of work yet. I love it. Brilliant idea, by the way, and Sirius is down pat. *sniffle* I miss him... Favorite line, you ask?

<<"Congratulations. Your son is half-Augurey.">>

No-Words-To-Describe-Laughter... *breathe Paige, breathe* OK. Now that I've recovered, amazing job, as usual, and I hope you have more work up at the Quill soon otherwise I shall be forced to re-read these many times.

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: AnacalagonDate: 2003-07-24
Reviewid: 43602Chapter: 1
I like this story a whole lot, and I think it was very well writen. It was cute, short, and sweat.

Reviewer: snappyDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40966Chapter: 1
aww....

Reviewer: KimDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 38129Chapter: 1
Neat!!!Very interesting!!

Reviewer: DidiDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32253Chapter: 1
Heheh Sirius is gifted. :D Anyway, it was good!

Reviewer: HermioneDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27211Chapter: 1
aaaawwwww that was sooooo sweet!
god i wish that harry coud have gone and lived at sirius's house!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hermione

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27130Chapter: 1
I love this tale of the Boy Who Wouldn't Stop Crying -- a fun departure from the usual PerfectAngelBaby!Harry fare. :)

<<Her skin was pasty, and large black circles bulged under her eyes.>>

Oy, this brings back memories that are all too recent! LOL! And my baby didn't even cry that much! Sigh...there's always some clueless person (SIRIUS) hanging about, thinking that they know better than you, the actual parent. Maybe it's a good thing that he's not a daddy just quite yet:

<<"I see that now." He leaned down to Harry. "Look, kid, could you shut up for a minute? Thatís getting really irritating.">>

Yeah, good luck, man. This part is SO true-to-life:

<<"This child is obviously suffering, and you want to bicker about who kills moths?" Sirius shook his head in mock disbelief. "You call yourself a mother."

Lily rounded on him, horrified. "And whatís that supposed to mean?">>

I've turned manticore on my male relations a few times for making similar wisecracks. Never, ever, mock a sleep-deprived woman's mothering, Sirius!

This part is hysterical too, because then said clueless person think's he's a parenting genius...for all of two seconds, that is! Ha ha!:

<<Slightly astonished himself, Sirius beamed at them, then smiled down at the small child, gently patting his back. A pair of bright eyes blinked back at him. Out of the corner of his eye, he saw Lily grab her husbandís hand and give it a squeeze.

Harry took a deep breath...

...and promptly began to wail again.>>

I really got a kick out of this, and on a trifle sad note, now we know why Harry feel asleep on the bike with Hagrid. Great job! :)

Katinka

Reviewer: RilinaDate: 2003-04-08
Reviewid: 26932Chapter: 1
How charming. A nice idea to build off Harry's dream of the flying motorbike. I enjoyed the dialogue very much, particularly the line about the Augurey. :)

Reviewer: googligooDate: 2003-04-08
Reviewid: 26912Chapter: 1
awww, how cute.

Reviewer: Fidelius FemmelaDate: 2003-04-07
Reviewid: 26873Chapter: 1
This was amazingly cute. The snappy banter between the three is wonderful. I would say all the things I loved about this fic, but you wrote it already, and I'd just be retyping it. One question: Is that song Irish? Also, where can I get all the lyrics and a translation? Thanks
~FF

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-04-07
Reviewid: 26865Chapter: 1
Great story! "Hmm." Sirius rubbed his chin thoughtfully. "Is it supposed to rain?"
"It might, why?"
"Congratulations. Your son is half-Augurey."

*laughs* I love this part. Very funny!

Reviewer: Phillipa SommervilleDate: 2003-04-07
Reviewid: 26854Chapter: 1
What a lovetl little vignette...Gave me a smile and a very nice feeling.
Thanks!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-04-07
Reviewid: 26842Chapter: 1
What a short short time for a precious precious life...this is so sad and well-written.... a happy fic that makes me sad...... oh, well.

Reviewer: RichardDate: 2003-04-07
Reviewid: 26813Chapter: 1
Great story - helps explain why Harry would sleep soundly while Hagrid brought him to Privet Drive!

What is the song James and Sirius sang?

Well done!

Reviewer: SunflowerDate: 2003-04-07
Reviewid: 26775Chapter: 1
Sniff....loved it. Especially Padfoot singing to Harry at the end (father foreshadow.)

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-04-07
Reviewid: 26772Chapter: 1
>Please tell me that was some new breed of non-fatal Mandrake youíre trying to grow."

Hee! Very Sirius-y.

>That woman had a potion for everything, bless her soul, and none of them tasted good

This reminds me of those mothers in Victorian novels who 'dosed' everyone to death!

>"Days?" Siriusí jaw dropped. "Iíd have put a Pacifying Charm on him after the first hour."
Lily looked scandalised. "You canít put a spell like that on a baby!"
"Why not? My mother always did."
"And look how you turned out!"

*Wonderful*, snappy dialogue. I love the way this story builds upon itself and just gets funnier and funnier as it goes on. James topping off the bottle with Odgens - on the other hand, Lily probably appreciates it by now.

> "He was sick all over Peter."

Hmmm...could this be the last straw that sent Peter to the Death Eaters?

And then we get the sweet ending. Lovely, lovely story. The characterizations were all fantastic - I hope James, Lily and Sirius are just like this in JKRs world.

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-04-07
Reviewid: 26747Chapter: 1
Lovely story (: James topping the cure-all up with Ogdens was a nice touch, and getting everyone hopeful before Harry started yelling again was funny too.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --