The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: Meucci WarlockDate: 2006-01-05
Reviewid: 138051Chapter: 1
Very clever story... thanks for the good read. :) Quite original ideas here... I liked it quite a lot.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137236Chapter: 1
Most Excellent. You are Awesome.

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87783Chapter: 1
Oh, I loved that because it was just so well written and very cleverly observed. The idea of Snape attendinh Hogwarts late being partly to blame for his attitude was a wonderful one, and those grandparents of his *shudder*. Excellent job - I really enjoyed it. :)

Reviewer: MangoDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83062Chapter: 1
Oh. Wow. Brilliant. I was so taken aback with this piece. This is quite darker than the others but since Snape is involved here... Hm. You made quite an explanation for his dark and sour disposition. Who knew that he was a guinea pig? Grandpa Snape's ties with Grindelwald was a nice touch. You are definitely an author I should watch out for.

Reviewer: Olive HornbyDate: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73623Chapter: 1
This is a great story! I love your interpretation of the beginnings of Snape's withdrawn nature--since he started a year late and had already been somewhat rejected by most of his friends it is easy to see how he would be ostracized and have trouble fitting in. His grandfather is chilling, and you see some of adult Snape in him. The ending, with Snape telling a very eager Filch his story, was fantastic, offering a little bit of self-serving generosity on Snape's part and a bit of desperation on Filch's part. I really enjoyed this.

Reviewer: LinDate: 2003-09-05
Reviewid: 50845Chapter: 1
I'm enjoying your "First Signs" fics muchly, Icarus. I would not have come up with this one for Snape, though it does explain much of his attitude toward other people. Are you going to write more "First Signs" fics, and/or a story about Dr. Eckerd Snape?

Oh, and the concept of Dr. Snape's research has hatched an Evil Plot Bunny. Thanks *ever* so much! ;)

Reviewer: katieDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50558Chapter: 1
kool perfect snape but i don't think snape smile's that much. what does finis. mean?

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50274Chapter: 1
Cute story...love the part with filch at the end! Great job, keep writing!
~Margaret

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50257Chapter: 1
verry interesting thereoy, i hope you keep the series up!!:)

Reviewer: GwynDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50181Chapter: 1
That was interesting. I would never have thought of that.

Reviewer: ronluverDate: 2003-05-31
Reviewid: 34770Chapter: 1
ok. that. was. COOL! i like how snape was able to do such powerful magic wen he was scared

Reviewer: SevterDate: 2003-05-11
Reviewid: 31594Chapter: 1
Very intriguing. What the hell did Severus' grandfather do anyway?

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-04-10
Reviewid: 27281Chapter: 1
[Even the house-elves seemed uppity. Severus bet they knew he would never be able to hex them properly]. Very funny, and jus the sort of grumpy, sarcastic
remark Snape would make.

[Like a declawed cat, it was the only weapon he had left.] Great line! Interesting take on Severus as being helpless and his nastiness developed as a defense mechanism.

Excellent use of evoking the senses in this piece. I really get a sense of the color blue in the parlor and the white in the hospital setting and the olfactory descriptions come across very clearly, that dusy, rotty, faded flower smell is very vivid.

[But rather, as though Severus was a piece of equipment, or an experiment that was going particularly well.] Oh, this is a really chilling line, very descriptive and a unique twist. The mad scientist image comes across very clearly.

I'm really enjoying this series and I'm particularly impressed with how the style changes from piece to piece. The dry humor in Hermione's piece is very different from the macbre humor in this one. These are excellent stories, looking forward to more!

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27218Chapter: 1
Oooh! Creepy! I literally felt my spine tingling. VERY well done, and the characterizations are spot-on, the musty setting, the attitudes of a disappointed 12-year-old, everything! The sudden shift to the adult Snape and Filch talking at the end was very effective, and Snape's coolness in that scene made it especially menacing, knowing (as Filch did not) the fear he had experienced when magic was "bestowed" on him by his grandfather.

HOWEVER I take offense at this line:
"The old Dark Wizard had been a pure scientist, one who didn't give a damn about the rest of world, Voldemort, or anyone else."

Do you know any scientists? The one I know really are quite human, and just as many of them give a damn about the world, their families, etc. as people in any other profession.

Other than that, thoroughly enjoyable! Thanks.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27125Chapter: 1
Wow. One doesn't often find fics that are downright fascinating, as this one was. What an interesting theory! I love it! And so well written, too! Thankyou.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-04-08
Reviewid: 26994Chapter: 1
I like this story. Glad you kept the seiries up. I hope you come up with someone else soon. This was very good... Snape a Squib turned wizard? I would never have thought, but an extremely interesting idea. This could be why he dislikes students a lot, but doesn't hate them as much as Filch. *thoughts wander*

Reviewer: Phillipa SommervilleDate: 2003-04-08
Reviewid: 26976Chapter: 1
Dark and isturbing, very disturbing, but good!

Reviewer: The White LilyDate: 2003-04-08
Reviewid: 26956Chapter: 1
Ooooh! Lovely! I saw another 'first signs of magic' and thought YAY! It was certainly... Different. Creepy. Wonderfully evocative. It would explain a lot about Snape - the distain for the world, why he joined the dark side when he didn't want to, friendship with Filch, particular affinity for potions and distain for 'foolish wand waving' Hmmm. Very interesting. Very well done.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-04-08
Reviewid: 26938Chapter: 1
This was great! Who would have thought that Snape would be late going to Hogwarts? The idea of him going twelve years of Squibdom absolutely gobsmacked me.

You did a great job with his grandparents, too. They were creepy, even the unseen grandmother with the dusty knick knacks.

Reviewer: AshleyDate: 2003-04-08
Reviewid: 26919Chapter: 1
Wow! I just love it, as I love the others in your "First Signs of Magic" series. Such original ideas, and all the characters are perfect down to the last hair. I especially enjoyed your characterization of Severus' grandfather (who reminded me of Einstein gone loony) and young Severus' determination to tell the House Elves to sod off when they came near. Poignant and at the same time LMAO funny, this is a special piece of work!

C'mon! You know you want to do another one. Really badly. And SOON.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --