The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 8

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-04-26
Reviewid: 29588Chapter: 1
I read this story earlier at FAP and the font was a bit wonky, so I'm glad to see it here. This was an incredibly imaginative outtake as to how the Marauders discover Remus's secret.

REmus's reactions to the comic book and Sirius's descriptions and talking about the book were increibly well thought out and you can *feel* his pain, even though he keeps his composure. This story is a great metaphor for how we inadvertantly mock or misunderstand people's conditions. I see it all the time in my psychology classes. People throw around psychiatric terms very carelessly, not knowing that their fellow classmates actually suffer from those disorders they use to insult each other with. This is a grrat piece that reminds you just how powerful words can be.

I especially liked James's deduction and the clues were very subtle. I never would have thought of a cat going beserk around a werewolf, but it makes perfect sense. The ending was very sweet, the switching to the Martin Miggs. Also liked the bit about Snape's singing, dancing, exploding dinner!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28318Chapter: 1
This was very well rendered, with grand characterizations.

Catherine

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-04-14
Reviewid: 27912Chapter: 1
The Garrick Randolph poster is a cool invention indeed! A little macabre for my own personal decorative tastes, but just what a teenage boy would go for. ;)

An interesting observation that Remus would avoid Sickles. I don't know that I've ever read of that in fanfic before.

The weight of Remus' secret must have been so draining for him -- it was touching when he broke down. So now we see the origins of "Moony" (liked how easily and naturally that came about) and "Padfoot" (the poor mutt! heh heh).

Lots of inventive touches here!

Reviewer: HermioneDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27221Chapter: 1
LOVE IT!~!~!~!~!~!~!!~!~!~~!~!~~!~!~!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27143Chapter: 1
This was a very unique way of getting the Marauders to figure out Remus' condition :) I agree that he will probably be very sensitive about it. I don't know if "graphic novels" (serious comic books) existed in the MWPP era, but hey, if Sirius just wants to make his hobby sound mature, that's OK by me :) Nice work!

Reviewer: LazaraspasteDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27124Chapter: 1
What a great explanation of how the other Marauders found out about Remus. I especially like the part where Sirius is denying that Remus is a werewolf and James tells him Garrick Randolph is absolute trash. I also like Remus' refusal to admit to knowing what they were talking about. Excellent fic.

Reviewer: ElfirDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27115Chapter: 1
*giggle* That was the most amusing and brief explaination for everything Marauders that I've ever read.

Reviewer: Anne KeeneDate: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27083Chapter: 1
I loved this story! It's a very believable way of explaining how WPP found out about Lupin. I think you did a great job of characterizing them, and keeping them twelve years old.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --