The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Harry Situation
Review(s): 240

Reviewer: HermnyDate: 2008-01-10
Reviewid: 150369Chapter: 25
Awwwww....thats so sweeet!!!

Reviewer: arien043Date: 2007-11-04
Reviewid: 149817Chapter: 25
Nice fic! I really enjoyed it.

Reviewer: noyljDate: 2006-10-23
Reviewid: 145877Chapter: 20
1983 was not a long ago TV show. Super Circus, from about 1951, was a long ago TV show. 1983 was just a few years ago.
Damn whippersnappers, have no idea what nostalgia is...

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-17
Reviewid: 132738Chapter: 25
Chapter 25
but...but...you never even said hermy's animagus...i wanted her to be a...a...a woodchuck...pwetty pweez?

N-E-WAY....

an ordinary girl
no she don't read that much
she decorates her lawn with wild pink flamigoes
she got a fanny pack
a neon jogging suit
and after work you'll see her walk her brown dog Bingo

right...sry bout that...i felt random.
Hey! let's go look for some more kit-kat bites in the strret! and i'll give some to you, Jelsemium! cuz you're a great writer! and you know what, i don't think i've ever read an sq fic like that! what do you know! what should we have on our chicken dinner tonight? k, that was random too. lemme think, i had some questions to ask you, but i can't remember what they were...
OH YEAH!

WHO SENT THE DRAGON?
WAS IT DR. OPAL?
OR VOLDY?
WHY DID IT WANT HARRT'S GLASSES?
I'M CONFUSED!
PLEASE WRITE A SIRIUS SITUATION!
DUDE, I JUST GOT IT! A HARRY SITUATION IS LIKE A HAIRY SITUATION AND A SIRIUS SITUATION IS LIKE A SERIOUS SITUATION! MAN, I'M DUMB! GREAT STORY, I LOVED IT SO MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(p.s. please view my other 15 reviews for chapters 5, 11, 12, 13/14, 15, 16, the second 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, and 24!)

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-17
Reviewid: 132734Chapter: 24
Chapter 24
HARRY was POISONED?!?!?!?!?!?!?
no way jose. NO. WAY. JOSE.
WHAT IS HERMY'S ANIMAGIS?!?!?!
WHO POISONED HARRY?!?!?!
WHY DO I HAVE AN URGE TO BREAK INTO A TAP-DANCE?!?!?!
WHY AM I ASKING YOU ALL THESE QUESTIONS?!?!?!
WHY DON'T I JUST GO AHEAD TO CHAPTER 25?!?!?!
OKAY, FINE, I WILL!!!!

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-17
Reviewid: 132733Chapter: 23
Chapter 23
Hey! Guess what? it's two years after the Ootp came out (so i REALLY hope you're done with this story, seeing as it was being written at the same time ootp came out) so i'm going to tell which of your predictions were true:
3
7
and...
8 (well...kind of. that's more in the sixth book)
Yes, the sixth book has come out too!
and, unforetunately, 4 still hasn't happened yet. NOT EVEN IN THE SIXTH BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
oh boy! just two more chapters left for me to read! wait a minute... TWO?!?!?! I'VE ALREADY READ 23 CHAPTERS!!! OH NO!!! I'M ALMOST DONE WITH THE STORY!!! THEN WHAT WILL I READ ON THE SUGARQUILL?!?!?! hmm... maybe i'll tackle After the End by Arabella and Zsenya...
YIP-DEE-DOODLES!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-17
Reviewid: 132702Chapter: 22
Chapter 22
YEAH!!!!!! GO HARRY!!!!!!!! KNOCK SOME SENSE INTO THAT RON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!HE NEEDS IT!!!!! HARRY NEEDS IT EVEN MORE!!!! HARRY, KNOCK SOME SENSE INTO YOURSELF!!!!!! AND IF YOU DON'T, I WILL!!!!!!!!!!!!! I AM TOTALLY FIRED UP NOW!!!!!!! THANK YOU JELSEMIUM!!!!!! YOU TOTALLY MADE MY DAY!!!!!!! ACTUALLY, WHAT REALLY MADE MY DAY WAS DRESSING HARRY AND SNUFFLES IN MATCHING GREEN & YELLOW GODFATHER GODSON OUTFITS!!!!!!!!! ONLY TOO BAD FOR ME, CUZ MY FRIEND MADE ME CHANGE HARRY AND SNUFFLES INTO MORE NORMAL CLOTHES!!!!!!! SO NOW I'M RATHER UPSET!!!!! BUT AT LEAST I MANAGED TO GET RON AND HERMIONE INTO MATCHING PIRATE (MORE THAN JUST) PALS OUTFITS!!!!!! COMPLETE WITH EYE PATCH AND ALL!!!!!

SEE YA'LL AT CHAPTER 22!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-17
Reviewid: 132694Chapter: 21
Chapter 21
whoa. whoa whoa whoa whoa WHOA.
okay, i think it's ok for hermy to hug harry, but to KISS HIM?!!? on the MOUTH?!?!
dat's different.
like i always say...
R/H 4-EVER!
H/G 4-EVER!
AND AS FOR H/H I SAY
ABSOLUTELY NEVER!

poor harry. forced to wear somethin that resembles shoes.
you know, that's a weird word. shoe. why is it called shoe? i never really thought of that before. shoe. it's like... shoo. or shu. only more formal. okay, i'm just gonna shut up now and go on to chapter 22.

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-17
Reviewid: 132685Chapter: 20
Chapter 20
AAAAWWWW!!!!!!!!!!
GO SNUFFLES!!!!!!!
and...
TURN HERMIONE INTO A STINKIN' WOODCHUCK!!!!
It's REELY buggin' me. really. also, where are Hermione and her 'rents staying? in some ward in the hospital? i dunno, you might of mentioned it somewhere in the story and i missed it. i sometimes skim when i'm in a hurry. like last chapter, i had to go eat dinner so i just read to last 5 paragraphs in a jiffy.

buh-bye. buh-bye. buh-bye. buh-bye.
SEE YA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-16
Reviewid: 132662Chapter: 19
Chapter 19
What IS Hermione's animagus form? will we find out in future chapters? I think so. I HOPE so.
Is it a woodchuck?
PLEASE let it be a woodchuck.
It just so matches Hermione, i mean the buck teeth, the brown fluffy fur...
It is SO Hermione!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-16
Reviewid: 132607Chapter: 18
Chapter 18
WWWEEEIIIRRRDDD!!!!!!!!!!!!
i want hermione to be turned into something! (pouts) preferably a woodchuck.

how much wood could
a woodchuck chuck
if a woodchuck
could chuck
wood.
but a woodchuck
couldn't chuck
wood if a
woodchuck
was my cheeseburger.

(bows)
my friend taught me that one!

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132605Chapter: 17
Chapter 17
WHAT IS RON?!?! IS HE AN OWL?!?! HUH? HUH? IS HE? IS HE? IS HE?
I know. I'm annoying.

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132601Chapter: 16
Chapter 16 (AGAIN!!!)
why is THIS chapter 16 the same as the first chapter 16 and chapter 15? WHY ARE THERE EVEN TWO 16'S?!?!?!?!

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132600Chapter: 15
Chapter 16
why is 16 the same as 15?

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132599Chapter: 14
Chapter 15
NO!NO!NO!NO!NO!
You CAN'T DO THAT!!!!!!!!!
NO CLIFFIES ALLOWED!!! NONE!!! YOU IS A BAD GIRL!!!
what's the golden ball? what happened to Harry? what happened to mr. Granger? Is he dead? is harry's grandpa working in st. Mungo's? or just living there? is it even st. mungo's they're in? hang on let me go check... yeah i just re-read of snakes and badgers. WHY DOES THIS ALWAYS HAPPEN TO ME??? PLEASE WRITE MORE!!! I HATE CLIFFIES!!! oh wait, you've finished this story... OH! that means i can just go ahead to chapter 16! oh crap, first i have to get connected to the internet again!!!
CRAP CRAP CRAP CRAP CRAP!!!!!
STUPID STUPID DIAL-UP!!!

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132594Chapter: 13
Chapter 13/14
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS CHAPTER!!!
But i have a question:
Why does it say skipping 13 and going straight to 14 when there really isn't a 14 either?
IT'S JUST BLANK SPACE!!!!
(see ya at the end of chapter 15!)

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132593Chapter: 12
Chapter 12
GGGRRRAAANNNDDD!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I absolutely LOVE the idea of Harry going Animagus. Will Ron and Hermy become critters too? For Hermione i suggest a woodchuck. Ron, a lion, and Harry, a duck. It suits him.
Right, anyway...
R/H 4-EVER!!! H/G 4-EVER!!! AND AS FOR H/H I SAY ABSOLUTELY NEVER!!!

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132592Chapter: 11
Hey! guess what? everytime i read a new CHAPTER of this WoNdErFuL (that looks cool) story i'll write a review. even though i just finished capter 11 and my first review was at the end of chapter 5 (where harry gets old with his white hairs!)

WrItE tO mE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: ~Date: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132590Chapter: 11
I LOVE YOU! A BUSHEL AND A PECK! A BUSHEL AND A PECK AND A HUG AROUND THE NECK! A HUG AROUND THE NECK AND EXCUSE ME BECAUSE I CAN'T REMEMBER THE REST OF THE WORDS TO THIS SONG!!!!
right...sorry about that...BUT I SERIOUSLY LOVE YOU YOU'RE AN AWESOME WRITER!!!!
(so you wanna change the world...what are you waiting for?)

Reviewer: Artist in DisguiseDate: 2005-09-15
Reviewid: 132545Chapter: 5
HI HI HI HI HI!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Wow, Harry's getting OLD! Like, OLD-old. Like prune juice-old. Right. Does me reviewing mean that you'll write to me in a chapter? Cuz...well...I think that you might be done with this story so since you won't be adding more you'll never take the time to answer my poor lonesome self with a measley little reply (sniff) I'M SO HEART-BROKEN!!!!!!!!!! Pity me! I long for help! Please answer me so I won't miss the fun of an author on the sugarquill writing to ME! (sniff) Anyway, i really like this story, i think it's actually going somewhere, unlike some other stories on here that are just BAD. Buh-bye!

p.s. write back! To me! Pleeze! (weird...normally it's the AUTHOR who's begging for eviews...)
p.p.s. YEA PIGWIGEON! YEA SOUP! YEA DIVINATION! (not)
p.p.p.s. I'm sorry for the long review.
p.p.p.p.s. REALLY sorry.
p.p.p.p.p.s. seriously, i apologize...
p.p.p.p.p.p.s. REMEMBER! WRITE BACK!
p.p.p.p.p.p.p.s. H/G 4-EVER!!!
p.p.p.p.p.p.p.p.s. R/H 4-EVER!!!
p.p.p.p.p.p.p.p.p.s. H/H ABSOLUTELY NEVER!!!
p.p.p.p.p.p.p.p.p.p.s. I think that's enough post-scripts...

Reviewer: Disassembly of ReasonDate: 2005-04-18
Reviewid: 119872Chapter: 1
And good morning to you.

Standard product warning for review: I quite enjoyed the story as a whole, but being the kind of reviewer I am, I will tend to comment more upon potential weak points than stuff I liked, although I'll try to do that too.

"...crooning in that saccharine way that meant she was talking to Dudley."

:) But Harry, as it turns out, doesn't know *everything* there is to know about his aunt.

"Harry could not imagine what apocalyptic phenomenon could get his cousin out of bed at six o'clock on a muggy July morning, but whatever it was, the crack of dawn was too early to deal with it. He refused to contemplate the end of the world while most of said world was still asleep."

:) I like the general drift of the above sentences; cute. The last sentence is a little long for a punchline, but the humor is good.

Given all his years of living under the stairs (and thus having a surround sound seat, as it were, to anyone else in the house coming downstairs from the bedrooms to the kitchen), plus his years of chipping in with cooking breakfast, Harry's probably pretty used to waking up early, I suppose.

Dudley *might* get up early on Christmas morning, but I'd be prepared to entertain the notion that he's spoiled too rotten even for *that* amount of effort. It wouldn't be worth putting Harry through Christmas with the Dursleys during his Hogwarts years to find out, though, would it?

Dudley might make a little effort to get up for a TV program or to play a video game, if he thought the entertainment was good enough, but that's about it. And even that seems questionable.

Good call on the Apocalypse being needed to get Dudley up early on a summer morning, in short.

--

Harry having a colorless, shapeless dressing gown fits in with his wardrobe as a whole, of course. He's lucky even to have one, since it's not part of his Hogwarts shopping list, and would therefore be part of his Dursley-given Muggle wardrobe.

Hmm. I like the touch of giving Petunia a more complex characterization than "that awful neat-freak woman Harry has to live with in the holidays." Here she actually turns out to like cats (which to many people would make her not quite so bad). Given Marge Dursley's fondness for dogs, one could lay out a plausible backstory for Marge and her brother not having any use for cats that would explain why Petunia has never had any around the house (and thus why Harry didn't know she likes them).

There *is* a canon snag - namely, early in PA Harry observed that "Aunt Petunia hated animals". If he'd just meant dogs, he could've said so. But if spic-and-span Petunia did like animals, cats would be a candidate.

Thinking about it, I think the potential for shed fur and clawed furniture would turn off canon Petunia, really. But she could perhaps get around that and still be annoyingly in character. Overlooking the issues of a pet interfering with Petunia's obsessive housekeeping, I can see her with a declawed, spoiled rotten, super-annoying pet (annoying the way Marge's Ripper is annoying, by ganging up on Harry with the Dursleys). I'm starting to think of the white Persian cat from the James Bond movies, now, so I'd better drop this line of thought.

Of course, this cat isn't going to be spoiled like that, I know.

"Little Missy" is actually on the not-so-bad end of the Petunia pet name spectrum, when you consider the rubbish she's come up with to refer to Dudley over the years. The author could've come up with something much, much more gooey and still have been believable.

--

Ah. Vernon is allergic to cats.

I don't think a typical cat would be all that congenial with Vernon Dursley's outlook, anyway. That is, even if cats didn't give him physical symptoms, I don't think he'd like their attitude.

(As an aside, JKR herself is allergic to cats, which is why Hagrid is too. Consequently, being allergic to cats shouldn't be *too* closely associated with being a bad person in Potter fanfic, e.g. using it as a symbol of Dursleyish characterization or some such thing. Not that Jelsemium is doing that here, but it's worth mentioning as a general principle of staying within JKR-ish bounds of fanfic.)

Hmm. Since Vernon's allergic, wouldn't a typical cat go out of her way to cozy up to him once he stopped making sudden moves? :)

--

One thing I often look for in fanfic is consistent use of point of view in a scene. That is, if the point of view changes suddenly from one character to another without an obvious transition (such as a scene break), I tend to remark on it.

"Petunia, on the verge of saying she hadn't known Vernon was awake, trailed off."

That, for instance, sounds like a one-line switch to Petunia's viewpoint in the middle of the scene. To get the information across without breaking from Harry's viewpoint might take more work, but I think the end result would be worth the trouble.

--

I don't think Vernon's referring to Harry as "Boy" should result in "Boy" taking a capital letter. It's not as though "Boy" were a nickname; Vernon's opinion and treatment of Harry are so low that he doesn't think of him as enough of a person for that: "like something very nasty that couldn't understand them, like a slug." (from PHILOSOPHER'S STONE, about how the Dursleys refer to Harry in his presence.)

Might be worth mentioning that the "aiming a swat at Harry's head" tack is something that Petunia, not Vernon, did in CS (though with a frying pan there). My impression is that in canon Vernon mostly just tends to swell up and look threatening while yelling. In extreme cases his preferred move seems to be to get a stranglehold on Harry's throat, rather than trying to throw a punch.

Otherwise, though, I like the way both Vernon and Petunia are characterized in the scene. Conceding that for the sake of the story Petunia likes cats, everything else works pretty well so far for their dialogue and characterization.

--

Nice touch, that Harry responded to Petunia's silent plea, and that "he was never sure why afterward." That works for me in characterization. I can see Harry going along with that if Petunia were being halfway decent to him for once.

"It's not...a cat," he finished.

:) Now *this* is an interesting line of defence for Harry to take. I like this. He might have trouble pulling it off with a straight face, though.

Interesting backstory for how Pixie got her name: the first magical creature Petunia could think of on the spur of the moment. I suppose the cat's lucky Petunia didn't think of gnomes first, or something.

Question: Since the Dursley household has never kept cats thanks to Vernon's allergy, how would Petunia know that Dudley's allergic without Harry knowing as well?

It would provide a neat, tidy explanation for why Dudley might be kept out of Mrs. Figg's way, of course, should such an explanation be needed. But since Harry used to be at Mrs. Figg's whenever the Dursleys needed her to watch him, wouldn't that have caused problems sometimes if Harry came back to Number Four covered with cat hair?

Since Pixie is still quite young and small, the cat carrier idea might well work as long as Hedwig doesn't disapprove too much. Clever idea.

Strictly British nitpick:
- I suspect the chapter should use "dressing gown" throughout rather than changing to "robe" partway through.

Scene from Petunia's point of view. It's a very good call on the author's part that Petunia wouldn't do anything so friendly as thinking of Harry by his given name. The Dursleys have only done so on a handful of occasions in canon, mostly during the 'letters from no one' episode when they were worried about being spied on.

I don't recollect that we've heard Petunia calling Harry anything in particular in canon, so "Potter" is a reasonable choice. "That awful boy" seems specific to James Potter rather than his son.

--

I quite like this story's by-play between various combinations of Weasley siblings. Ginny's characterization in this pre-OP story dovetails pretty well with post-OP characterization, even, which is quite rare.

Harry usually signs his letters with his given name instead of his initials, but he *was* in a terrible rush.

Reviewer: bookworm_jenDate: 2005-01-26
Reviewid: 112199Chapter: 8
I was going to wait till I had finished the whole story to review, but this chapter was just too funny. I love the prank calls!

---?I have an Esperanto ? English dictionary,? Emma said. ?Let me look up a phrase.?

?You could just make up some gibberish,? Rupert pointed out. ?They wouldn?t know.?

?I would know,? Emma answered haughtily as she headed for the library.---

Hysterical!

Reviewer: nanaDate: 2005-01-02
Reviewid: 109543Chapter: 25
Hy! I've read your story today and really enjoyed it. Your writing is very entertaining, the characters well done, and you are much closer to canon 5 than any other story I've read! Thank you for sharing this!

Reviewer: ArcaDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97829Chapter: 3
Hey... I'm liking your fic quite a lot, and so it was a huge dissapointment for me to find that you had named Hermione's parents like the actors that do Ron and Hermione in the movies. I was taking your fic seriously but I have to say it's entirely distracting. I'll really try to not think about it, but if there's a lot more mention to them in future chapters I know I'll just have to stop reading.

Reviewer: AndreasDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95876Chapter: 13
I enjoyed the story up to chapter 12; then however there is an error on the site; chapters 13, 14 and 15 are missing, chapter 16 is double. Can this be recovered somehow? I'd prefer the whole story...

Reviewer: geraDate: 2004-07-18
Reviewid: 92991Chapter: 25
wow! it's amazing!!!

Reviewer: BenDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92722Chapter: 3
Hi,
I'm only on chapter 3 but I am enjoying this fan-fic greatly, so far it's one of the best I have read....thank you and I hope you finish it.

Reviewer: VrushaliDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83692Chapter: 2
Giiny's name is Ginevra, not Virginia.
See jkrowling.com

Reviewer: Colin SawyerDate: 2004-05-13
Reviewid: 82508Chapter: 25
good story. Thank you for clearing up the UST in the last stretch and for not making ron a giant prat. But wow did you wallop on poor Harry. That kid is going to be lucky if he isn't stunted and sickly for life at the rate you're going! An eloquent handling of Cho as well, as opposed to the "Human Hosepipe" route that JKR took. I can only wonder what you thought of OoTP now though as your version of fofth year was considerably more cheery in its over all scope. However you have given me the notion that JKR is probably going to put Harry in A coma for book six at the end and leave us on a cliffie till book seven. That harlot.

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78650Chapter: 25
Your story was very well written, you should continue it into Harry's 6th and 7th year.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76215Chapter: 22
Joe Rolling and Kathleen Murray. *Right* ::sniggers::

Reviewer: gabyDate: 2004-01-18
Reviewid: 67586Chapter: 25
luv it!! it was really gd!! cant wait to read yor other ones!

Reviewer: MelodieDate: 2004-01-17
Reviewid: 67469Chapter: 25
Very nice fic, it kept me interested all the way to the end. Your writing style reminds me a lot of Louis Sachar's in the Wayside School books. Short, abrupt, funny sentences-- like when Ron keeps thinking every shade of red Hermione turns looks good on her. I think some of your explanations got a bit confusing... and I'm not too fond of introducing new "main" characters (like Opal) because I don't think fan fic writers can develop them well enough so that they fit seamlessly into the Harry Potter universe. Or maybe they just don't seem to fit well because Rowling never wrote about them. Other than that... Great job.. I actually burst out laughing multiple times. xD

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65258Chapter: 1
It ended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Noooooooooooooooooooooooooo, you can't do this to me. What's Hermione's animagus form????? I want more, more I tell you! You are getting very sleepy. You will return to this website tomorrow and post a sequel.

Reviewer: ChelseaDate: 2003-11-27
Reviewid: 60932Chapter: 25
That came to a very abrupt end but good nonetheless. I love how you had Harry calling Sirius Dad. As I am writing this so long after Order came out you probably know what it is like for a person who knows what happend to Sirius to hear Harry call him Dad.

Reviewer: AnastasiaDate: 2003-11-23
Reviewid: 60582Chapter: 3
Hi there! I am really enjoying reading this story! It's very well written and ingenious! I'll certainly enjoy reading more from you! Thanks!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-11-03
Reviewid: 58614Chapter: 25
I'm so happy I found this story! It's absolutely wonderful. The writing itself is exquisite, and flows well. You manage to capture and paint the scenes perfectly to draw me in, and have it mesh with the emotions of the scenes. The characterizations are, as well, spot on. I especially adore your Ginny. Truly a work of art so far. Thanks so much for this.

-Kate Lynn

Reviewer: Geoff WatsonDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58255Chapter: 1
Chapter 13/14? are missing and chapter 15 is duplicated.

Could you please fix this?

Geoff.

Reviewer: RichardDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55419Chapter: 25
Very good

Reviewer: no oneDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52231Chapter: 8
o God. those phone calls r so funny im in tears

Reviewer: jessieDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51684Chapter: 25
i really like ur story...but i would like to knwo what herminoes amgui form is!

Reviewer: Miss SnufflesDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50016Chapter: 2
Jel,

Great start so far. :) I've only read to Chapter Two, but your writing is very good. Teehee, and the fat farm! Nice touch there. And I also love Ron's struggle with the letters, and Harry freaking out about the possibility of Flirty!Hermione.

On to the next chapter . . .

M. Snuffles

Reviewer: Iain AlkatrallmDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48456Chapter: 25
tell me are you writing a sequel, because its a great story and nice ending but I am sure you could carry this on to another story!!

Reviewer: w5Date: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42704Chapter: 22
I LOVE THIS BOOK!

Reviewer: SummerDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40887Chapter: 25
YAY! That was an absoloutly PERFECT ending. The whole story was great! i was reading and thinking to myself, "I can't wait to see THAT on film!" then I remembered that this was an internet fanfiction and not JKR. You sound so much like her.Keep up the the good work and I can't wait to see it on the silver scre- oh, bugger.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 39833Chapter: 25
Wow. There is so much that I want to say about this fic, I don't think I can fit it all in.

1- I loved the way you wrote Mr. and Mrs. Granger. I don't know why, I just really liked it.

2- Ron's one liners were hysterical. "Be still your heart!" I could not stop lauhging there. Brilliant.

3- I liked the whole Lily's trunk idea. Very innoventive.

4- I also really liked the way you portrayed Ron and Ginny as brother and sister. There were some really nice moments with them.

I can't remember if I wanted to say anything else. Overall, the fic was wonderful. Poor Harry, he does seem to attract so much trouble, doesn't he. lol. Brilliant. (my new favortie word) It was brilliant.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-06-26
Reviewid: 38618Chapter: 22
I loved the inter-House interactions in this chapter. I love reading about the students working nicely together.

I also loved Harry taking up a collection for Ron! What an eyecatching way of doing it! :D

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-06-26
Reviewid: 38617Chapter: 21
The bit about Bill leaving his job breaking curses for a job that is cursed was a KEWL hint that he was the new Defense teacher :)

Poor Harry. What an experience! Fudge ought to be horsewhipped.

I'm glad Colin lent him clothes. It would have been cute if all the Gryffindors had chipped in, tho, so Harry would have wound up wearing Neville's sweater, Seamus' trousers, etc. and looking adorably mismatched, but your way was most practical. Good job!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-06-26
Reviewid: 38615Chapter: 20
What a cool battle scene! And Dr. Opal emerging as the bad guy came out of nowhere! I'm so glad everyone had a chance to shine, and they all came out alive :)

LOL on Molly crying. Arthur's probably the veteran of many a soaking so he was glad to see someone else take his turn!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-06-26
Reviewid: 38613Chapter: 19
Ah, I've found my place again. The last two chapters were great :) your descriptions were a lot of fun -- I especially loved the one about Moody and Arthur's voices blending so well!

I'm glad Harry had a nice birthday party with more than just the Weasleys in attendance. I loved the friendly inter-House rivalry between the doctors, and do I see Ron making friends with a Slytherin??? (I liked how you noted that Pansy and Millicent were rather shy at first -- it shows how they have to LEARN to be more sociable instead of just taking to the others right off. Very realistic.)

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-06-21
Reviewid: 38244Chapter: 25
Finished! Woohoo!

And let me say that this story was great. It had great plot twists, well-developed minor characters, good dialogue (letters included), and all that good stuff. :-)

Now it's time for me to go get my copy of OotP!!! (YAY!)

Until the next story,

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-06-21
Reviewid: 38241Chapter: 21
Sorry for the short review, but I wanted to prove that I'm still reading this story. :-)

No time or energy for a real review (it's 4 AM, lol), but I would like to say that the last few chapters were great.

Dr. Opal-- Was not expecting that. Thought she might have some secrets of her own, but I didn't think she would want to hurt Harry...!

Attack of the Giant Chess Set II -- interesting recycling of that idea.

The kidnapping-- Idiot Fudge. I get the impression that Malfoy really wasn't Malfoy.

Rigel-- Yet another character with potential.

As always, great dialogue and nice plot twists. I'll try to read the last four chapters tomorrow morni- ... er, when I get up tomorrow. LOL. Hopefully I'll be finished before my copy of OotP gets here! :-)

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: Nathan BaxterDate: 2003-06-21
Reviewid: 38205Chapter: 9
>“No, not really, I was just guessing,” Harry said. There was a pause and then
>Harry added. “You know, I think Errol did that deliberately. At least, he’s
>looking very pleased with himself, and he doesn’t look inclined to move. I’m
>afraid I’m going to have to hang up so I can see to them.”

...My ribs hurt. Thank you, the entire phonecall sequence was beautiful.

Blessed be.
-n

Reviewer: JohnDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 37960Chapter: 25
Nice, very, very nice.

Observation though, in one of the cleanups of over posts the chapter about Sirius freaking out about Harry turning into a cat and Ginny and her tangle with the hunting cloak and sleepy spindle have vanished.

I enjoyed lots of laughs and thankyou very much.

Reviewer: uremiaDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 37957Chapter: 25
Hello! This is the first time I reviewed this fanfic and I just want to say that I have followed and anticipated every chapter that you uploaded. I actually read this more in the ff.net and gt.net (I'm too lazy to post there).
I want to add that I have enjoyed every that I have spent reading this. I laughed, giggled and at times even cried at the scenes that you so lovingly created. I can't give a greater praise than saying that this one of the best fanfics that I've read (I don't want to say that you'll beat JKR because the two of you have different styles.) I truly enjoyed this story and I very much look forward to "A Sirius Situation".

Many thanks!

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 37935Chapter: 25
Jill, Outstanding Story, I really enjoyed reading it!! Perfect ending also! I cannot stress how much I'll look forward to reading "A Sirius Situation"! Enjoy reading Book V... And we should both keep our fingers crossed for just romance in Canon! “Transferro mmph!” :D

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 37921Chapter: 25
aw, that was so wonderful!! You seriously are an awesome writer, I've spent all day finishing this story. But about the awesome writer part-you really are great because what you wrote, don't take offense, but was totally unbelievable. Like, all that shit that went down just isn't fesable for multiple reasons. But the way you wrote it and DRAGGED me into the story-it all seemed possible. Like the evil Dr. Opal (oh I can't BELIEVE her!) And Fudge flipping out and locking Harry up, and him constantly being sick. And Snape is SUCH a git!

But I must thank you for the wonderful image of Harry in those robes the twins gave them smacking a bed pan and Quidditch magazine together. I laughted for 5 mintues after I read that and it kept me smiling through the wonderful we-have-no-money-because-YOU-picked-a-private-college conversation I had with my dad. At one point I was leaning against my door I was laughing so hard.

And I just love what you did with Millicent. She turned into such a wonderful girl! And the way you actually developed Pansy and her father was great. Of course Malfoy shall always be a git. And Colin Creevey had a picture of EVERYTHING didn't he? Anyways...I can't wait for a Sirius Situation.

But Harry in those dress robes...man. What a laugh.

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 37891Chapter: 23
“This party is really important to me because it’s my best chance of fulfilling a life-long ambition of mine,” Ginny confided.



“Really?” Harry looked curious, but not wary. Obviously, it hadn’t occurred to him that one of her life-long ambitions might be to jump his bones.

That's great also LMAO!!

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 37888Chapter: 23
Jill, I absolutely love this sentence!!!
"To Ginny, it finally boiled down to one simple fact. Harry Potter had said she was beautiful. She had to concentrate very hard not to start skipping."
****
I can picture her skipping and Harry smiling, absolutely brilliant! :)

Reviewer: AnkalagonDate: 2003-06-19
Reviewid: 37800Chapter: 25
I can't express how much I've enjoyed this particular fanfic..I found the fact that Harry was in the hospital wing so much particularly hillarius :) Great job Jel..cant wait till A Sirius Situation ;]

Reviewer: jenshieDate: 2003-06-18
Reviewid: 37419Chapter: 18
that was SOOO good! and funny! write more please, PLEASE write more, only 4 days left (till book 5, duh) so hurry! thnx!
**JENSHIE**
p.s. write more please!

Reviewer: JaelonnaDate: 2003-06-17
Reviewid: 37285Chapter: 18
Aaaaaaaaahhhhhh!! Jelsemium!!! i held my breath the entire time!!! of course, only the best written fics can make people do this! thought you should know!
ginny really needs to sort out her paranoia, haha.
again all the characters are expertly portrayed (thus, i hold my breath: like in a fic by Arabella, or dare i say, the real thing).
love from Jaelonna
ps the cold is all better -- wonder if it was a a little written magic that helped send it on its way?

Reviewer: CalimoraDate: 2003-06-17
Reviewid: 37266Chapter: 13
What happened to chap 15?

Reviewer: Jill W.Date: 2003-06-17
Reviewid: 37248Chapter: 1
As you may have noticed, my account has been acting up. The Sugar Quill staff has been working to fix this. I may or may not finish posting all twenty-five chapters of this story.

It's likely to make it up at GryffindorTower.net or FanFiction.net.

Or email me at JadeyWeb@aol.com and I will be happy to send you the remaining chapters.

Thank you all for the lovely reviews!

Jill W. / Jelsemium

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2003-06-17
Reviewid: 37230Chapter: 18
hehe, good chapters, sorry I hadn't reviewed, I've been busy! Its great, and all that jazz, I would write more, but its storming real bad so I need to get off the computer! Can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-06-17
Reviewid: 37228Chapter: 18
REVIEW FOR CHAPTER 15

I think an Abyssian's personality is close enough to Harry's that it makes sense that he would turn into one, judging by how that article described the breed. :-)

Poor Rupert. Well, at least he's not bored anymore. I hope no one was hurt badly by that... that Golden Wingless Death-Snitch... whatever it was.

Ron had a vision? Hmm... interesting.

Dumbledore's wardrobe is interesting, too-- gives a whole new meaning to "glow-in-the-dark."

Whoa... is Tiberius a ghost? Mrs. Weasley did say the wing was haunted.

“I’m not too happy myself. There’s already been one murder done in this wing.”

-- Oooh. Chills.

On to Chapter 16....

REVIEW FOR CHAPTER 16

Erm... it's the same chapter as 15.

REVIEW FOR THE OTHER CHAPTER 16

Still the same chapter as 15. You have three chapters that are all the same posted right in a row.

REVIEW FOR CHAPTER 17

Aha! Something new.

The sham pillows remind me of thse window shade things that you put in car windows. You twist them, and they expand to fill up the window, and your twist them back to fold them up again.

I hope there will be more info on Tiberius later.

Uh-oh... Ron's gone and turned himself into an owl. Erm... Harry does know how to get Nicely to turn him back, right?

REVIEW FOR CHAPTER 18

More trunk stuff! Hey, maybe old Tiberius knows something about that ring.

"Bill had left his job of breaking curses for a position that was reputed to be cursed."

-- Bill wouldn't happen to be teaching DADA this year, would he? ;-) That position is rumored to be jinxed, after all....

Nicely is delightfully sarcastic. :-)

Sorry I can't leave detailed reviews-- I'm trying really hard to finish my summer fic reading list before OotP comes out. It's taking up a lot of time. :-)

Looking forward to the next chapter,

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-06-17
Reviewid: 37227Chapter: 17
If Ron wants to be a mediwizard, he's going to have to work on his bedside manner. Heehee :) But he was KEWL. I could imagine him in his robes. You did a good job capturing the dynamic between him and Harry. Doctor Opal sounded great, too!

LOL on the Vitameatavegamin juice! I was wondering who was doing all the arguing and it totally tickled me to find out it was the vending machines! I failed to consider that even wizards would have vending machines :)

And again, the dialogue between the friends was lovely. I enjoyed meeting the "knitten kitten named Mitten in Britain with whom Harry is smitten" (Hermione's reluctant joining in the game was cute). And Ron is a long-eared owl? KEWL, even though for a while there I was imagining a tall, lanky owl with floppy rabbit ears. Hee.

PS I think I saw a sentence saying "LOL indeed" tacked onto one of the paragraphs. Not sure if that's an out-of-character statement or one of Seldes's beta comments that you forgot to remove...anyway, it's somewhere in there :) It's not big deal, it just sounded funny to me.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-06-17
Reviewid: 37219Chapter: 16
Wow, so much happened in this chapter! Great job on Viktor and his family (and all the people who turned out to meet the visitors because they thought Harry was one of them...). Although Viktore came across as rather vain to me, I could tell he really liked Hermione and he did have some rather funny thoughts, like about Ginny and her "private army" ;)

Dr. (Mr.) Granger was sweet, too. I liked how he thought he was being a baby about being alone in the house but didn't care; and the way he barged into the Dursleys to help Harry was wonderful. His description of Hagrid, the White Bumblebee Exterminator, was cute and very in-character -- "hairy biped" sounds just about right for someone who had an intensive scientific education.

Kudos on the inter-House interactions! I like how Pansy sees another side of her own Housemate and also sees Neville in a different light, too. (Maybe you can write about how Pansy feels about having to hide her more cordial relationship with Neville when school starts and there are Slytherins around???)

I am so glad no one was killed. Can't wait to find out what happened to Hagrid and Dr. Granger, and how Viktor feels about the aborted vacation, and what Harry is going to say to his grandfather's ghost!

Reviewer: LazaraspasteDate: 2003-06-17
Reviewid: 37217Chapter: 14
I just love Rupert Granger. I love that he went to fetch Harry.
I really liked the section Of Snakes and Badgers. I've been slightly fascinated by Millicent Bulstrode of late and I like the way you depict her and Pansy and Neville. I especially liked this bit:
[QUOTE]“It helps me to forget my troubles,” he’d once commented.

“You need help in forgetting?” Millicent had asked, incredulously.

“Forget what?” Neville had teased.

“Forget it,” Millicent shot back.[/QUOTE]

Hee. I just loved that. I hope we get to see more of them later on or even in another story.

Lazaraspaste

Reviewer: Gwyn ap RhysDate: 2003-06-17
Reviewid: 37204Chapter: 18
Well, somehow I missed several updates, so I'm a bit overwhelmed. Victor's reactions were funny, he really dipped out. I also like Ginny's interactions in Bulgaria.

The trunk is just fascinating. Yay! I like Nicely a lot too.

All the blushing etc was getting a bit tiresome though.

The bit with Millicent, Pansy and Neville was very interesting, and well done. I always enjoy a bit of balanced perspectives when viewing other houses.

Regards
Gwyn

Reviewer: AllieDate: 2003-06-17
Reviewid: 37196Chapter: 14
Eek, I can't beleive I've missed so much of this story. (not to mention not reivewed, sorry!!)

Bbbbbbut - my chapter 15 that is supposedly 'Brace Yourselves' is showing up as "Chapter 16: The Best Laid Plans", followed by another 2 copies of "Chapter 16: The Best Laid Plans". Is it just me, or is there no chapter 15?

Allie
the pathetically hormonal who needs chocolate and fanfic now *sniffle*

Reviewer: SamDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 37189Chapter: 15
Yeah! An update!!!Very clever with the play on names- i'm guessing that that's dumbledore's car. However... you gave an evil cliffhanger. Whyyyyy????????

Good job! More please!

Reviewer: NancyDate: 2003-06-15
Reviewid: 36826Chapter: 15
Wow... that was so much fun. And I almost cried when Harry popped out with codename Dad. AWWWWW. I love the way you handle this stuff... just makes me grin. I don't have too much to contribute right now... I just really love this story, and the way you're writing it, and the characters and their truth to the books.

In a week, we'll all have book 5. How cool is that? ;)

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-06-13
Reviewid: 36459Chapter: 15
Back again! This is great so far! It's funny, though, in one of my fics, Lily's best friend is an Animagus and she turns into a dark red Abyssinian. Although she looks more like a tabby, so Sirius calls her 'Tabby', but that's beside the point. Anyway, I figured out all the in-jokes except the wardrobe and boots one. Although I smacked myself for not catching them. :) Oh, I know who Hypatia is! I've read all of Ozma's fics, btw, and have written a series to go with them. The use of persipacity (sp?) amused me to no end. In an entirely different book, the hero said he wouldn't marry a woman unless she knew what that meant. The heroine, of course, used the word and, while HE stared at HER, his family stared at HIM. It was hilarious to imagine the scene. I liked the Watch Outs and I think you're a wonderful author. I can't remember everything I loved about the fic, but I'm headed over to FF.Net to read what you have posted there. :-D

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36433Chapter: 4
I'm not even close to being caught up, but I needed to comment on Mr. and Mrs. Grangers' names. *shakes head* I wondered when I read the first scene with Hermione and her dad, but I KNEW when I read about hubby and wifey. I had to explain to my mom and she said, "It's the people like you who notice these things." Harrumph! :) Anyway, I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the story.

Reviewer: LazaraspasteDate: 2003-06-11
Reviewid: 36292Chapter: 15
The thing that I like best about this fic is all the insights into the little, every day sorts of things in Harry and Company's lives. Not only that, but seeing different characters interacting with each other. Like Hermione and Dumbledore. I really liked the scenes with them. I liked how Hermione was so playful with Dumbledore, especially since I think there is a tendency to make Hermione's reactions to him border on the reverant. I really like your Ginny. I love her letters to Harry. I loved all your references to different fairy tales.
One of the best parts of the books, I've always thought, is that there are so many beautiful and funny little details that make the whole Wizarding World just pop into a real place. I think that you do the same thing in this fic, you have all these litte details and charcter interactions that just make everything pop into a really great and vivid story.

Looking forward to more,
Lazaraspaste

Reviewer: googligooDate: 2003-06-11
Reviewid: 36287Chapter: 15
* googligoo begins snoring bcuz the chapter is WAY toooo long! oh well, that may mean less waiting*

okay, im awake. i have a question[again!]. why doesnt dumbledore ever get a cavity? i mean, he eats so much candy

-.-
[the pic above is googligoo.]

Reviewer: JaelonnaDate: 2003-06-11
Reviewid: 36286Chapter: 15
I just wanted to say that I've been reading this story from the beginning -- and it has continually kept me thoroughly entertained. Creative but still firmly rooted in canon tradition (particularly still using muggle myths in the story :) ) Today, it made me feel soooo much better even though I'm sick. Good job, Jelsemium, this story only gets better and better.
love from Jaelonna

Reviewer: ladylizzyDate: 2003-06-11
Reviewid: 36276Chapter: 15
Love this chapter!!! you are really bringing the charcters to a new level.. :-) Makes waiting for book 5 much easier. I am proud to say I got all the references in the attic except the applewood wardrobe (shame on me cause C.S. Lewis is one of my FAV authors!!) I love the thought of using the spindle to make defensive weapons...nice twist, keep up the good work.

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2003-06-11
Reviewid: 36247Chapter: 15
Could you PLEASE update at fanfiction.net? Pretty please with sugar on top? It's been on Chapter 19 since May and the waiting's gonna kill me.

Reviewer: EnaDate: 2003-06-11
Reviewid: 36231Chapter: 15
Now, let me just state that I have followed your fic from the begining but have just recently had an extreme urge to review. It is simply amazing how you write and I admire it very much. Even more so, I love the way you portray Arabella Figg, Dumbledore, both the Grangers, Sirius, Petunia...and pretty much all the other characters as well. (The Grangers are a hoot and I am sincerely glad that they have nice, consistent roles in this story.) This is fic wonderful and I enjoyed Harry (Leo) as a cat (tremendously!:)) and agree with all your reasons for making him one. All in all your story has GREAT spunk and promise and I wouldn't change a thing. Please, please, PLEASE add on the next chapter soon, for fear that I shall pass out with the suspense!

I encourage you whole-heartedly and can't wait to read more form you.

Luck and love, Ena

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2003-06-11
Reviewid: 36230Chapter: 15
I have a question. Well, first I want to say that I love your story. All of your characters just FEEL right, you know what I mean? Anyway, in one of the previous chapters (I can't remember which) Sirius is teasing Harry about "the Weasley girl" and calls her "Jenny." Harry corrects him and says, "No, it's Ginny." How would he have known which name Sirius was talking about? They're pronounced the same, it's just the spelling that's different. Jenny is short for Jennifer and Ginny for Virginia. How'd he know? Oh, well, nevermind. I'm being nick-pickity (sp?) Awesome story.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-06-10
Reviewid: 36156Chapter: 15
Yay, the trunk has been opened! The stuff inside it wasn't mysterious or magical, but I loved the items nevertheless. It was a nice slice of the Potters' lives :) and I'm glad Harry wasn't going to let his mother's cloak go to waste.

I also loved Dumbledore's visit to Hermione's house, and Sirius ranting about cats eating his godson. LOL! More soon, please!

Reviewer: LCDate: 2003-06-10
Reviewid: 36136Chapter: 15
Harry is such a gentlemen! And it's too late for it, the mess is already complicated!
Harry makes a perfect cat. And besides, I have experience with a blak cat. They're too aloof to be Harry. Aside from that, well, I can't really see as personal appearance actually has that much to do with Animagi appearance. After all, how can a person really look like a beetle? I can see the glasses, after all, they're traditional wear, but how would a person look like a beetle?
Ah well, that done, let me thank you yet again for a wonderful chapter to read in your delightful story.

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-06-10
Reviewid: 36128Chapter: 15
White Bumblebee!! LOL! The mental image of Exterminator!Dumbledore is too funny!

"To Rupert and Emma, it looked like Dumbledore was working with a device with a lot of dials and buttons. To Hermione, Dumbledore was working with his wand and a phoenix feather. Cool."

-- Very cool.

"She picked the lamp up and rubbed it vigorously. There was a gush of smoke, and Arabic writing appeared in the air. After a few minutes, the Arabic writing disappeared to be replaced with the English translation:

'Sorry, this is not a winning lamp. Please play again.'

Ginny sighed. 'Just my luck.'"

-- LOL!!

Oooh, Harry is a pretty cat. When it was mentioned that he was an Abyssinian, I immediately looked up the breed on the Internet to find out it's personality so I could see if it matched Harry's... only to find out that you quoted the exact description that I read in an author note! LOL!

The cloak is very nice. And Ginny's brothers' reactions to her extrahappy thank-you's were funny. Gack!

Until next chapter(s),

~Dr. Monaco

Reviewer: LCDate: 2003-06-10
Reviewid: 36106Chapter: 14
Yours is Early Earthquake? Mine's late hurricane....
I wonder... will Dumbledore ever find out how Harry learned his hair color?
I love the interactions you have between people. It's so perfect! I can almost picture the conversation in my mind.
So Harry's extra powerful in this story-line? I wonder which of the many posited reasons for Voldemort's pursual of the Potters JKR will hold up, if any....
Thank you, yet again, for a delightful chapter, and let me move on to the next now...

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-06-10
Reviewid: 36079Chapter: 14
No chapter 13? Is this like how there's never a thirteenth floor or room in hotels? A superstition? ;-)

Nice to see a mention of the sphinx, Hypatia. :-)

Aha! So this is what Percy has been working on! You know, I wouldn't mind having an ephermal creature.

This watch idea sounds pretty cool.

On to chapter 15!

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2003-06-10
Reviewid: 36076Chapter: 15
I must thank you for not having any evil cliff hangers!

Chapter 13/14 was great! Harry a cat, that is so funny. I can see him and Sirius now having funny little arguments and having Sirius chasing Harry, that'll be funny.

Why did he just all of a sudden change into a cat? I wanna know that, could be interesting. ANd I hope Harry isn't too sick, that would be sad. OH! I didn't know you were gonna write a sequal, yayness! :) *happy dance*

I think its really cool that Harry gave Ginny his mother's cloak, how sweet. And good thoughts in sending Charlie with the Grangers and Ginny. ummmmmm... There was something else, but I don't remember :-[ oh well, I can save it for next time...

Oh yeah! The 'watch outs', that's really cool, and I like the name, that's really funny! :)

Can't WAIT for the next chapter (I think I say that after every chapter, but that's okay!)

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-06-10
Reviewid: 36069Chapter: 15
aw, thanks for the great chapter!! this was wonderful...and I can't wait to go to Bulgaria!!

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-06-09
Reviewid: 36023Chapter: 12
I like!! It's good that Hermione wasn't so in awe of Dumbledore that she's scared to talk to him. And I LOVE that Ben Franklin quote...bravo!!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-06-09
Reviewid: 36001Chapter: 12
LOL on Harry trying to clean up and fend off overly affectionate kitties at the same time :) It was sweet of Sirius to be overheard saying he wants to "keep" Harry, and then make all sorts of crazy suggestions for Sirius Revenge. (A "shaving cream pie"? Eww!)

Just a thought: Maybe Arthur Weasley was the unfortunate victim of a badly-cast De-Fuzzing Charm? Hee. We love him anyways, bald head and all.

How nice to have Dumbledore visit the Grangers'. I also enjoyed Hermione's exploring the parallels between Harry and other legendary heroes. I'm glad Dumbledore pointed out that it's only the exciting, gory ends that get remembered.

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-06-09
Reviewid: 35998Chapter: 12
Great chapter, as always.

Ah, one must be careful of the dangers of the magical world... such as Dark wizards, an occasional Blast-Ended Skrewt, and shaving hexes. ;-) LOL!

Interesting theory about Snape...

Really good conversation between Dumbledore and Hermione. I like how Hermione used the books to help her describe her worries about Harry, and how Dumbledore helped her see that it's possible that Harry will not die so long as he makes the wise choices.

Looking forward to the next chapter,

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: KimDate: 2003-06-09
Reviewid: 35951Chapter: 12
In the words of Ronald Weasley: Bloody Brilliant and Wicked!!hehe.lol. But seriously, it is written very well and I like the way you wrote Dumbledore deffintely gives justice to JK! Keep Writing!

Reviewer: googligooDate: 2003-06-08
Reviewid: 35902Chapter: 12
in this story, are you making harry shorter than ginny? cuz in another fanfic i read, harry asked ginny to the ball and it was weird cuz ginny was several inches taller than harry. [aah] aniwaes, back on topic. in this chapter, u seem very familiar with mythology and legends. did you reasearch, or did you know about it all along?

googligoo~.^

Reviewer: roseDate: 2003-06-08
Reviewid: 35889Chapter: 6
hey love ya story but when r u gona bring harrys grey hair back into? i like that bit. gr8 story

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2003-06-08
Reviewid: 35874Chapter: 12
Another outstanding chapter, I would give you a longer review, but its 1:30 in the morning, and I just got off work half an hour ago, so you'll have to settle for GOOD JOB!!!

Reviewer: LCDate: 2003-06-08
Reviewid: 35871Chapter: 12
I'm getting tired of typing my name... *sigh*
I love how you're doing Dumbledore. I, however, wonder why any girl would be brave enough to invite a male teacher into their room. I mean, I liked my teachers and all, but if they were on my turf, I'd hide as many secrets as possible.
Mm, I had thought the photos were color as well as black and white, but that's okay, sometimes a black and white captures so much more detail than a color, and I think the detail is what gives the photo the ability to be magical. Although, forgive me if I'm wrong, but doesn't the mention of Harry's album describe the Potters in color? I can't check it, since Book I seems to have wandered off somewhere, but I'm fairly certain they're described.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-06-07
Reviewid: 35814Chapter: 12
Funny, my cat never seemed to care for vinca... but then, we had real catnip in our yard. :-)

Good to hear that Harry has "numerical ambitions." I'm glad you have him so clever and witty. I think people forget that about him.

Dumbledore's line about all good houses having libraries was great. My parents have one, and I'm working on starting my own. It seems that Hermione's quite the scholar of mythology! Makes me curious to read all those old tales myself. Nice touch.

Reviewer: FrankDate: 2003-06-07
Reviewid: 35792Chapter: 11
Nantucket Sleigh Ride: Been there, done that. Try doing it
with a full-grown timber wolf *and* a full grown mostly arctic
wolf, on the same leash, when they see a squirrel. Seeya!

Then there was the response when the local rescue squad went by.
The sirens were viewed as competition, you can imagine the response.

I still have Cheyenne. http://www.elfie.org/~croaker/Footrest1.jpg
She's a bit long in the tooth now. The cat terrorizes her.

Good job with the story so far, let's see more!

Reviewer: SamDate: 2003-06-06
Reviewid: 35565Chapter: 11
Yay!!! he did have a good reason!! I like your story alot! Keep up the good writing!
~Sam

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --