The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Squib Guardian
Review(s): 55

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-26
Reviewid: 142250Chapter: 3
Another superb section. Thanks for a very pleasant short read.

Reviewer: *blank space*Date: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117317Chapter: 3
I've just finished reading all your stories. I love them all. You have put everyone in character, in believeable positions. I will never view Filch or Squibs in the same way again. Please write more stories, I for one will follow you faithfully.

Reviewer: LynnDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49302Chapter: 3
These stories are some of my favorites. I love the new side you've put on Filch, Snape, and the rest and I can't wait to read more.

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-06-14
Reviewid: 36642Chapter: 3
I've been away from fanfiction for a long time, but on the recommendation of a friend I checked out your stories... wow! Instantly hooked. It makes the waiting better to have something pleasant to read meanwhile.

I love your Filch. It was great fun watching you develop his character as your stories progressed. Though I doubt he'll ever be so changed in canon, within your stories I think he's a completely realistic character. The Doors are probably the coolest idea I've seen in fanfic. Wouldn't mind one of those myself. And I'd sure love to get a look at Rowena's library!

Your comparison of Squib children to special needs kids was very touching. My youngest brother is special and I find the attitude of people to often be inconsiderate without them even realizing it. Pity is the most common reaction, or disgust. Neither is right... Bravo for translating a real-life idea into fanfiction. Maybe it will give someone thought, to consider their assumptions. That's what stories are supposed to do...

Anyway, I will be looking forward to reading more from you after OotP comes out. Thank you for several hours of enjoyment, and some new thoughts about HP!

Reviewer: Albino TygerDate: 2003-05-07
Reviewid: 31102Chapter: 3
Wow! I LOVE your stories. I happened across Squib Wizard, and in a matter of two weeks had finished your entire works. I've never heard of HP fanfics from the point of view of the caretaker before. Poor Filch... he's not exactly famous, is he? The thing I most admire about your writing is how you stay close to the book. The characters are excellently portrayed, exactly as JK Rowling intended them to be. Like her amazing novels, your stories are very readable, and of a convenient length. (I'd usually sneak two or three chapters each night before going to bed!) I have to admit that I've fallen for Azoth. The only black kitten just had to choose Snape, of course. Any other kitten wouldn't match his robes. I had a hard time stifling my laughter as I pictured a month-old black ball of fur with claws following the Professor around, much to his annoyance. I keep on picturing scenes in my mind, perhaps five years in the future, when Azoth has grown out of his fluffy cuteness. He'd probably prowl up and down the rows of desks like a deadly panther, glaring at students and making the more sensitive ones so nervous that they falter, earning them a detention and costing them "twenty points from Gryffindor!" Yes, Snape's cat would enjoy pulling rank with the children, just like the person he chose. Mrs. Norris isn't going to be the only cat that students long to kick! I do have a fondness for felines (hence my name- I'm also born in the year of the tiger), but unfortunately, not unlike Hagrid, who loves his animals, cats make me sneeze. Why, out of all things, did I have to be allergic to cats??

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-05-02
Reviewid: 30382Chapter: 1
Awww, Hagrid saying good-bye to his dogs was too cute!

The binding magic of the forest creatures was both creepy and cool. I love how you go beyond the people of the Potterverse and remember that there is a whole rich culture in the wizarding world.

[The ghost-brat had approved the use of a rather nice pale green shade for her walls. She had also grudgingly agreed to consider a tasteful lilac hue for the stalls.] I just love this and the pale green lilac combination is so hideous! I love it!

[Drowns me? In what? The birdbath] Oh that is just such a perfect Harry line! Snarky and so quick-witted.

All your stories have this great fairy tale quality to them. It's like they've been sprinkled with just the right amount of pixie dust to help them fly off the page and become so real.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-04-30
Reviewid: 30188Chapter: 3
<<<Did he take me for a Gryffindor or a Slytherin? Biting back an indignant reply, I simply nodded.>>>
Tee hee...


<<<"No! We can’t send him in there. That thing is much too dangerous!"

"Since when has that ever discouraged Potter?" Severus demanded>>>

Still doesn't like the boy, does he?


<<<"Puts me in mind of someone else I know." I gave him a pointed stare.

Severus glowered at me. You can’t possibly mean what I think you mean, his expression said plainly. After a moment, he looked away.>>>

Snape has more in common with Harry than either of them will ever admit in 100 years!


<<<"Filch, if you ever tell Potter I said that, you’ll regret it."

"You needn’t worry, Professor. Even if I said anything to Potter, he wouldn’t believe me.">>>

Snape slowly coming around. Amazing!

I'm really excited to see what happens with this new breach in the castle security, because I know that Moldy Voldy will find out soon. What if he gets ahold of Minerva? Yikes!

Wonderful idea of the "Welcome Mat" and the "Door Bell". Those founders were brilliant (well, since you wrote the story, I really should say *you* are brilliant, actually!)

Another great Filch story! You'll see how much I like them around May 5th or so...(*feigns innocence*)

One more thing...that "lilac" reference probably wasn't for me personally...but thanks for it anyway! I feel proud that my color was mentioned in your story...okay, it's Lockhart's color originally, but still...

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-04-30
Reviewid: 30130Chapter: 3
Love the 'welcome mat' and 'doorbell'!! Just excellent.

Drink your tea, Severus, it's good for you! LOL.

LOVED this part: "I won't let anything happen to the boy, Argus," Severus said, stiffly. "The Guardian will have to kill me before it harms him."

Was that supposed to be reassuring? I wondered. But I kept that thought to myself.

Ha-ha! Uh, yeah. Talk to the biiig snake. Ergh. Always with the plans, Prof. Snape... Dumbledore is going to be SO thrilled when he returns! <eg>

Oh Good for Severus, finally admitting that *maybe* Harry needs the cloak and a little help!! Yay! Nothing like a little Growth Opportunity for the dear fellow.

I agree, the Castle needs all its Founders, so in that respect I'm glad the missing part is now where it belongs. Really loved Helga's clever fix - she's no fool!

Great story, thank you and welcome back! (Grey offers to share a freshly-caught fly with Azoth.)

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29908Chapter: 3
Noble Snape, my favourite. I await the next fic eagerly.

Reviewer: SunsethillDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29862Chapter: 3
The fleshing out of your addition of the founders' rooms just keeps getting better. I still love your portrayal of Snape and Filch--sympathetic but in character. Are we going to see what happens when Harry uses green and silver to get to Salazar's Study?
Please tell us you're working on that story! ;-)

Reviewer: LizBeeDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29858Chapter: 3
I like this ending -- it holds a lot of promise for the next story (...there'll be a next story, right? You want bribes? I can do bribes...). I'd like to see Filch, Snape and Harry learn the full truth of Harry's background. In fact, I'd like to see Filch, Snape and Harry full stop. You could write a fic about them reading the phone book -- I'd read it.

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29847Chapter: 3
Excellent ending. I'm mostly amused at just how much Harry and Snape will tell Filch, with the condition of "Don't tell [the other] I said that." Too funny.

Reviewer: Herm-own-ninny & B. NonymousDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29838Chapter: 1
It's cool to see one more installment of the Squib Chronicles before OotP arrives in our hands. B. & I both love these stories, and I've been checking the Quill daily while waiting for this epilogue (fortunately, P & E are giving us a quiet few minutes to read it).

Any ideas for your post-Ootp projects? Or are you waiting to see how the Canon plays out, first? I, for one, am curious to see how you develop your Dudley -- I was pleasantly surprised to see him mature.

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29837Chapter: 3
I love the idea that the Welcome Mat and Door Bell were pre-planned. I also really enjoy the way you (literally, magically) bring the castle to life. Myrtle's rose-colored glass blocks--LOL, she just keeps getting new ideas. I wish I could see the finished product, really. Snape and Filch discussing Harry and the cloak was fun. I really enjoy Filch's POV, better all the time.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29834Chapter: 3
The bell and welcome mat were so KEWL! What a wonderfully homey alarm system! (LOL on the horde of house-elves anxious for someone to look after, too!)

Re: Myrtle and the rose glass bricks, whatever for? It's a girls' toilet, hence there is no one of the opposite sex to spy on. And Harry and Ron know better than to *go* there!

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29825Chapter: 3
A mat and a loud bell. Heh, not a very effective security system at first glance... but this bell will wake up everything on the grounds it seems. Cool idea. However, I think the best part of it all is that Voldy will be stuck in Slytherin's study.

Like one of those roach motels: Voldy checks in, but he doesn't check out!

Looks like the Castle is getting ready for an encounter with Voldy.

Let's see... skeletal, snake-man versus a huge, ancient, castle saturated with magic....not hard to figure out those odds. LOL.

All of this bad business is really taking it's toll on Snape. I very nearly feel sorry for him.

Until the next fic,

~Dr. Monaco~ (And Whiskers, who says, "Mrow!")

Reviewer: Bored Beyond Belief (my pen name, not an opinion!Date: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29818Chapter: 3
I must say that I avoided this series for a while simply because I wasn't much of a fan of Filch, but what a treasure I've been missing! I thoroughly enjoy how you depict him, and his cantankerous behavior still fits in with the thoughts you've given him.

He's interesting and a far more intregal part of Dumbledore's defense of Hogwarts than I ever credited him for. He's also an interesting liason for Snape, with a unique relationship with the Potion's Master.

Of course, my favorite dynamic is still Filch's growing understanding of *who* Harry Potter really is, rather than what he perceived him to be. His perceptions of Harry are very similiar of Snape's. He, too, expected him to be pampered and coddled and to not respect the rules put forth for his own protection. Only once he saw what Harry's life truly was like, and how the fates seem to conspire against him *anyway*, did he reasses his own prejudices against him.

In a way, I hope he'll serve as a liason between Harry and Snape as well, teaching Snape about the real Harry Potter.

Well, I am eager to see what the upcoming year brings. Please continue with your marvelous story! The dialogue is natural, the reactions are very in-character, and the underlying sentiment that is at the heart of Harry Potter is all there.

I look forward to your next installment.

Reviewer: LCDate: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29803Chapter: 3
Um... did I forget to r&r these like I'd promised to? *smack* Shtupid. Ah well. On to happier matters, I've probably said it before, but I'll say it again. I love what you do to Filch. It's a really precious series. When shall the next wondrous story grace these pages of sugarary authorship? *blink* Okay.... too many peeps, sodas, and Shakespeare... I'm talking flowery again... I'd better run and hide before my brother finds out.

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29776Chapter: 3
What to say? This was a wonderful way to end the story. I particularly like the Welcome Mat and Doorbell. Very ingenious. Poor Filch got more than he bargained for when he offered to re-decorate Myrtle's bathroom. ;)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28837Chapter: 2
Well, I'm glad the Bloody Baron was blunt. It was very Slytherin of him to oppose Snape (one of his own, so to speak) because to do so would bring about the more desirable outcome.

Salazar's Chamber was lovely. It's so far removed from the Chamber of Secrets, yet is still like Slytherin at the same time -- he wasn't just a howling bigot, but a man committed to learning as well :) The tapestry was cool, and I'm glad Filch got out of there safely!

I really enjoyed the discussion about Harry. The remarks that he eluded his protectors as well as his enemies, and that the Trio could find the chamber by Christmas, were funny :) I can't wait to see what's in the epilogue!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28835Chapter: 1
Yay! A new story!

I loved the Filch-Hagrid bits here :) We can see from canon that Harry sees them very differently, so it's easy to forget that these two have a past -- as well as a very strong beautiful bond with the Castle -- in common.

Filch's letters were wonderful, too. How sweet of Neville to write him during the summer, and again we have some great Harry-Dudley bonding as reported by Minerva. I really like the way Dudley bumbles about while trying to show that he cares about Harry -- it's infinitely more believable than the two of them just suddenly getting along great!

The redecoration of Myrtle's bathroom was a riot! (Peeves stealing her samples and catalogues was a hilarious touch.) I really enjoyed Filch's masculine frustration over the many shades of pink and purple, and Myrtle throwing a tantrum because her every wish couldn't be met! I really think those two would do great in a home decorating sitcom :D (Sirius could be the omnipresent host/commentator poking fun at the proceedings...until he gets whacked by the Smeltings stick!)

Reviewer: RobertDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28702Chapter: 2
I have now read ALL of these wonderful Flich stories and I sure hope that you intend to continue them into the future. What a wonderful and fresh perspective on our favorite world and characters!

You're not the only author here who believes in a "redeemed Dudley". I too, hope that JKR intends to make the Dursley's at least a bit more palateble by the end of her story arc, but who knows... I think my favorite version of Dudley gets nice is in the story "Yet Another Snape Meets the Dursley's Story". Classic line from that one is when Dudley, facing off against Crabe, Goyle and Draco yells "No one thumps on my cousin except ME!" LOL!

Love the stories,
-Rob

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28520Chapter: 2
The space above me was limitless. Stars wheeled overhead. And something vast moved towards me, blotting the stars out as It came. A swaying, sinuous shape... a monstrous Serpent
-Great image! Fantastic room.

"You know as well as I do that if Potter, Weasley and Granger remain true to form, they’ll have found the inner Chamber by Christmas."
-Hah!

"Puts me in mind of someone else I know." I gave him a pointed stare.
-double hah!

Great chapter.

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28490Chapter: 2
<<"At first I only meant to read Slytherin’s notes," he said, miserably. "Purely as an intellectual exercise, since the Alchemist’s Door has been a legend for centuries. But then the work seemed so... possible."

He sighed. "Once I began, I had to persevere. Every difficulty, every setback only made me more determined to succeed.">>
You know, I can imagine him getting sucked into Voldemort's circle the same way: purely as an intellectual exercise at first. The way Snape gets himself onto this "slippery slope" really parallels the way that he probably joined Voldemort in his youth.

I like the notion of Filch saving Snape from himself, and I like the evident respect for Filch that Snape has now: he's willing to give up the Alchemist's Door, which he worked so hard on, because of Filch's word.

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28430Chapter: 2
The tale just keeps getting more interesting! Like Murasaki, I thought of LeGuin's gebbeth, the nothing creature that is the mirror of the self and that can take on human form....I used to have nightmares about that one, too. Oy. I had to read this at bedtime, didn't I?

I very much like the continual comparisons between Severus and Harry, and Severus' annoyance at them when he cathes them, amd the way that Filch's fondness and respect for Severus are, against all odds, leading him to fondness and respect for Harry.

Even when faced by the world serpent, however (oh, my, Salazar had such ... interesting .... pets, didn't he?) I think that promising to fetch pink and purple tiles for Myrtle (Myrtle-coloured tiles! And I can see Filch planting potted crepe myrtle ... ) is too much. Filch may regret his generous panicked vow when faced with tubs of grout. Hey, maybe by then the students will be back, and he can make Harry, Ron, and maybe even Sirius do the work.

Snape needs to learn to listen to his cat. Cats are always right. At least mine tell me so continually :) NICE continuation!

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28429Chapter: 2
Ahh, creatures out of Legend and one of my favorite early Wizard books!! So good to see them again (well, maybe not... given what they were/are.) Was the wonderful flying snake the Worm Oroboros? Or Kukulkan?? Woo-hoo, either one would gulp down Voldie like an oyster on the half-shell with nary a burp! *evil chuckle* Just because you can *talk* parseltongue doesn't mean the snake in question has to obey you... I can see Voldie getting a shock like that someday. And wasn't the bear thing the horrible Gebbeth from 'A Wizard of Earthsea'? If so, Severus is SO lucky! ARgh! That monster gave me nightmares first time I read it. I really hope Severus got rid of it for real. *shudder*

'Describing the vast Serpent to Severus would probably only serve to encourage him. Where rushing into danger was concerned, he was every bit as bad as Potter.' - Hee-hee! This is too true!! If only Argus was good at lying he could've made the Creature seem boring, then Severus would have lost interest! :-D

'He scowled. "You know as well as I do that if Potter, Weasley and Granger remain true to form, they&#8217;ll have found the inner Chamber by Christmas."' - LOL!! Truer words were never spoken!! The Potter Effect indeed. And combined with the Snape Effect... this ought to be good!

'I hoped that Harry Potter would not come anywhere near Hogwarts until the start of the September term.' -- Uhh, yeah, Harry will be at the gates of Hogwarts tomorrow!! :-D That's how these things work!

This was great work!! More to come? And now that the mirror is safely in the Castle's collection, what's to be done with it? (The kids could always take Argus, hop through and visit somewhere peaceful... like Middle-Earth!)

Azoth's eyes are cobalt? As in blue? That would be very striking! Thanks for the next installment! Greymalkin tells Azoth, 'meow!'

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28390Chapter: 2
Oh, I think the image of that guardian will certainly be giving me nightmares tonight!
This is interesting, though, and I'm looking forward to what adventure our favorite Squib finds himself in next!

Reviewer: Jill W.Date: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28341Chapter: 2
Great chapter!

Wow, Filch convinced Snape to be reasonable. That's one of his most impressive feats yet!

Those monsters are really gross! (I mean that as a compliment, by the way.) Loved the big monster being chased away by the bigger monster.

Love your descriptions. Taking the Alchemist's door through the Green-and-silver, the Snake Tapestry, the Inner Study. Much as I love your Harry Potter stories, I think you may want to consider going professional. You are really GOOD!

Loved how Filch dealt with the Midgard Serpent. He couldn't do anything about it, so he just went about his business. I think it's cool that Hagrid inpsired him to carry on like that. I also expect that's why he survived the encounter with Jormungandr. The World Wyrm could see he had legitimate business there.
Poor Snape, he lost his new toy, and poor Filch didn't get a chance to gloat about it!

"Sweet Merlin in a cloven pine!" Great phrase!

"That thing is much too dangerous!"
"Since when has that ever discouraged Potter?"

That is so true! Poor Harry is too brave for his own good.

"You know as well as I do that if Potter, Weasley and Granger remain true to form, they&#8217;ll have found the inner Chamber by Christmas."

Hee hee! Yep, if there's a mystery around, they'll get involved somehow.

See you online, partner!

Jill W.

Reviewer: Mary AnneDate: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28296Chapter: 2
Hey, you're writing faster than I can review! 8-D Not that I'm complaining, mind you. I like not having to wait months on end for updates and new fics. And I was pleased as punch to see this new one.

Loved our first look at Snape in this chapter, the cold fire of his excitement. The whole struggle to get the door where it belongs was most suspenseful, especially when that . . . that *thing* like the headless bear came out, ick. And the Guardian serpent even worse than a Basilisk (which I can't help hoping some artistically talented person will try to draw) gave me chills, especially the description of its sheer size. *shiver* Huge things like that give me a little *frisson* that's creepy . . . but not entirely unenjoyable. ;-)

Terrific to see the treatment of Hagrid in this story. I like that we're getting some of his wilder side and it makes sense that he could endure the Castle's attention a bit better. And the bit with Dudley was terrific, too, especially his having used the internet to read on kelpies! *falls about laughing* As you say, a world beyond what his parents think. It would make sense for teenage rebellion against his parents to turn him into a fairly decent sort. 8-)

As for the whole wrangle about Harry also being a Parselmouth--well, when he got that from Voldemort, did he also get enough of an infusion of Slytherin to pass through the Slytherin door, I wonder? Hmmmmmmm . . . and even though Harry speaks Parseltongue, could he still get the Guardian to, um, cooperate? After all, the Basilisk wouldn't obey him, or so Tom Riddle said. Lots of stuff to chew on, here. Eagerly awaiting the epilogue!

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28285Chapter: 2
Again, you take us through abject terror to humour in such a short time.
Harry finding the door by Christmas!! So True. I want a little Azoth all of my own.

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28281Chapter: 2
Ohh Ohh Snape and Harry working together this i have to see. I had a feeling you might get Harry to go through green and silver :P

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28274Chapter: 2
Whoa! A snake worse than a Basilisk? Dude... old Sally Slyth sure keeps weird pets.

Those things that hopped out of the mirror sound nasty. I suppose the Evil Thing sent it? (Sounds like something an Evil Thing would do... lol.)

Wait a minute. Is Snape pointing out the useful qualities of Harry? Why, it seems he is-- though he's throwing in a few sarcastic comments and a good insult or two along the way. An un-Snape-y thing done in a very Snape-y way. Congrats on keeping him in-character on that one!

Looking forward to the epilogue and the next fic (whenever it may come)!

~Dr. Monaco~ (And Whiskers, who apparently likes parmesan.)

PS: I let Morty go yesterday afternoon. He crawled under a rock out by the birdbath in the back yard. :-)

Reviewer: LizBeeDate: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28263Chapter: 2
Once again, you've come up with a fascinating new variation on the theme of Guardians, Chambers and Doors. I love your ideas above all else -- and the notion that Harry could bind the Alchemist's Door -- if only he could travel via Green-and-Silver.

(I don't suppose he's descended from Slytherin as well as Gryffindor? Along with Snape/Lily, I think that's my all-time favourite cliche...)

It's an odd thing, but your fics inspire very clear visual impressions, even though you don't go overboard with the descriptions. I have this overwhelming urge to draw Green-and-Silver, of all things.

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28255Chapter: 2
Ooh, very nice! Really enjoyed the Chamber:Reloaded <g>. I can't wait to see what you do next. As for Myrtle's tiles--good luck! Tiles are the hardest part to match (;

Reviewer: AristyarDate: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28247Chapter: 2
Wow! I read all the Filch stories in one go, so I'll just review here.

Your stories are really good! You've portrayed Filch really well - he keeps his grouchy personality but gains a wonderful side that is totally believable. I doubt I'll be able to read canon the same way :-/. The Minerva/Argus romance is good: not too mushy nor too drawn out. Your Severus is great, as is Hagrid. Hagrid is really hard to write, and you did a great job.

And you also update very frequently. It's great to read stories by authors who don't take forever to write. :)

Aristyar

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28242Chapter: 2
I'll be sure to let her know. Will you perhaps use the fact that there is a Headmaster, Caretaker, and Groundskeeper at Hogwarts at the same time in a future story? As I said before, just a suggestion. I liked this chapter, too. Particularly about Slytherins having more secrets than anyone else. I like Filch's observation that Slytherins are just as reckless as Gryffindors. I strongly suspect that the two Houses are more alike than either would care to admit.

Reviewer: JelsemiumDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28196Chapter: 1
I like this story. You are one of the few writer's I've seen who does Hagrid justice. He's not stupid, but he doesn't think like pure-blood humans, either. (Hence his inability to understand people being afraid of his interestin' critters.)

Loved the castle nudging Hagrid and Filch into talking about their roles as Groundskeeper and Caretaker.

Yay! Go, Neville! Next time Great-Uncle Algie tries to pull you off the dock, drag him in with you!

Ghost-brat. Poor Myrtle, she doesn't get any respect, does she? ** Love how the redecorating project has taken on a life of its own. That is one of the real life touches that makes your stories so fun to read.

Great scene with Dudley and his Smelting Stick! I'd love to see him and Harry become friends. It would be great if Dudley learned to think for himself. (And if he lost weight. I was just reading about the number of children who are coming down with Diabetes due to obesity. The Dursleys haven't done him any favors with the way they raised him.)

Loved Pringle's cameo and his opinion that even the teachers are brats.

I thought Celaeno's name sounded familiar.

Cheers!
Jelse

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28192Chapter: 1
Oh, hooray!! A new tale!!

I simply adore Filch's narrative voice. Filch has a marvelous gift to see the ancient nobility of Hagrid and the stubborn childish willfulness of Snape--not the typical perspective is it?

Dudley as a protector--still not sure about him standing up to Padfoot, but I am open. you've not led me wrong yet. He's one of the characters I'd like to see redeemed in canon--his upbringing in many ways has been as dreadful as Harry's.

I'm definitely intrigued with the setup, and impatient to read the next bit. Poor Snape. The dog doesn't like him, nor do most of the students, and if he's not careful, the castle won't either!

Reviewer: kazzaDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28153Chapter: 1
Azoth defending Snape from Fluffy - what a cute image

Reviewer: AcireDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28146Chapter: 1
No! You can't stop there! Not when you brought Snape back? What's he done now? Umm, I think that's all I have to say. And I liked the previous installment, Squib Summer. I'm glad Dudley likes Harry a little more. And that he's trying to help protect Harry.

I think re-doing Myrtle's bathroom is a good thing! Why is Filch so mad? Get the house-elves to help!

Reviewer: aurendelDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28089Chapter: 1
this is wonderful, Ozma!
Oooh, it'll be fun seeing Snape having to work with Harry in your next story.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28075Chapter: 1
sense of familial responsibility in his cousin.
-This is quite hard to swallow.

How about a "Trading Spaces" with Filch and Mrytle? (a show where friends swap and redecorate the others home -http://tlc.discovery.com/fansites/tradingspaces/tradingspaces.html)

I like how you have given the Castle a bit of a personality. I enjoyed the image of a turbo-charged Hargid stomping around the Forest dispelling any attempts to control it.

Cute idea of Neville writing to Filch.

Reviewer: SzandaraDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28069Chapter: 1
Ozma, I really like the way you have made Hogwarts Castle itself a character in your stories. Again, you've brought JKR's background into the foreground and brought it to life. Very...well, magical.

I also like what you've done with Dudley--he's still as much of a jerk as in canon, but a jerk with some decent impulses. Makes you think if he'd been brought up by someone other than Petunia & Vernon, he might have turned out okay.

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28061Chapter: 1
Ohh Dudley being protective of Harry interesting and a very nice idea. LoL at Filch.

*If only young Dursley had given Black at least one good whack with that stick! It would have served the Pup right!*
He is starting to become one of my favourite characters :).
Keep up The good work :)

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28052Chapter: 1
Poor Harry," Hagrid said, quietly. "Whatever he does an&#8217; whatever happens ter him always seems ter have a lot more effects than anyone realizes. - Like spawning a phenomenon.
As ever you have included all the things I love about your work.
Do you plan all your stories ahead or do you just write and find that you can pick up aspects from previous stories?

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28050Chapter: 1
Oh boy, Argus is going to be busy while the Castle is under his care! Between Myrtle and Severus, he'll be lucky if he gets any sort of rest!

Loved the fact Hagrid finally awoke to the Castle's voice and in just the nick of time, too! It makes sense that he can tolerate a longer contact, given his ancient heritage.

This whole chapter is an excellent set-up for whatever comes - I appreciate the scenes with the letters from Minerva and Neville. Yay Dudley! Uh yes, learning how to dispell a kelpie might be a good idea (Ever read The Kelpie's Pearls by Mollie Hunter? Lovely story!). I think they're ok as long as you don't try to ride them. :-D

Ohh, Severus! Back just in time to finish his 'little project' eh? Argh!! I have to agree with Pringle/the Castle about 'you can't turn your back on them for a minute!' Too true and double if the 'brat' is the Potions Master! Now good luck finding a safe place for the new portal. And good luck to Severus keeping his skin intact if Voldie finds out he can make such a thing. Argh!!

Yes, Peter S. Beagle is so cool! Glad Celeano got an outing and had a bit of fun! And glad there's a pub that will make her welcome.

Thank you for the latest! Look forward to next chapter, of course!

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28048Chapter: 1
Yay for Hagrid! He must be extremely resilient if he can handle the castle coming and going so often like that.

I must admit-- this Dark ... thing... is one of the scariest things to appear in this series. Probably because most of it's a mystery-- all that is known about it is that it is powerful, and that it is evil. (Oh, joy!)

Never thought I'd say this:

Go Dudley! I'm all for Dudley redemption/growing-out-of-brattiness, however I've not seen it done very often.

Hehehe.... kelpie.net.

So Snape's back, in relatively good shape. (Well, he would be in better shape if his hair was clean, but there you go... lol)

Of course Filch knows exactly what Snape's been up to. The castle doesn't seem to like the Alchemist's Door. Is this because it poses a threat to security?

Guess I'll find out later, lol.

Until next chapter,

~Dr. Monaco~ (And Whiskers, who is asleep-- smart kitty. LOL.)

PS: I brought Morty home today, and I'll let him out in the yard tomorrow. Had to wait until the cold spell was over before I put him outside since he usually lives underground. Morty says, "Hi!"

Reviewer: LCDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28042Chapter: 1
See, I promised on ff.net. I think my favorite bit in this is the letter from Minerva, about Dudley trying to chase off Sirius with a stick. It's so cute! Although the dream, the Castle's new manner of speaking, is really cool. Thank you for posting. PS- caffiene intravenous isn't too bad of an idea, but then people would think you were shooting yourself up with something *bad*, so that's no good. I'll stick with drinking massive amounts in the hopes some is absorbed. What's the kicker is he *called* back, well after he'd left the store. That made me walk around in shock for awhile. We work at a gas station/ convienience store/ deli, where we get something close to a customer a minute. To have something like that happen, well, even the managers were stunned. He's one of the good customers now. Anyway, thank you, once again, for your lovely writing.

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28041Chapter: 1
Yay! Another promising start. Poor Filch. He just goes from one set of troubles to another, doesn't he? I very much like the idea of the animate nature of the castle, and the power that stone and earth would have after generations of human magical contact and infusions ... Pity Sirius can't be the one in charge of the tiling of Myrtle's bathroom. I have tiled a bathroom ... and a kitchen ... and a living room, all 20' x 20' of it. Well, there were three of us, but I did my share, and enough to know that grout is not only physically dirty, but a dirty word. It is a word a baby dinosaur would say: "gra-a--a-ou-t!"

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28027Chapter: 1
Oh, Dudley was fabulous, and the comment about finding out on the internet, my grin lasted until the end. Pringle always struck me forcefully, and the forboding in Filch's dreams only emphasised it. Myrtle was hilarious...I tried to picture that bathroom, but suddenly I didn't feel so well. Still, it's the dream that really sticks with me...

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28015Chapter: 1
Yay! A new story! *does happy dance* I wonder, would the fact that there's a Headmaster, Caretaker, and Groundskeeper affect the war between Light and Dark? Just a thought. Anyway, good beginning and I can't wait to find out what happens next.

Reviewer: julieDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28006Chapter: 1
great story -- great ideas. I've been watching CoS
and it's wierd seeing Filch after having read your stories.

Reviewer: LizBeeDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28004Chapter: 1
Oh! What a cliffhanger -- poor Severus.

As always, I love your Filch, and I'm really pleased to see Dudley get the same plausible, interesting redemption you've given Argus.

And the relationship between Argus and Minerva continues to warm the cockles of my heart.

Reviewer: MandaDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28003Chapter: 1
Oh, yay! You've started yet another Squib story! I really enjoy these, Ozma - they've completely changed my opinion on Filch.

The thing I really enjoyed about this chapter was the painting and discussion of Myrtle's bathroom. I sympathize, I really do; my housemates and I are repainting most of our house, and choosing matching colors and linoleum, etc is quite the headache!

Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: RichardDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 27990Chapter: 1
"This was all Sirius Black’s fault. If only young Dursley had given Black at least one good whack with that stick! It would have served the Pup right!"

LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL!!! I thought the Smelting Stick was funny enough - one of those great canon details that really makes a fanfic crackle - one of those "oh yeah!" moments.

Once again, a great start, full of mystery and foreboding, and infused with light humour throughout!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --