The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Smoking Kills
Review(s): 8

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2004-10-21
Reviewid: 102046Chapter: 1
Okay, I lied. I wanted to read just one more story! I'm like an addict. Dude. Anyway. You made me sob. Not just tear, tear, wah, but like...sob. Sirius screaming that Remus would save him because he was his brother, he would love him until his heart was raw, blindly...agh. Now I'm sobbing again. Once again, wow, for lack of a better word. That was the most moving thing I've read in...that's the most moving thing I've read. And the "I told him to tell him "I told him to tell HIM the secret. And then HE told Him and he got killed." was hilarious, but just so sad. I can practically feel Sirius's panic as he can't manage to get the words out right and he starts to lose Remus, the only hope he has. The music thing was beautiful and so descriptive of his emotions. I feel like anything I write from now on will just be futile, because it won't ever, ever measure up to this.

Okay, NOW I'm going to watch the Red Sox. For real, I swear!

Reviewer: JulianaDate: 2004-05-06
Reviewid: 81394Chapter: 1
Hmm... I think I may have actually reviewed this story before, but I was re-reading it today in a fit of procrastination, and now I have to review again to say that I cried and cried through the entire second half of the Azkaban scene. It's just so poetic, so desperate and sad and beautiful and mad... amazing. I just love this little story... so, so good.

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63704Chapter: 1
yet again, you've done it. i really dont know what to say other than go read my reviews from all your other stories and then apply the wealth of compliments to this one as well. Write more!

Reviewer: TinkerbellDate: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28229Chapter: 1
How sweet! I really love the romance portion of it! And the part with Sirius - Wow! You made it where he actually tried to tell the truth but it sounded like ranting... that is amazing - truly amazing!

Reviewer: JulianaDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28208Chapter: 1
So I don't normally write reviews for stories, but I read this a couple of night ago, and then it kept on running through my head and I kept on coming back to read it again, so I think that that means that it deserves a review, at the least! :o)

First of all, I have to say that this story took guts to write! You did a lot of things in here that most people tend to shy away from... letting Remus have a moderately normal romantic relationship while Sirius is in Azkaban, and having Remus actually visit Sirius and talk to him. This whole story is just very original... there's not really anything in it that reminds me of anything else that I've read.

I was so impressed that you actually pulled off the meeting between Sirius and Remus, because I know that I could *never* have come up with a way for them to have a converstation like this and still be in character! Your picture of Sirius is, once again, gutsy--most people don't write him quite so crazy! But it totally makes sense--in fact, it's perfect. Right now, I'm looking back through that scene trying to find a particular quote that stands out to me, but I can't seem to pick just one... pretty much everything out of Sirius's mouth is absolutely haunting. Even though you wrote that scene from Remus's point of view, the reader knows enough about Sirius to understand what's going through his head this whole time as well (I liked the three different "him"s!) The poor guy obviously is making sense to HIMSELF, but he can't figure out how explain himself so that he'll make sense to Remus... the whole conversation is pretty damn horrifying from his perspective. And from Remus's, too... imagine how he'll look back on it years later, after he knows the truth!!

I also love the way you set the mood throughout the piece. The whole thing has a very strong feeling of unreality to it, a sort of dreamlike quality. Parts of it are very funny (reminds me of Douglas Adams...) while other parts are fiercely, desperately lyrical and sad. Quite beautiful, really.

And even though I am generally a die-hard R/S fan, I really like the little background romance story between Remus and that girl. The image of the girl at the end in her bare feet and her "Where Wolves?" t-shirt was really poignant to me. I liked the lines: "Do you love me?" "I love you." "Then it makes sense." *sigh* Even though you told us so little about that couple, I was still rooting for them by the end!

~Juliana

P.S. Loved the guard...

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28094Chapter: 1
Ah, nice to have a fic about our beloved and long suffering Uncle Remus Lupin, the great and loving werewolf.

Reviewer: Alicia ShankDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28020Chapter: 1
Wow. The situation was like I'd imagined it playing out...I'd actually like to hear the conversation or correspondance once Sirius got out of Azkaban. Who was the lady? You did an awfully good job writing. I'm still kind of lost in the story, and it's poignantly, beautifully sad.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 27994Chapter: 1
This was really good. I liked it and it was very original.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --