The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Trouble Brewing
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-10
Reviewid: 141804Chapter: 4
Yes. I do like this Tom.
You have, as you already knew, a winner with these Times Riddle Stories. I on to the next one – bye.

Reviewer: jessieDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105922Chapter: 4
hi!
i like ur story so far so please update soon!

Reviewer: corvidaeDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57671Chapter: 4
is that it?!

Reviewer: Jill W.Date: 2003-10-16
Reviewid: 56646Chapter: 2
Another nice chapter. I enjoyed Ginny's reaction to the chameleons. I particularly liked her reaction to Hagrid warning them to 'not look like an insect.' After all, if a chameleon tries to slurp you up, then at least you know where it is.

Poor Tom. It makes perfect sense to try to talk to the reptiles in Parseltongue. Too bad this only scared them. On the other hand, his inexpert attempts to catch a chameleon did lead Hagrid to send Ginny to talk to him. Talking to him seems to be the best way to get over her fear of him. I loved their conversation, espcecially Tom worrying to himself about how he'd gone dark the first time around. That would be scary, especially since it was only a matter of four years. I hope you keep this series going, I'd like to know what happens when Tom turns 16.

I like how talking while trying to catch a chameleon calms them down. I've noticed that sometimes that doing something while you talk makes it easier to get over one's nerves. I guess that's why people have food at parties or go out to eat on the first date because it gives them something else to think about besides their nerves. (I don't know that I'd recommend chameleon hunting as a first date. Though it's got a ring to it. "Capture a chameleon, capture a heart.") I'm babbling. Guess I've been infected by Tom and Ginny.

Interesting to hear Tom's view of what Slytherin used to be like. I can see them being the House of Pranks way back when. I guess it depends on who's in the House. Also on who the Head of House is. Snape isn't the type to tolerate pranks. (McGonagall isn't, either. But she'd just punish the prankster, Snape is the kind to punish the whole house if somebody got out of line.)

Ha! Loved Ginny making the grass stains permanent – and PINK! It's great seeing Fred and George's little sister in action.

This story is filled with good lines. Some of my favorites:

"Ginny decided a moment afterwards that she had to learn to think before she spoke instead of at the same time. "

"Do you suppose Hagrid'll give me half marks for the tail, or should I keep trying for the rest of it?"

"…trying to think calm thoughts about things lizards liked, in case Hagrid hadn't told them that chameleons could read minds"

"Maybe we could just... take all the apologies as having been said, or something? And start over, maybe."

Well, lunch break is over. I have to get back to work. More comments from me later.

Reviewer: Jill W.Date: 2003-10-16
Reviewid: 56642Chapter: 1
"Ginny Weasley had never expected Professor Snape to stop being the worst thing about Potions."

Now there's a great opening line. You not only introduce two characters, but you give an indication of what their relationship is like, and all in one breath. Nice.

How did Ginny discover who slipped her THAT diary?

Loved all the speculation that went on after Harry turned Voldemort into Tom. It's just such a weird event that there's no way of really explaining what happened. Even the people who were THERE would be hard pressed to describe it.

Poor Ginny. This sounds exactly the sort of thing Snape would do, force her to partner up with her worst nightmare. Poor Tom seems to be getting the worst of it, though.

The image of Voldemort with a sniffly nose is really strange.

Poor Harry. What an awkward thing to have to explain. "Well, Ginny's afraid of you because you forced her to free the Monster of Slytherin, then you tried to suck out all her life energy. On top of that, you made her go into Moaning Myrtle's bathroom."

"Tom blinked, and wiped his left nose." "The last time I was sixteen…" These kinds of stories make for really odd sentences, don't they?

May your kudzu-plot continue to grow!

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2003-10-09
Reviewid: 55959Chapter: 4
Great work! Please write more!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47436Chapter: 1
As always, I love your portrayal of young Tom. Not evil, nor perfect...very realistic. I'm writing two Tom fics <one is, actually, an AU that takes place after CoS, but is totally different than this in everything else, lol>. I also adore how you've made the Tom/Ginny relationship work. An awkward beginning, having so many issues that could tear any tentative step forward...it just makes perfect sense and is handled so deftly. I love that Tom is wary of Ginny's motivation, very IC for him. And you make his desire to change from what he did in the past also believable. And Ginny deciding to seperate her seeing him as 'diary Tom' from 'the Tom he is now' is also really handled well, IC for her, and developed from a reasonable foundation. Not just a decision she makes out of the blue, i mean.

Oh, and Ron...you have a nice handle for his wit. I loved that. I can't wait to read more of your work. 8-)

Hagrid as well, I think is a good teacher. He's caring and passionate. Even if he was a little new and overzealous, he did NOT cause the Buckbeak incident. I concur.

And Voldie's demise...sad, but nice. 8-)

-Kate

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-05-08
Reviewid: 31164Chapter: 4
Lovely ending (: Absolutely great!

Reviewer: *Selena*Date: 2003-05-04
Reviewid: 30694Chapter: 4
I'm actually really enjoying this story! Tom's unsettlement is very intriguing - with the absence of Voldemort now, I wonder what will happen in the Death Eater world. At Hogwarts however, I'm predicting a possible romance coming up...any hints on that? Can't wait to read more. :)

Reviewer: LCDate: 2003-05-04
Reviewid: 30689Chapter: 4
Can't help but notice the chapter title. Please no! Don't finish! I really am enjoying this. It's great.
Err, I don't have quite that many. Just a brother. The only problem is, we spent so much time together as kids, we were almost joined at the hip. He's only a little younger than me, after all. So the name is *contaminated* by him. Besides. I'm the only one who's allowed to call him Tom. He'll even grudgingly tolerate Tommy. Everyone else gets The Glare of Death (tm).
But I do like your Tom. He's really cool. Almost as good as canon!

Reviewer: LCDate: 2003-04-29
Reviewid: 29964Chapter: 3
Since I'm playing hookie from sleep, I don't have much time. Good story. I love the insecure Tom. Of course, that name means a completely different person to me.... (my brother - the scruffy looking yard dog, is Tom). But it's a really neat read. Thanks.

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29909Chapter: 3
Well, last things first--Tom and Ginny are charmingly, realistically, tentative, and yess, attempts to portray that sort of awkwardness *can* be hard to read--right through to annoying--if it's not written well. Obviously not a problem for you all (; I loved seeing Ron come into the story, and descriptions of his reactions were very funny. When Tom sat up and "attempted not to look...dark, or something," lol! As always, I really enjoy the fact that it may be AU, but it's canon-based AU, and I can recognize the characters.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29859Chapter: 3
Continuing to re-read and enjoy! Tom's vulnerability and suspicious apprehension regarding Ginny's motives are poignant. He's trying so hard to make different choices from his other self. Ginny's maturity and willingness to accept that he's not 'the diary one' are impressive. I was also impressed by Ron. He feels protective, but he's also willing to follow Ginny's lead where Tom is concerned. That's nicely done.

(Yeah, it bothers me too when people say that Hagrid's not a good teacher and use the Buckbeak Incident as an example. Hagrid was perfectly clear when he gave the instructions. Draco chose not to follow the instructions. It's true that Hagrid is an inexperienced teacher, but time will take care of that, eventually. He loves his subject and he enjoys being around the students, both of which are so important.)

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28898Chapter: 2
Tom and Ginny are having to work so hard to overcome their issues, and yet you write it so naturally that it's charming, instead of off-putting. I feel for both of them, and like them both very much. Plus, I love the humor. I wouldn't enjoy this story half as much if it weren't there. I wish I had a t-shirt with Hagrid's advice: "And try not to look like an insect. Chameleons eat insects, yeh know. Tongues like frogs." LOL Not many stories stand up to reading over and over, but this one does (:

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28852Chapter: 2
It's fun re-reading... I especially loved the Ginny-Tom interaction in this chapter, their slow warming up towards each other. Especially the way that you showed Tom's vulnerability. You've also done a lovely job showing Hagrid as a competent teacher. I really liked Ginny's line about the big man having been calling out instructions the entire time.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28117Chapter: 1
I read all your Tom-reborn story and you definitely score points for having an original premise. The electrical to magical power conversion was strange but I can't think of a better way and it does explain his power going from zilch to zillions (kind of a Jackass for dark wizards).

Your stories were enjoyable. I especially liked the Slytherins reaction to him including Snape. You made young Tom so believable. Have you considered writing Voldemort's rise from such a decent kid?

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28033Chapter: 1
Enjoyed re-reading very much. I felt sorry for poor, rattled Ginny and poor double-nosed Tom all over again. Harry did a wonderfully sensitive job of explaining the situation.

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28026Chapter: 1
Heh. The two noses with a cold still make me laugh. At the same time, I feel terribly for Ginny (and Tom). This is just a fascinating story (:

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --