The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Merry and Bright
Review(s): 29

Reviewer: Terrasina DragonwagonDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125665Chapter: 1
Just wondering if perhaps Catherine's stories had been removed...? Because I can't seem to locate her. And I'm dying to read the letter again! Do you know where else I can find it?

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 65999Chapter: 1
Please write more about Abby and Sirius!!!

Reviewer: DorothyDate: 2003-06-29
Reviewid: 39030Chapter: 1
I am absolutely begging you to keep writing and ignore the events of Book 5. I'm still in shock at the death and don't believe this person died.

Reviewer: AnonymousDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35383Chapter: 1
I really loved your stories,Sirius and Abby really make a great couple(to state the obvious).I was wondering if maybe you could do a short piece on Remus' thoughts on what he knows about the Sirius/Abby relationship?I figured it wouldn't hurt to ask.Anyway keep up the great writing.:)

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2003-05-19
Reviewid: 32758Chapter: 1
Even better than the last.
Abbey and Sirius really did need a chance to talk and I am pleased that you gave it to them.
I will check back regularly for more!
You have made me even more in love with Sirius Black than I already was!

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29579Chapter: 1
Once again, Katinka, I am so impressed by your writing skills. There are so many aspects to compliment, but one thing I notice time again in your writing is your well-crafted sentences. Even the non-event, plot-irrelevant sentences get your touch, and convey your meaning (a look on someone's face, or the sound of their voice, or their intention) smoothly and concisely. It's like you have this knack for choosing EXACTLY the right words.

So many great moments: Sirius blowing on her neck at Hogwarts, his comments about Gryffindor colors and her 'Blast, blast, blast!', the protruding toe, 'perhaps we should save this activity for better lighting -- so dry!, Sirius blushing with the 'I want you to like me tonight'- what a dear, the entire chocolate scene 'trust me, it's there'- wonderful. And numerous others already mentioned by your reviewers.

And all this romantic fun and great banter has some very weighty matters in it too, and you transitioned well between the light-hearted and the serious. Such a satisfying, comforting ending -- sigh.

Well done as usual, and I look forward to whatever you may write next, short or long.
--alchemilla

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28730Chapter: 1
Katinka, congratulations on writing such a wonderful story while you take care of a baby and a toddler. I admire you for being a great mom, a wonderful friend, and a great writer.

The romance in this is lovely. It works so well, though, because these two people are so honest. Yes, Abby tries to be a little mad at him, but it doesn't work, because in the long run, she feels that Sirius has been wounded as much or more than she has. He feels the same way about her. Their secret lives draw them to each other. After all, each of them can be completely open with the other, and they can't do that with anyone else. Her interiors are wonderful.

This line from Sirius is very important to your story: "You know, I’m out of Azkaban, but in many ways, you’re still trapped in all this." He is a wonderful person for saying that. All of his loyalty and self-sacrifice come through in this story. I'm really happy to gain an appreciation for all the dimensions of Sirius. You did a wonderful job of showing just how devoted he was, and is, to Harry, what a good friend he was to Harry's parents, and how good he is to Abby. You also showed him to be a complicated person, with many issues.

What can I say? It made me wish I could dig out the Christmas trees from my Christmas closet!

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28337Chapter: 1
I loved all your stories so much when I first read them that I just read all of them again - and I only discovered them this afternoon! What can I say? You have now completely brainwashed me into absolutely loving anything and everything to do with Sirius and Abby. Your characters are delightful, the romance was gorgeously portrayed and your humour throughout 'Interwoven' and its' two sequels had me in numerous fits of giggles. In this review I not only beg and plead with you to continue writing such wonderful stories (though that is a far too childish word for such masterpieces), I also thank you for brightening up a day that was filled with tedious GCSE revision, and for putting a smile on my face!
love,
Hannah

Reviewer: MegDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28140Chapter: 1
Yay! More Sirius and Abby! I love your fics but have never reviewed before now. You are so good at characterization. I think all the appearances that Abby has been making in other people's fics shows just what a vivid and endearing character you've made her--she seems so real! You're awesome!

Reviewer: Theb Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28136Chapter: 1
OK, yes, I admit it: I nearly screamed when I saw your name on the updates list. It shouldn't have been tha big a shock-- I remember seeing a quote from this in your siggy at the forums.

But, anyway..... YAY!!

OK, running short on time, so I'm going to have to rush through this:

Loved the part about the wizard PEZ dispensers, the chocolate stash, the windblown pixie, the alternate gift ideas, and all that other stuff that would take too long to mention here. :-)

Hubert ROX. He's gotta be the owl with the most personality I've ever read in fanfic.

I don't think I reviewed the last fic... the outtake. Well, that was fantastic, too. :-)

Gotta run! Hope to see more stuff from you soon!

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: yin_takuDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28133Chapter: 1
my first reaction on seeing 'katinka' in the updates list: OH MY FRIGGING ADL;SFJAS;DLFJ GOD! ahem. at least, in my mind, as i WAS in the middle of stat class. ::waves an 'abby+sirius' flag around w/ a padfoot plushie:: when i get the time (read: in a day or 2 when spring break starts), i swear i shall write an insanely long review+reaction for your reading enjoyment =D
until then, two words: bloody brilliant.

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28123Chapter: 1
I had to leave reading this story earlier and could only now finish it. I am glad that happened because something so wonderful really should be savored slowly, to prolong the pleasure.

I love how you've mixed angst, fluff, and character study all in one effortless mixture.

I especially loved Sirius' recollection of the past, and Abby's solution (chocolate, more chocolate, and yet more chocolate).

Their meal was hilarous and so were the gifts. Both hilarious and touching at the same time, just like all your stories. You can make me sniff and giggle in the same paragraph.

You write dialogue beautifully. Abby & Sirius (and even minor characters like Rosmerta) don't come across as characters at all, but real people. In fact you are so good, it sometimes makes me feel as if I was eavesdropping on a private moment and that I should go away because that's private and I shouldn't be there.

"There were parts to Sirius that would never be jovial and carefree, and while she accepted that, it didn’t make his pain any easier to witness."
Love that quote!

Reviewer: KynaDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28121Chapter: 1
wonderful story...I stayed up until a very ungodly hour just so that I could read all about Sirius and Abby. I really am at a loss, between you and Catherine I will never again be able to make it to my classes

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28088Chapter: 1
*squealing!* I'm so happy this is up!!! A bit of Abby/Sirius hyperventalating before I go on.

This is such a lovely, lovely fic and it has evolved so beautifully from "Interwoven" and "A Kind and Caring Friend". It's a joy to read about an adult relationship where the relationship is built on friendship and mututal trust and respect rather than that "love at first sight" method. One thing I haven't mentioned it that I absolutely love the humor and banter between Abby and Sirius. It shows that they are not only comfortable with each other and are witty, but that they laugh together and the ability to laugh and share a joke is so important to a strong lasting relationship and you don't see that done as well in too many fics.

I also love how Abby and Sirius had two real conversations in this piece, both about trusting Dumbledore and about the Dementors and what they both have lost due to Voldemort. Their heart-to-hearts (punctuated by some great kissing! squeal!) really show them interacting as a couple and show that love isn't all about hearts and flowers and unicorns dancing in fields-it's about communication, trust, sharing one's self and mutual respect.

The chocolate feeding is sooo great! It's erotic and inncent at the same time and it shows just how kind Abby is, that her first reaction to Sirius's distress is to make a kind and simple gesture that will make his pain go away.

The gift banter is so cute! Collar and leash! Obidience lessons! You have a real gift for dialog as well as Abby's interior running monologue. She has the best sense of humor!

I nearly melted at the line "my dog ran away"-awww.
And the line that also really got me was

[He would always remain her first love, but she was now happily ready to let Sirius be the last.]

There's so much hope and healing and letting go in that line. It paves the way for a future between the two and it's good to know Abby has dealt with Will and is now at peace with his memory.

Oh, and the kissing scenes were so HOT!!!!! I particularly liked the "chocolate on neck" and [They tussled playfully in the beginning – she tousling his hair wildly, he biting at her lower lip] Oooh! It's that perfect mix of romantic and then later I love the playful aspect. There is a certain amount of physicalness in, well, getting *physical* and it's good to see some of that playfullness. It makes it more real because every kiss isn't always this beautifully choreographed hearts and flowers and violin music event. There's a lot to be said for some playful wrestling. And onions! Too funny!

The bracelet is absolutely lovely (Ruby's glad you like it!) Based on the description of the bracelet, not using the bone charm was a good idea (there's always next Christmas ;) ).

Another thing I really love about this fic is the ambiance. You can really feel the soft blanket of twilight snow and the gentle lights of the Christmas tree. When Abby and Sirius kiss, the feel of velvet becoems very real. And Hubert! What a character!

Oh, this is just such a wonderful piece. Truly exceptional writing and I know I'll be reading this again and again! Can't wait to hear more about the Whisper Weave and of course Abby has to be in Book 5! We really should petition JKR to write Abby into the sereis. After Book 7, please write a huge, fluffy Abby/Sirius wedding, please? :)

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28071Chapter: 1
I have to go to class and stop in the middle (darn it), but so far reading this story makes me feel as if I drank a cup of really nice warm eggnogg. Utterly wonderful!

I almost squealed when I saw your name on the update list, because I knew it must mean more Abby & Sirius.

And finally, this made me ROFL: "Now, if she just knew a way to someday
tell her father that she was attached to a man with his own wanted poster."

Reviewer: RoseyDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28057Chapter: 1
I love this. I love Abby and Sirius together, it's absolutely devine, and makes me giddy for the rest of the day. :D

I can't wait for more. :D

Reviewer: AngelDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28054Chapter: 1
I love this story - it is so utterly sweet. Abby jumps off the page at me, and gives everyone a hug, she's that real

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28051Chapter: 1
Just a short review because I literally hae to run to class. I will do a better one later. THis was my favortie line from the story:

"“Or,” Abby offered in wide-eyed solemnity, “you could be having this tryst with Mrs. Boorman right now.”"

Reviewer: trina-kDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28049Chapter: 1
am looking forward to a sequel...

lovey little christmas story for the midle summer (in the philippines, at least)...

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28039Chapter: 1
Oh, this turned out beautifully, KAtinka! So many sweet moments. ALkari mentioned the way Abby strokes Sirius' hands, and I just loved her reaction to the news that he once sang in the Saint Albans' choir. And the chocolate ... and their mutual gentle ribbing-- a lovely gentle building of their relationship. I especially liked the way Sirius looked as he remembered: "Sirius Black, dangerous criminal and madman, looked for all the world like a fifteen year-old wizard on the terrified verge of asking if he could hold her hand on the walk down to Hogsmeade."

Beautiful work--and I'm so honored that you like my singing Sirius!

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28031Chapter: 1
Happy, happy day. You guided us through rich emotions and fabulous inventions, and did it all so wonderfully, it was utter delight to read. But my favorite line had to be: "and her mind totter like a windblown Pixie." I love that.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28030Chapter: 1
Wizarding Pez dispensers!!! LOL!!!!

I loved every bit of this!!! (Okay, the argument was upsetting. But after they'd made up again I was glad that that they'd both said things that needed to be said.)

How wonderful and satisfying it is to see Abby and Sirius finding joy in each other's company! Some of my favorite bits were Sirius' accounts of baby Harry riding on his godfather's back, Abby's “Accio Hufflehoofers!” to summon the socks, the way that Sirius used his Cloak to sneak up on Abby twice.

It was very poignant when Sirius promised to tell her about what he'd done to Snape someday, but not now because he wanted her to like him.

Another wonderful moment was when Abby was worrying about onions... that made me laugh.

Thank you so much for a very enjoyable visit with Abby and Sirius!

Reviewer: GwendolynDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28025Chapter: 1
Wow! That was beautiful! I have needed something sweet and brillant for a long time. Thank you so much. I really enjoy Abby. She has such a fun personality.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28021Chapter: 1
Wonderful! A Christmas that the two of them will always remember, I think.

I loved this line:
"She felt a giddy smile take over her entire face, spreading out until even her toes felt happy."

It is such an evocative description of happiness.

There are so many beautiful elements, but the way in which Sirius tells Abby what happened is particularly touching. The way in which Abby touches his hand, and then continues to stroke it as he speaks of the terrible events, just giving him that gentle physical sympathy when words cannot suffice - THAT is inspired.

My only question now: Just what sort of underwear is she going to give him next Christmas? LOL!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28017Chapter: 1
Many praises heaped upon you. I thought that the chocolate scene was particularly effective.

Excellent work, and well worth the wait.

Catherine

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28008Chapter: 1
Oh, this is lovely, and I love the cross-overs! I've tried to choose a favorite line, but there are so many greate ones, both serious and funny (at Snape's expence, tincel in the hair and the pomade, “I wouldn’t trust him to paint a fence, let alone teach children.”!)

This (sad) one, however, I think is really great:

"Abby’s eyes widened. This story was so far-fetched and miserably unlucky, it could only be true. Her heart hurt too much to want to look at his face, so she gripped his hand instead. Such a rotten joke, played by misfortune and an untrue friend."

Damn it.

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28007Chapter: 1
Oh, this is lovely, and I love the cross-overs! I've thied to choose a favoriet line, but there are so many greate ones, both seruous and funny (at Snape's expence, tincel in the hair and the pomade, “I wouldn’t trust him to paint a fence, let alone teach children.”!)

This (sad) one, however, I think is really great:

"Abby’s eyes widened. This story was so far-fetched and miserably unlucky, it could only be true. Her heart hurt too much to want to look at his face, so she gripped his hand instead. Such a rotten joke, played by misfortune and an untrue friend."

Damn it.

Reviewer: Teresina DragonwagonDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 27997Chapter: 1
Oh, this was absolutely wonderful! And so cute! Abby and Sirius are adorable together. ^__^ Terriffic job as always. I can hardly wait for Alkari's fic--I am now an official Sirius/Abby shipper!

Reviewer: Mrs. HobbesDate: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 27991Chapter: 1
Oh, Thank you, THANK YOU for continuing with Sirius and Abby! This was wonderful, and well-relished. :) I did notice though, how the fever of writing during off-season months is catching ;) Thank you again!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --