The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Watcher
Review(s): 74

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135023Chapter: 1
whenever i come on 'the sugar quill' i always read your story, or i try to at least exept sometimes i don't because it's so sad. i really love this story, it's one of my favourite fan fics i can almost feel snape's pain-erm may sound a bit weird but you've written it so well. just thought that i should post a review about it cos i love it so much :)

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-09-10
Reviewid: 132079Chapter: 1
This is -- bar nothing anywhere -- one of the saddest & also most beautiful pieces of writing I have ever read!

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2004-11-12
Reviewid: 104589Chapter: 1
Goodness! All of Severus anger and personality are here but with a different target. I think this is a wonderful piece.
Thank you for sharing this with us.

Reviewer: etcDate: 2004-10-05
Reviewid: 100472Chapter: 1
powerful

Reviewer: dorsanaDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91820Chapter: 1
wow!u can really capture the emotions n actually present them in such a way that it hits the reader straight at the heart.....good job!

Reviewer: BunniDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91349Chapter: 1
Very, very good. Excellent. Plenty emotion. Not rendered to tears this time though (I daresay, I'm out of them by now). Still, a most excellent fic.

Reviewer: Sox/Lizax/Liz/Xos any other UU nick you can thinkDate: 2004-05-31
Reviewid: 85360Chapter: 1
*sighs* I love Snape... You did a very good job! I've always thought Snape's hate for the Marauders came from jealousy. I'm sorry I hadn't read this sooner. *blushes*

Did you know that your HPFF is the only HPFF I've read in almost a year? It's that good, Robin. Keep on writing and I hope your new laptop is being nice and shiny!

Liz

Reviewer: Robin KDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81624Chapter: 1
Great concept and very well done. My only criticism is that I feel that you did not quite cature Snape's 'voice'....I think his phrasing and word choice would have been different in some instances. Also, I can't see him being this open and honest about his feelings, even in his own head. But you've got the relationships and dynamics pegged. Having read your later fics (Promises Unbroken and Promises Remembered...where I felt you did a fabulous job creating a more mature and mellow (?) Snape who was still true to character) I'd really like to see this piece if you were ever to re-write it.

Reviewer: emmelineDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71277Chapter: 1
Wow, fantastic! I love the bitterness and regret of this piece, especially the last lines "I would not have made the same mistake"...very chilling, moving and thought-provoking. Well done indeed.

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2004-02-11
Reviewid: 70113Chapter: 1
VERY good. Surprisingly insightful!

Reviewer: MaryAnne der EselDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68090Chapter: 1
As Ron would say, "Bloody Hell!". This is brilliant, brilliant I tell you! Brilliant!

Reviewer: Laura Carlie Darla CaremsDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66598Chapter: 1
Hey!
Laura Carlie Darla Carems!
Call me 'Carlie' and sometimes 'Darla'!
What's with the italics?

Reviewer: RosalindDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64672Chapter: 1
This is one of my favorites.

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2003-09-27
Reviewid: 54588Chapter: 1
THAT STORY KICKED @$$ (I'm sorry I know....this IS a family site).

It is brilliant how you got into Snape's head like that...
GREAT JOB!

I love ALL your fanfiction so keep it up!

~~Katie Bell

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 53952Chapter: 1
Wow. THAT was good.

Reviewer: FriniDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53512Chapter: 1
Okay...really good writing although I can't imagine Snape ever saying those things, or even thinking them! I guess he does feels that way in...some way...but I dont think he would ever admit it enough to put it in words or to give it another thought... interesting perspective and comparison between Snape and Pettigrew...your fics always leave me wanting to read more!

Reviewer: RussaDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53093Chapter: 1
That was amazing! I liked it very much. It brings you to rather like Snape.

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 53050Chapter: 1
Wow...this is a great story. I've read a lot of good stories, but this one really made an impression on me. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: MelodyDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50393Chapter: 1
Great, absolutely brilliant! I am a Snape fan, & am planning to write a snape fic (when i finish my other one) & this fic moved & inspired me. Thank you!

Reviewer: StephaniDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50148Chapter: 1
Wow... you are a bloody brilliant writer. Keep that up and I wouldn't wonder your books are on the shelves next to Mrs. Rowling's (even with the disclaimer...).

Reviewer: Ginny RenoDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49284Chapter: 1
This was an unbelieveable
story. I am in the library at my
school and don't have much
much time to read so this was a perfect stoy
the way this story ended was great
I totally understood the story.thank you for writing this story

Snitchfan7

Reviewer: JaydeDate: 2003-08-22
Reviewid: 48187Chapter: 1
God, taht was good. I usually don't reveiw, but this moved me sooooooo much that I just had to. You really have a great veiw of Snape's personality, I would even go as far to say as good as JKR herself. Thinking about how Snape felt towards The Marauders, maybe that's why he favours Draco so much. Maybe he thinks, or kinds of wants, to see a little of himself in him. You know, that Snape hanged around with a Slytherin crowd, and so did Draco, but if you think about it, does Draco or Snape have any REAL friends?

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-08-22
Reviewid: 48182Chapter: 1
thats real good. its like, another side of Snape that he's never shown to the world. i like it! :)

Reviewer: picklesDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47686Chapter: 1
very well written. what else is there to say.

Reviewer: makyaDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47253Chapter: 1
this is great from the eyes of an outsider!

Reviewer: AyumiDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45754Chapter: 1
Ironicically, that is exactly how I would feel in Snape's position o_o;; actually, by reading the MWPP fics (and your chapter devoted to their friendship in promises unbroken), I envy them even though they're mere story characters! I wonder what that says of me lol. Anyway! I think you couldn't have portrayed that better in this short fic =D Wish it was longer though ehehe

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-07-23
Reviewid: 43537Chapter: 1
This was a really good fan fiction story about snape. I wish he really felt this way.

Reviewer: sakhara291Date: 2003-07-20
Reviewid: 43007Chapter: 1
Oh, beautiful, beautiful angst! A lovely snapey fic, and that would make a good AU, if you wanted to pursue it.

Reviewer: Someone ReadingDate: 2003-07-20
Reviewid: 42988Chapter: 1
I was starting to like Snape, mostly because of Alan Rickman. Now, with Book 5, which I despise, I HATE Snape with the deepest, darkest loathing that a Witch or a Muggle, or even a Squib can ever possible know. Sirius and James were not bully's. Rant over.

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42865Chapter: 1
its beautiful.*swipes eyes*

Reviewer: Robin SimonDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42722Chapter: 1
I have read all the stories that you have written under the name "Robin" and I find that you are an exceptional writer. You express so much feeling. You really should try to write professionally. Have you ever thought out your own characters? I believe that you would be very good at it. Keep writing tho, you are gifted. Thank you for your stories.

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42677Chapter: 1
That is just so immensely sad.

Reviewer: MiranndaDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41329Chapter: 1
OMG! that wuz awsome. It totally made it give Snape feelings, that no one has ever seen.

Reviewer: bluirinkaDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40656Chapter: 1
Excellent. Superb. At first, you had me wondering if he was talking to himself, to Sirius, or to Wormtail, but a few paragraphs later and it all made sense. What a wonderful tentative glimpse into Snape POV. But then, what else can we expect? ANYTHING you write is exceptional. You should have your own category, Robinfic, lol. Write more, I love it all!

Reviewer: Aisling and Ryre crying their heads offDate: 2003-07-06
Reviewid: 40327Chapter: 1
Again....you've got me cryin' again...you are my fav. fic writer...oh Snape you poor lil' bugger...oh goddess!!! I feel sorrow for SNAPE of all people!!!!

Reviewer: Robin (aswell)Date: 2003-07-02
Reviewid: 39751Chapter: 1
That was amazing it really puts across snape's character i always thought it would be really hard to put any of snape's character into words but that was amazing.

Reviewer: Carmen SandiegoDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 37909Chapter: 1
great, this is! lol! it is really kewl!

Reviewer: lizDate: 2003-06-17
Reviewid: 37207Chapter: 1
this is very good!!!!!!! it really shows snape's chracter. i really love it!!!

Reviewer: LibbyDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35459Chapter: 1
Hey this is awesome! Write more soon!

Reviewer: Rubyann PotteringasDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34986Chapter: 1
I really like how you voiced this thought. I haven't read any fanfics like this before, and although I think Peter was good at school, I completely agree with this story. I think that the friendship the Marauders shared was exactly the way you told it. Beautiful, neverending. A bond that could never be broken unless broken from within.

Rubyann

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33346Chapter: 1
WOW- already read it twice... womderful

Reviewer: bookwrm1989@netscape.netDate: 2003-05-20
Reviewid: 32866Chapter: 1
Soooo deep and lonely! I actually felt like hugging Snape! :0

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2003-05-20
Reviewid: 32844Chapter: 1
This is the first of your fics I've read, though you've been on my list for months. I started here because it's short and it's Snape. Snape is such a fascinating character that I haven't dared use him in my own fiction for fear of getting him wrong. But you've done well--you captured his brooding nature, read between the lines of his resentment, and hit the nail on the head in terms of its source (more so than Sirius' assessment that Snape was just jealous of James' talent on the Quidditch field, see GOF). And I think it would have taken Snape that many years of maturity to admit the truth even to himself. (It seems clear to me that this is internal dialogue, by the way--he's not talking to Wormtail in person.)

As for whether Snape would have made the same mistake or not--well, he'd like to think he wouldn't, from the perspective of midlife reflection. But would he have, as a young man? Perhaps not. Perhaps yes. Which just leaves us to wonder, still.

Yes, you did well with Snape. Thanks! Looking forward to reading more of your material when I get the time.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-05-11
Reviewid: 31592Chapter: 1
So powerful! It almost makes one sorry for Severus Snape...almost makes him ...human! A good insight into his character.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 30984Chapter: 1
This is the first time I have read your fiction. It's powerful, poignant. The soul-searching you have had Snape do is incredible and explains the underlying pain and perceived hatred for Harry, his father and the other Mauraders. Thanks for a wonderful story.

Reviewer: just meDate: 2003-04-29
Reviewid: 30103Chapter: 1
I love every story of yours that I read! You never leave me unsatisfied (except, of course, when I finish reading a story and find there's nothing new to read). I hope you continue to write. I have a whole renewed respect for Snape and a renewed hatred towards Peter. The dirty traitor (rat seems to much of a pun). I love how you clarify in here why Snape went over to Voldemort! It makes it so much easier to understand.

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2003-04-29
Reviewid: 30046Chapter: 1
WOW. 0.0 Dark, to the point, strong and so sad... *whimpers* That was AWESOME! LOVED it! Poor Snape... And my haterd towards Peter just rised! That damn rat!!!

Reviewer: MariaDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29865Chapter: 1
That was a very good story. It has a good view of how Snape looked at things. I think I would feel the smae if I was in his position.

Reviewer: nicDate: 2003-04-23
Reviewid: 29171Chapter: 1
beautiful! I constantly check ffn for updates of your stories (well, when you were still working on Death before Dishonor), and I am never disappointed by what you write. You're a truly talented author. Can't wait to read more.

Reviewer: LilyDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28958Chapter: 1
This is awesome! I have been an avid reader of your other two stories for a while, but have never commented on them before. This has quite quickly stirred up feelingsof hate as I have never gotten while reading something before!

Thanks for posting this here, and also, thank you for not taking forever like a lot of authors do...(JKR)! But really, it's so nice to see a new post at least once a week!
Great Job!

Reviewer: PinkyDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28811Chapter: 1
WOW.

Reviewer: ArleneDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28750Chapter: 1
Very good. Very emotional, too. Excellent short story. Please update your other stories soon! Well done!

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28722Chapter: 1
Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow.

Excellent. Very very very good.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28715Chapter: 1
Excellent. A very believable insight into Snape - the fact that he was 'part of a gang of Slytherins' (according to Sirius) doesn't mean that they were 'friends' in any way. It dovetails beautifully with your portrayal of him in 'Death Before Dishonour', where you show him as almost incredulous that Sirius, James and Peter could have become Animagi simply because of their friendship with Remus.

That Snape was jealous of the friendships that others had and he did not, can also explain his behaviour towards Harry. Because Harry too has those friendships, just like James.

I agree that some of the fic was a llittl erepetitive, but I can also see this as being a sort of refrain running through Snape's head - he works over everything again and again, living every last detail.

Once again, I greatly admire your writing!

Reviewer: CGDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28689Chapter: 1
I admire the strong voice you have in this piece; bitter and very saddening, but I really think you gave a wonderful insight on snape:)

Reviewer: ZoeSmithDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28669Chapter: 1
That's a great approach to Snape's character.I really enjoyed it :)

Reviewer: X-LydiaDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28650Chapter: 1
Good characterization of Snape and the Marauders!

Reviewer: nutmegDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28600Chapter: 1
Very moving. I can see Snape thinking this. Sigh...very moving.

Reviewer: AlenaDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28595Chapter: 1
Ohhh...that's good.Gonna make a sequel?Hmm?Please?

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28527Chapter: 1
beautiful. just beautiful. i feel for him. i feel for Severus Snape. I really do.

Reviewer: nessieDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28514Chapter: 1
great job!u done snape's point of view so well...is this a 1 chapter story? its very good...on ff.net it says chapter 12 (11) does not exsist...it'll prolly be up tomorrow though...great job!!!

~nessie~

Reviewer: BethDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28510Chapter: 1
Woooooooooooooooooooow Very Dark, I could hear is voice in my head- all bitter and twisted. Dear old Snape, what will ever become of you?

Reviewer: AnonymousDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28509Chapter: 1
OMG!!!!! This is awsome!!!!! I think that I was almost cyring...... *sniff* All of your stories are wonderful, keep up the good work!!!!!!

Reviewer: MelissaDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28502Chapter: 1
wow..... that was AWESOME! i am still waiting for the next chapters for the other 2 fics... but... now i see why u havent updated..Awesome! i was crying.... that is excatly how i think of Snape... wondefully written! Great job!

Reviewer: ReneeDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28494Chapter: 1
Amazing, very poignant and dark. Just fabulous.

Reviewer: minervagreenDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28473Chapter: 1
This is good. If it were cannon it would explain so much.

Reviewer: RavenDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28456Chapter: 1
Very good, I think it was excellent... ;- )

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28450Chapter: 1
Oooh! I like this very much. A poignant look inside Snape's perceptive and lonely soul.

Reviewer: Professor DaviesDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28444Chapter: 1
Wonderful as usual Robin i love your stories and this is another great start keep up the great work!!!!!!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28427Chapter: 1
Beautiful... simply beautiful. I often wonder if Snape will meet Wormtail at some point in the real books, and what would happen.

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28420Chapter: 1
Very beleivable thoughts. I like it. The emotion is very real and human. But I also agree with Sonic - you are at times a bit too explicit and overexplain things in your writing, which also makes the writing somewhat too wordy. May be you could try an experiment of re-writing this one day, trying to communicate all the emotion and ideas here in 2/3 or 1/2 the words - this might help to see what is really necessary to the story and what is not.
Cheers!

Reviewer: SonicDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28408Chapter: 1
It may be your first Snape Fic, but I certainly like it alot. I think you did a good job in showing what the inner Snape is. Perhaps a suggestion though. I think you tell to much about everything. You explain everything. Use the iceberg theory! The 7/8 th part of the iceberg under the water is truly important. What is not so obvious is more important. I think Snape would be more like that and I think hinting such thoughts and emotions that just telling them would be much better.
All in all though. I, at least, liked it. You should defintely try more.

Sonic

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28405Chapter: 1
That was lovely. Such a sense of sorrow and loss; and of course Snape would hate most of all and pity the person who had and threw away what he, Snape, could only dream of. The way that Snape recognizes what the others were, and respects it--while still being Snape to the end--was beautifully done.

Good exploration.

Reviewer: ErikaDate: 2003-04-18
Reviewid: 28404Chapter: 1
Very good! i love how you always make pictures in my head. but i am confused. is he talking to wormtail? or just outloud? do i have to stay tuned in order to find out?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --