The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Just a Glance
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: lineDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50353Chapter: 1
great :)

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29849Chapter: 1
Lovely. You write beautifully.

Reviewer: silver_blaiseDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28854Chapter: 1
its awesome.
cool
really fierce.
u get the msg
ciaoz
kayjal

Reviewer: RikaDate: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28755Chapter: 1
That was pleasant. A bit more pensive than what I normally read, but I like it. I enjoyed this 'new' perspective.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28659Chapter: 1
This was amazing! I loved reading it and it was very original. Keep writing and great job!

Reviewer: ME!Date: 2003-04-20
Reviewid: 28656Chapter: 1
oh my goodness!This is so deep! I luv this. Good work!

Reviewer: LarzdinnDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28641Chapter: 1
That was so well-written. Your descriptions were so breathtaking, so poignant, so... right. The only criticism I might have is that the reference to "HHR" just seemed misplaced amidst all the detail. Too brief, somehow. I especially loved the ending. *hugs Neville* Lovely ficlet. ^_^ Very sweet.

Reviewer: Mikau A. KaiouseiDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28630Chapter: 1
That was very poignant, and very touching. It makes me regret my tendency to only read Professor's Bookshelf authors. I am _extremely_ impressed. Keep up the good work!

~Cheers!

Reviewer: briteyesDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28605Chapter: 1
A lovely little piece. You have a flair for description, and you paint a vivid picture of the Common Room ("The chairs are soft and inviting, the tables large enough for most of Hermione’s books. A roaring fire must have burned in the huge stone fireplace on the far wall, but has now faded to embers. The coals cast an eerie glow on the scarlet and gold tapestries, which depict lions caught in mid-roar and portrayals of this very castle, that adorn the walls. The overall effect is decidedly creepy, and I find myself shivering as I turn to the couch nearest to the fire."). It sets the scene perfectly, and I have no trouble picturing the students asleep in the flickering light! It's the beauty of such phrases that makes the "HHR" reference so incongruous--one doesn't expect to see the abbreviated lingo in the midst of such sterling words.

There was something about this one line--"The phrase, which I have waited so long to say, seems shallow, and insignificant..."--that I found particularly striking. Don't we all feel that way at emotional times? Sometimes words seem so inadequate to the situation...

Your moment with Neville was darling, and I do hope that on tomorow things seem brighter for him.

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28601Chapter: 1
I saw you name and since it's one of my personal favorites, I came to see what you'd written. Interesting. Very. I liked it. Very...descriptive, with interesting insight. And I liked the bit with Neville, quite compassionate. I hope you write more.

Reviewer: Blue KelpieDate: 2003-04-19
Reviewid: 28572Chapter: 1
Wow that is so good... loads of atmosphere... left me wondering who the mysterious person could apply to in HP world contex (which probably isn't the idea) but it works on that level too.
Neville too :-)
A really great ficlet, i hope you continue writing fics I'd love to read them.

Kelpie

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --