The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Coming Home
Review(s): 23

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2005-03-09
Reviewid: 115958Chapter: 1
This is such a sweet story! You've done a fantastic job capturing all of the little moments that make up love and companionship and family. Well done!

Reviewer: ChristianaDate: 2005-02-16
Reviewid: 114039Chapter: 1
Now I'm just addicted and am reading all of your stuff.

Reviewer: MonikaDate: 2004-06-07
Reviewid: 86191Chapter: 1
Oh, that was so beautiful!
Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr ;.;

Reviewer: krazigurl3991Date: 2003-09-26
Reviewid: 54475Chapter: 1
Aaaawwwwwww..... if only it were so. Very well written.

Reviewer: TristaDate: 2003-07-28
Reviewid: 44252Chapter: 1
well, i didn't like this nearly as much a most unusual student, i think your best stories are the ones with remus and his friends!

Reviewer: TapestryDate: 2003-06-23
Reviewid: 38331Chapter: 1
I loved this fic. It was just what I needed after certain traumas associated with book 5. Thank you for cheering me up and providing such a well written, vivid peek into Abby and Sirius's life. This fic was full of excellent concrete description and metaphor that made the scenes come alive. I just love reading your stuff! I especially liked Wolfie; how very, very true of all our favorite childhood toys.

Reviewer: nessieDate: 2003-05-18
Reviewid: 32593Chapter: 1
what happened to harry? hes his godfather wouldnt he have him too? cute story anyways

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-04-24
Reviewid: 29300Chapter: 1
This was so profoundly beautiful, my heart just *ached*. To see just how thank-ful and grateful Sirius was for having what so many of us can easily take for granted, a loving family, was just a blessing. The line: "A normalcy hed never really allowed himself to dream of, a gesture of love that somehow he still found strange and wonderful." just sums it up simply and beautifully. The lines: "It was dark and silent, but this darkness was blessedly warm and welcoming. And the silence was the silence of peace, and gentle sleep. It smelt of home." are works of art. So simple and yet they stir up a whole host of emotions. Lovely.

I love "Wolfie" and the imagery describing its raggedness due to love; very "Velvetine Rabbit". You've also marvolously captured the dialog and enthusiasm of a four year old. "Daddy's AWAKE!" and the strawberry jam! And the interactions between father and daughter are so real, and funny [The sounds he made to prove this would have done credit to a herd of bronchial hippogriffs.] I like how they smack of something unique and carefully constructed for these characters and they don't feel like contrived Hallmark moments

Lucy and David are just too adorable (pink butterflies on pjs-snert!).

Great contrasts between Sirius's memories of Azkaban and his warm, loving home. It's presented in just the right balance so that we see that Sirius is never completely whole, but neither is he an angsty, moping mess.

The little touch of Abby leaving dinner out for him was just lovely and subtly shows just how much these two characters care about each other. I also love how they still act a little bit like newlyweds (are you on the menu for breakfast? :) )

Absolutely lovely. Hope you write anotehr outake!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-04-23
Reviewid: 29176Chapter: 1
When I read this before, it gave me a warm and cozy feeling, and it still does. How wonderful to see the life of someone who had nothing and now has everything--everything that matters, anyway. You portray the significance of love and family so well. How can Sirius not think about the place he was in for so long? He must think of it everyday! This is really lovely and makes me miss having a small child.

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-04-23
Reviewid: 29158Chapter: 1
Oh!!!!!!!!!! This was absolutely sweet. Just darling. :) Just perfect for cheering a person up!

Reviewer: LozDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29079Chapter: 1
*Sniff* You know, I usually like my romance tangled in with a nice meaty plot so as to cut down on the sweetness...but this was lovely, and put a rather large smile on my face. Sirius Black, the family man - I really enjoyed reading this. Thanks.

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28952Chapter: 1
You know, Wolfie reminds me of a stuffed kitty I had when I was little... who was also lucky it's tail remained attached. LOL.

Well, I can't say much except that this was very sweet-- and both Abby and Sirius deserved it.

This was a really enjoyable read. It's just what one needs to take their minds off of the not-so-great things, like work, school, homework, ... and certain mysteries of house-elves. (Yep-- still being haunted by that one. LOL!)

Until next update,

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28939Chapter: 1
Oh, my... That was so cute that there aren't words for it!

Your Sirius is a wonderful family man. I love the way the brightness of his wife and children help him wipe away the dark. I'm still replaying parts of this in my head, so I"m afraid that I can't even coherently give it the review it deserves. However, this is yet another simply wonderful story from you, and I shall try to do it justice.

I especially love the scene with Lucy. I can just imagine Sirius playing hide-and-seek with her in the morning, and trying to steal those few extra seconds of sleep. I also love it when he looks in on the children when he comes home at night. So sweet, and beautifully written, too. And the moments with Abby...absolutely priceless. Sirius deserves to be happy!

Again, great job. I can't wait to read more of your work--especially now that you've tried Sirius on for size, and not just Remus. It seems that there's nothing you can't do. Kudos.

Reviewer: JulianaDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28902Chapter: 1
Mmmm... *sigh* That story just made me sooooo happy. Just beautiful!! I hope that this is exactly how Sirius's life ends up... he certainly deserves it! I'm gonna be feeling warm and fuzzy for the rest of the day now. The writing in this piece is wonderfully evocative; all the simple sensory details (the warmth, the smells of home, the feel of the sheets) make this a really rich little piece. Thank you!! :o)

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28894Chapter: 1
Oh, what a treat to find on a rainy day... You did such an amazing job contrasting dark cold memories and wonderful warm present, I can actually feel it.
And Wolfie is priceless!

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28893Chapter: 1
Nice transition from gloomy and depressed to hopeful/happy. The butterflies was a very nice touch. But wouldn't they have used an Unbreakable Charm on the dishes? I enjoyed it very much (:

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28890Chapter: 1
Hee! The toes are back. :D

Needless to say, I love this. It's wonderful how you use the senses, particularly smell, to show how he's grounded himself in his post-Azkaban life, despite recurring flashbacks. We can so easily relate to the comforting smells of home, warm beds, freshly bathed children (my favorite!), and breakfast cooking on the stove. I also love how he and Abby often communicate without words.

So many lovely details! Wolfie reminds me of my own threadbare teddy bear. Lucy is a *dear*. Yes, children that age do know that the world revolves around them, so once they're awake, you'd better be too! And scratchy Daddy whiskers -- LOL!

I'm truly honored that you used my characters in this -- thank you!

Katinka

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28889Chapter: 1
Hey, I have seen most of this before! And it is just as lovely the second time around as it was the first. I really liked the way that you fleshed it out, with all the details of life with toddlers...and the sense of love and genuine companionship between Abby and Sirius. I am glad to see, however, that Abby has trained Sirius better in the kitchen! Jabbett morphed into Jabbert, but no real matter. As for the kids--well, sticky things multiply.

Reviewer: trina-kDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28876Chapter: 1
so sweet...

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28871Chapter: 1
I found this to be lovely and prettily written, with great sensitivity.

Catherine

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28865Chapter: 1
Thank you. The more stories about our loveable stray, the better. Sirius Black is a character I wish will not be killed off in Book 5 but if by Book 7 HP will be coming from the Dursleys, then somewhere SB will die.... He is a mainstay and any short fic about him is very welcome indeed.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28857Chapter: 1
clutching her stuffed grey wolf with the ragged tail
..and the fact that he still had a tail at all was a triumph of determination and advanced sewing charms.
-very cute

A very sweet happy ending to your other stories. Abby Loomis is one of my favorite original characters.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28853Chapter: 1
Beautiful!! I love seeing Abby and Sirius happy, with two adorable kids and their darker days jus a fading nightmare. Thank you for this lovely story!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --