The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: In the Kitchen
Review(s): 54

Reviewer: GypsyRosmertaDate: 2006-03-29
Reviewid: 141417Chapter: 1
Um... ... ...?

Wha? I know Sirius was in there, 'cos of the summary, but, uh... wha?

Reviewer: GoldfishDate: 2004-10-03
Reviewid: 100233Chapter: 1
um, is that remus and sirius, please tell me it isnt...
please please please say its ABBY and sirius, pleeeeeaaasssseeeee

Reviewer: NOTE FROM THE AUTHORDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95139Chapter: 1
To Helen and all others who might have wondered -- the other character is this piece is Abigail Loomis, and Original Character from my other stories (starting with "Interwoven"). Sorry for the confusion. :D

Reviewer: HelenDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94651Chapter: 1
Aww, that was so cute ^_^ who was the other person, I wonder?

Reviewer: EvieDate: 2004-06-22
Reviewid: 88289Chapter: 1
A bold move which paid off.

I really love all your fanfics, and Abby is such a loveable and believable character. As for Sirius, I haven't read another fanfic which does a better job, and at no time does he drop out of character.

Please write more on Abby + Sirius! (Or anything really)

Evie

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87402Chapter: 1
Catching up on reviews for stories I read long ago...

This piece is just brilliant. I know I've read it four or five times, anytime I just wanted a sweet fluffy smile-inducing story. The dialogue here is perfect! You manage to convey the total picture of everything that is happening without ever telling us anything beyond what they're saying to each other.

Wonderful!

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86054Chapter: 1
I was trying to figure out what was going on... I was really confused mostly 'cos I've never read any of your fics, but since Sirius is the only character in Harry Potter who'd be so messy about stuff and who's eaten rats, he was obvious. But, you see, owing to the shortage of witches to pair him with, weeeell... he never gets paired with witches, y'see? Unless they're OC's, in which case everything works out properly.

Reviewer: margoDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85786Chapter: 1
That is so cool! I love the way you haven't said who's speaking but the way you wrote their lines you could tell anyway!! I love this fic! *margo*

Reviewer: Laura JeanDate: 2004-06-01
Reviewid: 85549Chapter: 1
I know you have probably written this ages ago but I am just catching on to HP fanfic. This was a perfect story for your characters. I love that Abby is taking charge there in the end. I loved the surprise of the last line. PERFECT!!! Thank you for sharing your talent!

Reviewer: krisDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72567Chapter: 1
who's tha ? you could have at least told us that.. otherwis, totally cute

Reviewer: *~Jessica~*Date: 2004-01-03
Reviewid: 65697Chapter: 1
oh...... *pouting* >:-( it ended 2 SOON *swearing and pouting* write MORE *pouting swearing storming away hitting sister* I WANT MORE *pouting swearing storming away hitting sister breaking lamp* hurry and write more!
wanting more,
*~Jessica~*

Reviewer: KristenDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65246Chapter: 1
That was quite fun! I really like Sirius, but who was the other person in the little story?

Reviewer: KellieDate: 2003-08-04
Reviewid: 45343Chapter: 1
Katinka, that was absolutely brilliant! The ending was so perfect. I didn't even see it coming!

I still haven't made it to Interwoven, but this was a wonderful fluffy outtake.

Taking a moment to second Axelle on her comments below... because quite frankly, I thought it moved along perfectly. It's amazing what you did with this piece. Yesterday in the SQ Workshop 2, we were talking about description, action, and dialogue and how, generally, a writer should have a nice balance of the three. But I liked how this was 98% dialogue, and 2% action, but yet it was still brilliant. The focus on telling the story without the use of the other two (and telling it quite well at that) was fresh and different. What surprised me was the fact that I didn't notice the lack of description and action. I felt like I was in the kitchen with them, giggling the entire time, and seeing their every move.

Brilliant.

--Kellie--

Reviewer: A.L. de Sauveterre, re: "Tamara Star"Date: 2003-08-02
Reviewid: 45129Chapter: 1
Apparently, this Tamara Starr person isn't familiar with the fluffy outtake concept. And the whole point of the piece *was* dialogue, which has obviously gone over her head, as well. Her comments are illogical at best, asking for "more substance" and "less description" (???), and the suggestion to "take out your less brilliant jokes" is uncalled for and downright rude.

In fact, I challenge her to produce any written work that SHE has ever penned that can even hope to equal yours in quality.

It irks me that reviewers (who themselves have not written anything of note or quality) can leave reviews of this kind that *seem* thoughtful, but aren't more than well-phrased, spiteful swipes at good writing.

Katinka, we've all read "In The Kitchen" and loved it. It's tight, well-drawn, well-characterised, and really one of the best short pieces out there, period. (And if this Tamara Star person doesn't know who Abby Loomis and Sirius Black are, then she (a) should pull her head out of her... er, the sand and (b) shouldn't really be commenting upon it to begin with.)

Reviewer: Tamara StarDate: 2003-08-01
Reviewid: 44978Chapter: 1
I know everyone loves reading glowing reviews, but sometimes the straightforward ones are more helpful. Maybe this won't put a smile on your face. I just hope it will help.

Good news first: you have some cute ideas and a good sense of your characters and their attitudes. You're right, the piece was light&fluffy, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. I just wish there were a little more substance and a better sense of who these people were, why they were there and who was talking (even though that's partly your joke.) Your dialogue is good, in general, but drawn out too long. Spice it up with descriptive bits, remove the boring explanations ("sift? What's that?" etc.) and take out your less brilliant jokes.

Remember that the average writer's final draft is 10% (one of every 10 words!) shorter than the copy the editor first sees. It's painful, I know, but sometimes you have to take out parts. Don't ask yourself, "Is this cute/funny/sweet/perfectly written," ask yourself, "Do I really, honestly need this?" The guts it takes to answer "no" makes the best writers.

In conclusion, I'll tell you the same thing I tell all promising fanfic writers--make up your own story! Go for it!

Reviewer: DeeDeeDate: 2003-07-28
Reviewid: 44201Chapter: 1
I can't believe it's taken me so long to find your wonderful stories, which are fanfic perfection! Just read "Interwoven," "A Kind and Caring Friend," and "In the Kitchen," and I'm simply captivated by Abby. What a great original character. And in spite of my fondness for R/S, you've made me a devoted Sirius/Abby shipper. If only canon had turned out a little differently - but I guess that's what's so great about fanfic. Beautiful writing, beautiful characterization, beautiful dialogue. I loved it all so much. Must go and reread the end of "A Kind and Caring Friend"...

Reviewer: Accio_SnapeDate: 2003-07-24
Reviewid: 43664Chapter: 1
I loved the . . . twist at the end. I was expecting the incorrigable flirt to be Sirius, when in actuality he was the culinary expert. That was very well written. I love Sirius...

Reviewer: GraceDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41841Chapter: 1
Hey, this story is so cute! Especially the end. I've read all of yours now, and I must say that you're a REALLY talented writer, so keep up the good work!! :)

~Grace~

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2003-07-02
Reviewid: 39625Chapter: 1
I've been rereading your stories to make me feel better after OOP, and to my great pleasure and surprise, they helped a lot. So I just wanted to thank you......you really made me feel less miserable about the end of OOP.

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 37117Chapter: 1
One word, altogether now: AWWWW!!!

^_^

Absoloutely adorable!! I loved the way there's only a few words of narrative; probably about 5 in total? :P But it was really effective, especially since I could still easily pick out who was saying what simply by their speech. The ending was wonderful as well - I could see it coming, but it still made me grin when it did. :P The “I worked hard on those!” line was just... Sirius. :P

But yeah, great job!! :)

-Jules, hands over a cookie... xxx

Reviewer: hermyDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 36978Chapter: 1
hmm. well. i'm just going to pretend that the quote had said "be careful, u don't want to corner an angry GRYFFINDOR" and "stay here! i'm not finished with u, weasley!" (r/h rules)

Reviewer: KristinaDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36386Chapter: 1
LUVED IT! OMG! This was sooo cute, light hearted and funny! Please continue to make these types of fics, they are soooo sweet! :)

Luv the “C’mon, live dangerously. Don’t preheat.” Hahahaha

Luved this part to:

“Don’t you see where you got flour on me? What will they say in town?”

Pause for inspection. “Maybe they’ll think you did yourself.”

“I’d have to have rubber arms to get a handprint there!”


I hope you make some more!!!!!!!!!! :)

Reviewer: mioneroxDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35547Chapter: 1
lol! i loved the ending!

Reviewer: nessieDate: 2003-05-18
Reviewid: 32609Chapter: 1
awww!!! this was funny great job!!!

Reviewer: Aisling and RyreDate: 2003-04-30
Reviewid: 30222Chapter: 1
Who's the Hufflepuff?!? *cofused*
but me want Sirius....

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2003-04-24
Reviewid: 29424Chapter: 1
C'mon live dangerously. Don't preheat.

hee hee.

And the flour handprints. hee hee hee

I like the description-of-noises-in-italics device.

I liked that I couldn't tell for a few lines who was the reluctant one to get up, thought it'd be Sirius.

Good fun. --alchemilla

Reviewer: briteyesDate: 2003-04-24
Reviewid: 29414Chapter: 1
a;sldka;sldk;asl;ask

Oh, Katinka! This was absolutely brilliant--I love the style! Stripping away description, etc. works well, because your characterizations are so spot on, and everything else we need to know is right in the dialogue.

The twist at the end, with them switching roles, absolutely killed me.

With every one of your stories, I fall a little deeper in love with Sirius (does he know how lucky he is, anyway, to have a woman like Abby?).

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-04-24
Reviewid: 29356Chapter: 1
This is just too sweet! The rhythm and cadence of speech is perfect, and what is completely impressive is you convey a sense of tone without using adverbs. This piece is deceptively simple. It seems like a fun piece of romance, but the interplay between the characters really reveals not only their own personalities but also the comfort level between them as well as how each can still make the other's toes curl.

Favorite line: “I’d have to have rubber arms to get a handprint there!” Second favorite-mentioning rats while licking batter. (I work with rats and have this unfortunate tendency to describe really disgusting things at the dinner table, so I can relate to Sirius!)

I also love the "twist" at the end.

Can I make a request for a ficlet abou Abby's first ride on Sirius's motorbike? Please?

Reviewer: JulianaDate: 2003-04-24
Reviewid: 29342Chapter: 1
*massive giggling* Very very cute! I like! I think my favorite line is when Sirius says "Hey, I remember this game... where, again?" and Abby's all like, NO!, that's NOT what we're doing right now!! Heeheehee... so cute! I was definitely in the mood for a bit of fluff, so thanks. :)

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-04-24
Reviewid: 29317Chapter: 1
Hee hee. I like.

Reviewer: KynaDate: 2003-04-24
Reviewid: 29284Chapter: 1
Yeah, very cute. I can always handle more S/A stories.

Reviewer: PersephoneDate: 2003-04-23
Reviewid: 29263Chapter: 1
I adore your Sirius, I adore Abby, and this is an amazingly fun little piece. As a general rule, I'm not a fan of dialogue-intense fiction, but you have such a grasp on both of your characters, and you've presented them so well in your previous works, that dialogue carries this and the reader can fill in the rest. It's fun and light and entertaining and Sirius is such a rogue! Glad to see Abby can match him for that.

Reviewer: snappyDate: 2003-04-23
Reviewid: 29245Chapter: 1
all together now - "awwww......."

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-04-23
Reviewid: 29214Chapter: 1
Light, fluffy and perfectly 'cooked' - unlike Mr Black's efforts at biscuits!! I trust they got them out of the oven before they turned to charcoal. But then of course, they would have to make another batch ...!

Delightful as always. And I love the 'twist' at the end.

Reviewer: L. MorningstarDate: 2003-04-23
Reviewid: 29198Chapter: 1
Sweet and enjoyable beyond belief. Sirius is -so- amusing and witty -- I love it! You manner of storytelling was brilliant; it's also great how you can never tell who's talking! I loved it!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-04-23
Reviewid: 29186Chapter: 1
Tee-hee! This was really fun! The cute thing was that, while there are clues in the dialogue, you don't really know who's talking during the cookie-making process! (I can see Sirius as too impatient/spontaneous to perform the proper food preparation procedures, though!)

Now I want to eat some cookies...

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-04-23
Reviewid: 29185Chapter: 1
LOL! That was just good fun from start to finish. And I love the way you chose to present it (: I love the way you normally write, your descriptions are great, but this was perfect for the subject!

Reviewer: Incurable RomanticDate: 2003-04-23
Reviewid: 29180Chapter: 1
Adorable, as always. That just made my day. Thank you, I needed that very much.

Reviewer: yin_takuDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29146Chapter: 1
::insane laughter:: ::happy danse:: brilliant as usual katinka! i'm really glad i've got these interlude/ficlets to hold me over til book 5's out and authors like you start another part of the series again. =D ::is so excited::
anyhow, this one was adorable. the fluff meter shoots up and it's so cool how it's almost all dialogue. sirius's mind works like many other males who don't know how to cook: why wait for the cookie when the dough is just as good? :p of course, i'd argue that the idea of getting a stomach ache from raw eggs is not fun. ==;
wonderful story and i hope u write more ficlets between now and book 5. just a simple request. =D

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29143Chapter: 1
LOL!

Why bother cooking the biscuits? The dough tastes just as good! (I'm sure that was Sirius' logic!)

Nice job with an (almost) all-dialogue piece.

And what a great ending!

~Dr. Monaco~

PS: Hubert is coming along very well. He'll probably be finished by the first weekend of May (or before then if I manage to find enough time for it.)

Reviewer: RoseyDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29135Chapter: 1
Oh wow! Another ficlet! And so soon! *squeals* Oh, Katinka, you've made my day. :D

I absolutely love the simplicity of this, the dialogue says far more than words ever could. ;) The handprint? Priceless, simply PRICELESS. :D

*applauds* :D

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29127Chapter: 1
Giggle. I do not normally like fluffy things, but this is adorable! Abby better be in canon!

Reviewer: SpringrainDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29121Chapter: 1
I've been incredibly lax at reviewing, because I tend to read stuff offline. But now I'm still on, and I must say that this is a very funny. And sweet. And I love all of this series...

Reviewer: RiddleDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29120Chapter: 1
Too cute!
Love it!
*sigh*

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29114Chapter: 1
He he he! Absolutely perfect! 'pause for inspection' - an excellent little snippet! I loved the way it was all (well, nearly all) conversation because it left more to the imagination! Oh, what I'd like to do to/with Sirius in a kitchen.......... ;)

A lovely, well structured piece of work, and just in time - I was beginning to get withdrawal symptoms from lack of your writing, and it's only been a few days since your last update!
Love,
Hannah

Reviewer: AngelDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29113Chapter: 1
Sweet and very very fluffy.
I loved this - where does it come in the Abby Loomis collection?

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29110Chapter: 1
Very fluff and good. The way you keep them mysterious is great. By the way, who is the other person? ;)

Reviewer: Ellen MacKenzieDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29103Chapter: 1
That was so cute! ^_^

Especially the ending, you had me fooled. ;)

Reviewer: ClarryDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29100Chapter: 1
I’ve just finished reading every one of Abby’s story’s right the way from Interwoven to this one. Instead of leaving a review for each I thought I’d leave a giant one for all of them, ok so it might not be giant but there you go.

Anyway- I’m new to Sugar Quill and Interwoven was the first fic that I’ve read (I saw one of the fan art pictures and decided to read the story) and it’s the best introduction I could have asked for.

I think Abby’s character is really well developed and thoroughly believable which is something a lot of people (including me) seem to fall down on- its easier when you’ve got a character from the books that’s already been developed but starting from scratch and introducing a new character is sometimes impossible but you’ve done, and done it brilliantly!

As for Sirius he stays true to the Sirius we meet in the book and at the same time is developed very well. I love Sirius! He’s brilliant.

I like the way you developed the plot in interwoven and a kind and caring friend is just so sweet! Merry and bright entertained me for ages- I really liked that too.

But I’m not supposed to be reviewing them am I? In the Kitchen is good because although no names are mentioned till the very end I knew straight away who they were because the characters are so distinguishable from what you’ve already done- and the biscuit thing helped (that was so sweet!).

Ok- I’ll stop blabbing now I just wanted you to know how much I’d enjoyed your fics.

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29091Chapter: 1
Oh! What a wonderful wonderful wonderful interlude!

And (at least as in respect to unnecessary cooking questions) too true.

I giggled throughout. I usually pick my favorte quote, but there are too many lovely ones.

So here they are:

"“So when you kiss me, it’s almost as if you’re – ”

“Enough! Enough! I try not to think about that."

----

“C’mon, live dangerously. Don’t preheat.”

----
“Don’t you see where you got flour on me? What will they say in town?”

Pause for inspection. “Maybe they’ll think you did yourself.”

“I’d have to have rubber arms to get a handprint there!”

Snicker. “Leave it. They’ll have a whole new respect for you.”

ROTFLOL!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29088Chapter: 1
Nicely done. This bold experiment conveys the entire story through dialogue. Very good! You really convey the story quite well.

Catherine

Reviewer: KizmetDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29083Chapter: 1
The last line had me rolling on the floor! I had to go back and read the whole thing again just to be sure that my take on the whole story was right!

What a great story!

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29073Chapter: 1
Katinka, I CANNOT GET ENOUGH OF THIS DIALOGUE!! This is one of the funniest -- not to mention sexiest -- conversations I've ever read.

The easy back-and-forth between Abby and Sirius is a real treat. Their characters come alive with the script--there's no need for any dialogue attribution or physical description either!

You pack so many gems in such a short piece. The sifting, the kitchen counter, the *handprint*... and "C'mon, live dangerously. Don't preheat." still has me in stitches.

Thanks for the sneak preview!

Axelle

Reviewer: Mrs. HobbesDate: 2003-04-22
Reviewid: 29071Chapter: 1
OK, I'm all tingly and what we Filipinos would call "kilig." (not sure how that would translate) Again, fantastic dialogue (what I've always loved about your fics) and a great way to forget (for the moment) the imminent war that'll likely get between these two. Love the language, love Sirius (always did) and gotta love those biscuits! ;)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --