The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 46

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-11
Reviewid: 134250Chapter: 7
Wonderful except for the very end.

Reviewer: milietDate: 2005-03-22
Reviewid: 117402Chapter: 7
...Wow! That was so much fun !

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2004-09-18
Reviewid: 98560Chapter: 7
That was a great, fun feel-good story! I love the way the minor Gryffindors got fleshed out, and Mrs. Longbottom (er, sorry, *Matriarch* Longbottom) was hilarious -- especially her account of how she got spit out by the toad! Very cool.

Reviewer: TabeaDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91358Chapter: 7
This story is so funny! And so cool! And so wonderful! :D Neville Longbottom promoting toads!
The end of the story (the last chapter) was really great too, and very non-predictable. Yay for this story!!!

Reviewer: jstur83Date: 2004-05-03
Reviewid: 81159Chapter: 7
great story i also love neville fanfic keep up the good work

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-11-28
Reviewid: 61061Chapter: 7
heeheehee...

v. cute story! I want a toad like that! And the ending was priceless.... too bad Fudge is now so much of a dumb stick-in-the-mud that this story can't be canon anymore. But I love it!

off to read your other stuff,
~TPR

Reviewer: MariDate: 2003-10-20
Reviewid: 57123Chapter: 7
LMAO! *laughs* Oh this was just great! Really, that was such a interesting/original/hialirious idea that you came up for this story. Really loved it, great job! ^__^ <I especially loved the part of "I wish my gran was here...." And poof she was! Lol, just great.

Reviewer: ClaudiaDate: 2003-07-25
Reviewid: 43818Chapter: 7
What a wonderful story! I hadn't known what I was missing until I finally had the time to read your story. It was so much fun to read, and the atmosphere was so true to canon I almost forgot this wasn't in one of the books.
It's a very clever structure you've chosen with the many characters brought together very naturally and ingeniously. The whole idea never seems far-fetched. Once again you can see how the plot device of a mix-up still provides for a good story; I for my part did not expect anything along the line until Molly's appearance.
I love the humour in the story, and its very benevolent tone that is so very different from Book V (logically, being set in GoF ;-).
Please co-operate more often, Beaker and Katie!

Reviewer: KaleenaDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42048Chapter: 7
That was a really fun story! I really liked it. Most of the fan fiction that i read doesn't have an ending. It was great to finally found one that does. Keep writing!

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2003-05-31
Reviewid: 34713Chapter: 7
That was such a funny story. Trevor burping up Neville's gran! Hilarious! Poor Neville.....

I loved how Fudge got the asprin ( and I agree, ibuprofren does work better!).

Very VERY clever idea!

Reviewer: JohnDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33402Chapter: 7
I can't believe I didn't start reading this until the end, congratualtions on a truely smile inducing fiction.
It was just want I needed before my exams, thanks :)

Reviewer: lizDate: 2003-05-24
Reviewid: 33401Chapter: 1
its really funny!!!

Reviewer: Audra LachesisDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33377Chapter: 1
Oh, that's just great... I enjoyed reading that immensely. I thought I was going to choke when Neville wished for his gran! And I just love your explanation for it all, very creative.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33374Chapter: 7
Don&#8217;t need a toad o&#8217; me own, anyway.&#8221; She grinned...
-Cute ending!

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33367Chapter: 7
The ending was fabulous--particularly the little Dont need a toad o me own, anyway. LOL

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33342Chapter: 7
Ahaha! LOvely ending to the story. The last two lines were quite shocking, thank you. :) I DID have a lot of fun reading this so thank you for a wonderful story.

Reviewer: PaulineDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33321Chapter: 7
I'm very partial to "trail of breadcrumbs" plots, and this is an excellent example. You've slipped the reader seemingly inconsequential details as the story bubbled along, and pulled all these bits and pieces together into a perfectly plausible, but quite unexpected, conclusion. I'm also impressed by the way every character was so completely in character and your dialogue was consistently witty without ever seeming unnatural. But mainly, this story has become one of my favourites because it was so much fun. You're both abolutely right - the fun is the most important part.

Thanks for sharing the fun with us.

Pauline

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33307Chapter: 7
Great ending to a funny fic! I loved the explanation, but it was the very end that capped it. Good job!

Reviewer: gwyn ap rhysDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33295Chapter: 7
This was really great. Thanks for the good story. I would have loved to know what the shop lady was though.

Regards
Gwyn

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33290Chapter: 7
LOL, it was Floo powder all along! And it works on humans! Filomena and the pet store lady were so nice, too. Great job! I hope to read more of your work soon!

Reviewer: ...Date: 2003-05-23
Reviewid: 33286Chapter: 7
What fun! Great story, there.

Reviewer: PaulineDate: 2003-05-20
Reviewid: 32831Chapter: 6
I've been waiting and waiting for Hortense Longbottom to take the stand. You didn't disappoint me. And I quite agree with her - "Matriarch" should be her official title! Of course, now that you've ended the chapter with yet another captivating twist, I'm even more impatient for the next installment of this bloody brilliant story.

Pauline

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-05-19
Reviewid: 32652Chapter: 6
LOL! I thoroughly enjoyed "Matriarch" Longbottom's testimony! I could just imagine her in her nightclothes, bopping Neville on the head with a book! What a feisty old lady!

And what a one-two punch at the end of the chapter -- the revelation about the alleged tonic powder and Molly finally appearing! I can't wait to find out what happens next!

Reviewer: gwyn ap rhysDate: 2003-05-19
Reviewid: 32627Chapter: 6
Uh oh,

Do we have the culprit at last. What was that tonic powder? I think that Mrs Longbottom must have been very difficult to burp up, and I had been concerned about the trophy.

Regards,
Gwyn

Reviewer: JaimeGirlDate: 2003-05-19
Reviewid: 32625Chapter: 6
Oh, this is too funny!
Wherever did you get the idea for this story? It's great! I think I see where the story is going, but I'm not going to say anything, I'll just wait and see.
Hope you update soon! : )

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2003-05-18
Reviewid: 32572Chapter: 6
Hahahaha! Poor Gran...poor Neville! What HAS he been feeding Trevor? LOL Give me more. ;)

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-05-17
Reviewid: 32416Chapter: 6
Absolutely brilliant. Charming, whimsical, intriguing, and a great read. I've had it on my list for a while, but you know how it is...anyway I finally got a chance to start, I know I should have reviewed every chapter, but I was having so much fun. Great story, I can't tell you how much I enjoyed it. Wonderfully funny (:

Reviewer: Katharin the DragonDate: 2003-05-17
Reviewid: 32391Chapter: 6
Brilliantly funny!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-05-13
Reviewid: 31833Chapter: 5
Another great chapter! Lavender as the hysterical Divination freak was a laugh trip. I enjoyed seeing Parvati try to keep her friend together. (Lavender's distress over not ordering a stand along with her crystal ball was so funny!)

Hermione was very in-character. I like how she answered all the important questions right off and got down to business, then outlined her thoughts like she was in a detective novel! :D I enjoyed reading about her confrontation with Rita Skeeter, too. I'm glad that evil woman got thrown out!

Reviewer: AnonDate: 2003-05-10
Reviewid: 31444Chapter: 4
This is absolutely hilarious! You must update soon, I'm waiting on tenterhooks. Ron and Fudge both loving Chocolate Frog Cards...pure genius!

Reviewer: Jack JarveyDate: 2003-05-08
Reviewid: 31250Chapter: 4
" 'I heard that Crouch had some bloke named Weatherby spend the whole summer writing up a report on the thickness of cauldron bottoms!' He chuckled." You have a good sense of humor and yes, I "got" the Pythia joke in Chapter 3.

I think we are all looking forward to reading Hermione's testimony; it's got to be something truly embarrassing. I also cannot help but wonder what Fudge might do with Trevor in his possession.

-Jack

Reviewer: LazaraspasteDate: 2003-05-08
Reviewid: 31228Chapter: 4
A very funny fic.
You are very good at juggling a multiply scenes in one overarching scene. I like how the many different happenings during the break flow from one into another. I like your characterization of Fred and George. The idea that Ron and Fudge would bond over Chocolate Frog Card collecting was absolutely brilliantly funny.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-05-08
Reviewid: 31225Chapter: 4
Erm, the ending was rather abrupt, but I enjoyed the contrast between Percy and Scribner. Dolly Finnigan was a sweetheart, too! I can't wait to see what Trevor belched up for Hermione!

Reviewer: ...Date: 2003-05-08
Reviewid: 31162Chapter: 4
So fun! I'm loving this :)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 30985Chapter: 3
LOL! It's Trevor the Wish-Granting Toad! This is a really enjoyable story -- I'm loving how each incident is told (especially the remark about Trevor being "slimy" and Neville's defense of his pet) and how Ron and Fudge bonded over Chocolate Frog Cards!

Reviewer: ...Date: 2003-05-04
Reviewid: 30716Chapter: 3
Great story thus far, quite funny :)
Would you mind explaining the Pythia Off joke for the rest of us?

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2003-05-04
Reviewid: 30702Chapter: 3
Tee hee...pythia off. Hehe. ANyhow, another funny chapter. I can't wait to get to the bottom of this. It's quite entertaining, dear.

Reviewer: CrookshanksDate: 2003-05-04
Reviewid: 30670Chapter: 3
This is absolutely corking! Please write more.

Reviewer: triniDate: 2003-05-04
Reviewid: 30661Chapter: 3
i like it so far, but i dont get the pythia off joke. :-/

Reviewer: kazzaDate: 2003-05-04
Reviewid: 30650Chapter: 3
This story is hysterically funny. I adore it
Especially liked Ron and Fudge discussing their hobby and Dean'n'Seamus' testimony

Reviewer: Blue KelpieDate: 2003-05-01
Reviewid: 30302Chapter: 2
LOL I like the twins! The characterisation of them is just what it should be. :) Oh and Neville's Grandmother :) she's great too!

Kelpie

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29842Chapter: 1
ROTFLH! What an intriguing beginning! I hope you update soon because I am itching to know how Trevor became a spitting toad! (And how he spat that trophy up...)

PS The bit about Molly having trouble apparating because of change of life was a very nice detail :)

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29841Chapter: 1
Oh... dear...

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29779Chapter: 1
This is wacky and wonderful! Please update soon. How did Fred and George get involved in it? I wonder... Awesome job...left me hanging

Reviewer: EvaDate: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29775Chapter: 1
cute story! Write more!

Reviewer: KizmetDate: 2003-04-27
Reviewid: 29772Chapter: 1
Well! Looking forward to the rest of this one!
:)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --