The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 38

Reviewer: EmelyeDate: 2006-07-06
Reviewid: 143987Chapter: 1
"The boy was carrying a lavatory brush and somebody had stamped the word “FAILED” in royal blue ink on the boy’s forehead."

That has to be one of the funniest images ever. I can't seem to write humor, though (I hope) I'm funny enough in person. Great great Abashed!George dialogue. :D

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-20
Reviewid: 117184Chapter: 1
Cool Story. Well done.

Reviewer: SailoranimeDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95735Chapter: 1
*Takes deep breath* Funny.

Well, not funny, more like hilarious. I couldn't stope laughing through half of it. The idea of the twins taking the apparating test and causing mayhem is very in character. I wouldn't be surprised if that's how JK imagined it herself! Very funny, very in-character. ^_^

Reviewer: Red MonsterDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92751Chapter: 1
Good g0d. I cannot believe how silly that is. One-eared hooligan. Have the twins had their body parts properly reattached yet?

Reviewer: heartseaDate: 2004-06-19
Reviewid: 87853Chapter: 1
this has simply been lovely.

Reviewer: Madeline ElsterDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87652Chapter: 1
"Please Man Shop-thingy"

Brilliant, just like the whole story. The dialogue between George and the examiner--and George and Harry--was sheer entertainment. Keep up the good work!

God Bless,
Madeline

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80499Chapter: 1
i really think jkr should consult you when she writes her books. take from that what you will.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73326Chapter: 1
Another wonderful story on this wonderful board. But Gred and Forge never failed at anything they considered important.

Reviewer: whitetigerDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55156Chapter: 1
that was absolutly totally utterly and unashamedly hilarious

i loved it


i loved it



and yet again i loved it


whitetiger

Reviewer: DrieDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50790Chapter: 1
I absolutely love the humor in your writing. I have really enjoyed your take on various aspects of the wizzarding world. Looking forward to reading more of your work!

Reviewer: Max ZookDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50748Chapter: 1
I am greatly offended that you are allowed to post stories like this without a warning. I want you to know that I work in an open office space at which I am currently supposed to be working on my organization's monthly newsletter, and it is extremely difficult to have to explain why I have been laughing so hard while writing an article about pension returns.

The management shall hear of this. (Great story, by the way ... !!!)

Reviewer: FlamewingDate: 2003-08-27
Reviewid: 48889Chapter: 1
Oooooh, genius. That must have been an excessively random plot bunny, but it worked itself out pretty well. Nice job... *finishes calm review and commences to split sides laughing*

Reviewer: zsawDate: 2003-07-20
Reviewid: 43063Chapter: 1
This was great! When the first sentence came out earlier in the year, I always had assumed it
was Harry in the flowerbed-this was creative!

Keep writing, you do a really good job!

Reviewer: NeaDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42514Chapter: 1
Neat! :D

And Heather that's a v. good question. How? *curious*

Reviewer: heatherDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39286Chapter: 1
how did you manage to duplicate the first line of OoP over a month before it was released????

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2003-06-29
Reviewid: 38894Chapter: 1
LOL! Creative and funny!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-06-15
Reviewid: 36888Chapter: 1
HAHAH!!!!

what a brilliant idea! you're really creative...

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: Miss SnufflesDate: 2003-06-12
Reviewid: 36328Chapter: 1
Quite an ingenious, creative take on our little bite of canon! ;-) Now watch, it really will be one of the twins taking their Apparating lessons!

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2003-06-11
Reviewid: 36271Chapter: 1
On second thought--don't iron your hands! It would be a travesty if you couldn't write because of it!

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2003-06-11
Reviewid: 36265Chapter: 1
What a great example of taking a "story starter" and running with it! This is just great--the characterization, the light-handed tone, all the little funny scenes and lines all the way through it, George's obliviousness to the damage he's done (or maybe he's just pretending to be oblivious). You are a terrifically funny writer. Plus, your prose is improving as well, though it was good to begin with. The flow is smoother and the sentences less complex than your first effort, which makes the story easier to follow. Go iron your hands again, Elf!

Too bad writing fan fiction doesn't pay--unlike "day jobs"!

Thanks for the cultural notes--they do help. And thank goodness that Neighbours hasn't been picked up by PBS in America. We have enough useless TV already. Sounds like just the thing the Dursleys would watch, though.

Reviewer: wise1Date: 2003-06-10
Reviewid: 36212Chapter: 1
this is a really good idea because we really do wonder about the boy in the flowerbed
i just figured it was harry
this made me think

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-05-30
Reviewid: 34586Chapter: 1
LOL! Reading this, I'm suddenly fifteen again and taking Drivers Ed behind the wheel of a Ford Taurus wagon. :D I love your twist on "the boy in the flowerbed" idea. George has a wonderful twinnish disregard for rules, safety, and general propriety, and I like to think that he and Fred "dropped" by Privet Drive on occasion to keep Harry's spirits up.

<<"Oh, and the police took Fred’s ear as evidence.”>>

a;lfjasdlkfj;asdkfja;s!

Very funny -- great job!

~Katinka

Reviewer: LavenderDate: 2003-05-20
Reviewid: 32912Chapter: 1
That's a VERY creative take on the whole "hottest day of summer" thing. I love it! I never before considered that the boy might not be ol' Harry.

Reviewer: Ebony SteinbachDate: 2003-05-18
Reviewid: 32545Chapter: 1
Loved it! I like the twist on OotP canon sentence thing. Now I want to give George a hug, poor guy.

Reviewer: IsolaDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32295Chapter: 1
*Cackles* Brilliant! Now that was imaginative. I loved the kipper. :D

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-05-10
Reviewid: 31418Chapter: 1
Lol.Write more.

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-05-10
Reviewid: 31412Chapter: 1
As recommended by the Library review I visited. And I'm glad I did. They say a little canon goes a long way and you seem to have stepped into JKR's comic shoes effortlessly. Great characterisation. I especially like the line that they had used up the budget on memory charms.

Reviewer: MeghanDate: 2003-05-09
Reviewid: 31327Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh...that was so funny! Now we know who the boy in the flowerbed REALLY was...lol!

Reviewer: ShellmeDate: 2003-05-08
Reviewid: 31226Chapter: 1
Heh. Very good.

Reviewer: SpringrainDate: 2003-05-07
Reviewid: 31157Chapter: 1
Ooh, funny cute story.

Reviewer: eca celliDate: 2003-05-07
Reviewid: 31141Chapter: 1
Very original and extremely amusing!

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 31049Chapter: 1
LOL! So cute! Love the dry humor, the off-handed naturalness of it all. Great little ficlet.

Reviewer: Suburban House ElfDate: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 30983Chapter: 1
Thanks, googligoo, for pointing out a formatting glitch in this story. We seem to be missing about half a centimetre from the right hand side of the page. I've reported this to the boffins and expect it will be fixed in this next couple of days, so you might like to try and read again then. Obviously, we house-elves are far more adept at operating cooking and cleaning appliances than working computers!

Reviewer: gooligooDate: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 30937Chapter: 1
just to say. im having probs reading this cuz ur story doesn't fit the page right.

Reviewer: Mrs WeasleyDate: 2003-05-05
Reviewid: 30847Chapter: 1
Hilarious! Really, very sharply-written with funny lines everywhere, and very inventive. I loved the descriptions of George's apparating mishaps. I do hope we get some amusing learning-to-Apparate stuff in canon! I also enjoyed this as I could visualise the locations - I've just been to a wedding in Ealing Broadway! I should just add that I really enjoyed "The Brotherhood of the Besotted" but I don't think I got round to reviewing it. I'll try to do it another time!

Reviewer: AquillaDate: 2003-05-05
Reviewid: 30824Chapter: 1
Give up your day job and write fanfiction for the rest of eternity. I think it's like, your calling, or something.

Reviewer: zeldaDate: 2003-05-05
Reviewid: 30818Chapter: 1
Absolutely adorable, and with just a smidge of a hint of 'intent to cheer' on the part of George and Fred -- I thought it was wonderful. You describe everything so well, it's like I'm watching it happen as much as reading about it!

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2003-05-05
Reviewid: 30813Chapter: 1
Ha! Ha ha ha!

Nice to get a good laugh, first thing in the morning.
Nice light touch on George's character. I do get the feeling that he is a bit more "understated" than Fred, and I think that works here.

thanks for sharing.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --