The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-01
Reviewid: 141505Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: AprilDate: 2005-08-24
Reviewid: 130834Chapter: 1
Wow. Violet Azure recommended this, and I'm glad she did. That sounded so much like Neville's voice, still insecure, especially compared to his friends. Loved the little twist at the end.

Reviewer: Deadly_SecretsDate: 2005-08-23
Reviewid: 130719Chapter: 1
That was very, very heart-warming. I love Neville's character. And Miss Lyne's letter was so sweet and sad at the same time... very good work.

~ DS.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2005-04-22
Reviewid: 120345Chapter: 1
The first part kind of fooled me. I was thinking it was going to be another comic relief Neville, and how Neville would apparate somewhere with his arm sticking out of his forehead. I should have known better.

This was excellent. I loved how she asked him twice if he understood. Typical excellent teacher :). I'm definitely bookmarking this.

Reviewer: HamsiniDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83071Chapter: 1
Such heart warming lines! *Wipes a tear*.
Really beautiful but if you read the 5th book it says that Frank Longbottom was a supremely talented and brave man and the gran keeps saying that Neville never took after him.ah,well.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-05-06
Reviewid: 81380Chapter: 1
oh that was cute it is just what neville needed =)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-08-02
Reviewid: 45039Chapter: 1
Gret job! I really felt that was true to Neville. And such a nice touch to say he reminds her of Neville's father. Very sweet.

Reviewer: Rianne KenmareDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 37996Chapter: 1
It's great. Amazing. :D write another chpater, hopefully?

Reviewer: TapestryDate: 2003-06-09
Reviewid: 35960Chapter: 1
I just wanted to let you know I really enjoyed this fic, it was well written and paced. I love your descriptions, they are so inviting and lovely. Especially "Tall enough to be frightening, but short enough to trick me into thinking she might sympathise with me. An uncertain height." I also like how you brought Neville's dad into the ending, it was the perfect resolution.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32366Chapter: 1
[as though it's polite to be intrigued, but rude to be too curious] What a great description, very original.

[Tall enough to be frightening, but short enough to trick me into thinking she might sympathise with me. An uncertain height.] Great phrasing, a very original way to think of height. I really like your word and phrase choices in this piece.

Excellent lesson about hard work and not giving up on yourself. This is a lovely story for all those people in life who doubt their talents. And the bit about Neville's father at the end was really touching.

Reviewer: rabbitDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32302Chapter: 1
Well done, and so true too. I like the way that you've gone into Neville's head, although perhaps I'd like a hint that he's doing a little better in Potions for all his hard work if he's already 17. Maybe he only blows up cauldrons once a month now?

Will there be more? There doesn't need to be, but I wouldn't mind a vignette about Neville's first really noticeable success at Apparating and his reaction to it.

Reviewer: CasDate: 2003-05-13
Reviewid: 31932Chapter: 1
I always like fics that show not-comic-relief!Neville. This one takes a situation which could easily be written as humour (Neville learning to Apparate) but which takes a very different view, treating Neville as a real person.

Nicely written and well characterised.

Cas

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 30957Chapter: 1
BAAAAWWWW!!! *blows nose loudly -- don't worry, it's not SARS* I loved this! You did a great job getting into Neville's head. While unlike him I have a fairly healthy opinion of myself, I can empathize with his comparing himself to others all the time.

It was great of Miss Lyne to show that one needs to be well-rounded in order to succeed -- and to let Neville know that he has something in common with his father. (I must admit that when you mentioned Aurors, I automatically thought of Moody! LOL!) I think Neville really needed to know that :)

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 30952Chapter: 1
EXCELLENT little story here, JK. This is a very good piece, with strong insight into Neville, as well as a brilliant way to inspire him. I'm very impressed.

Reviewer: sheilaDate: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 30946Chapter: 1
Absolutely wonderful. I love reading neville stories, particularily ones as wonderful as yours. Extremely powerful.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 30917Chapter: 1
I loved this story. Neville was perfect. I also loved the last part with the note. It was a very good idea to include Neville's father in this. Brilliant story!

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-05-05
Reviewid: 30894Chapter: 1
Awww...this is so sweet! :) I especially liked the twist at the end. I can totally see this happening, the scenario reminds me of driving lessons for Muggles. Also, I can see that Neville might wish he was just an out-and-out Squib. I don't know if you meant Miss Lyne to be a Hufflepuff, but her speech on hard work sounded very Hufflepuffish. Nice one-shot!

Reviewer: Blue KelpieDate: 2003-05-05
Reviewid: 30867Chapter: 1
A Neville fic! brilliant, why are there not more of these around?

"It would be better to be a Squib. At least that way I'd fit in somewhere." That's just so sweet! Neville characterisation is spot on!

Kelpie

Reviewer: CasDate: 2003-05-05
Reviewid: 30820Chapter: 1
This was a nice story.I don't read a lot about Neville - he's often a character that appears in fics for comic effect. Here you present him as a real person which is nice. Gosh and even Gran isn't too much of a dragon. :) I like the idea that despite the horrendous theory, Apparating is something someone can learn with perseverance. I also like the idea that Frank didn't do too well at school. He's often presented as some sort of super proto Auror if he appears in MWPP fics, but again this snippet of his character via a letter gives a good insight into him.

I enjoyed this story very much.

Cas

Reviewer: lotrfanDate: 2003-05-05
Reviewid: 30819Chapter: 1
*tears up* Aww, that was sweet! Thank you! :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --