The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 228

Reviewer: CassieDate: 2006-07-07
Reviewid: 144012Chapter: 20
He he he!

This was brilliant, without doubt one of the most original, funny and entertaining pieces of fan fic I have ever read!

Congratulations!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131731Chapter: 20
You are very very good.
And a little scary. Thank you.

Reviewer: ClaudiaDate: 2005-07-03
Reviewid: 125966Chapter: 1
Hi, really good story! I laughed so hard!
Keep the good work up!

Reviewer: FranDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116346Chapter: 20
You realise this makes Snape Harry's uncle, no, no, thats just wrong, ugh. Your Angelina doesn't stray that much from canon, especially with all the swearing. I love the Brews-U-Like subplot and the H/G and R/Hr romances. Not so sure about Fred becoming the wizard equivilent of a footie hooligan though. I always imagine him as someone who stays just the right side of the law, or if he doesn't doesn't get caught!

Reviewer: puddleduckDate: 2005-01-02
Reviewid: 109532Chapter: 20
This was one of the best written, most original and enjoyable fan fictions I have ever had the good fortune to have recommended to me.

The amount of detail you've included is frankly amazing. Touches such as "Cho Chang, is a thespian of note, whose performance as Wendelin the Weird in last year’s production, The Lady’s Not For Burning, won critical acclaim" along with the imaginative Brews-U-Like subplot really brought to life the world of your fic.

I don't have any constructive critisism for you, I'm sorry but as I said it was a most enjoyable read.

- puddleduck

Reviewer: Just an IndianDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108760Chapter: 9
ive already read ur story of the "Flowers of Mimas" which led me to explore ur oher stories. i really like this story n have got only this far. however, i might add ,elf,tht i am thoroughly offended by ur description of cricket. to amend Amos's words,"Elf, do u know who i am?? i am the biggest fanatic of cricket there is in the world. u have been found at the scene of the commited crime with the guilty quill in hand".

now, elf get on with the "mimas" story, i assume it isnt over

Reviewer: SofiaDate: 2004-11-20
Reviewid: 105391Chapter: 14
love the story, but this quiditch chapter was lacking. it didnt make much sence. i had to re-read it a few times to realize that harry had caught the snich. and why was ginny yelling at harry after the match? oh well. everything else is awesome. this is one of the best stories i'v read in a long time. keep writing!!!

chao
sofia

Reviewer: Aloe BoseDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97822Chapter: 20
This story has been wonderful-- and lots of fun to read, so much so, in fact, that I have taken the liberty of printing it out, and am reading it, in installments, to my children as a bedtime story. My son's comment: But I thought Ms. Rawling had only written five books so far. You are to be commended (but there is to be no more cutting yourself with small-but-sharp knives: if you wish additional punishment, my twins have recently decorrated our walls with marker; and no maount of scrubbing or charming seems to remove it-- if you are feeling esp masocastic you could give it a go.)

Leisa

Aloe

Reviewer: CaitlinDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95173Chapter: 19
THAT WAS AN AMAZING ENDING! "Like the rest of the world, he waited patiently for the next part of his story to be told." It brings tears to my eyes, honestly. This is undoubtably the best Fifth Year Fic I have ever had the extreme pleasure of reading. Bizarre plot-bunnies about Snape's parentage aside, you captured the mood (and theme) of OotP with uncanny accuracy. Not since my first reading of OotP have I experienced such distress, such irritation with certain faculty and Order members, and, more to the point, such passion. And the metaphor of the "author" of Harry's "story" and it's "readers"... sheer brilliance. As Prof. McGonagall might say, my only regret is that the best I can give you is a review and not an Order of Merlin. Well done.

Reviewer: JO_TDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88115Chapter: 20
okay yea, I for got to add a few things. James Potter was
a chaser not a seeker. Go by the book not the movie. And Ginny's
full name is Ginevra, just to let you know.

Reviewer: JO_TDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88114Chapter: 20
Well, I really liked everything but the epilogue. Nice story
over all though. I would of liked to see more of it, or maybe
a sequel.

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80500Chapter: 1
okay, okay, so i take back what i said.
this story really does balance humor, suspense, comedy, character development and funniness.
who am i to dispute the anagram, anyway?
stupid anagram.

and your angelina isn't TOO far off from canon angelina, really. merlin's various anatomy, is she good at swearing, though!
tra la la, hermione and ron are in looove! ee hee hee!

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80400Chapter: 19
oh jeez, SHE. this was so good...
until... until...
snape is sweet long lost brother? are you kidding me?
why? why did you do it?
i weep.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73608Chapter: 19
This is hilarious! It's not as fun as the Brotherhood of the Besotted, but it's got more substance while still being wonderfully cynical and humorous.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73406Chapter: 8
I just have to put another comment in here, or else I'll be bursting by the end of the story.
Remarkably, now that OotP is finally out, how well you actually hit Ginny's developing character.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73393Chapter: 1
Just a moment of typing while I recover and then read on.
You had me laughing with the A/N alone, but by the time I came to McGonagall's comment about her 7th-years I felt hard strained not to wake my sister with loud laughter.

Reviewer: StarlightDate: 2004-02-20
Reviewid: 71494Chapter: 20
This was a great story! i just wish i hadn't spent 4 hours reading it, i'm going to be exhausted in school tomorrow!

Reviewer: NARDate: 2004-02-15
Reviewid: 70845Chapter: 20
Really great story. I have only one problem with the plot - what could have done Harry, if he figures out the Sticking Broom trick earlier? He won the first match, the twins lost the second (Harry couldn't win it anyway) and in the third match the staff team was leading too much (if you add the +20 points for the Sticking Broom trick) by the time the Snitch was spotted - Harry couldn't turn that game either.

Reviewer: KaliDate: 2004-02-02
Reviewid: 69222Chapter: 20
This is absolutely Brilliant.

Reviewer: angelina weasleyDate: 2004-01-29
Reviewid: 68804Chapter: 20
okaaayyy.... snape being related to lily was just kinda freaky but the rest was good yeah ride on angelina not taken as an insult, though you should have made her get married to dear old fred why is hermione not married to ron and why is harry now the BLOKE who lived? eh ? eh?

Reviewer: angelina weasleyDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65225Chapter: 3
thanks for apologizing mate! you can see that im a very big angelina fan. i loved this story and im excepting the fact that we all have to get grumpy sometimes cheers, angelina weasley

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63875Chapter: 20
I thoroughly enjoyed this story especially Bunty. I hope that at some point you will write a bit more about Bunty. She's a wonderful, interesting and amusing character and I'd love to hear more about her involvement with SPEW and how she got her desk drawer office.
As for Angelina being a grump, I thoroughly enjoyed your characterization of her. You managed to really keep to the lighthearted part of the HP spirit. Well done.

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63722Chapter: 11
Not finished with the story yet (which I am really enjoying and actually, you turned out to be right, Angelina was bad tempered in OotP), but I had to show off my HP knowledge. I've found the OotP quote
"“The thing about growing up with Fred and George,” said Ginny thoughtfully, “is you sort of start thinking anything’s possible if you’ve got enough nerve.”

Reviewer: IssyDate: 2003-12-01
Reviewid: 61391Chapter: 17
Being Australian, I adore the fact that the Bjelke-Petersen family have penetrated even to Hogwarts. *sighs* It seems there's nowhere they won't turn up - but your little quip about Flo B-P gave me a good laugh!

Great story, incidentally...

Reviewer: BeeDate: 2003-11-27
Reviewid: 60967Chapter: 20
Myf recommended this fic to me, but I was pretty hesitant about reading it, as the idea of a Quidditch fic didn't really appeal to me. But I'm so glad I read it now, because it was bloody brilliant! I really, really enjoyed it - it took my mind off my studies most effectively - which probably isn't a good thing... ;o)

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2003-11-01
Reviewid: 58459Chapter: 20
Wonderful!! This was a truly enjoyable read - I've printed it out and it's making its way around the rest of my family.

The thing that impresses me most about your writing in general and this story in particular is the complexity of the plot! You have so much going on here and the plotlines twist and turn without ever losing the thread of the story. Your characterizations are marvelous and your dialogue is crisp and real.

Another great story - looking forward to the next one!

Reviewer: Jack SchaferDate: 2003-10-09
Reviewid: 55944Chapter: 20
Brilliant story, wonderful characterizations, and unprecedented courage in NOT making it a Harry vs Voldemort story. I sincerely hope that you will continue to write, and to make your writings available to those of us who require such stories to bridge the long gaps between our favorite novels' release dates. If I could forbid you to punish yourself, I would.

Reviewer: FiannaDate: 2003-10-07
Reviewid: 55733Chapter: 10
Crikey mate! - you are an awsome writer. Thoroughly enjoyable. I love the way you "bring me into" the scene ie: (Chapter 3) the lake, everyone sitting with their shoes and socks off - I could feel the cool summer breeze wafting over the lake towards me. I'm glad you tackled the topic of Harry's exams and his fears about his marks - I always wondered how he'd get on, after missing so much school work in Goblet of Fire too. Oh and I love this... "But then, Harry's whole life had been a Defence Against the Dark Arts lesson." So true! I enjoyed the more sober moments too - Harry worrying about Sirius and Hagrid - he does like to burden himself doesn't he, our Harry? And as it turned out, you were "spot on" with Harry's guilt as per Order of the Phoenix. There are just so many good things to congratulate you on. I'm really enjoying the ride!

Reviewer: zakiDate: 2003-10-06
Reviewid: 55693Chapter: 20
I think this, and your previous story, was about the most enjoyable HP fanfics I've ever read. Not only did you capture the characters and flavor of the wizarding world perfectly, there were times I felt it even better than the originals. Very amusing, touching, silly and wonderful. I can think of no higher praise than that! Very very VERY very well done. And you'd better not hurt those precious fingers of yours in any humbling punishements, because I want to read more of your work in the future!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-10-06
Reviewid: 55654Chapter: 4
[But then, Harry’s whole life had been a Defence Against the Dark Arts lesson.] Hehe. Very true. Nice way of summing it up!

[She stopped in front of the waiting crowd and hovered about six feet above them, as though she intended to address them like a general on horseback.] Great description. Very vivid.

Hehe. Poor Merlin Rhys-Jones. And what a potty-mouth on Angelina!

[The Ministry was insistent that the dragon’s removal could not wait until July, as several children visiting the petting zoo had already been eaten.] Ha! Love the delightfully funny tone this story has!

[“No! Not you! The other ugly one - with the stupid haircut - Crappe or whatever your name is, get over here.”] Hehe! I don't think I've ever seen that particular nickname for Crabbe before!

Reviewer: PowderfingerDate: 2003-10-06
Reviewid: 55618Chapter: 20
Florence Bjelke-Petersen? Charlene Minogue? Mr McManus? Mr Capper? Oh my god! This is the best story EVER!! And at the beginning, whenever you mentioned Uluru, I'm all, "Oh my gosh! Australia!! Eee!" And the Ashes thing? Comedy gold!! I dont care what you write next, just write!
Charlene Minogue. Heh. That's just awesome. I wonder how Scott felt about that...

Reviewer: Brisbane Lions! W00T!!Date: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55611Chapter: 16
You are so funny!! This is awesome! I especially like the fact that Warwick Capper had to inspect something. That man is the tooliest tool in Toolonia. You're my new favourite author now.

Reviewer: jellybeanDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55600Chapter: 20
firstly i would like to congratulate you on your amazing talent and your unsurprisingly successful fanfic, its the best!

i love everything you've written and hope you will write a sequel this this story soon, or another that is completely unrelated in every whichway, i dont care, as long as u write more.

luv me x

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55416Chapter: 20
SHE, I loved this story. So satisfying (among other reasons) to see all the Australian references! I especially liked that Wood ended up playing for the Thundelarra Thunderers and that Merlin ended up playing rugby *grins with the happiness of even a fictional character becoming addicted to her favourite sport*. I though it was particularly well written and the epilogue was perfect!

Reviewer: DSDragonDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55385Chapter: 20
And here I was, hoping that "the sub-plot that wouldn't go away" would somehow be woven into the actual story (besides the way it was), and the rest of them would find out about Snape's relationship to Harry as you have made it. Bummer.

Great ending though!

Reviewer: AlyndraDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55374Chapter: 20
You did a very good job in this last section in imitating the writing style of QTtA. Very impressive. The line that cracked me up (Which is rare, trust me) was "decided it might be altogether more sensible, and possibly even safer, to concentrate his attention on defeating Lord Voldemort." Loved the whole fic, really, very cohesive, balanced, and all came together beautifully in the end.

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-10-03
Reviewid: 55311Chapter: 20
Pretty good, whose harry's wife anyway?

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-10-03
Reviewid: 55310Chapter: 20
BAAAAWWWWLLLLL!!!! It is over!!!! *sniffs happy tears*

Thank you for this "What Happened to Them?" portion. There is no end to the funny bits here -- I loved Charlene Minogue (I used to watch reruns of "Neighbors" featuring the young Kylie, Jason Donovan and Guy Pearce) and the title of the Weird Sisters' song. I also loved Mordred and Crappe/Crabbe's jobs :D

I also liked how not everyone came to a good end. I'm sorry Fred had a problematic life and Harry stopped playing Quidditch, but if they're happy with the way things ended then it's OK.

Great job! Can't wait to read more of your work!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-10-03
Reviewid: 55309Chapter: 19
I thought the ending was rather abrupt, but only because you didn't indicate (through asterisks or whatever) that the part after Hermione basking in the job well done wasn't part of the scene anymore :-p

Anyhoo, as always this was a great chapter. The bit about the Healer finally cracking Cruciatus gave me chills :) And now off I go to the epilogue!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-10-03
Reviewid: 55307Chapter: 18
Fabulous chapter! I loved Hermione (and Ron's) submission to the essay contest, and Snape's reaction to it. I also really enjoyed the backstory to Snape. (Perseus is the Greek hero who was sent away and then later came back to accidentally kill his father using the Gorgon head, right?)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-10-03
Reviewid: 55305Chapter: 20
What a great ending!! Like an extended curtain call! Keep your quill sharp. We need well-written fun. When you get a chance, I think most people would be interested in the lyrics to "May You Fall Off Your Broom, You Traitorous Scumbag". I am hearing Queens We will Rock You driving the lyrics in a huge stadium. Nice work!

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2003-10-03
Reviewid: 55294Chapter: 20
Warwick Capper, Florence Bjelki-Peterson and Charlene Minogue! BWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAA!!!
Not to mention all your other Aussie 'nods'. *winks at fellow Aussie*

I loved this story. So many gems. So much subtle, or should I say understated, hilarity. (like Filch launching skywards with a shriek) The sort of stuff that you don't really notice or appreciate fully until re-reading. (kind of like Rowling really ;~) ) I really, really love your writing style!

The epilogue for this story was to die for. "May You Fall Off Your Broom, You Traitorous Scumbag" BWAHAHAHAHAHA! Priceless! And the 'ride Angelina' posters... *titters*
Ahh, I could go on and on.

Thankyou for the pleasure! And PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE write something else for us soon!

PS: I'd like to know what went on in Bunty's office. ;~)

Reviewer: YostiDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55228Chapter: 20
You really really really are an excellent writer. It's a shame the story is over already.
I hope you start a new story soon :)

Reviewer: TyrneDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55214Chapter: 20
Sincere thanks for providing such a wonderful (and cohesive) story that provided several much needed breaks from the workday. I look forward to your next story!

Reviewer: FalcoDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55199Chapter: 20
I'll write a proper review later, but for now this'll just have to convey my feelings on your fic:

*gives standing ovation*

Reviewer: JayneDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55190Chapter: 20
This is perfect. I couldn't (obviously) have imagined it better myself. You have true genius, SHE. I loved reading it, and I hope to see your name on the author's list again soon!

Reviewer: AllieDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55167Chapter: 20
Charlene Minogue??? *snort*

I'm in two minds now - happy to finally get to the end of the story, and not happy that it's finished! I'll miss checking in here to see if you've updated!

But is it really finished?

Does Harry ever find out that Severus Snape is his uncle?

Are the rumours true that Ginny is featured in the 'Woollangong Book of Wizarding World Records' for burping the entire works of the Weird Sisters while under the influence of a nasty hex?

Allie
who can't find her wheatie

Reviewer: SavvyDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55140Chapter: 20
LOL! Love. This. Story.
I just had to say that, and it seems that everyone else who has reviewed this has said exactly this, so I'm not going to repeat them. I reckon the witty disclaimers were so cool - I look forward to reading more stories just to read them.
"Charlene Minogue".... hmm... I wonder where that name came from, though Aussies might be the only one to pick up the 'Neighbours'/Kylie thing.

Write more soon please!
Savannah

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55099Chapter: 20
It's over! Nooo!

*sighs happily* Gosh, that was wonderful. A bittersweet and unexpectedly poignant ending to a rollicking good yarn. You write Dumbledore so well, I'm thoroughly impressed. Mary's a lucky girl - she certainly got her story about Quidditch.

I will be proudly upstanding, and will lustily sing 'May You Fall Off Your Broom, You Traitorous Scumbag' at the next Test Match.

Thank you for such a great fic! I hope you enjoyed it as much as we all did.

Myf

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55090Chapter: 20
aw...the end....

Well may I say jolly good job!! Can't wait for more from you!!

Reviewer: BelitaDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55072Chapter: 20
This last chapter had me falling out of my chair laughing!

"The Angelina" broomstick!! Bwahahahaha!

And the unclaimed Dangerous Dai Commemorative Medal....
"Quidditch trivia buffs do not tire of boring their unsurprisingly few friends with this information."

Bravo! Bravo! Marvelously funny!!
Thank you for a grrrreat story!
: D

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55063Chapter: 20
WOO-HOO! LAST CHAPTER UP! Very funny, very clever, an 8.

Reviewer: DSDragonDate: 2003-09-26
Reviewid: 54435Chapter: 18
An interesting twist, I must say . . . Snape being Lily's long-lost twin . . . And it makes sense that Petunia wouldn't have mentioned it. Although why he's named for a star, when Lily and Petunia are flowers, I don't know.

Also, the summary for this fic led me to believe that the professor/student Quidditch match would be the main focus of the story.

Oh well. More story that way! Just keep pluggin' along, and I look forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: FlamewingDate: 2003-09-26
Reviewid: 54414Chapter: 18
Okay, that was the funniest, most touching, best insight into Snape's life I've ever read. And a very strange one too....so Snape is Lily's twin brother, in your opinion...that's cool. You're a genius for writing, so keep on going... *wishes it was October*

Reviewer: jellybeanDate: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54345Chapter: 18
omg! so so good.......when did u think of that! if ur right......woah!

great chapter......v thought provoking

Reviewer: Susan BDate: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54286Chapter: 18
EW!! That would make S.S. H.P.'s *uncle*!!

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54263Chapter: 18
Pro:*dies laughing* The report is going to be in the Daily Prophet-oh, this is too good to be true.

Con: Lily and Snape, brother and sister, that makes no sense at all.

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54234Chapter: 12
I know it!! I know the OotP quote!!
“The thing about growing up with Fred and George,” said Ginny thoughtfully, “is you sort of start thinking anything’s possible if you’ve got enough nerve.”

YAY! NOW do I get my skiving snackbox? Pleasse? This is great!! Keep it up!!
Margaret

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54227Chapter: 18
That was surely odd, clever, and I have to admit that 'tis 'bit confusing.

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54223Chapter: 18
I have to say I think you rock!! You may very well be my favorite author here at SQ. I love the fact that your stories are funny yet well-written with intriguing plots. Please keep it up. I don't think I've read anything you've written and haven't liked it. I hope that made sense...

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54183Chapter: 17
Loved Angelina's description of the letter from Holyhead. I was hoping she would make Fred eat it ^_^ but since he said the letter writer was a big hypocrite, I can forgive him. I hope things work out for Angelina, though.

WHOA on George's eyes! Can't wait to see what's behind that!

And so we find out about the Sticking Broom and more about the Marauders' school days! Very nice reminiscences by Remus and Sirius. They were very in character :)

Reviewer: ElucrehDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54179Chapter: 18
Now, THERE's a bizarre little twist for you...it's got quite a bit of potential, why shuffle it in among this? It could make a nice fic all on its own.

I do love, "However, do not forget that Weasley is an imbecile." I absolutely ADORE your side-effects. And I like the way Snape thinks of Hermione, that brilliant bone...and Lupin's farewell line.

And please do let the twins give Lee something that explodes! Really loudly! In purple! Please?

Reviewer: AllieDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54177Chapter: 18
Bloody brilliant! I'd never thought to work out if 'Severus Snape' could be an anagram for something else!

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54157Chapter: 18
*jaw drops* Oh, that's just great. Why have I never figured that out before? Hurrah for anagrams, Adeline!

You know, if this is the sort of thing that results when the plot bunnies are healthy and plentiful, I shall make it my sole occupation to sneak round to your place and ensure they're well-fed.

How many more chapters? Oh, and what a low thing to do to Padfoot! Blergh.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54154Chapter: 18
Brilliant! I am glad you fed that plot bunny! It grew up to be as funny as Harvey or Bugs! And the anagram!! Great work

Reviewer: LinDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54145Chapter: 18
That's so sad! Poor Snape was kidnapped as a kid... ::sniffle:: Dang it, Elf, you're going to make me cry.

Hee hee, Brews-U-Like is going to get what they deserve! Go Hermione! And it's nice to see that one of my Crackpot Theories was right ;) Very entertaining side effect there. Though if the cure was that simple, you'd think they could've found it in the library... but then, we ARE talking Gred & Forge here. Silly boys.

Reviewer: jellybeanDate: 2003-09-20
Reviewid: 53678Chapter: 17
oh please do finish chapter 18 soon i can't wait to find out wot happens next. i am intrigued.

i am hooked on ur stories and hope u write another one after this 1. ur such a great writer

luv me x

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-09-20
Reviewid: 53620Chapter: 17
That was definitly good. I've been puzzled why the student team lost; I just couldn't figure it out for months. As for Snape being banned from ever being on his house team ever again by the old coach, now that's a laugh.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53459Chapter: 16
Oh, I really enjoyed this chapter! Oliver flipping through his rulebook was funny and so was Lee the bookie :D Poor Fred, tho -- well, not really, I can't believe the Weasley twins would throw the game for money. I mean, we know they like to gamble, but it's just so sodding wrong. Anyway, I hope Angelina kicks Fred's butt. But then she seems to be making him miserable already just by giving him the silent treatment, so -- you go, Angelina!

I just noted one thing: wouldn't Harry call Draco "malfoy" and Lucius "*MR.* Malfoy"? That's just a teeny nitpick.

I also want to find out why Hagrid was carrying Filch around like he's Mrs. Norris and Hagrid is going to put him out.

Kudos on making the Hufflepuff prefect a bit of a goon and Merlin Rhys-Jones a vocal critic of the Gryffindors. I like to see Huffs showing that kind of backbone. I also liked the Hufflepuff leading a new round of the birthday song during Harry's put-down of Malfoy! Good work, Harry and unidentified Hufflepuff! Crappe--I mean, Crabbe's smashing Snape in the face was a kind of pleasant surprise, too :-X

Hee, and I can just imagine how Ron looks...and smells <_< The image of the stubble was sexy, but the rest of it -- bleah! Hermione can have him! :D

And again, I loved the narration of the game. Besides Crabbe's free nose job, I liked when the Quaffle got stuck in Hagrid's beard! LOL! And oh my goodness, who was that Muggle crying about? I hope to find out in the next chapter!

Reviewer: JayneDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53455Chapter: 17
Brilliant! And Draco is George. Where is George? Where are Ron and Hermione? Ack. Will Ginny ever speak to Harry again?

I loved your Snape and the wild yarn with Katie whom I suspected correctly but wrongly at the same time.!

Reviewer: JayneDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53453Chapter: 17
Brilliant! And Draco is George. Where is George? Where are Ron and Hermione? Ack. Will Ginny ever speak to Harry again?

I loved your Snape and the wild yarn with Katie whom I suspected correctly but wrongly at the same time.!

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53446Chapter: 17
Well, this is certainly an interesting chapter. More like elevanty-two still to unravel, however.

Pro:Funny, intruiguing...
Con:Very confusing, mystery is good but not so much your readers don't know a single thing that is going on.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53435Chapter: 15
Ah, I finally got back to reading this fic! I think I started reading this chapter a long time ago, but didn't get to finish it...anyhoo, loved the account of Kirley's arrest. It is a lot like the celebrity-paparazzi reports we read in the Muggle papers, but your quotations from the article still sound a lot like JKR's wizard-style reporting: the "maniacal musician," and the officers being Warbeck fans. Hehe!

Also, while I was reading about Peeves pestering Harry, I couldn't help but remember how he annoyed Katie Bell in OotP! Hee! For a while I was confused whether I had read about Katie throwing things at Peeves in canon or in this story! Good work!

Your Cho is clearly not the hosepipe she is in canon, but she still makes me want to SMAX her. The damsel in distress routine was annoying (tho I did like the way you described her from Harry's POV) and she certainly snapped out of it fast when Harry wouldn't give her what she wanted! Hmpf! *KIX Cho in the booty*

Haha on Malfoy's feet turning into birthday cakes! I also loved Hagrid's shoebox and the line that went "the question would more than likely solicit the name of a beast that was deadly, illegal to own, or both." :D Oh, and Oliver's troll! I could see it looming in the background as I read that part. Bit of a question, tho: why would Hagrid feel like a "prune" in his gear? I thought he'd describe himself as a great big peppermint candy or something, unless "prune" is a British slang term I haven't heard of.

Your Quidditch scene was great. I enjoyed the descriptions of the maneuvers and the individual players' styles, even though Oliver's calls still smell fishy to me. And it seems like Flitwick has the same dumb luck as Harry when it comes to catching the Snitch!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53395Chapter: 1
[I am sure she will find her own way of celebrating the twins’ last few weeks at Hogwarts.] And the Sybil Trelawney Crystal Ball Award goes to......

[They’ve had to change the whole marking scale to allow results of greater than four hundred percent.”] *snert* That's Hermione for you.

Your Snape is deliciously snarky and funny. He's out and out delightfully grouchy and I love his comments on werewolves and the spin Rita Skeeter put on it.

Love the tone of the writing, very light and fun and utterly charming. Looking forward to seeing how the Tournament plays out.

Reviewer: LaurenDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53366Chapter: 17
YAY!! An update, YAY!!! ; ) Keep up the good work, I can't wait for the next chapter!!

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53339Chapter: 17
oh yeah I forgot about those other mysteries...can't wait for more!

Reviewer: FlamewingDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53290Chapter: 17
Yes, please DO be getting on with Chapter 18. Such a wonderful thing, you updated...Very very nice chapter. Finally things start to make (some kind of twisted) sense. Sticking Broom...eugh...Well, yeah. BRIL.

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53282Chapter: 17
This has got to be one of the best chapters yet. It read really smoothly, and the pacing was great. And then there's the brilliance of 'a free and unsolicited sample of a black eye', which had me snorting with laughter and attracting strange stares.

I have to admit that I didn't even devote any of my limited brain run-time to figuring out what the Sticking Broom could be - with your imagination, I could have pondered it for years and never caught up! So, no lion's hat for me. :(

So nice to see Sirius and Remus again! I'm surprised that Sirius would have called himself 'hopeless' during the game against Snivellus, he always strikes me as being the sort of person to remember his strengths and forget about his weaknesses. But I suppose if he's trying to make Harry feel better.

You get ten extra House points for Florence Bjelke-Petersen - I got a good laugh out of that!

Now, about those violet eyes - I am intrigued! More, please!

Reviewer: jellybeanDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 53051Chapter: 16
omg i cant wait to find out what happens next this is too frustrating. i'd just like to say also that ur writing is amazing, i love it!

p.s. how cud anyone guess, this is way way confusing...

Reviewer: DeborahDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51845Chapter: 16
I think I figured out the Sticking Broom! It was Snape's strategy there at the end. Harry had to catch the snitch right then in order to win, so Snape hogged the quaffle so the student team wouldn't be able to score, then when Harry was going for the snitch, he scored so that the teacher's team had the most points when the game ended. The only thing I can't figure out is how Snape is known for this if he never played Quidditch when he was in school. Anyway, I enjoy your style so much. I was racing to finish so I could find out what the heck is going on, exactly the way I have felt the first time I read each of the books. You get the humor in there so well too. I loved how Professor Flitwick was picking flowers during the practice and how his robes came fluttering down. Bunty and her office were perfect. What have Ron and Hermione been up to in there? What is going on with Lucius? I liked this description, "His limp hair streamed behind him, his crooked teeth were bared in a hateful smile and his dark eyes shone with the rich glint of lunacy." Poor Harry, he can never have a peaceful June. I hope you update soon! You are such a good writer, keep writing lots of stories! Deborah

Reviewer: LukeDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51728Chapter: 16
The sticking broom? I dont know.....Filch's broom sticks to him rather than him sticking to it........I think Filch has a charm on him.....or the broom has a sticking charm on it!

Reviewer: erikaDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51203Chapter: 12
“The thing about growing up with Fred and George,” said Ginny thoughtfully, “is you sort of start thinking anything’s possible if you’ve got enough nerve.”

Reviewer: DSDragonDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51127Chapter: 16
At first, I thought The Sticking Broom was an old nickname of Madame Hooch's, but then, once you wrote about Snape's Nimbus 1200, I thought it was probably him. Now, with the semi-obvious clues you've been throwing, I think I'll stick to my second assessment.

By the way, a couple of chapters ago, Hagrid's last words... REALLY BAD PUN! But I loved it nonetheless.

Reviewer: Jack SchaferDate: 2003-09-05
Reviewid: 50868Chapter: 14
No, you are right, and I am wrong.

Lovely stories, your characterization and pacing are spot on.

Reviewer: Jack SchaferDate: 2003-09-05
Reviewid: 50866Chapter: 12
I am almost certain that a "slattern" is a woman of loose morals and easy virtue.
A "sloven" is a person who lives in a state of environmental disarray.

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-09-05
Reviewid: 50855Chapter: 16
Whatever the sticking broom is, it's really irritating. Poor old Harry, if I was him i'd be shouting by now. this chapter reminds me of that quote from Hitch-Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy. 'It must be Thursday, i could never get the hang of Thursdays.' except for Harry it's June. I'm hooked, get the next chapter up soon.

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-09-05
Reviewid: 50852Chapter: 16
One more thing. Malfoy's just nothing but a WIMP, and greedy, and has no sympathy for others. Maybe, if the Ministry's powerful enough not to be obscured by Malfoy, they'd strip him of his wealth and make him like as a muggle to feel what's it like for awhile.

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-09-05
Reviewid: 50851Chapter: 16
Now that is outrageous. How can they lose if Harry just nearly caught the snitch? How can he just fall off his broom? Patheticness in the this last part of the chapter is what I'd would say. But nice climax going anyways.

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-09-05
Reviewid: 50833Chapter: 16
AARGH!AARGH!AARGH!SO CONFUSING...

Ok,I'm glad I got that out of my system.

Pro:Funny,surprising.
Con:I'm very,very confused.

The Sticking Broom belongs to Lucius Mafloy, he is using it to hypnotize the players into losing the game so that Saint Mungo's get's no money, and he's going to set Saint Mungo's aflaim and get that money for himself...

Reviewer: LinDate: 2003-09-05
Reviewid: 50818Chapter: 16
Whee, the final game! I was wondering if the Weasley's switcheroo would be noticed.

And now... Lin's Crackpot Theories!

1) The Sticking Broom is Snape's Nimbus; the Sticking part is whatever he did to make it rideable.

2) George was playing badly because the Sneakypop overdose affected his sight. Hence, Fred played in his place and George hung around the Brews-U-Like tent trying to get some compensation.

3) The Weasleys weren't *really* trying to fix the tourney in the teachers' favor... they've got too much pride for that. Fred made that bet to piss Angelina off.

Am I right, or even halfway close to right? We'll find out in two weeks! Great story, Suburban House Elf!

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-09-05
Reviewid: 50808Chapter: 16
I'm am so freakin sick of this sticking broom!! What the hell is it? and will Ron and Hermione remain safe!! STOP WITH THE CLIFFHANGERS!!

Reviewer: Lizzy BennettDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50779Chapter: 16
The Sticking Broom, the Sticking Broom. Could it have something to do with Snape especially? I bet. Maybe...Snape /sticking/ to Harry (ie, watching him all through the match while he held the Quaffle)? No. Probably not. But definitely to do with Snape. Or Filch.

Reviewer: FalcoDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50752Chapter: 16
You rat. Leaving your readers in suspense until the next chapter. Wah.

I'm afraid I have no idea what the Sticking Broom is and were I to hazard a guess it would be further from the truth than Voldemort is from Sainthood. It must have something to do with Professor Snape's broom, though. Or is that a JK-esque red herring?

I liked the way you worked in elements of OotP!Harry into your characterisation of our favourite speccy hero. Particularly the annoying nobility, " How could Merlin, who had sung Men of Harlech while standing on a table in a pub, have the effrontery to call Gryffindors loonies?" being one outstanding example.

Reviewer: ElucrehDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50751Chapter: 16
Oooohh...no guesses. But I do very much enjoy what you're doing, and I hope Hermione strikes a sound blow for quality potions everywhere!

Reviewer: Darwin's ApprenticeDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50744Chapter: 16
Superb! As usual. My daughter will be glad to know there's an update. We've enjoyed the whole thing. Great work building huumor and suspense. I was onto Floating Filch straight away. And I think I know why. But I'm looking forward to all the answers! Great work!!

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50710Chapter: 16
what in merlin's dangly bits !

Reviewer: FiannaDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49933Chapter: 2
Suburban House Elf, you have a gift for conjuring your own magic with the way you write. Very enjoyable story. You write Snape brilliantly. Oh and I love the idea of having a trip to Australia as a prize for the Brews-U-Like competition (Go Aussie, Go). You have a vivid imagination and this story has some of the best and funniest lines I've come across (to quote but a few:)

(McGonagall) "Half of my N.E.W.Ts class couldn't transfigure a block of ice into a puddle."

He contemplated framing the edition of the 'Daily Prophet' which would publish Potter's failures and hanging it on his dungeon wall.

Within days of the magazine being publishe, Severus Snape had received a flood of fan mail, including several owls bringing marriage proposals from witches whose enclosed photo's revealed an abundance of facial hair.

The plan was so elegantly simple that it was destined to fail from the start.

- And this is only from the first 2 chapters! Loving it!
~Fianna.

Reviewer: ElucrehDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48684Chapter: 15
Oh, Lor! Write! Write! Write! You're BRILLIANT!! I wanna know what's gonna HAPPEN!!!

Reviewer: MeaganDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48555Chapter: 6
The Snape anagram was inspired =-) Was it supposed to be by him under another alias, or did you just use that name and the 'Snape's Bio' to make it funnier?

~Meg

Reviewer: FlamewingDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48425Chapter: 11
“The thing about growing up with Fred and George,” said Ginny thoughtfully, “is you sort of start thinking anything’s possible if you’ve got enough nerve.” That's your quote, and one of my favorites from canon.

Ah, genius you... *scurries off to read the rest*

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --