The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Better than Binns
Review(s): 217

Reviewer: spooky foxbabeDate: 2004-11-28
Reviewid: 106222Chapter: 12
way cool. i admit i skipped around a little bit, but i still think it's really good. are you planning to write more?

Reviewer: TADate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71343Chapter: 12
Great job, I loved it!!!

Reviewer: PresleyDate: 2004-01-25
Reviewid: 68395Chapter: 12
I loved this story I felt like ron I had to read more and more~ email me sometimes i'm writing some storys~

Reviewer: PaigeDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68137Chapter: 12
Fawkes,
I can't believe it's over... Wonderful ending! I was sitting here, alone, sick, and you have no clue how great it was for me to find this fixed.

<< At that moment, Ginny and Hermione came down the stairs. Ron and Harry (who was trying to flatten his hair) gaped openly.
“I think what Ron and Harry here are trying to say is that you both look very nice,” Charlie said to Hermione and Ginny, winking at them.>>

*laughs* Although I would like to know how Percy got 'back together' with his family... You have intreagued me to no end with the Founders, and astounded me even more with your wonderful characterization. I hope to see your name on the Updates list again, and with that, Draco Dormiens Nunquam Titillandus.

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68040Chapter: 12
It's Back!!!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2004-01-20
Reviewid: 67818Chapter: 12
Me- I agree... I emailed them asking why. I submitted again so hopefully it will be back up soon. Go to the DarkArts @ fictionalley.org if you want to read it now. Under same user name.

Reviewer: meDate: 2004-01-20
Reviewid: 67787Chapter: 12
what the hell!? why is alchemilla's last update here!?

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67758Chapter: 12
Thanks story!

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67736Chapter: 11
can't wait to read the real last chapter, great fic,

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67720Chapter: 12
Yes, our chapters got mixed up... sry about that!

Reviewer: p0tterfanDate: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67683Chapter: 11
Did the wrong Chapter 12 get uploaded for some reason? Chapter 12 seems to be Alchemilla's The Test of Time chapter 14 ... http://www.sugarquill.net/read.php?storyid=189&chapno=14

Anyhow, looking forward to the actual chapter 12 :)

Reviewer: jamuDate: 2004-01-18
Reviewid: 67630Chapter: 12
isn't this the last chapter for Alchemia's 'the test of time'??

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2004-01-17
Reviewid: 67537Chapter: 1
For those who can't wait, it's up on Dark Arts correctly, to my knowledge. Although, tis purty here and waiting is worth it. 8-)


Kate

Reviewer: StephDate: 2004-01-17
Reviewid: 67527Chapter: 12
what? this is confusing its like a whole new story i dont understand

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2004-01-17
Reviewid: 67392Chapter: 12
I know about the mix up. There was an issue with the uploading I guess... hopefully the real chapter will be out soon. It's not anyone's fault.. it's just a mix up. It should be cleared soon. Come back and read it soon!

Reviewer: cDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67370Chapter: 12
I am very confused. Isn't this supposed to be about the Hogwarts Four? This doesn't seem like that story at all.

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67339Chapter: 12
Um... I'm not really sure what happened here, but I rather think the wrong file got in somewhere. (Feel free to get this comment deleted, of course, especially once everything's cleared up.)

Reviewer: NicDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67334Chapter: 12
hmm I am trying to read ch. 12 Finished at Last in Better than Binns but it keeps taking me to Chapter 14: Father and Son from Test of Time
is that your fault or is their something wrong with my comp.?
(I'm reading both)

Reviewer: CarmenDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67328Chapter: 12
I... don't think this is for the same story.....

Reviewer: Edward WoodwardDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67319Chapter: 12
this ending had nothing to do with the founders and the founding of hogwarts....

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67260Chapter: 12
Ok, glad to see I'm not the only one who was confused... I thought I had missed a chapter, or something... I wish I could read the actual chapter, though, I want to know how it ends!

Reviewer: US HP fanDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67252Chapter: 12
Umm, is anyone else getting the wrong chapter?

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67246Chapter: 12
A wonderful story all the way through. Very poignant writing, great characterizations... just fabulous. Thanks so much for this piece. I recced it on a Founders Fic thread excitedly, because I loved it so much. 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: NatalieDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67228Chapter: 12
Great story! one problem, though- it appears that Alchemilla's latest chapter has bean uploaded onto your story. Whoops. Keep writing!

Reviewer: kñlkljlklrfdr6derswzDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67221Chapter: 12
Is it just me or does this seems to be a different story altogether?

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66784Chapter: 11
Portia- Thanks!
Paige- There is one more chapter.. thanx for all the reviews!
Sarah-It should be coming soon!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66727Chapter: 11
Alrighty.... can't wait to see what happens when Ron tells Hermione that he's actually read the whole book!!!
Should be interesting.... Onward!

Cheers!
Sarah ^_^

Reviewer: PaigeDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66706Chapter: 11
Fawkes,
Is it over? *whimpers* I liked the last words idea for each of them. Your last paragraph is a great conclusion to an awesome piece of work. I too would like to see the look on good old Hermione's face!

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66699Chapter: 11
Cool!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66689Chapter: 11
Thanks ed!

Reviewer: edDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66548Chapter: 11
This is really great. I loved it. Can't wait for final chaps.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66505Chapter: 11
Kate Lynn- Thanks! I'm glad that line stuck out... :)
Pig- There is one more chapter left. Thanks!

Reviewer: pigDate: 2004-01-10
Reviewid: 66471Chapter: 11
NOOOO! ITS OVER!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2004-01-10
Reviewid: 66468Chapter: 11
Excellent chapter.

"No one expected her to last much longer without her friends"

Very Helga. All the Founders' deaths were fitting, but Helga's struck me the most because of that line.

Ron's finishing - and liking - the book was humorous. The entire chapter was tinged with an emptiness, so even when I smiled at that, it didn't overshadow the deaths.

As usual, wonderful. I loved it.

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2004-01-08
Reviewid: 66134Chapter: 10
Thanks kris! Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: krisDate: 2004-01-07
Reviewid: 66119Chapter: 10
oooh... keep going.. quick quick!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2004-01-07
Reviewid: 66059Chapter: 10
COOLCATCUTE- Thanks! Chapter 11 is on the way!
deemia- Glad you like it! More is on the way.
steph- Thanks! Sorry about that....
lil chrissy- Glad you think the book is interesting. :)
I appreciate all the reviews!

Reviewer: lil chrissyDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65957Chapter: 10
i can c y ron was so interested in the book! it's really interesting! and i hope you write the next chapter soon it sounds good...the deaths of the founders!

Reviewer: stephDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65555Chapter: 1
hey this is a really great story so far but i just wanna tell you that your title and summary made me think hermione was challenging him to be the HoM teacher!

Reviewer: deemiaDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65473Chapter: 10
This is really a great story! I can't wait to read more chapters :D

Reviewer: COOLCATCUTEDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65472Chapter: 10
WRITE WRITE WRITE WRITE WRITE WRITE WRITE WRITE MORE MORE NOW!
Other than that I loved it sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo Much so Like I said WRITE WRITE WRITE MORE MORE NOW!

Reviewer: COOLCATCUTEDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65461Chapter: 5
Well, we still haven’t told my father, as he is busy working. I plan on telling him tomorrow. I don’t know what his reaction would be. I mean, he did marry my mother even after he knew what she was. I guess that means he will accept me. However, my mother says that he is a bit fearful of what she can do. But he talks to her and to me. He could’ve left but didn’t and I respect him for it. I am not used to writing this much and am rather hungry.

Ron starts thinking "You know he is practicly like me."

~ Salazaar Slytherin

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65226Chapter: 10
Thanks Maryann! I appreciate the review!

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65184Chapter: 10
This story keeps getting better with every update. I just can't wait until the next chapter! :-)

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65175Chapter: 10
Paige- yes that would be foreshadowing and actually there's only two chapters left as I have compacted them.:-/ I'm so glad you liked this fic! I really appreciate the review!

Reviewer: PaigeDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65161Chapter: 10
Fawkes,
OOH! Deaths of the Founders... I'm very interested in how you'll write those. This one was a little short, but good anyways.

<<“I need to thank her somehow. She deserves it!”>>

Could this possibly be a little foreshadowing of some R/H? I can't believe there's only 4 chapters left... It's been great... I can't wait for the next one!

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65092Chapter: 10
Kate Lynn: Thanks! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Chapter 11 aren't diary entries... only hint I'm giving about it. Appreciate all the reviews!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65080Chapter: 10
Yay! I get to be the first for Chapter 10! Wow, tension is really rising nicely. Rowena near breakdown is very fitting, as is Godric's disappointment. Ohh, and next is the death of the Founders...I can't wait to see how you handle them. I love reading the account through the diary entries, it's just wonderful. I love this fic.

Kate

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65023Chapter: 9
sai: More is on the way!

Reviewer: saiDate: 2003-12-28
Reviewid: 64950Chapter: 9
more!more!more! pleaseums?

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-12-25
Reviewid: 64815Chapter: 9
Maryann- Thanks! Yes, I know it was short. *looks rather sheepish* Chap. 10 should be up soon!

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2003-12-25
Reviewid: 64814Chapter: 9
That chapter was great, although it was kind of short. I love this story, it's really good. Please update soon! :-)

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64770Chapter: 9
Paige- Thanks! The Fire was symbolic. Glad you like this chapter. :)

Reviewer: PaigeDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64725Chapter: 9
Fawkes,
Salazar... I like how he has developed into this person we hate. The titles of the chapters are very fitting. I was expecting, perhaps, an actual fire, with flames and such. But, we got this escalading argument; plus Rowena's outburst.

<<“Really? Well, I will no longer try to stop these fights. My priority is the students.”>>

This is exactly the type of thing I would expect from her. Another great chapter, and I sit here hoping the next one will come soon.

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64714Chapter: 9
Danielle B and Kate Lynn: Thanks for the reviews! I truly appreciate them!
And Danielle, you deserve the credit.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64647Chapter: 9
Already read this on FA, but I love this fic so i'll review it here, too. Interplay between Salazar and Godric is always great, and I love Godric being a Muggle born. The tension between the founders is really increasing, I can't wait for more! Lovely writing and plot development, thanks again for it. 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: Danielle_BDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64646Chapter: 9
Saw that your fic was up so I read it all in one sitting! Very good! Thanks for crediting me, I'm glad I could inspire someone. Anyhow, intriguing story and I hope to see more of it soon.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64070Chapter: 8
Prof. Davies and Kara- Thanks for your reviews! Chapter 9 should come out really soon!

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61924Chapter: 8
This is grrrrrrrreat!!!! But I think Ron says damn way too much. Other than that, it is soooo super cool!

Reviewer: Professor DaviesDate: 2003-12-02
Reviewid: 61588Chapter: 8
I CANT WAIT TILL THE NEXT CHAPTER

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-12-02
Reviewid: 61498Chapter: 8
Miss Hermione Granger- Thanks! NExt chapter should be out soon!

Reviewer: Miss_Hermione_GrangeerDate: 2003-12-01
Reviewid: 61425Chapter: 1
I really like your fic!
Can't wait for the next chapter!
Keep goin!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61271Chapter: 8
mysteryangel- I should update soon... I promise. And thanks for the review!

Reviewer: mysteryangel5292Date: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61225Chapter: 8
URG! CONTINUE! CONTINUE! PLEASE! Ugg.... I sound like Ron.... LOL! Finally a book Hermione can get him to read... LOL

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-29
Reviewid: 61147Chapter: 8
muah- Thanks much! Maybe I'll write one like that eventually. Do you mean write the book? Thanks for the suggestion.

Reviewer: muahDate: 2003-11-29
Reviewid: 61135Chapter: 8
this is a really good story! Care to write one on Hogwarts, A History?!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-29
Reviewid: 61103Chapter: 8
Kate- Thanks much! I'm glad you like how I'm writing this.
Paige- Thank you very much! I'm hoping it's a good thing that I have made you look at Ravenclaw differently. :)
skywisej- Thanks for the review and pointers.
Maryann- Glad you're enjoying this!

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2003-11-29
Reviewid: 61100Chapter: 8
Awesome, two new chapters! This is such a great story so far, I am really enjoying it. Please continue soon!

Reviewer: skywisejDate: 2003-11-28
Reviewid: 61085Chapter: 3
I like your story a lot. I just wanted to point out a couple of things that struck me as strange in the Helga Hufflepuff chapter. I can't see Rowena saying that she feels like a loner. That is a modern phrase that seemed really out of place to me. Also, Ron knows Luna Lovegood (who is a Ravenclaw) better than he knows Cho Chang and Michael Corner. I just thought I'd point it out. Otherwise, the story is good. Really original!

Reviewer: Paige, The Muggle HermioneDate: 2003-11-28
Reviewid: 61079Chapter: 8
Fawkes,
Amazing. I like how you have laid out the premises for the argument. I especially enjoyed Rowena's entry. Reading this has made me deter from my previous 'Gryffindor ROX' mind set. Of course, Gryffindor does ROX, but I'm beginning to lean towards Ravenclaw. Great WORX, I love it, but you already knew that, didn't you!

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-11-28
Reviewid: 61073Chapter: 8
Brilliant as always! I loved hearing about Helga from Rowena's POV.

"I knew Salazar was loony!"

LOL. Love Ron.

As usual, the pace is excellent. I love reading the founder's memories, and the present day commentary is often humorous and always excellent. I can't wait for more! 8-) Thanks so much for this.

-Kate Lynn

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-28
Reviewid: 61053Chapter: 8
ninde- Thanks! Glad you liked how I wrote them
Portia- Merci beaucoup.
Jaymi- Thanks! I'm very very glad you liked it.

Reviewer: JaymiDate: 2003-11-28
Reviewid: 61050Chapter: 8
WOW! This has to be the best founders story I've ever read. Good Job, Keep writing and I will keep reading.

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-11-28
Reviewid: 61048Chapter: 8
Cool chapter ;). I like the way you show the fight starting.

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2003-11-28
Reviewid: 61038Chapter: 8
You are really good at characterization! I can now tell who wrote the entry before I look at the name at the bottom of the page.

Helga is the more worried and delicate one. Rowena is the one who thinks things through. Salazar is th powerful one and Godric is everything else.

Keep up the good work!!!!!!! Can't wait to read more!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60440Chapter: 7
wilania- Thanks! Glad you liked these chapters.
And this is a R/Hr fic, but the signs are small.

Reviewer: - - -Date: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60387Chapter: 7
is this going to be a r/h fic?

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60354Chapter: 7
This just gets better and better. If anyone can find a book to completely entrance Ron, it's Hermione!! I love how he uses a letter from her to mark his place. So cute!
Keep it up, 'cause I can't wait for more!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60346Chapter: 7
ninde- Yeah I noticed that too. I realized that after I sent it in. Thanks anyway!

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60319Chapter: 7
I think you mixed up your titles. "The Opening and Creation" is supposed to be "The Creation and Opening," but I'm not complaining. It doesn't really matter

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60233Chapter: 7
Kate Lynn- Thanks! The bookmark was a small sign of R/Hr.
Firebird- Thanks and am glad you enjoyed it!
Chapter 8 should be up soon!

Reviewer: firebirdDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60200Chapter: 7
VERY COOL! I like hearing about the founders. YOu really make them come alive. Please keep on writing. I like how you didn't portray SAlazar as completly evil, makes him more real. Love it!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60185Chapter: 7
Another fabulous chapter! I loved Helga's last line. It shows her dedication and loyalty to teaching and to her students. And I like the idea of a bookmark being an old letter from Hermione, that was a nice touch. The two are so sweetly intertwined.

As usual, great writing and pace. Thanks for it. 8-)

-Kate Lynn

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60148Chapter: 7
Maryann- Thanks, and there is a 7th chapter.
JellyDingyStar- Glad you liked Rowena and I've correct Salazar's name already.
Don- Thanks! :) I know I left some things out, but it's hard to come up with reasons for it all. Chapter 8 should be up soon.

Reviewer: Don JaysDate: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60138Chapter: 7
i haven't rveiwed any chapters so far, so i'll say it all in here

this is a great idea, and i haven't read any ofther fics like it. its nice to see all of the founders opinions. though there are a few things left out (ex: the house elves and what they do, supply lists and how the kids know about diagon alley and if it even exists yet, how and if the teachers learned all the subjects they're teaching) i am thoroughly enjoying it :)

please continue

Reviewer: JellyDIngyStarDate: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60122Chapter: 7
I love this chapter!

Reviewer: JellyDingyStarDate: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60119Chapter: 4
OOOOOOOOO! This is my favourite! I've always been a Ravenclaw fan! By the way Salazar only has one A at the end.

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60090Chapter: 6
Very interesting and funny. I want to know what happens next, but there isn't a seventh chapter! Please write more!! :D

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60062Chapter: 7
Kate Lynn- I'm so glad you liked how I portrayed Salazar.
Wow!- Thanks! I'm so happy you liked it.
Paige- Glad you thought Rowena should be Headmistress. Chapter 8 should be on its way soon.
Porta- Thanks! Um... about the Sorting Hat... if it did, I'm sorry but I wasn't sure so I took a risk. Appreciate the review.
Hedwig- Thanks!
Appreciate all reviews!

Reviewer: HedwigDate: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60034Chapter: 7
Cool Story!!!!

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-11-14
Reviewid: 60012Chapter: 7
I really, really liked this chapter. Ron's voice sounded very authentic.

The only quibble I have is that I'm not sure if the Hat was used back in the Founders' day--didn't it say in GoF that back then, the Founders would just pick their favorites themselves from all the kids?

Reviewer: Paige, The Muggle HermioneDate: 2003-11-14
Reviewid: 60007Chapter: 7
Fawkes,
Brilliant. I liked this a lot, especially having Rowena as Headmistress. It suits her. I can't wait for more!

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: Wow!Date: 2003-11-14
Reviewid: 60006Chapter: 7
Wow, this is really wonderful! I, like Ron, find myself waiting with eager anticipation to the next chapter of the book. How you've made them all make Hogwarts is wonderful-I really do love it. I really hope that you also include more info. and details!@!!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58099Chapter: 5
Yay, finally get to review! Sorry it took awhile, i was gone for the weekend.

Anyway, YES. Salazar. You knew he was gonna be my fav ;) I loved the portrayal of him; not an purely evil mastermind.

The writing is still wonderful. Still loving the story. 8-)

Kate Lynn

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-10-27
Reviewid: 58027Chapter: 5
Timothy and katie- Thanks for your reviews! Chapter 6 should be up soon!

Reviewer: Timothy T KroggDate: 2003-10-27
Reviewid: 57991Chapter: 5
To Fawkes 101
Your Story Better than Binns,So far Very
well written . Please continue with it
and it seems very enjoyable. Maybe it
will give us a look at Hogwarts Before

Reviewer: kateDate: 2003-10-26
Reviewid: 57962Chapter: 5
i loved it. you should write more about the book. about how they made the school. you can even make it up. it was a really good start, keep buiding on it!!
from
kate

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-10-26
Reviewid: 57895Chapter: 1
Mouse- thanks for the slip ups. It's good to know where I go wrong when typing.

Reviewer: MouseDate: 2003-10-26
Reviewid: 57873Chapter: 1
umm... I noticed a mistake you made. At the beginning you said the book was about five hundred pages, then you went on to say it was nearly six hundred pages long. You also said "Finally Ron," twice... right next to each other

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57650Chapter: 5
Paige and a- thanks for reviewing! I've changed the spelling in the next chapters. My theory on Salazar will be in the next few chapters.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --