The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Yule Bra
Review(s): 80

Reviewer: Gred And FeorgeDate: 2007-11-21
Reviewid: 149976Chapter: 1
Hey! You threw off my groove!” he shouted as the nearby dancers gave a sigh of relief.

“I’m sorry, you’ve thrown off Mister Weasley’s groove,”

Now thats a line worth quoting!!!

Reviewer: PiperDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111360Chapter: 1
Hahahaha!! This is hysterical! It had me laughing all the way through.

I loved the "Beaded Boob Binding Lethibra" and all the spells you came up with. Brilliant!

Reviewer: hermione101Date: 2005-01-14
Reviewid: 110929Chapter: 1
ha thats funny!

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-11-14
Reviewid: 104783Chapter: 1
OH MY GOODNESS. if this weren't so funny, it could almost be obscene!!!! LOL!! first story in a long time that had me laughing uncontrollably!! its attempt to attack snape... and then krum trying to save the day... hilarious!! i loved how calmly fleur was able to take control of the situation.

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94696Chapter: 3
I don't think I've laughed that much at fanfic since "Naked Quidditch Match." This has absolutely made my day--the first chapter especially, and particularly the end of that--oh, the image of a car wearing a sequined bra...

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94666Chapter: 3
This is hilarious. Harry, Ron, and Hermione, all wrinkly and ancient... retelling the Yule Bra. I'm still grinning. You're such a comedian.

I sincerely hope everyone learned a lesson from the Yule Bra though. *shudders* Thank god Harry and Ron were spying on Hagrid.

*still imagining Harry with a million wrinkles that would obscure his scar*

Reviewer: ChristinaDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89760Chapter: 1
hahaha that was absoulutely hilarious!!!! All that trouble over a bra! keep on writing! thanks!

Reviewer: July 31Date: 2004-03-09
Reviewid: 73837Chapter: 1
teehee, very funny piece, good writing too!

the other struck Fred smack in the middle of his forehead, making him stumble. “Hey! You threw off my groove!” he shouted as the nearby dancers gave a sigh of relief.



“I’m sorry, you’ve thrown off Mister Weasley’s groove,” a snide, silky voice announced over Lavender’s shoulder.

-The Emperor's New Groove! YES! Haha~thank you for throwing in a bit from the funniest movie of all time!!

Good job!

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73602Chapter: 3
Omg...TOO funny. Brilliant, love the last chapter.

Reviewer: DillybeanDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62856Chapter: 1
HAHAHAHAH!!! *3 days later* HAHAHAHAHAHAH! Still laughing. This is a really great story! Write more!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53479Chapter: 3
hoot!**gasp** "the cups were suddenly full of the creevy brothers..." we're still wiping our streaming eyes!

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 53006Chapter: 1
Oh. My. Gosh.

I needed that.

It made me laugh to hard I cried. Viktor Krum... Beaded Boob Binding Lethibra... fantastic.

Reviewer: serinaDate: 2003-07-25
Reviewid: 43802Chapter: 3
sick and twisted! i luv it!

Reviewer: Katie SDate: 2003-06-28
Reviewid: 38881Chapter: 3
Hehehehe That was hilarious!

Reviewer: MaeDate: 2003-06-28
Reviewid: 38879Chapter: 3
chapter one:
Okay first of all... Great story! really uh... creative, yeah creative. Of course there is a fine line between amazingly creative and just weird and i'd say that this fic is on the brink but hey! i love the creatively weird stories the most! Okay i love your reference to the disney movie with the lama in it... for get the name

“Hey! You threw off my groove!” he shouted as the nearby dancers gave a sigh of relief.

“I’m sorry, you’ve thrown off Mister Weasley’s groove,”

and the fact you made snape say that just made it fantabulous. What else did i like? well umm the incantations were really something. *sigh* great job!!
Chapter two:
pretty dry in my opinion
Chapter three:
Not as dry but still dry

So clearly my favourite chapter is chapter 1 after that things got a bit corny and over done.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-06-07
Reviewid: 35737Chapter: 1
[She closed her eyes as the bra tightened around her in what seemed like a small, reassuring hug.] Great description there. I've never thought of my bra like that before!

[It is Beaded Boob Binding Lethibra!] ROTFLMAO!!!! I laughed out loud when I read that. Hysterical!

Truly funny and enjoyable! Poor Lavender!

Reviewer: HorseGalDate: 2003-06-06
Reviewid: 35571Chapter: 3
Ha, Ha, Ha, Ha! Very funny write more about the Yule Bra!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35343Chapter: 3
Wheee!!!!

They're ghosts!!! HAHAHAHA!!!! wait, where is Ginny? Because Harry couldn't be happy as a ghost without her.

Favourite Lines:
>Wow," spoke up Lance. "You are really, really old."
>
>The professor, Ron and Harry all glared.
>
>"Sorry."

>Ron snorted. "Colin said they landed in a heap
>with the French students. Accidentally copped a
>feel that little prat."

oy....

and Hermione got it wrong!!!! :D :D

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: Shi-chanDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35340Chapter: 3
"Ron was laughing. It was creepy because he was so very old and dead."

Lol! This story is hilarious. I like the third chapter best. :-)

Reviewer: chakaDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35322Chapter: 3
This was effing brilliant! This was just as funny & good as the first two chapters. I loved the future Trio, wrinkly and so darn adorable. Hehehe.
You writers have made the legend of the Yule Bra turn to reality. :D

Reviewer: JaneDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35298Chapter: 3
I laughed and I laughed. It seems to get funnier as you read it over. Thanks for the credit, though I don't deserve. You two are brilliant and funny and all things bodacious, however that may be spelt.

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35263Chapter: 3
That was too, too hysterical! I *loved* Trelawney "talking" with the dragon, and I loved the ghosts of the trio. I can just see Ron and Hermione bickering through the Next Great Adventure with poor Harry trying to referee--priceless! A brilliant saga, ladies.

TSS

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35247Chapter: 3
That's it?Erg.The ghost thing was brilliant,but we didn't really learn anything new...

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35246Chapter: 2
Well!This is certainly an odd ship.A bra and a car...OKKKKKK...but very funny all the same.

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35243Chapter: 1
LOL!When you said all those spells,I laughed my head off. Yet,oddly enough,this was written very well and did not need to be censored at all. An elementary school child could read this.

Reviewer: LilyDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35236Chapter: 3
I have one word (or acronym):

ROTFLMAO!

Reviewer: LarzdinnDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35227Chapter: 3
haha, that rocked MY world :)

Reviewer: kristenDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35223Chapter: 3
Only at the 'Quill you would see a story like this. Well done and I must add that making Harry, Ron and Hermione into ghosts was a clever idea.

Reviewer: SevenDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35192Chapter: 3
Hagrid's friend Aragorn??

Anyway... where was I? Oh yeah...

XDXDXD

Incredible. ;P

Reviewer: HildigunnurDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35174Chapter: 3
You are brilliant. This is absolutely hilarious. And you even managed to start up a new ship, Ford Anglia/Yule Bra. Thank you so much, you two brilliant authors, for this "uplifting" story :D

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35163Chapter: 3
Perfect ending to a perfect story. :D I loved it very much and ESPECIALLY love that Harry, Ron and Hermione became Hogwarts ghosts. Hehehe...great stuff.

Reviewer: SoliloquyDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35153Chapter: 3
That was odd. And funny. Good job; I think that was what you were aiming for, and you got it right in one, it seems.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35144Chapter: 3
Thank you so much for writing this!! The Yule Bra lives on...

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35141Chapter: 2
Trelawney makes a delightful heroine... and Holi and Ford make a charming if somewhat unconventional couple!

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35135Chapter: 2
"humming a song about streams and pools being wet and cool to keep herself company."

What, she knows Gollum?

I like the whole centaur thing... and the teachers' coughing... the whole fic was hilarious!

Reviewer: Sweeney AgonistesDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35129Chapter: 3
I love you guys.

Seriously.

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35126Chapter: 3
OMG!! This is hilarious! Now, I HOPE they will not be ghosts (is is a legend, or we are supposed to learn in book 5 that only unhappy people become ghosts??, and how would a ghost hold the wand to teach transfiguration??), but hey, it's not about details - the idea was FUN!!!! LOL!!!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35121Chapter: 3
The idea of having the Trio return to Hogwarts was really KEWL :) Of course death wouldn't stop Hermione from school! And the dynamics between the three ghosts was wonderful.

I think you accidentally called the Acromantula "Aragorn," but I'm sure he'd much rather share a name with a sexay LOTR dude anyway :)

Reviewer: maeDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34904Chapter: 2
hhmm... funny yes, but I don' tundstand trelawny's dreams in the least

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-05-30
Reviewid: 34415Chapter: 2
I loved reading something from Trelawney's POV! You gave her quite a bit of depth by not making her airy-fairy all the time. Like her complaining that the centaurs didn't explain the significance of Venus. "Honestly." -- Maybe she and Hermione never got along because they were too much alike? LOL!

What did the bra want? Someone to *hug*? And yet it settled for a rearview mirror, the sweet thing. Again, this was great!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-05-30
Reviewid: 34412Chapter: 1
LOL! This is lovely so far :D I understand how Lavender wanted "lift" and got a particularly evil case of Creeping Underwear instead! And what a name -- a Beaded Boob Binding Lethibra! LOL again!

I enjoyed the others' attempts to help -- the Creeveys' attempt at double-teaming was especially funny :D And Viktor knew what it was! Haha!

I'm glad the bra has found a home in the Forest and a friend in the Ford Anglia!

Reviewer: snitch1488Date: 2003-05-29
Reviewid: 34344Chapter: 2
Haha! The Bra-Seer! Great chapter again...I wonder what would happen to the "vanquished" bra?

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2003-05-29
Reviewid: 34343Chapter: 2
This is hilarious!!!!!!Amazingly creative. Keep up the great work.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34235Chapter: 2
ahahahahahahahaha....

another brilliant chapter!!!!

>Ronan looked frightened. “We do not speak of it!”
::SNORT:: PERFECT!

>Severus coughed loudly, suddenly. It sounded >vaguely like Lockhart, and Sybil glared at him.
LOL

>She was probably your last chance to be fulfilled, >Holi.
>
>I know. I…I just couldn’t leave you, Ford. I’d >rather hang on your mirror for a thousand years >than leave you.
>
>You’re welcome to stay for two thousand years, if >you like. I am glad you’re with me.
>
>Oh, Ford…
ROTFL!!!!!!!!! What nicknames! That was BRILLIANT.

awaiting more,
~TPR

Reviewer: Minerva WeapotterngerDate: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34221Chapter: 1
ROTFLMAO! This is the funniest thing ever! I loved it! I made the mistake, however, of reading this during my lunch hour at work and with only partitions dividing us here, everyone could hear me giggling and chuckling. I had to cover my mouth to keep myself from howling when the bra went berserk! It was great! Thanks, ladies! Bras off to you!

Reviewer: KelseyDate: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34218Chapter: 2
That was a very interesting story. And quite strange too. But good.

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34202Chapter: 1
OMG! The second chapter is ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!! All teachers are wonderfully written, Trelawney as a hero is hilarious, and the bra scaring all the beasts in the forest..hic...that's just way too funny!!

Reviewer: chakaDate: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34173Chapter: 1
Wonderful story full of fun moments. :D
The whole story is naturally completely absurd with the incredible dangerous bra, but it was a very nicely handled parody and made me laugh out loud a couple of times (I don't usually laugh while reading funny fics.. I might snort a laugh, but very rarely do I actually laugh), once at the cruel Snape and the "Fate did not help, it sent Viktor Krum running across the room"-bit. And some other times which I cannot exactly point out.
Not only did you deal with the parody-part pretty well, but you also made this quite a sweet date of Lavender and Seamus. For some reason I hate fics that make Lavender & Parvati seem like these incredibly snobby trendie-biatches, who bully Hermione and Seamus & Dean these jock-like guys.. I just never got that from the cannon. So on that, this fic was brilliant.

Reviewer: TaraDate: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34143Chapter: 2
Ahahaha! You just HAVE to love Trelawney. I love how she embellished what she did. That was wonderful. I hope there might be more. :)

Reviewer: TapestryDate: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34130Chapter: 2
Wheeze, gasp. OMG, I think I'm dying. I have cracked several ribs from laughing so hard and probably won't make it till morning. But it was worth it. This was an awesome parody, lovely writing and description. And so darn funny it should be illegal. Like that bra, which just has to be illegal. "Oh, Ford..." Wonderful! Thank you so much for brightening an otherwise dismal day!

Reviewer: ct_lytsDate: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34129Chapter: 2
You have no idea how hard it was to hold in my laughter so I won't wake my sleeping roommate. That was so incredibly hilarious. Another chapter perhaps?

Reviewer: VivianDate: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34111Chapter: 2
2 Words: Extremely Hilarious!!! I can say no more....except: please hurry with the next installment..."we could all use a good laugh..."

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34061Chapter: 1
Heeheeheee!! You people are sooo crazy!! ROFLMAO!! The spells you came up with, LOL! Everybody trying to catch the mad bra, while Draco is hexing McGonagall ... Hehehe... well, that bra would be a good company for the run away flying car... Terrific little fic, and nice "personality of magical objects" study!

Reviewer: VaniityXDate: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34057Chapter: 1
Oh. My. God. That was freaxing hilarious. Hahahahahaha. I could not stop laughing. Crazy. This was a very, erm, imaginitive piece. I definitely liked it. There's nothing like a really good parody.

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 34046Chapter: 1
*falls over laughing* Snape...Emporer's New Groove...ahahahahahahahaha...I can't breathe...that was classic. The whole thing was funny, but Snape...just...*gives up and just cracks up*

Reviewer: Ding DongDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 34036Chapter: 1
well that was interesting.

Reviewer: volleyballandcheer_chick87Date: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 34008Chapter: 1
That was hilarious! I fell off my chair from laughing so hard! It's a perfect girl story cuz I can just imagine something like that happenin to me! You've aquired a brand new fan!

Reviewer: JDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 33993Chapter: 1
LOL! That was hilarious!! One ofthe funniest fics I've ever read!

Reviewer: ecsraeDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 33991Chapter: 1
That was wonderfully entertaining. Keep writing.

Reviewer: SacBeagleDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 33974Chapter: 1
Haven't laughed that hard in a very long time - thank you! I thought you wrote the much maligned Lavender perfectly (I especially liked the bit where she was standing by the window, remembering the feeling of dancing with the one she fancies). And Fleur to the rescue! I always knew that deep down, she was a kindred spirit when it came to important things, like mutant attacking undergarments. The flying spells and hexes - simply hilarious! This story's getting printed out and passed around the lunch table at work tomorrow, so that we can all have a good laugh. Congratulations on such a sensational collaboration, and PLEASE write together again soon!

P.S. Hope the Anglia got lucky!

Reviewer: lexiDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 33942Chapter: 1
oooo, thats cute! i love all the hexes people shout to tame the wild garment. hilarious. very....original. now how did u come up with a idea like that? very cute. loved it.

-oo- lol.

~*lexi*~

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 33941Chapter: 1
Wiping tears from my eyes, all I can say is: Totally, utterly wild!

Alkari

Reviewer: IngDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 33929Chapter: 1
This was absolutely hilarious!!!!! Great job, guys!

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-05-27
Reviewid: 33924Chapter: 1
LOLOL! This was so hilarious! XD And I love Lavender, she's such a wonderful, normal girl... and Parvati, too. :)

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33909Chapter: 1
I guess I'll just have to say, "oh dear," and leave it at that. :)

Catherine

Reviewer: DeboraDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33899Chapter: 1
jfhdskfdshfjdfkdkddfsfdf

That was HILARIOUS! The Champions running to Lavender's rescue were priceless. And the fact that Fleur would know how to handle that bra was VERY fitting. Besides, she has become my heroine, so... :P

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33897Chapter: 1
::snorts::

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

oh gosh...

A Beaded Boob Binding Lethibra?!?!? Poor Seamus! Oh... I thought Veelas were bad... :D :D :D

anyway, this was brilliantly funny.

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: BinkieDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33884Chapter: 1
I was having a really bad day, but I'm now weeping with laughter - thank you.

Reviewer: snitch1488Date: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33881Chapter: 1
Haha! That was hilarious! I loved the incantation of the spells. I was laughing so hard. ;) Well done!

Reviewer: HalcyonDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33867Chapter: 1
This is hilarious! I love how it got out of control and dragged poor Lavender along behind it. Fleur was great, I loved how she knew exactly what to do, and how she called Lavender "'Ogwarts girl" And the 'Beaded Boob Binding Lethibra' is wonderful. Wonder how Viktor knew what it was...

Reviewer: OHaraDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33863Chapter: 1
Oh, Great Beaded Boob Binding Lethibras! Hilarious!

Reviewer: MaeDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33861Chapter: 1
That would have to be thefunniest thing I've ever read!

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33860Chapter: 1
lol that was funny :)

Reviewer: JessieDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33852Chapter: 1
He he! This is so funny, I was having a bad weekend, but this is just what I needed. The bit about Fred's groove being thrown off was my favorite too. :)

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33848Chapter: 1
LOL!!! This is hilarious and sweet, a comic masterpiece! All the characters are written brilliantly, especially Lavender and Parvati. The handling of Fleur, Madam Maxime, Vikor, Neville and Hermione was inspired! And Dumbldedore's reaction made me giggle helplessly.

My favorite bit was how Fleur and Co. knew just how to deal with the unruly garment. And Viktor's name for it ...Beaded Boob Binding Lethibra, that had me in stitches!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33846Chapter: 1
You guys are so hilarious. I haven't laughed this hard in a long time. You made my morning. The Creevey brothers were great and Fleur was actually a help. A Beaded Boob Binding Lethibra--that's really inspired.

Reviewer: HildigunnurDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33842Chapter: 1
Are you promising another chapter? *puppy eyes*

What a hilarious story. But I did except that from you two. Poor Lavender. A Beaded Boob Binding Lethibra ROTFLMAO!!!

We miss you.

Reviewer: gooligooDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33840Chapter: 1
did u copy the scene where fred's groove is thrown off from the disney movie 'emperor's new groove'?

Reviewer: gooligooDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33839Chapter: 1
hilarious. just hilarious. i dont review for many fanfics and i dont read many. i was just hooked when i saw the summary. imagine what would happen if the underwear was given 2 a muggle!

googligoo*.*

Reviewer: SilicaDate: 2003-05-26
Reviewid: 33838Chapter: 1
'“Hey! You threw off my groove!” he shouted as the nearby dancers gave a sigh of relief.

“I’m sorry, you’ve thrown off Mister Weasley’s groove,” a snide, silky voice announced over Lavender’s shoulder. She spun to face Professor Snape. “Detention, Miss Brown. And you, too, Weasley.”'

as;lkj;flkjsdlkaf!!! Oh boy, that was good. Hehe...I hope there's more coming? Poor Lavender. ^_^

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --