The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Tears of Fire
Review(s): 16

Reviewer: mohitDate: 2005-05-04
Reviewid: 121353Chapter: 1
Very well written....well done and keep going

Reviewer: Getz BlackDate: 2004-08-06
Reviewid: 96035Chapter: 1
So now that OoTP is out are you going to finish?

Reviewer: AranelDate: 2004-07-23
Reviewid: 93746Chapter: 1
This is a really good story, and I really want to see what happens next! Will you ever update it again?

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2003-10-12
Reviewid: 56355Chapter: 1
Oh no! You have to update this! What happens? What happens?! Tell me! Tell me now!

Reviewer: IceDate: 2003-07-24
Reviewid: 43674Chapter: 1
very nice...update soon please! and you're not the only one that cares! yay for family trees!

Reviewer: dragonladyDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42736Chapter: 1
This is the best story from Dumbledore's point of view that I've ever seen. I actually like it more than MOT, DOY-and that's saying something. I eagerly await more, especially the arrival of Fawkes.

Reviewer: Jedi BoadiceaDate: 2003-06-08
Reviewid: 35862Chapter: 1
I don't usually respond to reviews here, just because I think it's sort of an awkward forum. So first off, I should apologize to everyone for that. Please believe that I read and treasure every review, though!

I just wanted to reply to some of the "cons" that Newbia pointed out in her review. Not sure if you'll ever get the chance to see this, Newbia, but it might be useful for other readers too.

"Con: The second book came out in 1999 (or,at least the American edition did) 50 years before that was Riddle,or 1949. It is supposedly 1945,so you can't have been talking about "how before he cared more about his students,when one had already been killed..." "

Actually, the book may have been published in 1999, but in CoS Nearly Headless Nick is celebrating his 500th Death Day and the cake states he died in 1492 - which would make the year of CoS, in the *story*, 1992. Therefore, fifty years ago would have been 1942.

"Also,he can't already be ninety because that would meen by the 2nd year he would already be 140,or dead,plus in the 2nd book they said that Dumbledore had "sweeping auburn hair" so he wasn't even old enough to have gray hair."

I'm actually taking Dumbledore's age according to a chat with JK Rowling, in which she stated that Dumbledore was 150 years old and McGonagall was about 70. The chat was held, if I remember correctly, around the release of GoF, which would make those general ages applicable for the GoF time period. That would make Dumbledore approximately 100 years old at the time the Chamber was opened in 1942. Apparently wizards have very long lifespans, and not all wizards go gray at the century mark. :)

"Pro:Other then that,this story is written great!Oh,the suspense...you capture Dumbledore perfectly."

Thank you very much! And thanks to everyone else for the wonderful comments and reviews! I appreciate it.

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-06-07
Reviewid: 35801Chapter: 1
Con:
The second book came out in 1999 (or,at least the American edition did) 50 years before that was Riddle,or 1949. It is supposedly 1945,so you can't have been talking about "how before he cared more about his students,when one had already been killed..." Also,he can't already be ninety because that would meen by the 2nd year he would already be 140,or dead,plus in the 2nd book they said that Dumbledore had "sweeping auburn hair" so he wasn't even old enough to have gray hair.
Pro:
Other then that,this story is written great!Oh,the suspense...you capture Dumbledore perfectly.

Reviewer: UcheDate: 2003-06-07
Reviewid: 35735Chapter: 1
It's always great to see a new Jedi B fic. The characterizations and situations were as realistic and profound as usual. Don't worry too much about canon. The whole point of being a fanfic writer is to stretch canon to suit your muse. The only bad thing about this new story is that it wasn't an update to MoT of B and I.

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-06-06
Reviewid: 35665Chapter: 1
Wow! Great! When I saw your name on the update list, I thought" Finally! Another chapter of 'Memories of Tomorrow, Dreams of Yesterday'" and I was disappointed at first- until I started reading! What a great start! Keep it up!

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-06-06
Reviewid: 35620Chapter: 1
Hmmph! I have chapter One of a Grindelwald-era piece awaiting Alpha-reading. Now people are going to think I'm copying you! ;)

SERIOUSLY though, I would love to read a Dumbledore and Fawkes story. Please keep this coming, if at all possible. If Book Five invalidates any of it, I look forward to your new-canon revision(s).

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-06-06
Reviewid: 35616Chapter: 1
Definately up to your usual high standard! I'm enjoying this one immensely, even though this is only the first chapter. It's a facinating beginning; I love the way you used a unicorn to start the story. That is a very unique angle which I'm sure I've never seen before... I especially love your imagery; I can feel the forest come alive through your writings. However, I'm most pleased with your depiction of Dumbledore. I can see him acting in exactly this way. My favorite line would have to be:

"He had dreamed of them in his youth."

Oh, what wonderful foreshadowing for Fawkes. I'm glad you decided to post this now. It's certainly a great way ot wait for OotP! Great job, and I can't wait to read more of your fine work.

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2003-06-06
Reviewid: 35611Chapter: 1
Darn it! I saw you had uploaded and I was like "Oh, yay! More MoT, DoY!" But instead you come up with this story, which is equally fascinating, and equally intruiging, and almost helped me forget you're ALMOST done with MoT, DoY.

Very good, very thoughtful. I want to see more.

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2003-06-06
Reviewid: 35604Chapter: 1
I, for one am glad that you decided not to wait to post this chapter. Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! And so beautifully written. Your Dumbledore is spot-on, and the bits about his foresight are perfect.

A few bits that I particularly liked:

"The unicorn gave another snort, one that rang distinctly of impatience.
"He smiled again. He’d heard similar sounds many times before, from colleagues and students both. He seemed to have a gift for exasperating people."

Giggle.

"And he hoped that, when this was over, his dreams would not be so plagued with restless doubt. Because he felt certain that there was something he had missed in the chaos with the Chamber of Secrets, something vital, and the doubt hovered on the edge of his thoughts like a dark specter he had been unable to banish."

Right in one, Albus.

"Albus thought it a sad thing that they should be bringing their fear into this place, to taint the quiet and the green beauty with the mist and shadow of their doubt and worry. He thought it a terrible thing that this place had no doubt already been tainted with blood, more blood than they probably knew. So many of the people who had disappeared while fighting Grindelwald were never found again - not body nor spirit nor echo. Practitioners of Dark magic had many foul uses for their victims."

A wonderful passage, and one that really brings out something that canon has, thus far, only hinted at: Whatever happens to the remains of those who "disappear" under the reign of a dark wizard is probably very, very unpleasant. Since my first read through Book 4, I've reckoned that Harry saved Cedric's body from a fate much worse than either he or Cedric's wand-shadow could imagine.

“Miranda, you wound me.”
“I will,” she swore, “if you don’t wait.”

I *love* Miranda. And, in the space of one chapter, you've gotten me totally sold on Antonio. And I have the dreadful feeling that neither of them is long for the world. (Maybe Dumbledore is the one best known for Grindelwald's defeat because he's the only survivor.) I hope that my foreboding isn't as accurate as Dumbledore's because I want more of these wonderful OCs.

TSS







Because some instinct had told him, even then, that satisfying the old wand-maker’s curiosity would involve more hardship than any man wanted to bear. His foresight in such matters, even as a boy, had always been quite painfully clear.


"'So you think we should go north,' Miranda muttered, pulling her cloak back on as she directed a stern but questioning look at Albus." Eh? I'm guessing this is a misprint and she means "east" rather than "north," right?

Reviewer: ElizabethDate: 2003-06-06
Reviewid: 35601Chapter: 1
Well, where did this come from you little sneak!!! Now I have to read and be awed by you even more. Drat...I just can't compete. Off to read and avoid working on AP as usual. I am getting like you in that aspect!

Reviewer: Sweeney AgonistesDate: 2003-06-06
Reviewid: 35598Chapter: 1
...this is *so* gorgeous. I love the prose. Your younger Albus is...wonderful. Marvelous.

And I like Carillo, too. I like him a lot.

...Miranda reminds me of Minerva McGonagall. Was that intentional on your part?

"Please, sir, may I have some more?" :D

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --