The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 22

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2007-03-30
Reviewid: 147640Chapter: 1
Good work!

Reviewer: muddduckDate: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140958Chapter: 1
Wonderful I loved it a few grammatical and syntax erorrs but none the less a nice story.

Reviewer: LisaDate: 2005-02-23
Reviewid: 114729Chapter: 1
. . . I heart the Weasley twins. This is really inventive! And good job on manipulative Ginny. ;-) Especially since we didn't really see her personality shine through until OOTP!

I really loved Septimus Smethwyck. He has a very Rowling-ish name, and his personality is just darling. ^_^

Reviewer: Ariadne LewisDate: 2004-06-15
Reviewid: 87272Chapter: 1
Awww, I LOVE IT! (Sorry, I know it's sometimes considered rude to use capitals, but I can't help it...)

What an absolutely lovely piece! It's got so much depth and intgrity.

I suppose it can do nothing but help that I love Fred and George Weasley...

Wow, thanks for writing this, it really made my day. (Especially after a physics exam and a reading comprehension test!)

Keep up the absolutely amazing work!

All the best,

.A.L.

Reviewer: Crow SkylerDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 77015Chapter: 1
Very well written, and very funny! You've got Fred and George down to a 't'. Thought I was reading some of J.K.R.'s notes. :D (Can't wait til we get to see Fred and George's shop in the books!)

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2003-11-29
Reviewid: 61113Chapter: 1
Really, really good. You captured Fred and George perfectly, and the story was awesome. Good job!

Reviewer: tonyDate: 2003-10-30
Reviewid: 58355Chapter: 1
My favorite -fannon- I'm not sure the beings of power here at sugarquill consider your story 'fannon' but they should, it is perfect. It still fits for the most part with the fifth book, even though it was written before hand. Every thing was really in keeping with the wat JKR writes herself. Good to see the twins can and will grow up eventually. Took me long enough to write a review of this story as it is my favorite, (I first read this story back in September) but I have been busy working on a story that could become a sequel of sorts for this story, so please forgive. This really is a lol story.

Reviewer: ankita suriDate: 2003-08-01
Reviewid: 44871Chapter: 1
that was great........you should write more........it goes together really well to explain a little bit of the fifth book....

Reviewer: merlijnDate: 2003-07-04
Reviewid: 40120Chapter: 1
i really loved readimg this story, it's amazing you can write this well, i have read a lot of storys on sugar quill but this is the first time i am letting the author know i really loved reading this. i am actually a 15 year old girl and i am from the netherlands. i want to wish you a lot of good luck with writing. i hope you will give this story a sequal, lots of love merlijn

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 37919Chapter: 1
*sniffle* This was lovely. I think I've read some of your work but haven't been able to review until now *blush* Anyway, this is as good as the rest of the stuff I've read. You did a great job capturing JKR's characters (your namesake, Mrs. Weasley, was a dear).

The twins were wonderful. I loved how serious they were being about spending their money wisely and getting brand recognition and all that. Very, very mature and in-character because those pranksters are still frugal, astute Weasleys at heart. I also loved how they felt when they reached the agreement with Mr. Smethwyck. I could feel their awe at coming closer to their dream -- I really, truly hope they make it in canon!

Reviewer: AliaDate: 2003-06-17
Reviewid: 37222Chapter: 1
Cool, are you going to do a sequel. Breaking the News to Mum and them looking at the shop one year or so later with it being all fixed up.

Reviewer: Carmen SandiegoDate: 2003-06-17
Reviewid: 37210Chapter: 1
Wow! This is really good! U should write a sequel!!!!! or something along the same lines as that!

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 37133Chapter: 1
Oh, yay! How exciting - and I liked Septimus Smethwyck very much. Great line: " - and he doesn't like maroon - he's got a complex about it - "!

Reviewer: MagsDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 37132Chapter: 1
Have read a LOT of fanfic while waiting for OotP -- this short story stands out as one of the most authentic portrayals of the Weasley Twins that I've seen. Fantastic job giving them credit / capability for demonstrating heart and intelligence, for being more than pranksters and older brothers.

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 37100Chapter: 1
aw, that was so precious!!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 37075Chapter: 1
This is terrific! When the twins walked into Smethwyck's shop I held my breath hoping that they wouldn't be swindled out of their money bag. I should have known better...they have better luck than that and now their dream is really becoming a reality. Good writing...I'd like to hear more on this subject.

Reviewer: audreyDate: 2003-06-15
Reviewid: 36928Chapter: 1
THAT WAS EXCELLENT!

I truely love F&G fics, and this is a really great one. You could easily extend it and make it into a full-length fic. It'd be fantastic. Or you could jump ahead a year or only a few months and continue the story. There's a huge expanse of plot to use.
Good job!

Reviewer: AngiDate: 2003-06-15
Reviewid: 36875Chapter: 1
This story is amazing! You kept everyone in character so well. I really liked to part in the Robe shop:

"D'you think Ronniekins would fancy that?" Fred enquired, pointing to a bolt of fabric which was striped in cream and bubble-gum pink

and

" - and he doesn't like maroon - he's got a complex about it - "

That was hilarious! I hope this isnt the end, you should consider a sequel!

~Angi

Reviewer: pogoniaDate: 2003-06-15
Reviewid: 36867Chapter: 1
Realistic, thoughtfully plotted, in-canon, and well written. You do a great job capturing the Weasley family dynamics, and showing us the contrast between the twins as pranksters and the twins as partners in a serious endeavor. I like the idea of a story set in the context of work and business in the wizarding world - Rowling hasn't given us much background on this in canon, and the concept has only been explored in a few fics so far (e.g. High Spirits, and the Abby/Sirius fics) Er, you *do* plan to continue the story, don't you? It has loads of potential - please write more!

Reviewer: dr. zDate: 2003-06-15
Reviewid: 36862Chapter: 1
brilliant! fascinating really! i'm wondering if there's going to be another chapter ...

more power to you and keep up the good work!

~z

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-06-15
Reviewid: 36861Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this! The pacing is relaxed and low-key, and it's not often you see a fic that touches on the twins' determination, hard work, and ambition, not just their pranks (although are certainly fun, too!).

You have some nice JKR-ish touches in the alliterative names (Flamingo Fondant Fancies, Purple Pandemonium), the children's books (Billy's First Broomstick, Ten Little Nifflers), and just the basic Weasley family interaction. I also thought it interesting, and a little sad, that the Malfoys would send their chauffeur to retrieve Draco.

I got a laugh out of this:

<<The assistant, who was amused by Fred and George, entered into the spirit of the quest, and helpfully pulled out a stack of ready-made robes, seeming to enjoy the twins' comments on some of the selection. "What is his colouring like?" she enquired.

George gestured solemnly to his own fiery head, then to his freckled face. "Erm…this?">>

And this was a nice bit of realism, too -- I heard the same counsel in my "Introduction to Marketing" class in college!:

<<"Their stock's not changed much in the last few years, though," Fred pointed out, as they finally left the shop. "They've got some good stuff, but it's the same stuff they were selling in our first year at Hogwarts."

George nodded. "You can't stand still in business. You have to keep developing new products," he said sagely. "They haven't got half as much stock as Zonko's, either.">>

Well done!

~Katinka

Reviewer: EileenDate: 2003-06-15
Reviewid: 36860Chapter: 1
Excellent story... it could almost pass off as JK Rowling's, with the exception of a few catches here and there :)

Can't wait for book 5!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --