The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Beyond the Veil
Review(s): 152

Reviewer: you-know-whoDate: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133839Chapter: 1
cute.

Reviewer: Patricia SheaDate: 2005-09-10
Reviewid: 132078Chapter: 1
This is beautiful.... & perfect!

Reviewer: AccentDate: 2005-06-25
Reviewid: 125121Chapter: 1
Wow!WOW!How awesome!well-written

Reviewer: LucyDate: 2005-05-19
Reviewid: 122431Chapter: 1
I found this little bit intreguing. I've been living in 'Sirius Denial' since the fifth book came out. Afterall, he only went thorugh an archway it could be portal to somewhere I mean he can't just be gone like that and so on. I don't know how you did it but you brought the reality of his death to light in away the book never has. and while part of me hopes he really isn't dead still I know Rowling won't bring him back, very well written piece truely.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116172Chapter: 1
Sad.

Reviewer: DazedMarauderDate: 2004-11-27
Reviewid: 106129Chapter: 1
See, that is what makes me love fanfiction. You can have so many ideas for stories but there is always one that you will remember, and most likely it isn't yours. This fits into that category. Brought tears to my eyes, I loved it so much.
Insquequo terminus,
amanda

Reviewer: Kelley PaystrupDate: 2004-09-20
Reviewid: 98804Chapter: 1
This made me want to cry. It was so touching. Thank you for writing it.

Reviewer: NancyDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92788Chapter: 1
Wow - I just have to say that I didn't cry in book 4, I didn't cry in book 5 (I was too busy being pissed off and bitter) and I certainly have never cried in any fanfic reading.... but you got a tear. That's incredible. I think it's because it fills that gap, that horribly unfinished, unresolved tear that is Sirius... but whatever it was, that was powerful!

Reviewer: dorsanaDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91821Chapter: 1
priceless.....

Reviewer: BreanDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91582Chapter: 1
OH MY GOD!!!This is better than your fanfiction "JULY".I love this. I'm glad Sirius is happy with James.Your fanfictions are better than any fanfiction I have ever read.Please make more with Sirius,James and Lily.

Reviewer: BunniDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91344Chapter: 1
I find myself in tears again.. I never cried when Sirius died, I daresay I was too eager to finnish the book. But all these afterdeath stories.. They just touch my..

Reviewer: Robin KDate: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81622Chapter: 1
A really lovely story. I especially like the way Sirius expresses his grief at leaving Harry alone, and the comment "Welcome home" at the end. Fits well with DD's statement that "to the well organized mind, death is but the next great adventure."

Reviewer: whitney graceDate: 2004-04-21
Reviewid: 79665Chapter: 1
that was great. I cried.

Reviewer: KristenDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70649Chapter: 1
How sad! I really liked it, because it gave hope that Sirius isn't just dead. He's with James and Lily, and it makes me feel a little better about him being gone, but I still wish he was still alive.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-02-13
Reviewid: 70516Chapter: 1
I think I might have already reviewed this, but I read it again and tears are falling again so I'm reviewing again...
What can I say? This is a beautiful and beautifully written piece that plays with one's emotions, portraying as it does so much pain, suffering and loneliness (past, present and future), but at the same time a measure of peace.
Thank you.

Cristina

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2004-01-29
Reviewid: 68809Chapter: 1
*sniff* I've nothing to say. *tear, tear, tear*

Reviewer: rasitlin89Date: 2004-01-20
Reviewid: 67766Chapter: 1
that is a great story i loved the part when sirius see's james and says james looks like harry instead of the other way around.

Reviewer: DanielaDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66591Chapter: 1
*tears well up in eyes* oh my word - its - its....oh.....wonderful.

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65186Chapter: 1
I have just had a good cry! This story is short, but so sad. Well bittersweet really, Sirius sees Lily and James again, leaving Harry behind. Oh...It was very interesting. It is a perfect missing moment for OOtP! Thank you...I needed this. :)

Keep up the good work Robin, I really like your fics.

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65014Chapter: 1
*sniffle* that was so touching... one of the best fics I've ever read

Reviewer: EstherDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63713Chapter: 1
You made my cry! Why dose sirius have to be gone! Whate he isn't he can't be dead! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Reviewer: KewiiDate: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60413Chapter: 1
I really liked this. Especially the line
"“Hello, Sirius.” Her voice was exactly as he’d remembered it. It was almost too perfect, and Lily hugged him with the same warmth she always had, even if her eyes were more melancholy than they had once been."

It gives the idea that James and Lily are not perfectly happy, as they shouldn't be. They've missed so much and having to watch from the sidelines is obviously going to hurt them.

I also felt the forgiveness scene was important. Part of Sirius' torture has always been that he suggested Peter, you gave him closure to that, as well as more with the thank you.

Well done, I hope to read more from you

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60205Chapter: 1
WAAAAAAH. What a wonderful homecoming for Padfoot. Poor bloke. I want to cry.

Reviewer: LarzdinnDate: 2003-11-15
Reviewid: 60129Chapter: 1
"You've been his family, and he'll remember that, especially when he needs it most."

Beautiful. Thank you for sharing :)

Reviewer: thereseDate: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59586Chapter: 1
Wow! It was so emotional, I loved it. Are you going to continue with this? I don't know where exactly you could go with it, but it was fantastic. My favorite:
"...for being his dad when I couldn’t.'

Sirius turned to look at James and felt tears cloud his vision once more. 'I could never be you, James,' he whispered."

OHhh!! I was just about to cry! Thanks, it was great!!!

Reviewer: GraceDate: 2003-11-02
Reviewid: 58558Chapter: 1
*sniff*
Great.
Not many stories can make me cry but be great at the same time.
Though I do believe JKR has another plan for Sirius, it is still a good story.
*sniff*

Reviewer: AmandaKedavraDate: 2003-10-22
Reviewid: 57459Chapter: 1
Okay...I'm almost crying. I have never almost been crying over a story. So WONDERFUL.

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2003-09-28
Reviewid: 54623Chapter: 1
Again another great piece.

Its so sad.

Brought tears to my eyes....

PLEASE WRITE MORE!

~~Katie Bell

Reviewer: RachaelDate: 2003-09-21
Reviewid: 53874Chapter: 1
That was so nice and sad. It's nice though to think that Sirius is with James and Lily now and that Harry and the others can someday join them.

Reviewer: KylieDate: 2003-09-21
Reviewid: 53803Chapter: 1
*sniff* Oh..that story was wonderful..I really like it...*sniff*
RIP Padfoot. *sniff*

Reviewer: SerenaDate: 2003-09-20
Reviewid: 53621Chapter: 1
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARGH!!!!!!!!!
That's so beautifuL!!!! WRITE MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
*squeaks*
*is driven to tears*
MEEP!

Reviewer: matty linDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53174Chapter: 1
omg...that made me cry. but that is so cool. u have a great imagination. u should write more.

Reviewer: Lupins LairDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53171Chapter: 1
What I loved about this story was that although it was initially dark, sad and haunting, you didn't allow it to continue through the whole fic. Sure, at the start it portrayed the shock and the sadness when Sirius realised he was dead. He knew he would never be able to go back, he knew his best friend and his godson were watching as they saw him fall behind the veil, and he knew he was leaving them with the pain of llsing a loved one. But afterwards, the mood changed to that of acceptance, hope and reconciliation. The last words left me with a small smile on my face.

It was lovely to see Sirius finally being able to apologise for his mistake 14 years ago. Of course, we knew that James and Lily would forgive him, but Sirius would always have been haunted by his last minute decision to switch with Peter. How you described Sirius as noting that James and Lily hadn't changed a bit was moving, how it triggered his memories.

The two bits which stood out most for me was the bit when Sirius thought James looked so much like Harry, rather than the other way round. Also the sentence:

"And everything else died away. His godson’s scream echoed in his ears. It would for all eternity."

That really rang out for me. Well done!

Reviewer: DonzaboboDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53124Chapter: 1
Oh my god, i was crying when i read this story. You feel so torn between the two sides, Harry and James, this story is very very very well written.
Luv,
Dini

Reviewer: Laura HammondDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52046Chapter: 1
OMG! OMG! OMG! That was beyond brilliant! I loved it....you are an extremly tallented writer...I actullaly started crying when I was reading it! Wow is the only way to describe it, it totally moved me!

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52032Chapter: 1
Argh! I really wanted to know what happened next! Good work with the emotions though.

Reviewer: FriniDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51729Chapter: 1
I'm in tears...there are no words to describe this but perfect. Thanks for writing this...I needed to read it...thanks.
love
Frini

Reviewer: C. LordeDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50596Chapter: 1
ohhh!! damn you you almost made me cry and just when I was getting over him too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lovely story though..

Reviewer: cel blackDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49031Chapter: 1
this brought tears to my eyes.
siri meeting up with lily and james in heaven. theres only one small problem
HES NOT DEAD DAMMIT!!!!
*runs away crying*
other than that, beatiful

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49022Chapter: 1
Thank you for writing this. Rest in peace, Padfoot.

Reviewer: nicoleDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48492Chapter: 1
so sad i love this story one of my fav sirius in the after life story

Reviewer: Dana NorramDate: 2003-08-23
Reviewid: 48339Chapter: 1
*snif*

very beautiful and sad, congratulations!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-08-22
Reviewid: 48263Chapter: 1
OMG, OMG ~*sobs*~ it was beautifully written!! keep up the good work!! =)

Reviewer: AlexisDate: 2003-08-22
Reviewid: 48183Chapter: 1
oh u write such sad stories.....another tear jerker.....especially when Sirius keeps saying im so sorry Harry!!!! *sob, sob, sniffle, sniffle*

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47730Chapter: 1
omg im crying!!! thats sooo sad!!! brilliant peice of writng tho!!!

Reviewer: Edd WoodwardDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47307Chapter: 1
Wonderfully written... Made me cry just remembering the story. Very touching and emotional....Keep up the writting..

Reviewer: LisbethDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47219Chapter: 1
awww..that was so well done. I loved the way you described Sirius's emotions and especially at the begining--the way you portrayed everything he heard and saw. It was truly beautiful and I love it. Brilliant.

Reviewer: AyumiDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45652Chapter: 1
=( That's so sad... but so sweet! You did a great job! I almost wished that they could've stayed and watched the rest of the fight (Harry trying to kill Bellatrix). Still, wonderful job!

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2003-08-04
Reviewid: 45351Chapter: 1
(sob) Im (sob)in (sob) tears (Sob)

Reviewer: JadeDate: 2003-08-02
Reviewid: 45070Chapter: 1
omg i love all your work!! this story made me cry(but then your other stories have too) and although it was short, i loved it

Reviewer: MichelleDate: 2003-08-02
Reviewid: 45027Chapter: 1
OH MY GOSH that was so good. even though it was short i absolutely loved it. you must get a lot of these but after all the other stories i have read on SQ and ff.net this was so far the best.!!!! it was so good i wanted to cry i jsut got so into!! thank you so much! i loved the new book even though my favorite character died in it i jsut hope the next books do talk about him! well all i can say is WOW! and i loved it! keep writing about anything you want you have a talent!!

Reviewer: Dara finVidyaDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44725Chapter: 1
When I read your story about Remus's letter to Sirius I cried. And now I'm reading this and I'm glad that Sirius is meeting with Lily and James. At least he didn't just cease to exist. Ahem, anyway this is really good. I wish he hadn't died.

Reviewer: no oneDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44575Chapter: 1
*snif*

Reviewer: EmilyAnnaDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44566Chapter: 1
Excellent job, but I feel like it's just the beginning. You should really add more to it; maybe have Sirius watch Harry from Heaven.

Reviewer: ......Date: 2003-07-29
Reviewid: 44428Chapter: 1
Aw man! That was amazing!

Reviewer: caitDate: 2003-07-26
Reviewid: 43975Chapter: 1
that was a beautiful story!! it made me want to cry!! it's nice to imagine that sirius is with james and the james and lily are watching harry!! i wish harry could know that!!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-07-26
Reviewid: 43932Chapter: 1
Thank you for writing this beautiful piece, Robin. I creid with Sirius and James, and yet in a strange way they were also happy tears.

The thought of those two friends at last being together and watching someone they both loved is a tribute to the strength of love and true friendship. A moving a fitting sense of closure.

Reviewer: KellyDate: 2003-07-25
Reviewid: 43884Chapter: 1
Okay... this made me cry. VERY well-written... and very sad... *sniffle*

Reviewer: haylieDate: 2003-07-23
Reviewid: 43505Chapter: 1
wow.... loved it. great perspective, flowing, and explaining a humongous GAP!

Reviewer: Charmed OneDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43339Chapter: 1
*sob* that was THE most beautiful story EVER!! ALL of your stories are so touching...so...good!!!!THE BEST!! j.k rowling should take advise from you about writing tear-jerker parts of HP books!

Reviewer: AshleighDate: 2003-07-21
Reviewid: 43228Chapter: 1
*wipes tears from eyes* wow,that was........wow. i'm crying right now. that was beautiful.

Reviewer: nikiDate: 2003-07-21
Reviewid: 43196Chapter: 1
I wanted to say something to describe the appreciation i feel for this peice (and all your stories for that matter) but for the first time in my memory, words fail me.

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-07-21
Reviewid: 43174Chapter: 1
So much emotion in so short a story...this was beautiful. I'm prepared to accept this as the true canonical story of what happened after Sirius died, that's how good it is.

Reviewer: Urban DemiguiseDate: 2003-07-20
Reviewid: 42995Chapter: 1
Wow. There are tears welling in my eyes. That may be my allergies, but no, I think it's the fic. By the way, you are one of my favorite authors. Okay, I just started crying. Does that prove my point yet? You are awesome. If you ever wrote a book and got it published, I would buy it, because I know it would be a good read and have depth and lots of other goodies. Yay! By the way, chapter 26 of "Promises Unbroken" was superb. Rock on.

Reviewer: RavenDate: 2003-07-20
Reviewid: 42939Chapter: 1
This was absolutely beautiful. It made me cry for Sirius all over again but it made me happy too. To know that he is with James and Lily again.

Reviewer: AmishVomitCakeDate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42885Chapter: 1
I weep...

Reviewer: JillDate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42868Chapter: 1
Oh My Gosh!!!!!!! that was the best story i have ever read. i am sobbing and you are wonderful

Reviewer: ellenDate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42863Chapter: 1
This is such a great piece of writng. It made Sirius dieng better,knowing that he go reunited with James and Lily. Is there more?

Reviewer: Fla-lADate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42819Chapter: 1
Wow... this is a really thoughtful and provacative work... really makes me think... I loved it! Keep writing

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42763Chapter: 1
that was really great. it almost made me cry.
is that all or is there more?
keep writing
-JKR

Reviewer: EmDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42760Chapter: 1
This was so sweet! I hated that Sirius died in HP5, and this was a way of softening the blow (to be dramatic. I really liked it! Keep writing!

Reviewer: EvieDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42711Chapter: 1
Hey, this is the first one of your stories I've read (am now going to read the rest!!) - that was really good. I never thought about wizards believing (or not) in life after death. Cool.

Reviewer: FionnualaDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42696Chapter: 1
OMG this is sooooo good, I feel like crying! It was amazing! I'm hoping there's more chapters ahead, but if not, this is a good ending spot too!

Reviewer: dr. zDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42646Chapter: 1
gaah...i'm actually tearing! really good stuff! gives us a glance to what james must be feeling...

great job!

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42643Chapter: 1
awww mna.. dAMN SWEET

Reviewer: Someone ReadingDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42598Chapter: 1
This was beautiful. I know that I've come across in past reviews of things at ff.net as a nut, but you want to know why Sirius' death upset me so very much? I lost both my dog, and my Godfather within a month of each other. JKR by killing Sirius brought it all right back to the forefront, and for *that* I will *never* forgive her. Member U.S.S. SAD DENIAL (Sirius' Awful Death Didn't End Neatly! It's A Lie!)

Reviewer: angel_evansDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42520Chapter: 1
I Loved it so much, i cried uncontrollably when Sirius died in the book and i just started again......it was really great..:sniffles:...... good job

Reviewer: Star BlackDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42264Chapter: 1
I cried when sirius died in the 5th book and that was with chapters and chapers of building him up. I cried even harder when I read this, it was so good and sad.

Reviewer: CherieDate: 2003-07-09
Reviewid: 41113Chapter: 1
This is so great. I have tears streaming down my face. I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40960Chapter: 1
I love your fan fics!!! They are so good. I really like the one called Death Before Dishonor. I hope that you make sequels, even though Sirius died. I was really upset when he did. Please write more fics with Sirius in them!!
Your awsome!
Katie

Reviewer: bluirinkaDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40659Chapter: 1
I read this a second time and am still crying...forgot to mention that it makes you think of how JAMES feels, being unable to father his son...anyway, it's the first post-OotP fic I've read and what a good one it is. Continue, write something, anything, we know it'll be stupendous, haha!

Reviewer: MirandaDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40515Chapter: 1
Oh my god that was so sweet.
I'm crying.
The reunion was so wonderful

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-07-06
Reviewid: 40316Chapter: 1
Ohhhhhhh- great! It made me cry but I thought it was excellent writing and I really wanted an epilogue about Sirius! *sniff* Keep writing!

Reviewer: MegDate: 2003-07-06
Reviewid: 40296Chapter: 1
Oh, you are sooo good. I'm crying and everything...blarg...thank you for such an excellent fic...

Reviewer: AshleyDate: 2003-07-06
Reviewid: 40295Chapter: 1
No, I :sniff: am not crying, I've just got :sniff: something in my eye.

That was really beautiful. Great job.

Reviewer: MeghanDate: 2003-07-06
Reviewid: 40289Chapter: 1
I'm so crying. Sirius so ROXed, I read almost every story about him that's worthwhile. And this was definetely worthwhile.

Thank you,
Meghan, :-((-: for Sirius - he's in a better place now.

Reviewer: bluirinkaDate: 2003-07-05
Reviewid: 40232Chapter: 1
Awwwwww! how emotional and compelling. Sirius must really be the most wrought, guilt and pain-ridden person I have ever encountered in literature. Good representation...now go back to Promises Unbroken, lol!

Reviewer: DidiDate: 2003-07-05
Reviewid: 40217Chapter: 1
Ooo! That's so good! At least Sirius will be happy after death if it is how you wrote it for the wizarding world. If that makes sense...Anyway! Awesome job!

Reviewer: julieDate: 2003-07-05
Reviewid: 40179Chapter: 1
Thanks so much for writing this story. I'm a big fan of Sirius's and this makes me feel a whole lot better about what happened in the OotP.

Reviewer: MichDate: 2003-07-05
Reviewid: 40162Chapter: 1
WoW oh WOW I'm so glad Lizpky(sp) Mentioned this on HP fanfiction. This is absolutely beautiful!

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-07-05
Reviewid: 40150Chapter: 1
beautiful. just...beautiful im crying again, i don't what else to say...just, its perfect.

Reviewer: JoleneDate: 2003-07-04
Reviewid: 40136Chapter: 1
hi! that is so good,i'm gonna see if theres more now.Its really good though,keep writing

Reviewer: AshesDate: 2003-07-04
Reviewid: 40112Chapter: 1
*sobs* Padfoot was my favorite and your story gave me a little bit of closure, very nice :)

Reviewer: LyndaDate: 2003-07-04
Reviewid: 40104Chapter: 1
Good story - clever transition between life and death

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2003-07-04
Reviewid: 40027Chapter: 1
Aww!

Reviewer: AliaDate: 2003-07-04
Reviewid: 40021Chapter: 1
You know what this makes me think of, what did James think at Harry's reaction to seeing his father bully Snape.

Reviewer: IsabellaDate: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 39980Chapter: 1
oh, God...this made me cry as I read it...beautiful, just so beautiful...I'm speechless and teary...
=)

Reviewer: LadyAtherDate: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 39912Chapter: 1
I'm crying as I read this.
Thank you for giving Sirius peace.
I don't know what else to say. Beautiful work.
Again, thank you.

Reviewer: doyaDate: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 39910Chapter: 1
OK, this makes me feel a little bit better, even if any reference to Sirius' death still makes me weepy. This was very nice, and we needed it. I liked your capture of Sirius with Harry on one hand, James on the other. I'll just keep this image in my mind...

Reviewer: uremiaDate: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 39851Chapter: 1
Enough, this is just making me cry.

No, no, more.....

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --