The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 22

Reviewer: ZaraDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80588Chapter: 1
I amlost want to cry its so pointiont

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75147Chapter: 1
Another wonderful addition to your Thinking Hat series. When I first read J.K.'s books, I was mystified why Riddle was accepted into Slytherin although he had a Muggle father. It was fascinating to read Salazar's own take on having an impure, half-blooded student in his house. Having read your Salazar, I've come to like and appreciate his wit and his role in the friendship of the four Founders.

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72778Chapter: 1
i like this. it great. a prelude of sorts to the events leading up to the song they sang in the fifth book.

Reviewer: zakiDate: 2003-09-26
Reviewid: 54479Chapter: 1
Fantastic. 'nuff said.

Reviewer: ErisDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46780Chapter: 1
That is -forgive my language- absolutely ruddy brilliant.
Doncha know.
What I would like to see next is an account of the sorting with Severus and the Marauders and all. Even if there is no lovely exposition as here, your dialogue is exceptionally funny and I LOVE your view of the Founders. :D

Reviewer: CatrionaDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42449Chapter: 1
Another great piece of writing. I'm sad now that you have no more Sorting Hat stories. Please write more! I would love to see the Marauders' Sorting.

What? Oh, yes, the review. I loved it, of course. I especially liked the line "The four of us are the best there ever was at starting things." It's touching without being corny. :) You have more excellent characterizations of the Founders, and I really enjoyed reading this. I found myself reading the Sorting Hat's song in OotP and imagining who made up each line and what the others' reactions to it were. And also figuring out where the line "Riddle is a nimrod" would fit.

The things that carry over from the prequels, like Godric dropping things on people's heads, are priceless. (Although I still want to know what Salazar meant that basilisk for, darn it.) And I LOVE the title.

Reviewer: LyndaDate: 2003-07-04
Reviewid: 40107Chapter: 1
Excellent sorting story; enjoyed the give and take between the members of the houses in the sorting hat - especially Salazar's reaction to Tom Riddle's evil doings

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-07-04
Reviewid: 40086Chapter: 1
an exceptional story written as always in your excellent style combining wit, humour and adressing all the issues adresed in canon. never straying far away from it.
i love all you sorting hat stories.
this one i think, is the best.
a tribute to JKR's finest book yet. and her best sorting song so far.

Reviewer: Karie (PeanutGallery)Date: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 39841Chapter: 1
Another great installment in the story of the Sorting Hat. I enjoy the personalities of the Founders, they're very well crafted. As usual, I find myself very emotionally drawn in, in addition to being entertained by the plot (:

Reviewer: Karie (PeanutGallery)Date: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 39840Chapter: 1
Another great installment in the story of the Sorting Hat. I enjoy the personalities of the Founders, they're very well crafted. As usual, I find myself very emotionally drawn in, in addition to being entertained by the plot (:

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2003-07-02
Reviewid: 39703Chapter: 1
This is a brilliant line: "But after a thousand years, messages tend to get...muddled." Isn't that the truth? Gosh, we see it all around us, people changing the meaning of words to suit their own purposes.

Good story. What a neat idea of the Sorting Hat.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-07-02
Reviewid: 39584Chapter: 1
I just read all your stories in one sitting, and you've really got a unique idea here! I really enjoyed them all, and you had me ROFL at the idea of the Hat pouncing on people and acting like a cat.

Good explanation of the Sorting Song in OotP, too! I'd like to believe that Salazar's message got "muddled up" over the centuries.

Keep up the great work!

Reviewer: FaelaernDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39497Chapter: 1
Both interesting and highly amusing...I'd never thought of the Sorting Hat in quite that way before but it makes a great deal of sense. The interaction between the Four Founders was golden!

Reviewer: BabsDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39485Chapter: 1
I love the whole series, the idea of four disembodied founders within the hat is just too hilarious, and still the humor fits well with the more serious themes.

Reviewer: sssLYthErinsss rULE!Date: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39475Chapter: 1
I just read the whole series in one sitting. It's fabulous! I like how you have them come up with the 'ssspecial song' in OotP. Pleeeeease write a sequel soon!
I also have a reccomendation for you. Have you read 'Hearts and Hourglasses' by Yen? It's very good; right here on The Sugar Quill, too. I think you'd like it. It's about the Founders coming back.
Could you pleeeeease write about the sorting of the Marauders and Snape?

Reviewer: Aisling and RyreDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39456Chapter: 1
RIDDLE IS A NIMROD!!!!!!! *grin* Loved this whole series....keep it up. I love em'

Reviewer: Knight SamarDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39445Chapter: 1
Great my dear friend! Great!You have really brought out the (supposed) true feelings of Salazar Slythering.

Anyway! Hope J.K.Rowling lets He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named try the Hat once again!!I would also like to see what the reaction would be of Salazar Slytherin after his msgs get muddled...

Anyway! Continue writing and composing...!!!

GOOD LUCK

Reviewer: Dr. ThinkerDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39401Chapter: 1
Pretty good. And that's explains the S.H.'s new song in O.T.T.P. I'm almost spit out my drink when I read the last lines.

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39324Chapter: 1
I loved all the other sorting hat stories, but I think I love this one the best. It's nice to see Salazar in more depth, even if he is body-less inside a hat. I agree with what you wrote. That his message was "muddled up."

I love how they think up the song in the end. It was really sweet and charming. They really are/were a good team.

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39246Chapter: 1
This was really amusing and thought-provoking, and so were your other fics. I really enjoyed them.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39242Chapter: 1
This story was just what I needed. Though the subject matter is sorrowful, your touch is light, gentle and compassionate.

Poor Hat-Salazar. His delight over young Mr. Riddle, the joy that he's Parselmouth and family turning to dismay at the half-Muggle parentage...

I especially liked the compassion that the other Founders within the Hat showed to Salazar when Dumbledore told them about Lord Voldemort.

And I loved the part leading up the Fifth-year Sorting Song. Thank you for writing this story!!

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39233Chapter: 1
Brilliant!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --