The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Unusual
Review(s): 316

Reviewer: bethjasperDate: 2007-09-12
Reviewid: 149253Chapter: 1
Bloody brilliant - creative, touching, and kept to the JK Rowling universe!! Thanks and keep them coming.

Reviewer: yummydumplingsDate: 2007-08-30
Reviewid: 149096Chapter: 3
I think that this is by far one of my favorite fanfiction stories EVER! The idea of it is just BRILLIANT!

Reviewer: lucydroolsDate: 2007-08-01
Reviewid: 148670Chapter: 3
haha...thats adorable. please update soon! I can't wait.

Reviewer: marbrielleDate: 2007-06-15
Reviewid: 148262Chapter: 3
this is my third time reading it and it still brings me to tears! thank you so much for writing this clever piece!

Reviewer: HappyTearsDate: 2006-11-19
Reviewid: 146233Chapter: 3
That was so awesome. i love how the with the emotional range of a teaspoon was incorporated. that was so origonal

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-28
Reviewid: 145522Chapter: 3
A pleasant read. Thanks.

Reviewer: corvidaeDate: 2006-08-15
Reviewid: 144811Chapter: 3
what a perfectly lovely story! i could read happy christmas stories all year long and this one made me all mushy at the end. ron was so selfless. i especially like that alone time while they drank their milk, it was very intimate and showed us a bit of ron and hermiones relationship while they're not fighting, while harry's not around, and we don't get to see that often. great job.

Reviewer: jazy108Date: 2006-04-17
Reviewid: 141986Chapter: 3
love it but u have to finish and quick!!!

Reviewer: The Enchanted TeakettleDate: 2006-03-03
Reviewid: 140495Chapter: 3
Omigosh, I absolutely LOVED this! It was wonderful! So cute! So creative!

Madam Dashwood was so cool! I loved her! Her little note at the end was so creative and so sweet! It makes a good ending sentence too.

Good work!

--TET

Reviewer: Tasharoo27Date: 2006-01-02
Reviewid: 137901Chapter: 3
I want a Ron of my own RIGHT NOW!!!!!! & I want to keep him for ever and ever - *grrr* that Hermione Granger hogging all his cuteness. *squeals and flings arms round Ron's neck* I'm in desperate need of a Ron/Rupert of my own ;oD

Reviewer: MeepDate: 2005-11-01
Reviewid: 135579Chapter: 3
So Gorgeous! The little note that Madame Dashwood left - *oh* (girly sigh)
You really seem to have the touch for this - keep it up.

Reviewer: lisaDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135272Chapter: 3
I just read this, and thought it was absolutely wonderful... I know you probably wrote it a while ago, but I'm pretty new to HP fanfic, just wanted to let you know that I thoroughly enjoyed this...

Reviewer: Abbie Rose DavisDate: 2005-10-18
Reviewid: 134713Chapter: 1
AAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!! that was ADORABLE!!!!!! i love how vulnerable ron seems and that he was trying something goofy... hehehe

Reviewer: heatherDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134186Chapter: 3
i think that that was great you must must must write a sequil if you do i will read iy 100 times i promise!

Reviewer: RussaDate: 2005-09-25
Reviewid: 133179Chapter: 3
This is SO unbelievably awesome. You write the cutest R/H stories ever. They leave me feeling all happy and warm inside. =)
Keep 'em coming!

Reviewer: EmilieDate: 2005-09-13
Reviewid: 132459Chapter: 3
This story was well-written and SO sweet. Absolutely loved it.

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-09-02
Reviewid: 131522Chapter: 3
Oh, wow. This is soooooo sweet! It's perfect! It's just . . . awwwwwwwwwwwwwww!

Reviewer: Mikau A. KaiouseiDate: 2005-08-16
Reviewid: 130125Chapter: 3
This was so sweet...it made me smile. Good job!

Reviewer: RobynDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128391Chapter: 1
This is my favorite fic ever! And trust me, I have read hundreds of fics..I have read this one a dozen many times. It's absolutely perfect.

Reviewer: AkiDate: 2005-07-29
Reviewid: 128167Chapter: 3
i rather wish that this were the way they'd worked things out in their sixth year, rather than the rather revolting display of immaturity and asinine jealousy that occurred in canon. ^^ anyhow, it made me smile, and even if harry is a bit absent, i'd count it as a lovely, well-characterized and adorable Trio fic. thanks for the pleasant read!

Reviewer: KTDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125897Chapter: 3
This was sooo good...one of the best r/hr fanfictions I've read. It is funny and clever how you fit in the plot to OotP and remaining true to the canon. The story stays true to OotP and does not conflict with it.

"Why bother sending chaps to Azkaban?" Ron asked in disbelief. "A few minutes in this place would do the trick.--- hilarious

Reviewer: NovaDate: 2005-06-23
Reviewid: 124951Chapter: 3
Ahh that was so cute, I like the creativity that was put into it, most of it was unique yet, still Jo's Harry Potter. I like the fact that all of the perfumes are customized and the little note in the end was like awwww! I liked it very much.

Reviewer: sic itur ad astraDate: 2005-06-08
Reviewid: 123459Chapter: 3
Great interpretation of "unusual perfume" and I loved how you played it off of one of Hermione's insults about him having "the emotional range of a teaspoon"! Fabulous - very sweet :D

Reviewer: TGDate: 2005-05-31
Reviewid: 123137Chapter: 3
I love it, this story was the best.
Great work

Reviewer: Sophia MontgomeryDate: 2005-05-31
Reviewid: 123103Chapter: 1
Good story!

Reviewer: SannikexDate: 2005-05-16
Reviewid: 122178Chapter: 3
What to say? I think this is so cute! I'm writing R/Hr myself but I gladly admit that you have the talent for it :D Thanks for good reading

Sannikex

Reviewer: Kasey DonahueDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121842Chapter: 1
Interesting story. I like how you incorperated Harry into the story and that he spent all the money just for her. However, I hate that she thinks it smells bad. If all of it is Ron's emotions for her, then should it smell at least okay, seeing as it was brewed for her particularly? Constructive critism, I really did like the story. Oh and sry if I spelled critism wrong...

Reviewer: myronDate: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121179Chapter: 3
oooo i really like this story!!!!

Reviewer: No ideaDate: 2005-04-20
Reviewid: 120182Chapter: 3
GREEEEEEEEAT!!!!
Best story i've read so far in here (And that's saying something ; P )

Reviewer: DrakonDate: 2005-04-17
Reviewid: 119796Chapter: 2
I went into fits of laughter when I read it!
Great story!

Reviewer: AlekhyaDate: 2005-04-07
Reviewid: 118924Chapter: 1
Splendid!

Reviewer: DorianDate: 2005-03-10
Reviewid: 116022Chapter: 3
Bloody brilliant, especially the Austen pun. I love the fact that they're not bickering, for once!

Reviewer: TAshDate: 2005-03-04
Reviewid: 115532Chapter: 3
That was utterly lovely...

Reviewer: MollieDate: 2005-02-10
Reviewid: 113420Chapter: 3
I LOVE IT I LOVE IT I LOVE IT! There were some problems with the italics in the first 2 chapters, but I don't care. This is amazing and sweet and fluffy and hilarious and it's AWESOME! More than a teaspoon. Lol. I guess Hermione was wrong--Ron doesn't have the emotional range of a teaspoon--he has the emotional range of a cauldron!

Reviewer: grysterDate: 2005-01-13
Reviewid: 110772Chapter: 3
Adorable :)

And the "~ No House-Elves Were Tested or Enslaved in the Making of This Product." " line was pure genius.

Reviewer: satineDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106798Chapter: 3
Oh, that was fabulous! I loved how you told us the entire story behind Ron's gift to Hermione. I found Witches' Way and the whole idea of mixing your own perfumes from thoughts and emotions to be very creative, indeed! You've written this wonderfully and it warms my heart when I read about the simple pleasures and joys of Ron and Hermione's relationship. You've done an excellent job.

Reviewer: KariDate: 2004-11-11
Reviewid: 104241Chapter: 3
That was adorable! Why did you stop writing. I wanted to keep reading it, honestly.
My favorite aspect of the story was the way Ron and Hermione's relationship was so realistic to the way it is in the Harry Potter books. The perfume idea was not only cute, but absolutely imaginitive. JK would be proud. Keep up the good work. And do us all a favor...keep writing! :0)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-11-05
Reviewid: 103544Chapter: 3
I know this story so well now that I just go to my favorite bits and read them for a little pick-me-up. I love your insight into Hermione. She seems just right, to me. I like her internalized thoughts and emotions. Great work!!

Reviewer: LeiaDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102656Chapter: 1
Wow. Your characters are right on. Great story. I'd like to read more stuff by you... For it being so utterly obvious that Ron and Hermione are destined for each other...there really isn't enough good R/H fanfic.

Reviewer: CarraDate: 2004-10-18
Reviewid: 101716Chapter: 3
Brilliant! I love the last part, where she read the note that Mrs. Dashwood left in the box. It was very clever. Keep Writing.

Reviewer: jazzypomDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101430Chapter: 3
Awww, that is *so* sweet! A lovely piece of fiction that shows every reason why this ship works.

Apart from that, it's lovely - snatches of a happy Sirius, a thoughtful and helpful Lupin (aww, Moony), a moody Harry (I hope he has some equanmity in the sixth book) and everything just fit.

Lovely, thanks for making a stormy cold autumn's day so much warmer!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101413Chapter: 3
This is one of my absolute favourite stories! I love the emotions you bring out on all sides. I also like the way the story is crafted. The lat chapter starts with Molly saying they cannot go to Diagon Alley. That was a great transition! Anda chance to show that Ron still was not interested in buying Hermione a gift. And the end shifts the focus from Ron to Hermione. That was also well done, Adn rather than have Hermioen voice her opinion on ron, you let Madame DAshwood do so.

Just great!

Reviewer: pearlsDate: 2004-08-24
Reviewid: 98428Chapter: 3
really nice story....and very good for a missing moment:d
keep writing;)

Reviewer: AndiDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98124Chapter: 3
Are you going to write more??? that was really good

Reviewer: AndiDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98123Chapter: 1
that was really cute! I am on to the second chapter

Reviewer: LuluDate: 2004-08-06
Reviewid: 96046Chapter: 3
Wow great imagination! Excellent plot, you really did the story justice.

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95907Chapter: 3
Awww. That was a great way to tie it all up! Very cute.

Reviewer: antisocial mintDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95889Chapter: 3
possibly one of the best R/H fics i have ever read, i loved every minute of it!! too cute!

Reviewer: BrittanyDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95561Chapter: 3
Wow, that was so amazing and cute! The idea is very unique and seems like it really should be in the Order of the Phoenix! I absolutely LOVED it! Excellent job at making me laugh out loud and "awww" every now and then. It was excellent. Congratulations on the Niffle from Fiction Alley! Best wishes!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94413Chapter: 3
Brilliant. I hopped over here from the 'challenge' at FictionAlley. Someone tried yours out. I really like it. I normally don't read R/Hr despite shipping it because it's too mushy our out of character but for the most part the characterization in this was good. I loved the humor.

Reviewer: GinnyPotterDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94198Chapter: 1
Oh excellent! That was awesome. Please please please please please update really soon! I cant wait!

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92845Chapter: 3
Ok, I'm a H/Hr shipper, so normally i wouldn't read this, but I decided to for my Unexpected Task fic. It turned out to be really sweet, and it seemed like it could be something that just wasn't mentioned in canon. It almost convinced me that R/Hr could work. Almost. ;)

Sarah

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92768Chapter: 3
This story was just niffled on Fiction Alley, and I can see why. It's great! It's very sweet, and so funny! Ron is just a treat - so perfectly in character. There's a lot of great lines, but my favorite is this:

"So..." he said slowly, turning it in his hands, "what you mean is... most people get a perfume with - with the emotional range of a teaspoon - and I had a cauldron?"

It's a great reference to Hermione's comment in OotP. And Ron's choice of name for the perfume is terrific. I really like this. :)

Reviewer: KatrinaDate: 2004-07-16
Reviewid: 92554Chapter: 3
oh my god! that was the sweetest fic ever!!! I love missing moments, and this one was just right :-D amazing job

Reviewer: RedwoodDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88869Chapter: 3
That was really well done. Your characterizations were solid, and I loved how well you integrated canon.

"Keep Him"

Nice. Thanks for the great fic!

Reviewer: EmeraldDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87622Chapter: 3
Awww, that was so sweet!

Reviewer: mistyDate: 2004-06-02
Reviewid: 85624Chapter: 3
aaaawwwwww.that's all i can say.so much for having the emotional range of a teaspoon.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78539Chapter: 3
Awwwww . . . what a Ron thing to do! So cute.

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-03-20
Reviewid: 75310Chapter: 3
Very cute interpretation! I loved the idea of being able to make your own perfume with your emotions, and how you proved that Ron doesn't have the emotional range of a teaspoon. Very well written - just, wow.

Reviewer: Dina C.Date: 2004-03-10
Reviewid: 73889Chapter: 3
Okay. Another great story. I love the way you filled in the back story on WHY the perfume was so unusual. And the use of "teaspoon" is brilliant. Another homerun! Go girl!

Reviewer: Lauren StaceyDate: 2004-03-09
Reviewid: 73801Chapter: 1
this was amazing. well dun .

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-01-18
Reviewid: 67615Chapter: 3
i want that perfume, great story, very sweet, Witches Way gives me the shudders, thanks for bringing back memories of sense and sensibility

Reviewer: SpifeDate: 2004-01-13
Reviewid: 66939Chapter: 3
That was so brilliant! I loved the ending! And it was so clever! All of it. Please write another chapter! I want Hermione to tell Ron how much she appreciated his present! I hope he knows anyway, Canon left me worried that he'd be a little hurt... Wonderful fic though! I *loved* the teaspoon comment! glorious!

Reviewer: AlexisDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65940Chapter: 3
Magnificent. I loved everything about it!

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64487Chapter: 3
I should probably be banned from leaving reviews for this, but it really is one of my favorites. I read it just to feel good! Thanks!

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63629Chapter: 3
That was so sweet! I always wondered how and why Ron bought Hermione perfume. Well I knew it was because he fancied her, but your fic. brought it to life. Thank you.

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63352Chapter: 3
ohmigosh. i just reviewed this and i said that while i was reading, a perfume-advertising pop-up popped up right? well after i submitted that ANOTHER one popped up! isn't that just funny!?!?!?!
ok. spasm-- over.

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63350Chapter: 3
a cauldron instead of a teaspoon. *sniffle*
so... classic.
yah know what's funny? a pop-up advertising perfume came right when i was reading chapter 3. talk about coincidences. i loved this. it was great. 'keep him' i really liked that. spew. hahahahaha. that's funny.

Reviewer: marie78956Date: 2003-11-27
Reviewid: 60923Chapter: 3
This is the best laugh I've had in a week. It's great. Lupin was great. I'm considering it canon until JKR tells it differently.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-11-14
Reviewid: 59961Chapter: 3
I've just read this completely through again. I've lost count of the number of times I've read it. Either in part or whole. You've done just a great job! It has the perfect hook, set right at the end.
>>Keep him.<< Perfect!

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-11-08
Reviewid: 59307Chapter: 3
Awww... simply sweet, it sounds just like Ron! Well done!

Reviewer: JessieDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58907Chapter: 3
This story was so0o0o0o0o0oo0o0o cute!!!! I absolutly positively LOVED it!!!! Ron is just the most adorable thing ever in this fanfic! :-D Great JoB!!!

Reviewer: DanaDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58696Chapter: 2
OMG!

What a GREAT chapter! :)

"Why bother sending chaps to Azkaban?" Ron asked in disbelief. "A few minutes in this place would do the trick."

You shouldn't write things like that, you know...

I can't burst out laughing at 3 o'clock in the morning!

*grin*

Reviewer: :)Date: 2003-10-27
Reviewid: 58014Chapter: 3
This is the best story on SQ. The conversation among Fred, George, Ron, and Ginny was perfect. When Hermione lifted the snowflake and looked at Ron through it... it was a beautiful moment and the conversation that followed was one of the best between them I've read in fanfic. I loved the way they both observed each other... R observing H when she came to the door, and H observing R in his pajamas at night. Ron creating the perfume from his thoughts on Hermione was an amazing idea! Funniest part: Mrs. Black screeching and "Silent Night"!

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57251Chapter: 3
I loved this story. You totally capture the moment of Being Fifteen and all that it entails. I also adored the rather pink trip to Witches Way - hilarious, touching. Gorgeous piece.

Reviewer: BaileyMacDate: 2003-10-14
Reviewid: 56508Chapter: 3
Awww!!! This story was so so sweet! Your writing style is just wonderful - you really did a great job of conveying Ron's feelings about Hermione and spending the money, etc. I loved the twist on the "teaspoon" dialog from canon. Brilliant!

Reviewer: DaNz-AnGeLDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55424Chapter: 3
i just had to say that ur fanfic was awseome. i write a bit myself but i dont't take it too seriously. i was wondering if you had written anymore fanfics or anything? ...and not just on HP. thanks for a great read!

Reviewer: DaphneDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50553Chapter: 3
I've never liked the idea of R/H (yes, I know, what am I doing here) Your story made me practically want to ship them. Congratulations. :)

Reviewer: R.J. AndersonDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50533Chapter: 3
Oh, that's *wonderful*. Really great. I came here from Victoria's "Unfit for Society" recs page and I'm glad I did! "Scents and Sensibility"! And Madam Dashwood! Brilliant. I would love to think that this is what really happened when Ron gave Hermione her "interesting" perfume. A cleverly imagined, solidly characterized, and well written story -- thanks for sharing it!

Reviewer: picklesDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50450Chapter: 3
i loved it. it was so sweet. i could picture ron doing that.

Reviewer: Hermione G. WeasleyDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49336Chapter: 3
Oh very sweet, very sweet! R/Her rocks by the way!*-*

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49292Chapter: 3
this is very cute.
and funny, too.
SPEW. haha

Reviewer: JKEDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49276Chapter: 3
i wonder what the perfume smells like.
anyway, i liked this story!
it was really fun 2 read!
i hope u can write more!
(like another chapter wud be totally awsome!)
please, please, PLEASE, write much more!
good job!!!!!!!!!

~JKE
p.s. keep up the great work!

Reviewer: Miss BlackDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49263Chapter: 1
Very tempted to force JKR to put this in her next book! Good Job! Keep Him - And so she should!

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49231Chapter: 3
I've just read your little fiction through, and I must say that I love it! I've been a Ron/Hermione shipper since my completion of Book 3! This was a very well-written and well-thought out fiction. Nevertheless, I have a hard time picturing Ron spending all his money in one place! lol.

Mary

Reviewer: Beatriz BiancoDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 48982Chapter: 3
Your story was perfect. I feel the exact same way about Ron and Hermione. There were a few inconsistancies but it was deliciously cute.

Reviewer: powerpetalDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48852Chapter: 3
Again, excellent! No futher comment!
XXXpowerpetalXXX

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48786Chapter: 3
That's too sweet! I *love* it!

Reviewer: JamieDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48712Chapter: 3
An excellent, and funny trip concerning buying hermione a present... lol i luved it.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-08-21
Reviewid: 48095Chapter: 3
all that from two lines in OotP!

Brilliant, you know. Yes, Hermione, keep him! Keep him!

I loved the store's title: "Scents and Sensibilities!"

lol

please write another fic soon!

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: SeyrahDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 48066Chapter: 3
I've really enjoyed your stories! This one is great - like a grin and a wink aside from the canonical text. Very clever plot, and your characterizations are right on target.

More! More! :)

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47299Chapter: 3
I love this story! It feels like I'm reading "Finding Lily" in a parallel universe. :D

"Madam Dashwood" -- nice touch. And Ron's disjointed, run-on paragraph is fabulous. WE always knew there was more than a teaspoon inside!

"No House-Elves Were Tested or Enslaved in the Making of This Product." -- snert!

Thank you for gleaning a sweet and tender story out of OotP! I gave a big sigh at that final line.

~Katinka

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46649Chapter: 3
*squeeee!!* That doesn't even COVER it!! :D You know when you read some really, really cute R/Hr fluff, and end up grinning madly for like 10 minutes afterwards? That's totally how I am right now. :P

I loved the -

"So..." he said slowly, turning it in his hands, "what you mean is... most people get a perfume with - with the emotional range of a teaspoon - and I had a cauldron?"

- that just had me laughing SO hard. XD But you got the linkage into canon with that, and I loved just... *everything* about it. :D

Wonderful job!! :D *huggles R/Hr*

-Jules. xxx

Reviewer: SidraDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46297Chapter: 3
That was SO good and I don't usually read R/Hr ships.I like D/HR better but that was amazing!

Reviewer: DJGDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46199Chapter: 3
sweet nice story. all i have to say.

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 46061Chapter: 3
cute.
very nice
and not so very far from canon, nicely

Reviewer: DrieDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45445Chapter: 3
Aww. That was truly a heartwarming tale. Thanks for filling in some holes, and explaining the "unusual" perfume comment!

Reviewer: CloverDate: 2003-08-04
Reviewid: 45403Chapter: 3
Wow!! I loved this!! It was sweet, and I loved the humor, poor Ron at Witch's Way!! I hope you'll continue this, it's awesome!!

Reviewer: BeatrizDate: 2003-08-04
Reviewid: 45368Chapter: 3
Your story is absoluctly great, please please please please please continue!

Beatriz Pirez

Reviewer: VickiDate: 2003-08-04
Reviewid: 45330Chapter: 3
Awww, that was so good! I love it! Good job!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --