The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Beautiful Boy
Review(s): 78

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2006-05-15
Reviewid: 142829Chapter: 1
Very sweet and very entertaining. It's nice to see a touch of James as a young dad and Sirius, a godfather. They've matured, but haven't lost that touch of Marauder. : ) Lily was a good sport, just as I'd imagine.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-25
Reviewid: 141305Chapter: 1
Cute

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2005-09-10
Reviewid: 132254Chapter: 1
Im glad she didnt fix it. Plenty of time....*sob* if only she KNEW! Poor Harry.....

Reviewer: Lord JamesDate: 2005-08-11
Reviewid: 129598Chapter: 1
Awwwwww.... that was so sweet...

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2005-06-12
Reviewid: 123865Chapter: 1
OMG This Fic is WONDERFUL! Cheers on a great peice.

Reviewer: ReesesPiecesDate: 2005-03-27
Reviewid: 117834Chapter: 1
It's beautiful, and sad in a really happy way.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2005-01-12
Reviewid: 110620Chapter: 1
Hi, Poppy! I'm trying to get back into reading and reviewing and decided to take things author by author.

When I saw the title of this fic, I knew I had to read it ("Beautiful Boy" is a lovely song!). I really enjoyed reading about James trying to calm down Harry, and his camaraderie with Sirius. I'm not sure what you meant by doing justice to the One True Way, but I think you treated the idea with a great deal of sensitivity. It was subtle and James' dialogue shows that he's trying to tread carefully around the topic.

I loved the discussions on the other wizarding families, especially the Weasleys ;) and the bits about there being "plenty of time for that later" was sweetly ironic. Great job as usual :)

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-12-20
Reviewid: 108201Chapter: 1
I read this while listening to the song and at first it made me smile, then it tore me in two at the end! Its incredible how people always think they have all the time in the world....

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-11-06
Reviewid: 103620Chapter: 1
*CRAXing up* Of course! 'Cos it isn't NATURAL for people's hair to ALWAYS look like the bristles of a paintbrush someone mushed on the table! *huggles James and Sirius* Poor ol' Padfoot. Once... every dark cloud was mostly silver lining- no, no, no! That's not right! No _silver_ lining, anyway. Some other colour that isn't so inappropriate for one of the individuals involved.

Reviewer: BlankDate: 2004-11-06
Reviewid: 103600Chapter: 1
Really, really sweet. Love it!! Keep it up!

Reviewer: MeDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101443Chapter: 1
Oooh, I like. A very interesting, if unlikely, theory and very well written.

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2004-08-15
Reviewid: 97387Chapter: 1
aww... that's really sweet, but sad. "Plenty of time to change it later..."

Reviewer: angelina weasleyDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97135Chapter: 1
oh, ok. i get it now!! sorry to double post, but i can be a bit slow at times. i never really did understand or like the idea of remus and sirius being gay. i'll live, tho.

Reviewer: angelina weasleyDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97133Chapter: 1
wow! i love this. i always wondered what was up with harry's hair. i'm not sure i understand what happened with sirius and babies, so i kinda need someone to explain this to me. i like how this is all from lil's point of veiw. i like the flashback scene, too

Reviewer: DeniseDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97058Chapter: 1
oh almost forgot, i just had to play the disc while i read it.

Reviewer: DeniseDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97057Chapter: 1
AAAAAHHHH!!!!JOHN LENNON!i just saw the title and description and 'oh wow it's must-read'!i LOVED IT!

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 97055Chapter: 1
That's a very interesting theory about Harry's hair! And such a nice baby-Harry story as well!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: Hitchhiker's Guide to the GalaxyDate: 2004-06-15
Reviewid: 87166Chapter: 1
aww how cute...
"plenty of time for that later" bittersweet ending...they only had like three months, right? Since Harry is nine months old in this fic

Reviewer: doesnt matterDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79182Chapter: 1
awwwwww! that was cute

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77250Chapter: 1
Sob!! That was so beautiful...who would imagine that a fic about hair could be so moving? I loved every inch of this fic, just like I love every INCH of those Potter boys' hair. Thank you! (P.S.- Why do you think they changed his hair?)

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2004-03-30
Reviewid: 76407Chapter: 1
Oh, how sweet! I love it!

Reviewer: xonyDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73009Chapter: 1
Beautiful,
Beautiful, Beautiful,
Beautiful Fic…

Reviewer: DillybeanDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66524Chapter: 1
Awwwwww! Sweet! Very well written.

Reviewer: MeighanDate: 2003-11-28
Reviewid: 60994Chapter: 1
That was kinda cool... and sad because of the whole "plenty of time for that" thing. Only 6 months really...

Reviewer: AlisonDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54189Chapter: 1
Really, really nice story. One of the first pieces of post-OotP fanfic that I've read and it was just what I needed to read. Thank you for that.

The idea was lovely and I especially liked the moments at the very end. Very touching.

The one misstep was in fact the conversation about Remus/Sirius - I am a OTWer but it felt forced to me. In that time period they would not likely have been able to adopt as an openly gay couple; the plot seemed to be anachronistic and somewhat overly hopeful for today as well. It also felt like they just dropped it in out of nowhere. A more subtle handling of the issue would be have better, IMO.

Regardless, very nice, very light, yet very satisfying. :)

Reviewer: RachaelDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 51977Chapter: 1
Simply funny and adorable.

Reviewer: Paige Knorr (The Muggle Hermione)Date: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51668Chapter: 1
Dear Poppy P,
Very good. Just one little nitpick, Molly wouldn't be pregnent with Ginny yet if Harry's still a baby... Great job anyways.

Paige

Reviewer: JaquelyneDate: 2003-08-30
Reviewid: 49498Chapter: 1
It was beautiful and the song is so telling in many ways. Granted that John didn't know that he would never be able to see his son, Sean become a man, but he left little words of wisdom for Sean. The same with James, he has left little words of wisdom for Harry to find along the way.

Reviewer: cel blackDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 48994Chapter: 1
dont mean to double-post, but something else just hit me here...
*heart breaks*
oh lord. i just realised that all of the characteres in this fic, save harry, are gone now
*runs away weeping* CURSE YOU JK!!!!! HOW DARE YOU TAKE MY LOVE AWAY!!!!!!!

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 48993Chapter: 1
this was cute
i woudnlt have realised that that was a One True Way hint if you hadnt said so in teh summary. hm on that, but :) on the rest of it. happy lil plot bunny

Reviewer: butterbeerDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48654Chapter: 1
Wow! Sheds light on a new area! Never thought about that before! Well written, don't think you need the song in there, but if it means something to you, that's fine! Nice work putting the little "Cousin Arthur Weasley" situation in there. Makes it more obvious.

Reviewer: IsidoreDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 48029Chapter: 1
So very heart-wrenching . . . you did a very good job, I quite like it.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 48004Chapter: 1
gasp!

awwww.... how cute! how sad... ::gives a watery smile:: Genius, Poppy P, genius.

Poor Harry. I wonder what he would say if he knew the hair on his head could lie down. :D

wanting more from you,
ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2003-08-13
Reviewid: 46894Chapter: 1
omg RUDDY BRILLIANT~~!!! wow!!! I never would have thought of that as to why Harry's hair is so messy! Oh wow that is super smart and SO CUTE~!!! I'm torn between laughing my arse off and feeling warm and fuzzy for such a cute story! hehe NICE JOB!

Reviewer: littleasianpixieDate: 2003-08-01
Reviewid: 44881Chapter: 1
This story is bordering on genius. Love the idea of how Harry got his hair. And the song is a very nice touch.

Reviewer: TiffanyDate: 2003-07-28
Reviewid: 44247Chapter: 1
This story was absolutely adorable!

Reviewer: ThrennishDate: 2003-07-26
Reviewid: 43911Chapter: 1
Hee! A very cute story. I liked it very much, but I think you could have done without the lyrics. A quote at the beginning of the story (like the one you've got- and when you leave out lines, you should put in an ellipsis, btw) is fine, but after that it just reeks of 14-year-old fangirl. Many people (myself included, normally) avoid fics like this on principle. Now, maybe you *are* a 14 year old fangirl, but. ;)

At any rate. Well done, write more (!), but leave the lyrics at home. :)

Reviewer: WillowDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41598Chapter: 1
I loved that. I love Siruis!

Reviewer: michelleDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41545Chapter: 1
This was such a great story! It leaves me yearning for more tales of a happy Lily and James; a time that most harry potter readers haven't experienced yet. I am still recovering from the loss of Sirius, so this made me happy to see him mischievious and clever as usual. Curse Bellatrix Lestrange and Voldemort and J.K.R.!

Reviewer: BrittanyDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41532Chapter: 1
What a sweet story!! I luv it, two thumbs up. ;) A wonderful and funny explanation for the hair. lol.

Brittany

Reviewer: LizDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41531Chapter: 1
It's really sweet ;_; How it explains Harry's hair, and flashes back to James rumpling his hair and stuff... Sorta depressing as Lily and James die later, but still...

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41505Chapter: 1
This was a really sweet piece and I love how you explained the mystery of Harry's hair! It seems like just the sort of thing James and Sirius would do. I also liked how you had Lily listening in on what they wer up to. This was a great song fic!

Reviewer: DidiDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41497Chapter: 1
That was really sweet! Ooo very very good!

Reviewer: SheebaDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41367Chapter: 1
This is so sweet and sad! I love it. :)

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41274Chapter: 1
This is such a sweet piece. I'm glad for a glimpse of a happy time in their lives. It makes me sad to think that Harry never really knew his parents and their friends in this way. Great job.

Reviewer: She's a StarDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41251Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness . . . I just want to cry now. So beautiful and sweet and light-hearted. If only things hadn't turned out so sadly . . . *sighs* It tends to taint all of the happy fanfictions.

Absolutely wonderful fic. :-)

Reviewer: chelleDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41245Chapter: 1
AH! that is the sweetest thing i have ever read in my entire life! The story and the song are a perfect match! props on this magnificent story!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41241Chapter: 1
Oh, so sweet. That IS a cute explanation for why his hair is so dang stubborn.
--Amy

Reviewer: SoundanceDate: 2003-07-09
Reviewid: 41148Chapter: 1
What a gorgeous story!! It's really peaceful, and bittersweet. Love it :)

Reviewer: RinoaDate: 2003-07-09
Reviewid: 41083Chapter: 1
Aww =*) Loved it.

Reviewer: ChloéDate: 2003-07-09
Reviewid: 41048Chapter: 1
WOW !!!
Just perfect in every way .... thanks.
we need this sort of stuff badly in this damn mourning period !

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-07-09
Reviewid: 40995Chapter: 1
Oh. How... melancholy *is* a good word. Yes, it's sad, but I also like the idea that Harry's rumpled hair is yet another lasting gift, testament to his parents' handiwork. Bittersweet.

Reviewer: Irene FinlayDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40916Chapter: 1
Aw! That was an adorable fic!

Sirius and James charming Harry's hair! LOL. I can believe it. :)

And the comment about the Weasleys? LOLOL...Yep. We all know that Ginny is the Lily to Harry's James.

Thanks for writing such a wonderful fic! :)
:) :) Irene Finlay :) :)

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40836Chapter: 1
You did a great job. I have always loved this song and you built a wonderful story around it. Please write more.

Reviewer: rayeDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40803Chapter: 1
Beautiful, and hauntingly sad.

Reviewer: LarzdinnDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40773Chapter: 1
OMG. I <3 this. Beautiful piece ^_^

Reviewer: CinnamonDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40746Chapter: 1
Wow. Your characters are soooo real. Very convincing, I'm going to go have a good cry now. ^-^

Reviewer: ChoDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40660Chapter: 1
Absolutely adorable. I was thinking along the same lines, how alike HARRY+GINNY are compared to LILY+JAMES. It's just too bad they never got to undo the charm. : P Actually it's a good thing.

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40645Chapter: 1
Loved it

Reviewer: ZoeSmithDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40629Chapter: 1
That was really lovely!! Great. And I LOVED your reference to The One True Way.
Will you write more?
VERY VERY GOOD! :-)

Reviewer: DemonangiDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40594Chapter: 1
Awww! tht is absolutly ADORABLE!! are you goin to write a sequel? Keep it up :o)~Angi

Reviewer: Incurable RomanticDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40565Chapter: 1
What a charming idea. Hair is never that messy naturally. And the oh-so-smooth little hint about Sirius and Remus was perfect and lovely.

Reviewer: meDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40544Chapter: 1
awww.... so sad.... but well written!

Reviewer: ADate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40531Chapter: 1
ohhhh!!!
sweeeeet!!!!
that was too cute....!

Reviewer: Narishma RebornDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40504Chapter: 1
Heh, very sweet.

Only one comment, we have in canon vague hints of Hermione and Ron shipping for H/G, and now we have James and Sirius doing it too? LOL Oh my...

Reviewer: CalimoraDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40496Chapter: 1
Lovely and silly and sad. Curse Voldemort, Bellatrix, and JKR too.

Reviewer: JessBDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40495Chapter: 1
FanTASTic. I loved it. So cute! I was waiting for a hair comment - Harry should appreciate his more ;)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40487Chapter: 1
"Beautiful Boy" is a lovely song. It's especially bittersweet when you consider that both John and James didn't live to see their sons "come of age." :(

Anyhoo, this was great. The rapport between James and Sirius was great, and I loved the hints of a future connection with the Weasley family. Lily's tender moment with Harry was very sweet, too, and I really enjoyed the pun on Sirius' "grim face" :D

Reviewer: RebeccagraceDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40473Chapter: 1
Now I remember why you are my favorite SQ author! Oh Poppy...this was so good. So sweet, and it made so much sense, and it was so heartbreaking, too, to know what they don't. How in just a few short months everything will change for them. What a fabulous and perfect story.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40468Chapter: 1
Sweet and lovely, Poppy! I had to rumple my own 7 month-old boy's hair as I read it. The idea that Marauder mischief is behind Harry's hair, and not just James' genetics, is hilarious. ;)

~Katinka

Reviewer: LeaDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40465Chapter: 1
The best post-OoTP story yet!

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40464Chapter: 1
Aaawwwwwwwwww.....

Really, really sweet. Anytime I get to read about good times for Harry with his mum and dad makes me just want to cry. This was veryy sweet indeed.

Reviewer: DeboraDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40418Chapter: 1
I can't really see through the tears in my eyes...Wonderful, sweet, angst-y fic Poppy! Wonderful...

Reviewer: SacBeagleDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40413Chapter: 1
OK, this entire piece is a Major Waterproof Mascara Moment! ("Hey, look, Mom cries black tears!") As James and Sirius talked about Harry's future, it brought back memories of jiggling my own babes, and telling them that they were perfect and that they could do or be anything, and the angst of knowing that even now, we live in perilous times.

You perfectly timewove everyone in: the demise of the Bones family, Ginny's birth, Lily's trepidation over the rise of Voldemort. Got a major laugh out of "Cousin Arthur's attempt to repopulate the British wizarding population."

Bravo ~ well done!

Reviewer: HildigunnurDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40405Chapter: 1
Oh... oh.

This was a beautiful fic. I loved the vague hints to The One True Way. The characterization is great. And this was just a touching little tale. Great job.

Reviewer: AdriannaDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40404Chapter: 1
Wow. That was amazing. I loved that. It was perfect, just short and sweet. I can't find things to describe it perfectly, so just know that that was really good.

~Adri

Reviewer: butterDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40402Chapter: 1
hey, nice one. like it!!!
very cute and sweet, but wht was the deal with sirius?? well anyways.. keep it up
bahbyee

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40385Chapter: 1
Haunting, lovely and poignant. A very plausible explanation for Harry's permanently rumpled hair, too.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --