The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Beginning
Review(s): 79

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-02-19
Reviewid: 140055Chapter: 1
What can I say... I loved it even though it was very painful to read. To imagine Lupin and Ginny both killed, and Harry sacrificing himself to kill LV. Tremendously sad and tragic. Wonderful imagination. Fantastic writing. I loved it.

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-02-19
Reviewid: 140054Chapter: 1
What can I say... I loved it even though it was very painful to read. To imagine Lupin and Ginny both killed, and Harry sacrificing himself to kill LV. Tremendously sad and tragic. Wonderful imagination. Fantastic writing. I loved it.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-07-06
Reviewid: 126128Chapter: 1
Interesting

Reviewer: MeDate: 2005-05-09
Reviewid: 121684Chapter: 1
It was really good. But why did they ala have to die?

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-03-23
Reviewid: 117434Chapter: 1
*shivers* This was incredible...

Reviewer: QuietPurpleStrawberryDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113123Chapter: 1
This is the most emotional piece of writing i have ever read. It was so beautifulkly, achingly sad. I cried. Keep writing, you have a real talent going on there.

Reviewer: PheonixDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92241Chapter: 1
so, does he end up dying at the end anyway?the ending confuses me, but it was a really good story. its so sad, what happens to most of the Order, and Ginny... Poor Lupin, hes cool. he better not die in the books. but awsome story! sad, but awsome!

Reviewer: azaleaDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80470Chapter: 1
*sniff*...so sad...why did they all have to die???

Reviewer: pigDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80196Chapter: 1
i'm confused did harry die? but very good story

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2004-04-10
Reviewid: 77941Chapter: 1
Wow! This was great! I can't wait to start reading your other stories too!

Reviewer: LizDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76514Chapter: 1
Well... that was just... very good. Very, very, very good.

Said from a person who's been predicting Harry's eminent death nearly as long as Professor Trelawney.

But you've just made it so beautiful. And heartfelt. And poignant. And... wow, that was just very good. If it has to happen, it ought to happen this well.

Reviewer: NatalieDate: 2004-03-27
Reviewid: 75998Chapter: 1
so good, depressing, touching. what i think it will be somewhat like in jk's book. something like that. but we'll know soon, i dont know if harry will live or die. who knows. to sad to think about, lol but your story was one of the best!

~natalie

Reviewer: Date: 2003-12-14
Reviewid: 63186Chapter: 1
The writing has so much emotion, just like JK's actual work! Wonderful writing but...I really hope JK doesn't make the end so distubing and maniacal...I just couldn't live with that

Reviewer: DaelDate: 2003-11-18
Reviewid: 60520Chapter: 1
You do realize you made me cry at work, don´t you? (As if you were guilty I´m here during in work hours). But I know what you mean. That is, basically, what Order of the Phoenix left all us thinking. That prophecy of hers doesn´t sounds good at all.

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58670Chapter: 1
wow

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2003-10-30
Reviewid: 58348Chapter: 1
*tear* that was the most touching story!
I'm getting very emotional here!

Reviewer: ShlozDate: 2003-10-27
Reviewid: 58000Chapter: 1
Very well written, but...

I *seriously* hope that it doesn't really go like that. When it got to the memory of finding Ginny, my heart gave a little twitch.

I agree with others here - it is quite likely that Harry's final victory will be through the power of love. I just hope Ginny is there to give it for real...

Harry here was very OoTP - then again, you just condemned him to at least two more years worth of OoTP angst and despair... oh dear.

Captivating work!

Reviewer: zakDate: 2003-10-25
Reviewid: 57832Chapter: 1
wow.
just.

wow.
I can't imagine JK'd end like that, but it's a hauntingly poignant, fitting, and heroic end all the same. Beautifully written, too.

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2003-10-25
Reviewid: 57802Chapter: 1
Wonderful! Creative! Beautiful description of emotions! You actually made me cry!

Reviewer: nicoleDate: 2003-09-27
Reviewid: 54553Chapter: 1
amazing

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50588Chapter: 1
wow.
i think thats all i can come to say is wow.
i.... wow.

Reviewer: QuillDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50474Chapter: 1
Aaaahhhh! O_O!!! I don't know what to say! Great story, but...but...!!!

Reviewer: RainydaieDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48419Chapter: 1
Wow.

Reviewer: jessicaDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46767Chapter: 1
wow. that was amazing.

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45876Chapter: 1
Oh my god that was beautiful. I had to bite my lip til it bled not to cry while I'm at work! It was heartwrenching and heartwarming at the same time, and it just made my day. Absolutely beautiful. You've captured the essence of love itself in this story, and it is powerful.

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45711Chapter: 1
That was so sad(sob)

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-08-02
Reviewid: 45132Chapter: 1
whoa..... that was amazing. i usually don't reply to these things, but i had to with this.

almost had me to tears this one did.... amazing thats all i have to say, cept the writing was good itself along with the story and everything....

bravo

Reviewer: WhitDate: 2003-08-02
Reviewid: 45130Chapter: 1
WOW that was so believable. I thought the magic Dumbledore was talking about in the end of book 5 was love too. This was a great end.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-08-02
Reviewid: 45053Chapter: 1
That was SO awesome!!! I loved it. Keep up the good work. Can't wait to read what comes next!

Reviewer: evanDate: 2003-07-27
Reviewid: 44012Chapter: 1
this was the greatest and most moving, shortstory i have ever read in my entire life. I'm 15 now and i have only cried 7 times in the past 10 years ur story was number 7. I hope u consider writing as a carreer u defiantly have the talent.

Reviewer: SasamiDate: 2003-07-26
Reviewid: 43910Chapter: 1
I bawled like a baby reading this. Your story was so poignant and touching and completely heartbreaking, especially Harry's memory montage. Very, very beautiful.

Reviewer: ziskDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 41933Chapter: 1
Read this when you first posted it, but I couldn't write anything coherent. You've put forth a very powerful and moving work that runs with the tone set by book five. The short mention of most who died had that same striking and abrupt quality that Sirius' death had - it leaves the readers with a blink, the need to re-read to rectify the blink, and the jolt that comes with deaths of characters no one wants to even entertain in theory, much less read about. Very brave. The memory montage - beautifully written. The order of the memories and the way in which Harry reflected on them was amazing. The ending, while a little muddled (though that could have been intended, I'm not in you head ;) ), is absolutely beautiful in style. It even leaves the reader with a feeling of hope despite all the awful things that have happened.

To summarize: Wow.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-07-13
Reviewid: 41782Chapter: 1
Well, that was cool. And interesting approach. Nice work.

Reviewer: Madame LupinDate: 2003-07-13
Reviewid: 41761Chapter: 1
........oh, my.....*sobs hysterically* Oh..my...GOD! I...there are NO words, none at all, that can describe your fic. That was so...sad is definitly not a strong enough word for it. And yet, in a strange way, it was kind of...happy? Well, not really happy, persay, just, well, it gives you a feeling (one that I can't possibly describe. Could it be triumph?) although he died, Harry is with all of those you went before him. I think that one of the most beautiful, and possibly inspirational, lines was “Killing me gives me those I love. I win either way.” I cried. What a lovely story. I applaud you.

Reviewer: KellieDate: 2003-07-13
Reviewid: 41718Chapter: 1
Absolutely amazing. Tragic, but amazing.

I've never read any of your work before, but I'd heard great things about it, and now I see why. I was even more interested in reading something of yours when I saw your signature in my Brit Book 5 that Percival sent me.

Let me just say that if you always write like that... then that signature will be worth lots of money some day.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41633Chapter: 1
Wow! What an ending. This is very powerful and sounds just like the appropriate end for Voldemort. You did a wonderful job of making us feel the total anguish Harry felt.

Reviewer: michelleDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41546Chapter: 1
I know exactly how you feel when you say this is what OotP has done to me! I am completely overwhelmed with a surge of depression (sirius) and anger (bellatrix) and lonliness (lily and james). This fic is so profound! A wonderfully tragic tale of heroism and sacrifice! excellent job.

Reviewer: ArleneDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41488Chapter: 1
It's not fair!!! Why did Sirius and practically everyone Harry love have to die?!?! WHY?! When I read the part where Ginny died and Harry loved her, I just broke down! I am crying freely now and I'm just going to go take a shower... That was a very good story just like all your other ones. I can't take it! *sobs* My Remus! Tortured! All the Marauders are dead but I'm not going to count Wormtail...he's as good as dead. Nooooo! I have to go, I can't type anymore! Very excellent work!!!! Keep it up and please write some HAPPY stories where HARRY is HAPPY and not most of my favorite characters are DEAD!! Nicely written.

Reviewer: ImbriumDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41431Chapter: 1
Brilliant, as always I haven't read anything bad written by you so far. This was just beautiful.

Reviewer: lindaDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41408Chapter: 1
whoa....great story so far. just a bit vague. as in when and what had happened...

Reviewer: Beth W.Date: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41338Chapter: 1
That was outstanding.

Reviewer: ImogenDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41316Chapter: 1
Oh WOW!

I'm stunned by your reviews! I wasn't expecting this at all! If it makes you feel better I got through a stack of tissues while I was writing ~ just awful!

This is very much a one off. I'll be getting back to happier things in the future.

Thank you SO so much for all the lovely reviews.

Imogen :D

Reviewer: silver_blaiseDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41288Chapter: 1
cant type much.. eyes swimming...
good story. good very very good.......
why did sirius have to die ?
why did they all have to die ?
why ?
* eyes swim again* i gtg cant type animore

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41166Chapter: 1
Wow. That's all I can say.

Reviewer: Mad Eye PotterDate: 2003-07-09
Reviewid: 41155Chapter: 1
Wow that was amazing. You made your words sink deep into my heart. Your stroy captivated y attention from begining, untill the very end. I wish there was more writeres as talented as you. Wow

Reviewer: allyDate: 2003-07-09
Reviewid: 41139Chapter: 1
amazing. i listened to evenstar from LOTR whilst reading it, and i'm now sobbing. well done! =D

Reviewer: Ginny Weasley-PotterDate: 2003-07-09
Reviewid: 41060Chapter: 1
That was so clever- so... love finishes Voldemort off... that's so clever! It was really cool... clever... what else can I say? It was great!

Reviewer: ChloéDate: 2003-07-09
Reviewid: 41052Chapter: 1
There's no word , you got it right !
I just hope it won't be the same slaughter in the cannon or I'd just rather go and buy some prozac right now !!Especially for Ginny *sigh* gosh if she dies I'll just destroy the entire rainforrest for tissues ! lol
anyway tanks for the beautiful fic ... it "siriusly" helps through the mourning ...

Reviewer: bryanDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40987Chapter: 1
I have mixed feelings about this. One part of me just wants to say 'Boo. this sucks. You killed off everyone.' The other part wants to tell you that your writing skills are vey good, but some of it just doesnt fit. For one thing, JKR would never kill off that many characters. I saw an interview with her, and she was crying the day she killed off Sirius, so if she killed off everyone else she would probably become depressed. But i think that it may just happen that.
way, how he killed You KNow Who. With his mind because I know that he will never be strong enough magic wise to kill him, but maybe with love. Ohh ya. Harry and Ginny dont make a good match. In the books they show no sign of love. ITs just too awkward. I also dont like fan flicks with R/H or H/G.

Reviewer: bryanDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40986Chapter: 1
I have mixed feelings about this. One part of me just wants to say 'Boo. this sucks. You killed off everyone.' The other part wants to tell you that your writing skills are vey good, but some of it just doesnt fit. For one thing, JKR would never kill off that many characters. I saw an interview with her, and she was crying the day she killed off Sirius, so if she killed off everyone else she would probably become depressed. But i think that it may just happen that way, how he killed You KNow Who. With his mind because I know that he will never be strong enough magic wise to kill him, but maybe with love.

Reviewer: KDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40955Chapter: 1
That is a great piece, it's so sad though!

Reviewer: bunksDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40951Chapter: 1
oh god.

Reviewer: LettaDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40947Chapter: 1
VERY VERY VERY VERY GOOD!!!!!!! Excellent.

Reviewer: e7999Date: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40946Chapter: 1
w58mmmmw 4678,

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40943Chapter: 1
Wow ... just -- wow. ::sniffle:: You got a tissue? I'm afraid I'm making a mess here ... That was just too sad and too beautiful! As much as I hope it doesn't end up this way, I really, really, really loved this!

OH! Poor Harry! ::sobs::

Much love (and sadness),
'Terna

Reviewer: solarphoenixDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40918Chapter: 1
Wow. That was beautiful, so tragic and bittersweet. I'm not sure if you're familiar with the Buffy the Vampire Slayer fandom, but I find this story had a very Buffy vibe to it. Which is a compliment because I simply adore that fandom, nearly as much as this one.

Keep up the brilliant work!

solarphoenix

Reviewer: ~~~Date: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40909Chapter: 1
Oh. That was wonderful. You are a very gifted writer. I liked the idea that Harry defeated Voldemort with love. It was bittersweet but very good.

Reviewer: MaeDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40874Chapter: 1
oh my, umm well (deep breath) you did a good job with setting the atmosphere of the story, the setting (both of them) added to the very powerful emotions that harry had in the fic. this could happen, even though it would be quite unsuitable for children, but still i find it likely. Great job on capturing emotions again.

Reviewer: julieDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40829Chapter: 1
that has to be one of the most angst-ridden things ive ever read. you killed everyone except for ron and hermione! good lord, but it was great. maybe you should get up another chapter about how they "are all together again" just to mitigate some of the angst. i KNEW i wouldnt be able to handle it... why did i read angst at all? i usually know to stay away. but you are too great an author for even me to turn away the angst. good job!

Reviewer: NicolleDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40778Chapter: 1
This is an awesome story, very well tought out. It COULD happen that way. Thanx for writing this.

Reviewer: Vera VanceDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40768Chapter: 1
oh my

Reviewer: RavenSnapeDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40761Chapter: 1
Oh Imogen, how could you? More than ever, we need hope! Don't let the Dementors pull the soul from your writing spirit. Harry deserves some happiness, and if JKR can't give it to him, we fanfic authors must. I was uncertain if I wanted to continue with my fic. You have helped me decide. I want a happy ending. Life sucks enough without having to read about someone else’s misery. Snap out of it girl and cast your Patronus in the form of your brilliant writting!!!!!!!!!

Elizabeth

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40739Chapter: 1
Wow.

Reviewer: LorielDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40688Chapter: 1
Oh, Imogen, how could you do this to me?! You've got tears running down my face! At the start I wasn't too sure when this was set (I initially thought sometime between his 5th and 6th year, after Harry had been rescued from the Dursleys for the rest of the summer) but I soon realised that it was sometime later - Remus was gone, the Weasleys, Tonks... I wanted to know exactly who (of the Weasleys) was gone but I realised that this story wasn't about them, it was about Harry. Tho, I couldn't believe that Ginny was gone, my heart broke for Harry!

Photo Ginny was absolutely fantastic. It gave me a glimpse into how Harry and Ginny were together, without Ginny ever being in the story (in the present day/alive sense!).

I loved how it was all Harry's happy thoughts that defeated Voldemort, and I enjoyed the flashbacks pof his happiest moments. I wasn't sure if the place he carried out the Legilimency was important or not, but if it wasn't, I thought the place he chose was especially poignant.

At the end I was glad for Harry as he got to be with his loved ones (tho, you were right - Ron & Hermione will take a long time to forgive him) but I was upset for me - *You Killed Harry*. *sniff* *sob* mumblecoughIdon'tthink*someone*hasrealisedthathe'scalledThe-Boy-Who-*Lived*cough. Despite that, or perhaps because of the ending(!), I really enjoyed this! Tho I don't know if I dare ask for a prequel and/or sequel (R&H) - I get the feeling that the tears would probably drown me! ;)

Loriel

Reviewer: Clayton DayDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40667Chapter: 1
Oh... My... ... Genius pure Genius. Once again I am in Awe. You are the best. I can say no more than JKR wished she had thought of this ending.

Reviewer: Evelyn DreamtrotDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40647Chapter: 1
Wow. Just wow.

I'm a little flabbergasted, so can't manage a coherent review. That was amazing.

Wow.

Reviewer: ElwenDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40638Chapter: 1
Pure genius. There aren't words in the enlgish language to describe how incredibly awesome that was. You truly have a gift. Wow. I can't even... Just, wow. :o) I hope to see more!

Reviewer: DemonAngiDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40603Chapter: 1
I'm in tears! That was amazing, you are an extreamly talented writer!~Angi

Reviewer: VequihellinDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40601Chapter: 1
Oh. Dear. God. Wow, that is powerfully written, the imagery at the end is superb. Kleenex indeed!!
Do read this, Its amazing.
Veq.

Reviewer: MerusaDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40600Chapter: 1
IMOGEN! I read this on GT, and it made me sob my heart out, and now I'm crying again! This story fits so perfectly in canon that now I'm scared that this is going to be Occlumency's role! I'm soaking the keyboard, here!

Good job!

Reviewer: Fern EckersonDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40599Chapter: 1
i loved thias story!! its totally how Harry would react to all this! it is very sad. your writeing was beautiful!!

Reviewer: stormdelverDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40578Chapter: 1
My heart goes out to Harry-so much loss for the illusion of power. I still am a bit or a wreck over book 5, so I feel your pain. Nice story, as always for you. Keep up the faith, JKR must have her reasons. I was at least hoping her to put Harry and Ginny a bit closer....so much loss.

Reviewer: Incurable RomanticDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40562Chapter: 1
Wow... this is wonderful. Poor Remus *shudder*. Poor everyone though. What a terrible future you so artfully wrote.

Reviewer: CailinDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40555Chapter: 1
I'm confused...did Harry die at the end??? Other than my confused-ness (maybe because it's only 6am) I thought this was REALLY good. It was so sad, but you described the emotions very well.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40505Chapter: 1
Imogen, you've made me cry. I am sitting here in my HP pajamas, my nose all red and my eyes puffy. And, it's all your fault.

I, of course, could not resist reading something by you right now, even if I should be sleep by now, and the story wasn't going anywhere. And, it was soo ...heartbreaking, and yet enchating at the same time. Poetic, and beautiful in it's own depreesing way.

I am rambling, I know. That's been known to happen. Anyway ...thanks for this, even if it made me cry. :)

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40501Chapter: 1
I'll need some kleenix now, thanks! That was beautiful! It ain't gonna be pretty, whatever he has to do, but I like how he did it here. I'm glad that JKR agrees with your characterization of Ginny in all your stories, Imogen! ;)

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40498Chapter: 1
Ah... This is what I'm afraid is going to happen now that Sirius has died (along with "Death is but the next great adventure...). It's so horribly sad though.
This was a beautiful and very touching story.

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40480Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness. That was heart wrenching. Please continue. I hope this will be a couple chapters at least.

Reviewer: elleDate: 2003-07-07
Reviewid: 40417Chapter: 1
Brilliant!! haunting!! exuberant!! you certainly have the power to make the words come to life. You have used the story line set by J.k. Rowling and made it work so well. It fits in nicely. Although it is kind of sad that harry had to die, but yet again as J.k said you never know wht might happen in the end. Sad and excellent. keep it up i would love to read more from you.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --