The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Toast
Review(s): 104

Reviewer: purebristlesDate: 2006-01-24
Reviewid: 138855Chapter: 1
I'm a little creeped out by the last line. 'Shivers down my spine' kind of creeped out. Power!Remus. Wow.

Reviewer: sejalDate: 2005-09-25
Reviewid: 133226Chapter: 1
awesomeness beyond the grave...i was feeling liek crap this morning through no fault of yours and yet you manage to make me feel better...dont ask how reminding me of the fact that sirius black, one of my favourite characters is dead in the book because thats not why im feeling better, its that you gave him a fitting tribute...i salute you and your story. final word-awesome

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2005-04-27
Reviewid: 120815Chapter: 1
You weren't kidding when you said this was a dark, little fic, and for that very reason, absolutely loved it!

Everything was nailed. The history of the Black family home; the metaphor of the rotten tree; the irony of the unnaturalness of the Black family; the growing, darkening tension between Remus and what the house represented; Remus's cold anger, which, by the way, was utterly chilling; the final confrontation between Remus and the portrait of Mrs Black - and the final paragraphs, where Remus's casualness, bordering on indifference is wonderfully squirm-inducing.

For that, I'll have to hand you a resounding bravo, with a capital 'B'! ^_^

Reviewer: buckbeakbabieDate: 2005-04-21
Reviewid: 120242Chapter: 1
Wow. Very very well written. Captured Remus' feelings superbly.

Reviewer: Lady NaginiDate: 2005-04-03
Reviewid: 118552Chapter: 1
The last line just left me completely cold -- it made my flesh crawl. You can feel the grief latching onto him, refusing to let go...and you're almost worried for his sanity by the end.

Toast. *shudder*

Reviewer: JoannaDate: 2005-03-01
Reviewid: 115239Chapter: 1
Wonderful story; the end really touched me. :( Poor Remus.

Personally, I think it's great that Remus is drinking from a silver goblet, as it was mentioned in OotP that he could. :)

Reviewer: MariposaDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114358Chapter: 1
Great story! I think it was so cool how Remus burned the tapestry and Mrs. Black. I think you captured the depth of his dispair well and I hope JKR does so in HBP. The only critism is that I don't think Remus would be drinking wine out of a silver goblet, I believe silver is supposed to be toxic to werewolves. And Dung would have already taken them and sold them by now.

Reviewer: EricaDate: 2005-02-13
Reviewid: 113770Chapter: 1
Wow. The imagery in this is just incredible; very vivid and disturbing. The last line (and the title) are wickedly creepy! Great fic!

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110084Chapter: 1
Very Nice.

Reviewer: 13 and UnderDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94825Chapter: 1
Remus shouldnt have to be pleasant just because hes KNOWN for it! he was sad and mad and really upset!!! but its a good story anyway! definatly good!!

13 and Under

Reviewer: IncognitoDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94764Chapter: 1
Your writing style's really good but I didn't like the way Remus talked to the tree. It should've been a bit scarier as well as dark. Dark is ok but scary/dark is super

Reviewer: sbender333Date: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89804Chapter: 1
Great fic! Remus and Sirius are completely in character. Remus' lack of outward emotions are also dead-on. Great twist of Sirius' leaving of the house to Remus.

Reviewer: Brenna AKA cujodragonDate: 2004-06-19
Reviewid: 87838Chapter: 1
:( *tear* that's so sad... I was always feeling bad for Harry but now I see that Lupin has to go through this too.

Sirius has always been my favorite even before he died... I read on J K Rowlings website that she now feels guilty for doing what she did... a bit to late to change that eh?

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87568Chapter: 1
Wow. Wow, wow, wow, wow, wow!

Reviewer: stefDate: 2004-03-11
Reviewid: 74100Chapter: 1
awww... that story was soooo sweet... i myself was thinking that someone should destroy mrs black after she found out her son was dead... perfect way to end her... my friends found it wierd but i didn't cry during titanic... in fact i dont cry often but this story ALMOST did it... congrats! :P keep up the good work... ur a brilliant writer

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72803Chapter: 1
fantastic, brought actual tears to my eyes and im in a compiter class at school! excellent!

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2003-11-19
Reviewid: 60563Chapter: 1
Darkness...always darkness. Life does go on, but some wounds will never heal. Your words make that so clear.

"...there'd been time to say goodbye".
That line, somehow, is the one that struck me the most.

Reviewer: miss_lily_lupinDate: 2003-11-14
Reviewid: 59976Chapter: 1
I LOVED it! It was SO touching and I just loved what you did with it and went with it!

Reviewer: StephDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58810Chapter: 1
<<The voices had stopped. There was a strange silence, as though the house was waiting for something, someone. But old Mrs Black had gone, and there would be no more Blacks in this house. The last of them had died today.>>

Wow. Amazing. The portrayal of Remus was great, his grief, and then in the end 'Remus Lupin was always polite'. It was great!

Reviewer: ZakDate: 2003-10-24
Reviewid: 57773Chapter: 1
wow.

just.

wow.

You're amazingly talented, you know.

Reviewer: kateDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57603Chapter: 1
that was excellent. at first i thought it a bit heavy handed but the end was amazing. and i loved the twist you put on remus's character. overall i loved it.

Reviewer: SiRemus'SheWolfDate: 2003-10-12
Reviewid: 56346Chapter: 1
Whoa...Stunned speechless, just *whoa*...

You've really *got it*, kid, don't let anyone tell ya' different...

I mean, good Lord, to see Remus wig out like that--The *insight* into his character, wow...
Remarkable job of showing Vengeful!Angry!Angsty!Remus.
Way to get inside his head.

That was just the closure Remus needed post-OotP, I think.

Too many fave lines to list here, but go Remus with frying the tapestry!

Oddly, the first image that came to me from "Toast" was of heated bread, but when I read about the goblet of wine, I thought, "Hmm, maybe a last toast to a good friend." (Or more, depending on who you talk to...Like me. I follow the One True Way--Bow *down* to the 'Ship of SiRemus!)

A really altogether accurate foray into what Remus would have done, and I think this piece also speaks indirectly to how Remus feels about Sirius, i.e. how much Remus misses him.

"A void without stars..." Whoa.

Regards,
SRSW

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54233Chapter: 1
Dark but soooo good!

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-09-23
Reviewid: 54131Chapter: 1
Wow... that was so intense. I loved the way you portrayed Remus, his grief, what he did... and Kreacher deserved that too. It was a beautiful fic. :)

Reviewer: Frank RawlandDate: 2003-09-23
Reviewid: 54101Chapter: 1
With your permission, I would like to quote a line (with proper attribution of course) in a fic I'm working on.

"will you get it through your stupid, thick furry head that that friends can GIVE each other stuff without it being charity."

Reviewer: CaitlynDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 51017Chapter: 1
I think u drifted off Lupins personality a bit. He sounded like Harry in OotP. Why do u use 3rd person in the last paragraph, is somebody taking Lupins appearence?

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50627Chapter: 1
thank you
as i cry tears of hatred, i thank you
justice.
thank you

Reviewer: BeatrixDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47377Chapter: 1
I loved your story!!! It made me cry, seeing Lupin's grief and emptiness. ;_; Great job on writing Lupin - you captured him perfectly, and his reactions & the things he said were true to his character. :)

One of my favourite lines from your story:
"Because he knew the tree was rotten to the core." Accurate analogy IMO.

Fantastic story - I hope you write more Lupin stories in the future.

Reviewer: C. LordeDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46788Chapter: 1
Ahhh!! NO!! Sirius come backkkkkkk dammnit. Although the Clementine thing, come on now. :)

Reviewer: SpartinaDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46785Chapter: 1
"Wine dripped slowly down the wall, ran like a trail of blood to the stone floor"--ah, a libation for Sirius! The buildup of fragmented sentences didn't seem your usual style--until I realized that it was a reflection of Remus's fragmented thoughts--all those jagged shards. It was so satisfying to see the tapestry and the portrait go up in flames--perhaps the reason Sirius never took that step is that, in the back of his mind, the house was always his mother's house, and he couldn't rid himself of the feeling that her portrait had as good a right to be there as he had?

How unnerving to see sober, donnish Remus lose control, and then take refuge again in that unnatural calm...and how poignant to see Sirius providing for his friend, the way his uncle Alphard provided for him--the gesture of a man who has a presentiment of his death. But would a wizard's court uphold a will made by Sirius, a wanted criminal?

Vivid and unsettling!

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46770Chapter: 1
Nice job - I love your writing style! :) It's very clear and descriptive, so you know exactly what's happening. I liked the idea though, and how dark Remus was feeling... not that I blame him, of course. I liked how he was so dark, and yet you could still feel it was Remus? It was good characterization, and I can imagine Remus feeling that way. :(

Good job :)

-Jules. xxx

Reviewer: HeatherDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46769Chapter: 1
Wonderful, powerful emoitions. It made me want to cry. Poor Lupin!

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46699Chapter: 1
Very dark. One wonders why Sirius didn't think of that.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46643Chapter: 1
A wonderful little fic. I adored your characterizations, and your writing style is very smooth and tight. Really an enjoyable read, I look forward to reading more of your stuff. 8-)

-Kate Lynn

Reviewer: jessDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46123Chapter: 1
As depressing a story as that was, I love it. I am so glad that Mrs. Black painting finally got destoryed. I loved the line "He thought he heard a woman’s voice give a final, distant wail, but he couldn’t understand what she said – and anyway, it didn’t matter now. Perhaps she’d managed to go through the open door, but he found he didn’t care …"

Reviewer: BlackDate: 2003-08-03
Reviewid: 45209Chapter: 1
it just made me sadder. but i liked it anyway. stupid Kreacher y'know, the way
i pronounce Kreacher, it sounds like creature, isn't that funny?

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2003-07-23
Reviewid: 43508Chapter: 1
Oh, wow. That was... crazy. And dark, as well. So dark. You could hardly believe it was our dear, polite, level-headed Remus Lupin narrating. The ending did sound just like him, though. Who would have though that he has a split personality?

Reviewer: xonyDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43293Chapter: 1
OMG. So sad. I can cry...

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-07-20
Reviewid: 43078Chapter: 1
>damp togetherness of their eternal bed

Oooh, that's so sad and final. The whole sustained mood of this is fabulous, as is your portrayal of Lupin. He always seems to me, even in canon, to be balancing on a very thin edge. Here, the reader can't really tell if he's gone over it or not, which takes so much skill! Bravo.

The amount of information the reader gets about the relationship between Sirius and Remus (the argument about leaving the house to Remus), Remus' reflections about the treatment Sirius' family gave him, etc. deepens and enriches the story so much. It's more than a beautifully-written mood piece - there's real development of character in here, too.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42429Chapter: 1
Very good, I found Remus's reaction to the greif quite beliveable and i found the idea of Sirus leaving the house to him beliveable as well. It was very well done, and i quite enjoyed it. Thank you for posting it on the web for people to read.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42345Chapter: 1
Wow! Just about sums it up there. It was very emotional and I loved the flashbacks. Bloody brilliant!

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42221Chapter: 1
I love Lupin. I really think this is the perfect aftermath to Book 5.

Reviewer: LarzdinnDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42183Chapter: 1
Fitting. Poignant. Eloquent. Touching. Meaningful. Perfection, indeed.

Reviewer: L. MorningstarDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42111Chapter: 1
Oh, wow. This story was haunting on so many different levels. Remus is unusually dark here, and it disturbed me in a way I can't describe. It's amazing, how you can make Remus seem so different -- and yet, at the same time, make him still seem like Remus. Does that make any sense?
Your use of symbolism is also great -- the wine, the sky . . . it's all amazing stuff.

>>"There’d been nothing like this for fifteen long years." That line was so gut-wrenching. Poor Remus, haveing to go through all that again!

But, for some inane reason, the lines that I think I'll be thinking about the most were the last lines: "He frowned: why were they looking at him like that? He ran a hand across his chin and smiled faintly – of course, he hadn’t bathed or shaved this morning. He’d always prided himself on looking clean and tidy, no matter how tatty his robes.
“Good morning,” he said pleasantly. Remus Lupin was always polite. “You’re just in time for breakfast. I’ll make a new pot of tea. There’s plenty of bread – would you like some toast?”"
The underlying emotion there -- and just how simply Remus it is to think like that -- is just too powerful.

Reviewer: RinoaDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42084Chapter: 1
Remus... *wants to cry* Oh, the whole thing must be awful on him...

About your fic, though, I loved it. It's beautiful, beautiful, beautiful...

Great work =)

Reviewer: Susan BDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42041Chapter: 1
WOW! That was good! Just what the Blacks deserved. Poor Remus. No one left. Does Harry really count?

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41920Chapter: 1
Glad to see you trying to work out these feelings in print... I know I've got the same... this is definitely very moving. The one comment I have is that the title struck me, first time through, as meaning "finished" - you know, slang. That it meant "Sirius is toast". I mean, I knew that wasn't right, but a laugh probably isn't the best way to start reading this story.

And can Remus really use silver goblets? It's not answered in canon one way or another as best I can tell.

Reviewer: siaruDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41831Chapter: 1
Now, THAT was gratifying.

Reviewer: pennyDate: 2003-07-13
Reviewid: 41680Chapter: 1
I just love ALL of your stories. You've caught my sentiments exactly, I wanted to light a muggle match too! It's mostly due to you that my first thought when I read that Sirius was killed was "Oh no, Poor Remus!" Keep writing Remus, please!

Reviewer: ankita suriDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41642Chapter: 1
that was a really sad story.

Reviewer: KelpieDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41603Chapter: 1
Damn you. I was holding it together just fine - I was living in denial, and it was warm and happy and good. My heart sank when I saw the summary of this story, because I knew I had to read it and I knew I would lose it. And I did. The line that cemented it for me:

"A ripe old age … thirty eight … was that ripe?  Or old?"

*sniff* *sob*

It was so Remus. (Except that you seemed to be denying OTW, as usual.) I can see him losing it in private, lashing out at the family tree and portraits - destroying the things that destroyed effectively Sirius. Then at the end, he realises that Dumbledore and Moody know how he's feeling and immediately covers it up. That's Remus.

Very well written story - you probably have read too much Poe and Wilde, because this was every bit as dark as those works. (Which is a compliment, really.)

Reviewer: michelleDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41551Chapter: 1
Why oh why oh why did J.K.R. have to kill Sirius? He was one of the most beloved characters! As long as Sirius was there, anything could be funny or just a challenge, nothing more. With him it was all fun and games and nothing serious (no pun intended) Why J.K.R.? WHY?

Reviewer: Minerva WeapotterngerDate: 2003-07-12
Reviewid: 41540Chapter: 1
Wow! This is a poignant and incredible piece! You're amazing! I love that Mrs. Black got what she deserved along with Kreacher. I read this aching for Remus, knowing he's the last of the family and seeing the pun at the end, made me smile as pleasantly as he did.

Reviewer: BarbDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41514Chapter: 1
Thanks for the warning - though I wouldn't really call it "dark", more like "emotional". After 3 false starts and a box of tissue I finished this fic - which speaks to the power of your writing. This captures the untangible nature of Sirius's death and Remus's grief is evident. His anger quite justly directed towards the Blacks, yet I find it interesting Remus does not blame himself or Sirius directly. Great work. (I actually thought you were going to kill Remus with the silver on the goblets - that would have been (too) dark).

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41501Chapter: 1
[Oh, the Dementors weren’t there to drain him of happiness and hope, but who needed Dementors when you had this house? The house and the portrait and the family tree …] This truly captures the mood of the Grimmauld manor and makes a nice parallel between the two prisons.

Your description of what the tapestry of the family tree looks like was very chilling and better than what JKR wrote (ducks tomatoes). Love how you describe the gold threads as spiderwebs-utterly chilling! And this was my favorite part: [names and connections … branches … leaves … tendrils …]. There's this wonderful interplay between things like plants that are so alive and growing representing something that is dead, twisted and diseased.

[1880 … 1620 … 1485 … the years rolled back as the flames rolled onwards] Love the imagery that conjurs up, the idea that something that has been around for centuries is being burned. That so much time can be reduced in a fraction of a second.

I love how you got revenge on Mrs. Black and Kreacher. And I nearly sobbed when I read Sirius's comment about living to a ripe old age just to annoy Remus. A wonderful macabre piece. The Poe influences (especially the House of Usher) are wonderfully given justice. And I like the sly bit about the "toast" at the end. Well done.

Reviewer: MyrtleDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41499Chapter: 1
Fantastic. I always love a depressifying Remus fic...

Reviewer: solarphoenixDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41470Chapter: 1
I believe this story is the definition of symbolism. The blood red wine, the void with no stars, the burning of the family tree. It was a brilliant chilling tale that was so in character, the controlling calmness in Remus' actions. Simply breathtaking.

Please do continue the brilliant work.

solarphoenix

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41454Chapter: 1
Wow... Yes, this is darker than your usual fare, but the emotion is brutally honest. I think Remus' state of mind is best summed up here: "There’d been nothing like this for fifteen long years." There's just an overwhelming, overriding sense of NOT. THIS. AGAIN. The poor man has had to mourn his best friend TWICE -- it's unimaginable.

The likening of the dead family tree to firewood is simply brilliant, as are your other uses of symbols and imagery -- the blood-red wine, the void with no stars (Sirius).

As for Remus at the end, I can't help but think of the scene in PoA when he calmly suggests to Sirius that they kill Peter together. He may be polite and constrained on the surface, but his violent intensity is definitely there underneath.

Very brave work! Excellent!

~Katinka :)

Reviewer: jessicaDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41453Chapter: 1
it is so sad, even though it is exactly how i think that Lupin would feel. well written

Reviewer: eca celliDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41429Chapter: 1
It was gorgeous....very heavy with description. Very intense. You painted Remus as somewhat deranged...gone over the edge, insane. After Sirius' death, he would be but...personally, I don't see him as that extreme *all* the time. He prides himself on control and....he lost control here. And that's what affected me most. Remus lost control. Chilling.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41422Chapter: 1
I don't have much to add to the other reviews, but just to say: I thought your Remus characterization was spot-on. The cool way he deals with Mrs. Black's portrait reminded of me of the "Goodbye, Peter" scene in PoA. The comparison of the red wine to blood, burning the "family tree", the flashback where Sirius leaves the house to Remus...I loved the symbolism, and you had a great sense of visuals, too. Thank you for a wonderful, though dark, story.

Reviewer: ivy and GracieDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41416Chapter: 1
Oh my. This was like we like our men - strong and dark, nicely proportioned, and just a bit hairy. A technical comment though, if you will.... When Lupin is burning the family tapestry, you mention that there is no window in the room. In Chapter 6, p 106 (American version), Harry, Hermione and the Weasleys have been cleaning the drawing room all morning when the doorbell rings. The kids all "dashed over to the window" where they see Mundungus and his Cauldrons Of Dubious Origin. Also, the many references to drapes would lead one to assume that there are windows in equal proportion.

Sirius-ly, Remus Lupin and the late Sirius Black are among our favorite fanfic characters (second only to Romantic Snape), and we give your story eight enormous O.W.L.S out of a possible ten on the ivy and Gracie Wizarding Scale of Excellence. Plus (ivy pokes Gracie in the ribs with her umbrella as a reminder) - you get one extra O.W.L. for never, not ever, not even once using the word "Snog" in this fic. Never mind that it wasn't a romance. We are just grateful to have avoided it, regardless. Nine O.W.L.S, all told. Few have done as well - you done us proud.

Reviewer: BrendaDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41396Chapter: 1
Wow, this story was so... good. I don't know. It was faboulous and dark. Dark. Thanks.

Reviewer: ArtemisDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41392Chapter: 1
*silence, more silence* I don't know what it is about your writing, you've definitely smacked me on the head - reality. No more denial, for me. He is gone...he really is.
Your style is rich and dark:
"A ripe old age … thirty eight … was that ripe? Or old?"
Gosh, that one sent shivers up my spine.
And the Goblet being blood-red. Burning the tapestry. You. Are. Brilliant. Bravo to you and all your work. Cheers - though it is hard to feel happy after reading this. You achieved what you headed out to do. I hope your proud - because I certainly am.

Artemis.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41384Chapter: 1
When you told me you planned to do this, I didn't expect it to be so chilling. I had a little Norman Bates flash myself like Mincot did. As I said, I shared this with my husband and all he was that he was glad both individuals were gone! The end really makes it, though, because it is so Remus.

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41374Chapter: 1
Wow...!

Burning the tapestry and the portrait... I never thought of that. Well, good riddance.

Poor Remus-- suffering so much. And always polite to everyone, even the evil portrait.

The ending was perfect.

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41369Chapter: 1
Oh, I didn't comment last night! I thought I had. Excellent work, and it's too bad no one thought to burn the miserable portrait earlier. Good angsty Remus.

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41368Chapter: 1
I do believe you've captured Remus perfectly. Oh! The poor soul! He's had so much hardship already! ::sniff:: Very, very well written.

Much love,
'Terna

Reviewer: GramaryeDate: 2003-07-11
Reviewid: 41366Chapter: 1
Mm...what a delicious fic. There's so much here, and all of it is done beautifully. Mrs Black is her foul, wizened old self, and your Remus is stunning - just the right combination of cool logic and stubborn pride with a few wonderful hints of the beast within. Kudos for this great foray into the world after the Phoenix. ^_^ Cheers!

Reviewer: IsabellaDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41351Chapter: 1
wow...this was just...wow...you had me sobbing all over again...perfect portrayal of Remus, how horrible it must feel...and I gotta say that Mrs. Black's portrait creeps me out too.
Isa =)

Reviewer: HorseGalDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41349Chapter: 1
Wow........... So Sad, So Powerful. Wow.........

Reviewer: VeneficaDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41347Chapter: 1
This is the first post-OotP story I've read; I've been somewhat cautious because there are so many I'mNotReallyDead!Sirius stories out there and I'm not ready for those.
But this story is beautiful - and greepy, but in a very good way! Somehow you've managed to write Remus just as I imagine he would be after it all; I'm just not able to write it the way I'd like to write it, so thank you so much for doing it for me! :-)
And now, I'm going to read it again. Thank you!!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41341Chapter: 1
Thanks again everyone, for those amazing reviews.

Just a note on the 'silver and werewolves' issue. That is essentially a Hollywood addition via the movies ... the older folk traditions do not have silver as being dangerous to werewolves. And in Book 5, we see Remus drinking from a goblet, which is apparently silver - Mundungus looks at one and comments on the Black family crest. So I am assuming that JKR is allowing Remus to drink out of the family silver ...

Which of course will be interesting if she is planning something with Peter's silver hand. Although that could be a red herring of course ...

Alkari

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41336Chapter: 1
Oh, this is everything I've come to expect from you and more. Remus speaking "softly, pleasantly, as though passing the time of day with a casual acquaintance" with Mrs. Black as he is about to burn her portrait! "I don’t have to move you. There is another solution". Yes, I can see him doing this - polite, seemingly calm, and oh so dangerous.

The Kreacher part was perfectly creepy, just as Kreacher himself.

Sirius's voice in memories was also perfect.“Moony, will you stop being so bloody independent. For once in your life, will you get it through your stupid, thick furry head that friends can GIVE each other stuff without it being charity.” Oh God, Sirius...

And the ending is just perfect as well. Always polite Remus Lupin as seen by others. Never mind the pain.

Reviewer: PamrDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41335Chapter: 1
Excellent piece. Very good - well written and sad.

I was incredulous that JRK didn't deal with this subject. It would have been incredible to see Remus and Harry deal with this together. Maybe the next book. In the meantime...

I was sad to see the old hag go (end of a era and all that) yet it was good she went; even better that the hateful old house elf went with her. I am NOT Hermione, can you tell? My only problem was with the silver goblet. Was the goblet glass with a silver crest or all silver? I wasn't sure. At first I thought the goblet was glass but then when Remus thru the goblet at the tapestry and it didn't break like the wine bottle I thought, oh, it must be silver then. Silver is poison to warewolves. To my knowledge they can't touch it or it burns them. I could be wrong about that though. The silver goblet was the only thing that bothered me in this story. Otherwise, excellent piece. Bravo. Poor Remus.

Reviewer: techmeyerDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41312Chapter: 1
The first fic I've read since OotP. I like it. COngratulations on nice job. Yet I wonder: can a werewolf touch silver? It was an issue I realized in OotP... that they were using fine Black family silver and Remus was around. I thought that stuff was bad, but it's JKR's world and she herself hasn't specified...
Nice title, too.

Reviewer: CalimoraDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41309Chapter: 1
third read through, 1 day later. Grim humor. meanings of the title.
Toast - burn/brown by fire
Toast - i.e. dead, as in Sirius
Toast - breakfast food

This really is a disturbing peice.

Reviewer: Aisling and RyreDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41308Chapter: 1
YES!!!! BURN!!!! BURN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Audra LachesisDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41302Chapter: 1
Hmm, you weren't kidding -- very dark, but I like it, it's satisfying in a warped way. Poor Remus, Sirius' death had to have been just as hard for him as for Harry... you've done a wonderful job showing that.

(More complete review/recommendation at http://audralachesis.blogspot.com)

Reviewer: GwendolyonDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41301Chapter: 1
Amazing! You always seem to perfectly capture Remus' external struggles in your stories, and now you've conquered his inner battle. I was wondering how he would react to Sirius' death when alone, because he is also so composed and in control when around others. "Remus Lupin was always polite." And so he must be, but is it for his own sanity or the expectancy of others? Thank you for writing such a beautiful, dark piece--and dark it needed to be dealing with a such a dark topic.

Reviewer: lisaDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41299Chapter: 1
i think that calls for a round of appluse that was so good i loved it

Reviewer: AutumnHeartDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41294Chapter: 1
You've done a superb job channelling a grieving Remus here - this was dark, slightly twisted and incredibly satisfying, as only appropriate revenge can be. That last comment of Remus' is the neatest wrap-up of any short story I've read in ages.

Nice job.

- AutumnHeart

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41291Chapter: 1
Oh wow.

Stunned silence!

You know, as I was reading this I kept thinking Remus seemes a bit out of character. But the ending clinched it for me. His clam, cool, rational self that he shows to the world come out after a night of anger and behavior unlike any we've seen from him. I would call it irrational, but it's not that. He's justified in behaving that way. It's just that we're not used to seeing him like that.

Wow. This was wonderful.

Reviewer: IndieprincessDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41285Chapter: 1
How very true. How very Remus. How incredibly sad. God, how sad - it hurts me to think that he feels like he has to conceal all of his emotions. I feel his pain -


PS: who is Fiona?

Reviewer: KazzaDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41284Chapter: 1
I like it! It's just dark enough to convey Remus' despair without being excessively maudlin.

One question - why didn't the silver goblet burn his hand? Silver burns werewolves, doesn't it?

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41267Chapter: 1
Well, why wouldn't he?

The little joke at the end, well, that must be disturbing to his conversation partners, as well as amusing to us.

Catherine

Reviewer: Knight SamarDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41261Chapter: 1
Wonderful! For a moment I felt myself aligned with the mind of Remus Lupin! You are wonderful.. Please keep writing.. Also please continue writing the A most Unusual Student fan-fic! Its an excellent work. please continue writing it ... I have waited long.. please please write the next chapters..

AND, THANK YOU FOR GUIDING US IN THE MINDS OF WONDERFUL HARRY POTTER CHARACTERS!

Reviewer: She's a StarDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41260Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness. I'm in awe. This was just so thoroughly chilling and dark, and yet so rich and impassioned at the same time. Absolutely amazing, and so indescribably sad.

Just stunning.

Reviewer: SnitchnipperDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41247Chapter: 1
Awesome. Dark, sad, and bitter... exactly how I felt after Sirius went through the veil. Well done!

Reviewer: MaddyDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41243Chapter: 1
.....I am speechless!
*applauds*

Reviewer: CalimoraDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41238Chapter: 1
...

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41226Chapter: 1
First, some humble apologies! I sent in the 'wrong' version, without the acknowledgements I'd put on the Word one - silly me. So a very belated but heartfelt thank you to the Workshop ladies, and to Allemande and Griffinjack at the WWR. The story is the better for your input.

Mincot, your reference to Anthony Perkins and "Psycho" is really eerie, as the idea for this dark little number actually came to me in the shower!! And of course, once I got the idea, the fic 'had' to be written, though I am still not sure what dark corner of my mind it emerged from.

Anyway, thank you everyone for your generous reviews, and your understanding of 'why' this could occur ...

Alkari

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41225Chapter: 1
Wow. Just wow. I am speechless.

Reviewer: Sweeney AgonistesDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41219Chapter: 1
...just creeps me out more and more every time I read it.

[ Faded black background, a dull, heavy-woven fabric that somehow absorbed light, with the bright gold threads like spider-webs criss-crossing the panel. Lines and dots and letters &#8230; names and connections &#8230; branches &#8230; leaves &#8230; tendrils &#8230; ]

It makes me wonder if the next word in the series would have been talons. *shiver*

It's even creepier when you listen to "Paint it, Black" by the Rolling Stones while you read.

A brilliant job. Oh yes.

Reviewer: GryffinjackDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41214Chapter: 1
I am in awe of your writing talents every time I read this story. It is so dark and creepy, but captures how Remus would feel and act toward wretched Mrs. Black's portrait and that tapestry ... both of which denied Sirius. What a mood you set! Excellent!

Reviewer: TerraDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41213Chapter: 1
You're right. This is very Poe-esque. It's completely brillant and it shows all facets of Remus' personality.

Wonderful, although very disturbing, work.

Terra

Reviewer: KarieDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41197Chapter: 1
Yes. Oh, yes--the implacable fury, the _justice_. You captured a whole world of emotion.

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41194Chapter: 1
Creepy. Really creepy. I'd actually wondered why Sirius didn't just burn the family tree tapestry, but I think this is more appropriate.

I think this will be deeply embedded in my mind as a part of OotP. It just fits.

Reviewer: CaraDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41191Chapter: 1
That was depressing, but I would of done the same thing to old Mrs.Black. It was excellent fic.

Reviewer: DidiDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41187Chapter: 1
OOo that was sad! Yet good! Poor Remus! He NEEDS Sirius! Great job!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --