The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Empty Frames
Review(s): 114

Reviewer: kileaiyaDate: 2007-03-21
Reviewid: 147561Chapter: 1
This was simply beautiful. Really, just brilliant.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140369Chapter: 1
An excellent piece. Of course.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2006-01-13
Reviewid: 138433Chapter: 1
This is beautiful, perhaps the best tribute to Sirius Black that I have yet seen. It makes me want to sit by my window, cradling my mug of tea, and simply thing about the transient nature of things. I would begin by mourning the beautiful things that must eventually pass away, but in the end, I would remember that the most important passage is always that of night into day, and of winter into spring. And then I would know that Sirius will never be forgotten.

Reviewer: purebristlesDate: 2006-01-08
Reviewid: 138165Chapter: 1
Thank you for writing this alternate POV on Sirius's death. The exchanges with Phineas were spot-on.

Reviewer: PenPatronusDate: 2005-08-02
Reviewid: 128527Chapter: 1
What a wonderful perspective on Kinsley, and great characterization of Nigellus and especially Remus. I'd like to see more momentum with the ending but this works, this fits. Bravo. *PenPatronus*

Reviewer: LibbyDate: 2005-07-21
Reviewid: 127534Chapter: 1
Wonderfully and Beautifully written!
It reminds me of the song from Les Miserables "Empty Chairs At Empty Tables". Very awesome.

Reviewer: Taylor ReesDate: 2005-07-07
Reviewid: 126372Chapter: 1
It's a great story!

Reviewer: VerseDate: 2005-02-09
Reviewid: 113286Chapter: 1
I always love to see Phineas make an appearance! I enjoyed what you did with him here. Very interesting how he blames Sirius for Regulus joining the Death Eaters.

Reviewer: MeighanDate: 2004-11-15
Reviewid: 104889Chapter: 1
This was really good. I got the URL from the MOVIE MAGIC magazine. Really good story.

Reviewer: BrittneyDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101623Chapter: 1
First a note to anyone reading this review: DO NOT read while listening to Josh Groban at the same time. Or, rather, have a box of tissues available while you do.

Wow... I asked for OC and Minor Character fics over at Fiction Alley, and someone pointed me to this-- I am amazed. There was so much emotion in this story-- even besides Kingsley's. I began crying not even halfway through and I'm not sure if I've stopped. It's stories like this that make me-- um, I don't know, frustrated with OotP, yet love it at the same time. This fic was so, so, so good.

~Brittney

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95842Chapter: 1
That was beautiful. I feel so bad for Remus... and I liked how you showed that there's so much more to Phineas that he doesn't show.

Reviewer: KatulaDate: 2004-08-04
Reviewid: 95795Chapter: 1
Beautiful! Just beautiful! And so sad... I never considered anyone but Harry's mourning of Sirius, really. Everyone was in character, and I especially liked how you wrote Nigellus' (Sp?) lines, they were very clever, very correct, very him (which is quite something to be able to pick up on, considering how small a part he had in OOTP. But you got him just right). Anyway, I've read most of your stories, but I think this is by far the best. The best written. You really are talented.

Reviewer: catDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95546Chapter: 1
this is beautifully written. i absolutely love it. thank you for posting such a lovely fic.

Reviewer: EmeraDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91900Chapter: 1
Beautiful.

Reviewer: DracoNunquamDormiens aka Canis MajorDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90878Chapter: 1
This fic is amazing. I'm sure you'll get that a lot, but it's truly...

It's worthy of Sirius.

Definitely. The first of so many fics I have read that is just that.
Worthy in every single aspect.

Someone recommended it, and...I don't know, you captured the energy, the emptiness, the battle, the feeling of the moment,everything. And using a little known character too.
And... I bet you get that a lot too -but what the hell- It did bring something home, something I've been missing: the true feeling.

I rarely to never cry (not even during Bambi or Dumbo as a kid -just so you'll get a clearer picture); my reaction to Sirius' death (hell, it's about as hard to write that sentence right now as it was a year ago, just by reading that bit of fic...), well, my reaction was anger, really. I've seen death, I've lived through it, but someow I understood it, when and however it happened. There was mourning, sure, but not such an infinite sadness as when... Sirius just left.
With Sirius it was different, for the first time ever. Perhaps because I relate to his way of being, or because I would have done what exactly what he did if I had been in his shoes, for the very same reasons, and I wouldn't have cared, I don't really know. But it *moved* something, and I went through all those steps I had never used before, and anger, or rather rage was the first, blended neatly with emptiness and infinite sadness. At the unfairness of it all. At the first-hand knowledge of what it is to be stuck in a hell out of pure will. About his loyalty, Harry's rampant stupidity. And how it ended, just like that. In less than twelve lines, 15 to 20 seconds to read. It shattered, all of it. And it left me (as I'm sure so many others as well) without hope. Empty.

I felt like that, and after having Sirius butchered in so many follow-up fics, yours is an excellent reminder of what *really* went on, how we (or at least I) actually felt. And now, thanks to your fic, I can remember much more clearly than reading Harry's PoV all over again.

Congratulations!
Carry on writing, it's truly great.
(Whatever I wrote up there, I meant it-take it at face value)

DND aka CanisMajor

Reviewer: evil_whimseyDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86313Chapter: 1
Beautifully done. This work is well-paced, sensitive, and totally engaging.
I believe this Kingsley, and I believe the atmosphere you've put him in. This is one of those stories that will stick in my head as canon; I'll no doubt find myself at some point wanting to use it as reference for my own scribblings.

Simply put, this is everything fan fiction ought to be, and I love it. Thank you for writing it.

Reviewer: ShardWingDate: 2004-05-14
Reviewid: 82563Chapter: 1
Wow, that was one outstanding piece of work! I enjoyed every minute of it! I heard about your fic through "Movie Magic" Magazine, I'm sure that you know you were advertised in there, and I can see why they chose you;) Please, please write more stories, and keep the talent strong!

~Amy

Reviewer: Kneh13Date: 2004-05-08
Reviewid: 81647Chapter: 1
Interesting. A new perspective. I really enjoyed it. Kudos to you.

Reviewer: David LordDate: 2004-05-06
Reviewid: 81408Chapter: 1
Splendid, worthy of J.K. herself. Great attention to detail. You don't know me, but I rather hope to be an author myself. I've recently written a parody of Lord of the Rings, it should hopefully be on www.cirith-ennor.co.uk shortly. I'll admit, it's not nearly as brilliantly written as this, but I hope you'll give it a read once it's up.

Reviewer: lisaDate: 2004-05-02
Reviewid: 80997Chapter: 1
this story is really great! you did a really good job! ><

Reviewer: Thomas MDate: 2004-04-26
Reviewid: 80180Chapter: 1
Very good. Sad but excellent. Touching

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80122Chapter: 1
Exquisite.

Reviewer: Heidi SDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79530Chapter: 1
Oh my God! That was beatiful! Have you seen the Lion King? You know where Timon and Pumba are crying their eyes after the song "Can you feel the Love tonight" because they're afraid Simba's not going to care about them anymore? Well, that's me right now. I tried to hold back the tears through this whole FF and then that one part...'But one more glass, raised in silent memory&#8230;That he could do.' I just broke down.

And now I can't stop crying! Damn it!

But that was beatiful! I loved it. I really like Remus' &#8220;I hate this place.&#8221; That was really heart felt. It isn't easy to put into word what he ment by that, but you did it perfectly.

Great job!

I just wish I could stop crying!

Reviewer: BrittDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79467Chapter: 1
That was amazing!!! That was written exactly how I would expect the characters to act! I give props to whoever wrote this! Spectacular!

Reviewer: cassieDate: 2004-04-16
Reviewid: 78991Chapter: 1
your story was really good. it has the something that everyone looks for after they finish the book. your an amazing writer. if you don't mind me saying... you're to good of a writer to do short stories like this. you might want to concentrait on doing something bigger and maybe getting it published, if thats what you want to do. i'd certainly by your book. thank you for writing such a great story that touches the heart

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78097Chapter: 1
How sad . I think you hit it on the head about how they felt . Very moving .

~Nightknight(www.fictionalley.org)

Reviewer: thistleDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 76974Chapter: 1
I read about this in that article on hp ffs that's out now. I'm glad I checked this story out... it was really good. I don't think I've read anything in Kingsley's pov before, I've never given him much thought. But you pulled his character off beautifully.

Reviewer: carlaDate: 2004-04-01
Reviewid: 76690Chapter: 1
i just wanted to say this is very good work. the part i like the best is you did not turn remus and sirius gay. you just showed how friends greive. this is a very touching piece. thank you.

Reviewer: Miranda LarsonDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75798Chapter: 1
Jedi Godicea wrote this short story relating to the original books very well. It connected to the story line and kept character. It was very toching and I applaud him/her for that. I think that he/she should be a profesional writer. He/She is very talented and has an excellent view of how stories this touching should be written.

Reviewer: KieraDate: 2004-03-23
Reviewid: 75652Chapter: 1
All I can say is that J.K. Rowling couldn't have wrote it better herself.

Reviewer: gillianDate: 2004-03-09
Reviewid: 73789Chapter: 1
I was refered to your story from Heidi's list of fanfic for HP newbies. I totally agree with her rec. It captures how the adults were feeling completely. Excellent story.

Reviewer: ThrenDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71453Chapter: 1
It's going to take me a while to process the whole thing, but wow. It's hard to put a finger on what I like best about this piece. I like the way you portrayed Remus- that stunned feeling, somewhere just short of absolute hysterics. I really thought he was going to lose it right there when he was on about rats. I would have.

I also liked the way you portrayed Phineas. That cool exterior, wanting to know about Sirius but trying not to seem like he cares. Kingsley is sort of up in the air, characterisation-wise. Can't say he's good or bad as we have nothing to base it on, but in general a very good POV for this fic.

Most of all, what I liked was the *tone*. The stunned half-denial, the utter unbelievability of such a situation. The understanding that there are losses and they must be worked through. That the fight goes on with or without them, and that you've got to be ready to stand up again. The whole concept was conveyed excellently. It felt right. It felt *real*. Fantastic work.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2004-02-18
Reviewid: 71266Chapter: 1
Heart-breakingly brilliant.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 68045Chapter: 1
Very well written. A nice take on this scenario.

Reviewer: BrianneDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67875Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness! This is so beautiful! I think I'm going to cry.

Reviewer: malindaDate: 2004-01-20
Reviewid: 67802Chapter: 1
::sniff::

This one almost made me cry. Good work!

Reviewer: HarteDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60314Chapter: 1
Your story was a real tribute to Sirius. As you gave us a tour of the house, you gave us a tour of Sirius' life. It was wonderfully written and I loved the development of Kingsley Shacklebolt.

Reviewer: Mistress DesdemonaDate: 2003-11-08
Reviewid: 59300Chapter: 1
A fitting tribute to Sirius's memory and to the grief of those who knew him well.

Reviewer: alphabetDate: 2003-10-14
Reviewid: 56520Chapter: 1
That was just touching and so well-written...just perfect. I really liked the feel of the story, walking around the house with Kingsley, seeing and talking with people. The shock and disbelief everyone feels. Kingsley not understanding why rats are a big deal, but Remus in hysterics over it. What an amazing story.

Reviewer: TabbyDate: 2003-10-11
Reviewid: 56290Chapter: 1
Amazing. Please, carry on.

Reviewer: P. D. Yerf`Date: 2003-10-07
Reviewid: 55747Chapter: 1
Wow. That was soooooo awsome. Keep writing, will you? Please?

Reviewer: MatildaDate: 2003-10-03
Reviewid: 55332Chapter: 1
Very sad and very insightful. I'm impressed. I especially liked the treatment of Phineas Nigellus. Lupin was also very realistically portrayed, and Kingsley was an excellent choice as an observer of these proceedings.

Reviewer: DelylahDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53295Chapter: 1
Heartbreaking. Makes me mourn Sirius all over again. I like Phineas. He's an interesting character and I hope we'll see more of him in book 6.

Reviewer: IxiusDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51489Chapter: 1
Amazing. Touching. Stunning. Thats all I can say at the moment.

Reviewer: CarrieDate: 2003-08-02
Reviewid: 45122Chapter: 1
wow... that was beautiful... *wipes away tear* my poor remus... wow... im lost for words, i really am...

Reviewer: LeaDate: 2003-07-28
Reviewid: 44197Chapter: 1
thanks, we know that everyone has to grieve this loss in their own way and sometimes we forget that EVERYONE has to grieve.

Reviewer: IceDate: 2003-07-24
Reviewid: 43672Chapter: 1
great. i've been cruising down egypt, fully basking in the warmth of that glorious river...and now you've wrecked it all. i have to mourn him all over again...<whimper> amazing piece...in shacklebolt's point of view, too. he was the coolest. <whimper> why? WHY? nice touch you put on phineas, too.

Reviewer: Slate_oneDate: 2003-07-21
Reviewid: 43225Chapter: 1
I have read this last week and I have been checking back every day looking for an update. Is this going to be a one shot fic or will there be more??? I love the POV from Kingsley Shacklebolt and I want to hear more about him. Please hurry with an update

Reviewer: DevoraDate: 2003-07-21
Reviewid: 43156Chapter: 1
Wow. This is an amazing piece of writing.

Reviewer: TariDate: 2003-07-21
Reviewid: 43142Chapter: 1
Wow. That was just amazing. And Kingsley's POV was brilliant. I'm so moved by this piece. I'm speachless. It's wonderful.

Reviewer: RoseDate: 2003-07-20
Reviewid: 43039Chapter: 1
That was absolutely beautiful. It struck a cord deep within me of the sorrow that seemed missing from OotP. I commend you on such a great piece of writing. :)

Reviewer: Incurable RomanticDate: 2003-07-20
Reviewid: 42938Chapter: 1
Wonderful idea, writing it from Shacklebolt's perspective, much easier to understand than Remus, but still so touching. Lovely.

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42820Chapter: 1
beautiful story it makes alot alot of sense.
very icely wirtten.. poetic. beautiful

Reviewer: rayeDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42765Chapter: 1
You've given Kingsley a real story and depth here. Love it. I love the way Remus is grieving too, it is so heartbreakingly sad.

Reviewer: EssayelDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42487Chapter: 1
Great stuff. Loved your characterisation of Remus, Kingsley and Phineas! I'd write more but my throat's gone all tight.

Reviewer: jordsDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42461Chapter: 1
There was a link to this posted at FA, and I'm so very glad! I am hoping to get some more attention thrown this story's way, as it is absolutely brilliant! I much enjoyed this look into the reaction of the Order to Sirius's death, and want to thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful, haunting and fitting tribute to Sirius.

again, thank you for sharing your talent!

Reviewer: lbdawgerDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42381Chapter: 1
Jedi...you are a marvelous writer! I've enjoyed all your entries, and this one is just a superb! thanks!

Reviewer: beDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42315Chapter: 1
That was really heart-wrencing and beautiful. Thanks. It's helping me grieve better. :)

Reviewer: LizDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42284Chapter: 1
I wish I had words, really. But the best stories usually do this to me, render me speechless. This left me numb, and with a broken heart. For Sirius, and for Remus. Oh, Remus.

Reviewer: ZsawDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42182Chapter: 1
This was a very powerful story that really moves the reader. Kingsley and the rest are all
in perfect characterization. Everyone's reactions were just how I would imagine them.

Reviewer: HildigunnurDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42178Chapter: 1
I don't know but I feel it would be an overkill to say I had tears in my eyes after reading this. Because this is a story about the numbness and the shock that people deal with first after the death of a friend. Your portrayal of the characters is excellent and that last scene where Kingsley raises his glass to Sirius is just right. While the scene in the drawing room with the tapestry ... is just heartbreaking.

Thanks for writing this.

Reviewer: ChloéDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42169Chapter: 1
&#8220;I just hope she can HEAR ME DOWN THERE. It would kill her to know I&#8217;m pounding these old hallways again. Just wait until I&#8217;ve scoured this place clean, you old bat! We&#8217;ll see the mark I leave behind then.&#8221;


The characters' essence and reactions are...Just perfect.

"For a moment, Remus Lupin made no move to follow"

*sob*

" Remus lowered his wand, tucked it away in his shabby robes. Without looking at any of them, he murmured, &#8220;Excuse me,&#8221; and walked away down the hall and up the staircase, disappearing from sight. "

*tissues*

Gosh ... I think there's no need of any comment on that .
Brilliant.Whish that wasn't a fanfic true to cannon but (and for our greatest sorrow) since JK has already decided .... *sigh* I guess there's no turning back... *erm*... anyway, thank you for that, that was beautiful and we all badly need some appropriate mourning. And more OotP fanfic please !!!

Reviewer: Newbia The ElfDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42110Chapter: 1
I read this,and said,"Woah." This review isn't that creative,but I must say it anyway:This is a very deep fic. It's good we can see more of Kingsley Shacklebolt-and learn about the mysterious Gideon. It seems that people only care about the slightly obscure but very cool looking characters.

Reviewer: L. MorningstarDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42108Chapter: 1
I've been rendered speechless. This is _such_ a powerful piece. There are so many parts where the emotion is so strong, yet so subtle and quiet at the same time. The mourning in each of the characters mentioned is vivid and causes an ache in the reader.

Your characterization of Remus, Kingsley, and Nigellus is amazing as well. Fantastic work.

Reviewer: SusanDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42078Chapter: 1
Oh jeez. I have to stop reading these things. How depressing. :-/ Good on Remus re: Sirius' mother. I think I need to see some Star Trek to get this out of my head. Very nicely written!

Reviewer: ivy and GracieDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42064Chapter: 1
This is like Robert Frost's woods -that is to say, "lovely, dark, and deep." We have been wanting to see more of Kingsley Shackelbolt, who reminds us of The Matrix's Morpheus, and what a stunning job you've done with not just him, but with all the characters here. You've portrayed their grief without being maudlin. The line "He stood so, caught between tapestry and man and memory....." is poetic....evocative. We thought we were actually there. Good job!

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42022Chapter: 1
Oh, boy. I go from watching Moulin Rouge to reading this. Great. I need to go read something happy now.

This is awesome. Your portrayal of Remus's grief makes my stomach hurt (I haven't been crying today, just worrying about throwing up) as did Molly whispering about what she had said to him. Oh. I feel horrible, but at least I read a wonderful fic to make me feel bad. Your exploration of Kingsley makes me feel like I know him better, considering he was a bit more of a side character than anything else. This is great.

Reviewer: SennicalDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42001Chapter: 1
I've never in more than three years been one to cry at fanfic and you had me getting all sniffly and teary-eyed and having to retreat upstairs to my own room to finish this so my family wouldn't come in and ask why I was crying in front of the computer.

That aside, this is a wonderful addition to the handful of excellent post-DoM fics that have been written. You've dealt with Remus's grief wonderfully and in just the way I would have imagined, and managed to round out Kingsley's character just as well. Brilliant and moving fic. Bravo.

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 41938Chapter: 1
::sigh:: just perfect.

Reviewer: ElleDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41917Chapter: 1
Made me cry. Nicely written. Very moving.

Reviewer: Aisling and Ryre crying their heads offDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41907Chapter: 1
Crying again...am I ever going to stop?
Any hoo loved it
a very unexpected point of veiw and i like your writing style

Reviewer: Rox - age 49Date: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41884Chapter: 1
You write with the style of a professional writer. Best of luck in pursuing writing as a career. I look forward to seeing your name on many book covers.

Reviewer: DidiDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41882Chapter: 1
Ooo! That was very good! Great job!

Reviewer: AlshDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41880Chapter: 1
Beautiful.

I whish I could be more coherent, but the tears and the pain don't allow me to be.

Very powerful. Thanks.

Reviewer: uremiaDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41876Chapter: 1
Gosh, I finished 5 wads of tissue crying over this story....

Darn! You're making me remember again.

Reviewer: DarcyqueenDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41875Chapter: 1
This was a very interesting piece. I didn't realize the fact that Black's "death" was not recorded on the families tapestry. This is more of a reason for me to believe he is not dead, other than the fact that no body was found!

Reviewer: DrieDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41873Chapter: 1
What a beautiful way to fill in the gap of everyone else's reaction to Sirius' death. You are a masterful storyteller. Bravo!

Reviewer: AriellaDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41870Chapter: 1
Simply beautiful.

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41868Chapter: 1
Thank you Jedi. That is the first time I've been able to cry over the loss of Sirius. It happened so quickly in the book that I kept expecting him to come back.
You are a very talented writer. Please keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Sheeris JemimaDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41867Chapter: 1
Great job. Made me cry again...

Reviewer: Cats PawDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41862Chapter: 1
There are really no words to truely describe how beautiful and powerful this is. This is just wonderful. Thank you for it.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41860Chapter: 1
Absolutely beautiful, as befitting your usual standard. I like the way you did the story from Kingsley's point of view; it makes the tale fresh and new, and it's even more painful to see Remus grieving through someone else's eyes. I also love Nigellus...very well done. And the thoughts on Sirius are completely heartbreaking. You nearly made me cry, and that's no mean feat. Again, wonderful job.

Reviewer: HeatherDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41859Chapter: 1
Oh that was lovely. I like it. We never got to see how everyone else reacted and this is a beautiful story. Very eloquent, very good perspective, one wouldn't think to hear it from an "outsiders" POV. Wonderful story! :)

Reviewer: VaniityDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41853Chapter: 1
I love your fan fiction, and this is one of the best. I was pleased that it was from Kingsley's point of view, which you did a great job with. You really got the little things, such as calling Harry 'young Potter' and Buckbeak 'the hippogriff'. Little things like that really make it accurate. I like your version of Kingsley. I am intriguided by his character, so I enjoyed your characterization of him.

Your story was good to read because JKR really left us hanging. But you tied up some of the loose ends. It made the fact that Sirius is dead truly hit me, though. I was in tears by the end.

Reviewer: KovacDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41852Chapter: 1
I really liked the story. It was very realistic. When I read through it, it made perfect sense. This is obviously how the characters would react. I am glad that you din't make Lupin cry in front of the other or shed "silent tears" because I personally would have thought that uncanon. However, I don't think Phineas' reaction was very coorect. Judging by his reaction in the Headmaster's office, he would have dropped his arrogance much earlier than he did here. Otherwise, very beautifully written and I am glad it was from Shacklebolt's POV rather than Lupin's. I think it's almost impossible to write Lupin's POV after Sirius' death and I think the entire scene is more effective from Shacklebolt's POV. Once again, awesome job!!

Reviewer: MaddyDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41847Chapter: 1
V. good. Almost made me cry in more than one place.

Reviewer: MelanieDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41839Chapter: 1
Great story. Very honest and interesting to read. I really liked it. A great tribute to Sirius.

~Melanie

Reviewer: CalantheDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41838Chapter: 1
This is, I think, the best 'grief' piece I've yet seen.
Using Shacklebolt as a viewpoint character is very
effective, given his ability to keep his temper. Remus'
self-understanding and retreat rang true, though the
blasting of the portrait didn't seem quite right to
me: it might have been more convincing if he'd done it
very quietly but had the same effect...

Molly and Moody were nicely handled too, and it's
good to see Bill in his proper support/
peacekeeper role.

Clearly written, and this detached narrative voice
had a very powerful impact. Your precise
choice of words has a great effect.

Reviewer: CaitlinDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41836Chapter: 1
Beautiful.

Reviewer: ashleyDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41834Chapter: 1
I have found very few post-OotP stories that feel as if they do the book justice, but this is one of them. The point-of-view works well -- better than I'd expected, to be honest -- and Kingsley's analysis of Remus breaks my heart. It's all just very well done.

Reviewer: DeboraDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41833Chapter: 1
WONDERFUL, angst-y, incredible well written piece of fanfiction (as usual), JediB! I especially liked how you used Kingsley's POV to tell the aftermath of the battle at the Department of Mysteries. And Remus' grief, or rather, POWERFUL grief...We could actually feel it coming off in waves from him.

Well done! :)

Reviewer: TapestryDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41832Chapter: 1
There have been several fics written already dealing with the aftermath of Sirius's death. And all have used Remus's perspective, which of course seems the most logical. However I really like that you've broken that mold here and shown us some resolution from an unexpected perspective, that of Kingsley. You've done an excellent job of capturing not only the order's grief, but of making Kingsley more three dimensional. As with all your stories there are wonderful descriptions and pharsing throughout. I really like the insight in this line "He felt heavy. Death always did that to him." Wonderful job!

Reviewer: Zephyrus_ProlixityDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41828Chapter: 1
Once again I must bow in awe of your terrific work. You ROX.

I would like to see this as the first chapter of an on going series maybe call it Unveiling the Future or something.

ZP

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41827Chapter: 1
Superb, superb... one of the best so far. I absolutely love what you did with Phineas. This was poetic in parts, which, of course, was called-for.

Reviewer: LevitasDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41823Chapter: 1
Quite nice...thank you for continuing the story along a bit

Reviewer: Frank RawlandDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41822Chapter: 1
Nicely done. So nicely done it will take me some effort to remember none of this is in book 5 and likely won't be in book 6.

Reviewer: CorgiDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41817Chapter: 1
Thank you.

Reviewer: bloopDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41816Chapter: 1
Aw... saaad! I like that you've written this from Kingsley's POV, and i hope we see lots more of him (and tonks!!) in the next book. *wondering what's gonna happen to kreacher*

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41811Chapter: 1
Oh God.......crying again....

Reviewer: Sara L. B.Date: 2003-07-14
Reviewid: 41807Chapter: 1
This was an excellent story. Nice work.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --